Meath Unlucky / lucky

I honestly don't know what people here are on about saying meath were miles away from being promoted, we finished on level points with Roscommon and we actually had a better score difference than them, they only got promoted because of the head to head, so we were unlucky not to get promoted if anything. in the Laois game we were leading by 8 points at one stage and took the foot off the gas and let them back into it, that game should've never been a draw meath should've won it pulling up. we also beat down who topped the table.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 07/06/2015 19:18:20    1733709

After Meath got well beaten by a second string Galway in round 1 of the league Meath changed their tactics to a more on a defensive game. Those tactics worked in the round 2 game but i think Kildare didn't expect Meath to play like that. Laois against Meath which i also seen live, well in the 1st half was like a dog trying to figure out a hedgehog but in the second half it was all Laois they lorded midfield and really should have won that game by few points.

Meath by all accounts tried to beat Roscommon with same those tactics that worked against Kildare but failed and it was goals on the breakaway that beat both Westmeath,Down. In the last game against Cavan two teams played the same system and i think most would agree Cavan deserved at least a draw.

Going back to the topic of the thread the injuries are not long term and will hardly be missed against Wicklow (no disrespect to them) and to avoid Dublin,Laois,Kildare in on their side of the draw is lucky no doubt however it should be interesting to see how these Meath defensive tactics will work against Dublin if they are to meet as expected. If used right i think Meath have a decent chance to save face and avoid another hammering and they could then go into the qualifiers with a bit more confidence compared to last year.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3356 - 07/06/2015 20:15:57    1733758

cavan threw the last game in Navan .....fact

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 07/06/2015 21:53:10    1733827

What is the point of this thread other then a chance too take pot shots at Meath....counties from the four corners of the country are very keen to keep telling us were finished and are best days are behind us. For a team that are gone of the radar, yee don't half like talking bout us. Move onto the big fish lads, surely Meath aren't worth all this talk anymore are they?

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 08/06/2015 10:46:41    1733912

Ah no, couldn't agree, always good to stick the boot into me old pals, RD doesn't mind me, it's all good fun he'll tell you :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 08/06/2015 11:18:41    1733951

Kevin Reilly likely to be out for the year.

Menton,Newman,SOR,Gillespie all out of the Wicklow game,with SOR and Gillespie likely to be out for longer..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2015 10:08:13    1734453

Jesus that's shocking with Kevin, we had finally got the 6 backs sorted, best wishes to him, Gillespie only other major loss,
Wish them all speedy recovery.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/06/2015 10:40:27    1734485

RD

for this game yes,but Gillespie would be a huge loss for Westmeath/Wexford too.Plus imagine us going out against Dublin missing Reilly and Gillespie?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2015 11:07:40    1734508

Hill actually didn't have most of them last year,
But we have strengthened the team plenty, trust me if they are all fit Dublin will have a lot to worry about in particular with the amount of complacency. With your dodgy keeper we may get another 5 :)

Royal Dunne FYI you wont need to worry about Dublin unless ye both meet in the qualifiers.

Dublin are overrated and Meath are to weak and living in the past.

This years leinster winners will be the winners of Kildare & laois

RedCarrot (Laois) - Posts: 91 - 09/06/2015 14:25:12    1734662

^^^ this lad

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 09/06/2015 14:36:39    1734673

kikfada
County: Louth

cavan threw the last game in Navan .....fact

Ye must have thrown a fair few yourselves in Division 3 this year sure there's no way ye could have ended up in Division 4 otherwise

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 09/06/2015 15:04:45    1734692

Red think you might need a few more carrots,
I think what mod said is probably pointing to the end of Kevin as a automatic player, what a shame.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/06/2015 17:20:20    1734774

id like to agree that roscommon are in abetter position than meath but i just dont really belive it. id go as far to say that galway might be long term better position than roscommon. unfortunatly location and economics mean that roscommon may find it very hard to hold onto their current good underage players when they leave college to start work. this hapeened laois aand id say it may happen cavan. meath and galway imo will win all irelands at senior level and have better records in championship over the next 10 years than both cavan and rosscommon.

out of interst does anybody know how many of the rossies u-21 team of last year are currently working in rosscommon or close to it as ie construction or tradesmen or farmers? if this is the case in a good few then they may well keep them in the football and move to senior, unfortunatly with cavan and rossies a lot of their players have to go to work in dublin and this is when standards slip and guys are lost between u21 and senior

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 09/06/2015 19:51:02    1734839

southmeathgael

1733912 What is the point of this thread other then a chance too take pot shots at Meath....counties from the four corners of the country are very keen to keep telling us were finished and are best days are behind us. For a team that are gone of the radar, yee don't half like talking bout us. Move onto the big fish lads, surely Meath aren't worth all this talk anymore are they?

ah I'm sure a lot people would secretly love for the meath of old to be back, and I say even the Dublin supporters would love for meath to give them a good game in the leinster final, if we get there. I suppose since the downfall of meath there hasn't really been a team that captured the imagination quite like meath did, especially in the way of their never say die attitude, winning games in the dying seconds as they done so often back then
I suppose were all longing for meath to get back to winning ways.. :-)

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 09/06/2015 20:25:05    1734858

Only reading this forum now and I no it's off topic but I read a post were royaldunne stated Meath beat Roscommon easily in a challenge. Just for those of you who believe the tripe he does be talking. Roscommon were 9 points up in that challenge and made 11 subs at half time losing by a single point in the end. He is in fact correct about graham Reilly scoring 1-7 he failed to mention the 2-5 from play diarmuid murtagh scored off Donal keoghan.

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 09/06/2015 20:43:56    1734867

luckiest sports team on the planet.. do you not remember 96? :)

sxckev (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 09/06/2015 20:44:25    1734869

Pingcity
County: Longford

Only reading this forum now and I no it's off topic but I read a post were royaldunne stated Meath beat Roscommon easily in a challenge. Just for those of you who believe the tripe he does be talking. Roscommon were 9 points up in that challenge and made 11 subs at half time losing by a single point in the end. He is in fact correct about graham Reilly scoring 1-7 he failed to mention the 2-5 from play diarmuid murtagh scored off Donal keoghan.

Oh will you relax will you its a jaysus challenge match, good God but your an easily wound up young fella......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 09/06/2015 21:06:15    1734880

It was just letting people know the actually facts of what happened. What annoys me about he Meath posters and I mean all of he is every other county has trolls who speak pure bull on the forum but we correct there bull and distance our selfs from the blatant lies. From my perspective yet all are deluded and agree with the lies royaldunne writes.
Now that I'm writing on this forum do Meath not realise every county has injuries there no worse that the injuries we have in Roscommon at the minute with Niall carty(full back captain) Donal ward(wing back) Kevin Higgins(midfield) Ultan harney(centre forward) and senan Kilbride(full forward) all starters imo and all more than likely out against Sligo but u don't see us running to media or starting forums crying about it. Imo he are making excuses for the year ahead already. It's 30+ panel so get on with it

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 09/06/2015 21:18:48    1734883

Pingcity

Jaysus lad just take her handy, life's good and there's nothing wrong with royaldunne, he loves his football and he enjoys the bit of craic aswell, try not to take things to heart.

Also, yes we're aware that there are other counties out there with their own injury problems but are you aware that this thread was started up by jimbodub = a Dublin poster not a Meath poster but we are naturally going to post on it when it's related to our own county.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/06/2015 21:38:48    1734905

I don't think the problem is even the amount of injuries,its the fact that they are key players,the players with experience and generally have that physicality

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2015 21:49:48    1734918