Meath Unlucky / lucky

Again you're using the Dublin example...

Not sure you can apply that logic to the current Meath setup

we were hardly brimming with talent being left out in 2009
any dub would have feared for us when ciaran whelan hung up his boots
but less than 2 years later we had a completly new team and won the all ireland.
meath havent been getting nearer judging by the results
they still have the same problem in not being able to gain promotion to division 1
so logic would tell you it aint working

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/06/2015 17:17:49    1732972

Tactics had a lot to do with that Hill.. big time

It was more a system and players playing to that system

That 2011 team isn't a patch on the 2015 version

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 05/06/2015 17:47:20    1732977

Hill, heres a little bit of info for you. The likely starting line up if injuries clear up will have 3/4 players at most that played v dubs in 10 or that have Leinster medals , Kevin Reilly graham Reilly and micky burke, Stephen bray, i doubt shane O'Rourke will take much part, so there has been a complete clear out of that team, if im honest i don't get your point. Likely championship debuts include but not limited to, McGill, mcentee, judge, Rooney , Flanagan, and although joey Wallace came on last year, been a leaving cert student is still pretty young in the grand scheme of things, add power to that too, Meath have a average age of 23 take out bray and that drops considerably

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/06/2015 19:37:44    1732999

Tactics had a lot to do with that Hill.. big time
It was more a system and players playing to that system
That 2011 team isn't a patch on the 2015 version

was more than tactics
gilroy stated too many players had been carrying the baggage of heavy defeats and
he knew he had to build a new team
the 2011 team had the belief and confidence though and were the break thourgh team
particularly the win over tyrone in 2010 that was our breakthrough game
and the confidence of winning that game, kerry 2011 has instilled the belief in the present team.
meath have good players but need a breakthrough win like ours against tyrone to make them believe in themselves
that should have come by gaining promotion this year but they blew a fantastic chance against laois
when they were 9 or 10 points up in the second half and only drew the game.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/06/2015 19:46:58    1733000

Some score from graham Reilly last night 1-7 all from play, in a easy win against Roscommon in a challenge match, lets hope he keeps that form up through championship.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/06/2015 20:17:31    1733015

We were actually only 7 points up agonist Laois, but nonetheless that was the match that cost us promotion. I said it coming out of Pairc Tailteann that night.

Injuries are injuries, but we need to believe in the young talent involved. You make your own luck. We must believe and get those injured back as soon as possible, to blossom the young players.

Concentrate on Wicklow first and foremost and then take it from there!

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 05/06/2015 20:40:17    1733020

Have to put him in the running for a all star

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 05/06/2015 20:49:33    1733021

I wouldn't say it was an entirely new team

I mean he put out a team man for man against Meath and we were tanked

We beat Louth well and then setup very defensively against Tyrone

That was the first game where we adopted a highly defensive tactic

We out Tyroned Tyrone... the penny dropped in that game

Set up very similar against Cork.. Where we should have won

Then League campaign comes along 2011

Gilroy started playing half backs as forwards

Building Dublin around a system.. A highly defensive one

Two man full forward line... Forwards playing as half backs

We beat Kerry in Croke Park in the league... The system is working

Tactics and building a team around a system had a massive contribution to our 2011 victory

We were playing an adapted brand of Ulster football and under Gilroy we mastered it

Can't thank him enough for that...

He won an AI with a Dublin team that wouldn't be anywhere as technical as the current panel

Tactics had a big big part in that and of course finding 3 or 4 new lads that fit very well into that system of play

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 05/06/2015 21:05:59    1733030

Otbar oh he has already had that honour, but we will wait until he does it to a opposition that matter.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/06/2015 21:07:59    1733031

The current team would wipe the floor with the Meath team that won* Leinster in 2010.

Really you can divide county teams into three groups, the contenders, the challengers and the bottom feeders. i.e. Possible All-Ireland finalists, teams that can put it up to these teams on a single day and then everyone else. Meath could reasonably claim to be well in around the top of the second group. Massive gap from there though. I imagine some Meath posters won't agree but Division 1 football would be the big step in helping them get more out of themselves and start making any inroads into that. Not ready for the Dubs no matter when it happens but could reasonably make a semi-final given the right draw and a bit of momentum.

*not really

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 05/06/2015 21:14:07    1733033

Just checked and not one astrix anywhere to be seen. Meath 2010 Leinster champion is all it says .

Meath threw away promotion this year for sure, but there is a very good opportunity to put that right. Will anyone of us give a monkeys if Donal walks up the steps of the Hogan? Not a bloody bit

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/06/2015 21:46:56    1733042

Slightly off topic but god help the Rossies if they lose in Sligo on June 21st. Royaldunne will go into overdrive. A few Meath mates here in Galway who were at the league game in the Hyde cannot remember 20 wides by the Royals.They by and large were impressed with the Rossies and would have them as a team on the up. Off topic again but the forum threads are largely populated by Nordies and Dubs bearing all. Remember folks the cute Kerry folk are all quiet down there ready to launch come high football season. When they are quiet they are most dangerous.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 06/06/2015 08:14:05    1733045

Kiliughter. Just to clarify, i didn't count the wides but from my reading it was anywhere between 18 to 30. I am going on match reports etc, i know we kicked 11 wides in one half as a guy beside me tallied it.
But that's irrelevant, Roscommon won, end of story. I have nothing against Roscommon, what i don't like is the flavor of the year thing, every year we as a organization pick a team to hype up beyond belief , this year its Roscommon, for 3/4 years running it was Kildare, until a team actually wins something i believe they shouldn't be hyped beyond recognition, Roscommon were lucky to get promotion, both Galway and Meath handed to them, there is nothing between the likes of Galway, Meath, Down, Kildare, Tyrone, Armagh, we are all well off the big 4 standard.
And as for challenge matches? I never look at results all that matters is individual performance and for two of meaths challange games biggy has scored 2-7 in one 1-7 in another all from play, that is impressive but all anyone wants is for that to continue through championship, he has regained the form of a few years ago after suffering from continued back problems, are you trying to say we cant look at positive for one of our star players who is fit and injury free? When you consider the amount of injuries we have this would rate very much on the positive, but challenge results are irrelevant, we were beat by sligo limerick and Tyrone in challenge matches in 96, look what happened then.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/06/2015 10:44:34    1733080

royaldunne
County: Meath

Some score from graham Reilly last night 1-7 all from play, in a easy win against Roscommon in a challenge match, lets hope he keeps that form up through championship.

southmeathgael
County: Meath

It was 2-16 to 2-15 or something along them lines ziggy. No team unfortunately, hardly too get info of these county lads, very tight lipped

Lmao u really are helpless RD if ever truth is found out it was probably the 2 minor teams and biggy wasn't even man of the match
Your priceless how did that village ever replace u

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 06/06/2015 17:59:22    1733238

Have Meath and Roscommon suddenly got a rivalry that I am unaware of? :D

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/06/2015 18:13:15    1733243

I'm not sure about a rivalry ziggy but when I was in Roscommon for the league match there were a good few Roscommon lads in the crowd jeering us near the end when we were missing chances etc.They might still be jealous of us from 1991.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 06/06/2015 18:46:40    1733263

Maybe so RD about every year a team is being put out there with serious potential. in fairness though the Rossies have put a lot of work in terms of structures so there is some basis for all the talk about them. Mind you we sparred with them over the last 6 years at u21 level (them winning 4 provincial and us 2) with us winning 2 all irelands. However u21 seems becoming a lesser factor. Speaking to my Royal mates traditionally they kind of view the Rossies similar to how I would view Laois. Yet Laois have beaten us in our last 3 league meetings but if we met in championship I would have a certain air of confidence. Maybe we are basing too much of our perspective on tradition and have to revise what we think of these teams as if we met Lois tomorrow and ye met the Rossies we both would have our work cut out to beat them. I do agree though that we both messed up promotion (us losing 2 successive home games against Cavan and Laois) although we were missing a raft of players through Corofin, injury and colleges. Now lamenting the loss of Shane Walsh and probably the inform Peader Og O Griofa who played puck with the Rossies in the league. Will be massive losses for next Sunday.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 07/06/2015 11:11:49    1733414

If Meath lost on promotion due to one bad day at the office ; then I'd say ' they are close ' . The league was played over 2-3 months and they still couldn't get promotion , that tells me that they are miles off competing at the top level. They may take a scalp along the way but that's about it , Galway are the same , simply not good enough . RoyalDunne always having a pop at the Rossies , I'd rather be in the Connaughts side position any day of the week . Serious players coming through and won't be far away in 2-3 years ! Injuries or no injuries , Meath are light years behind their former days ! It's a pity because the Meath / Dublin rivalry was awesome and the best in the GAA IMO !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 07/06/2015 11:43:28    1733428

My Meath source said the Roscommon Meath challenge ended in a draw both had an number of fringe players playing so nothing to take out of that game. The Rossies haven't liked me calling it like i saw it during the year but credit where credit it due they gained promotion to div one deservedly so and were expected to struggle in div one and remember in their opening game they only drew with Cavan at home and did it the hard way. Their improvement the last few years is off the back of strong underage and club football which is something Meath should be improving.

Galway and Meath were favourites for promotion and both blew it. Galway had Cavan,Laois at home lost both. Meath were lucky to end on nine points as games against Laois,Cavan they could easily have lost but it was quiet clear they needed Roscommon to slip up twice to nick promotion and that wasn't going to happen.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 07/06/2015 18:09:27    1733650

All these injuries stem from the Curse WEE put on them in 2010 that they will never win another Leinster Championship until WEE WIN ONE. It's called the PK Curse a bit similar to the Biddy Early one in Clare.

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 07/06/2015 19:00:01    1733697