brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 04/06/2015 10:25:04    1732245

Has to be Kerry,
Half of all titles in the 00's
Compared to one title in the 90's!

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 04/06/2015 10:31:19    1732249

Well that's true brend, whatever irks Pat Spillane is often worth supporting.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/06/2015 10:39:21    1732255

Ah lads forget the noughties, we won 5, they won 3 so what! We'just have to make do with being the current AI Champions!! #37&Counting

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 04/06/2015 11:00:37    1732264

What a farce this topic is. Well then since it is deemed alright to crown a team of the decade. I say Galway & Down were the 1960's holders, although Kerry won 2. In the 70's it was Dublin & Kerry, the 80's were Kerry, Meath, Cork and Offaly in '82, the 1990's were Cork, Derry, Donegal, Down , Meath, Galway and Kerry and Dubs no out and out winner there- and the 2000's were Tyrone?, again Kerry won 5 ??? Please, put this to bed, so biased.....

noelnyc (Kerry) - Posts: 82 - 04/06/2015 11:05:17    1732265

TheHermit

1732236 Yerra Highhunt, we've got our fair share of revenge by now; relegated them twice, put the final nail in the coffin of that great side in 2012 and 7 years after they last tasted an All Ireland we are still winning All Irelands.

Just like we have done with all pretenders to our throne we simply regroup and outlast them, they won some battles, but Kerry always wins the war ;)

Yeah Hermit unfortunately while yous swore allegiance and got back to kicking a ball about we were fighting the real war for plenty of years. Kind of kept us distracted a wee bit! Kerry for Butter, Tyrone for Sam and we still produced the best player of them all!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 04/06/2015 11:19:53    1732276

Kerry couldnt even beat Tyrone once in the whole decade
More like flat track bullies, made hay against some useless teams in some of the worst finals in memory. Anyway the team that won the 5th wasnt the samew team as that which won the first

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 04/06/2015 11:22:20    1732277

04/06/2015 10:13:14
TheHermit

1732236 Yerra Highhunt, we've got our fair share of revenge by now; relegated them twice, put the final nail in the coffin of that great side in 2012 and 7 years after they last tasted an All Ireland we are still winning All Irelands.

Just like we have done with all pretenders to our throne we simply regroup and outlast them, they won some battles, but Kerry always wins the war ;)

thought kerry didnt league seriously? Tyrone beat Kerry 3 times in Croke Park when it mattered(knockout championship). They beat Kerry comprehensively over the 3 games 2-44 to 2-30. It is overlooked this group of Tyrone also won 2 u21 All championships on 2000 & 2001. Tyrone also won minor in 01,04 & 08. Kerry won u21 championship in 08

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 04/06/2015 11:32:40    1732283

we were fighting the real war for plenty of years and we still produced the best player of them all!

Ah come on now, you can't claim Star just because his father is a Tyrone man!!!

As for swearing allegiance, have you ever heard of a a little thing called the Irish Civil War and what happened in Kerry!

As for you flack, hope you enjoyed those two All Irelands in 20 years the mighty Dubs won, till be many a day before Dublin win that much again no matter how many points ye put on poor craters like Longford....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/06/2015 12:43:25    1732320

was Plunkett Donaghy stars father?

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 04/06/2015 12:54:56    1732325

TheHermit

Yerra Highhunt, we've got our fair share of revenge by now; relegated them twice, put the final nail in the coffin of that great side in 2012 and 7 years after they last tasted an All Ireland we are still winning All Irelands.

I hope you keep winning that war, other wise you might get done for war crimes or should i say crimes against football ( all Ireland final 2014) #nuremberg

duke_raul (Tyrone) - Posts: 993 - 04/06/2015 13:09:31    1732331

rumour has it Pat Mustard fathered most children in tyrone from that era. as for Star hes not even the best basketball/gaelic start never mind best player.

I heard about the civil war alright, just like Kerry to lose the battle that really counted!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 04/06/2015 13:11:09    1732332

as_ky
Bit of a joke to be fair when you take into account kerry played in 8 finals in a decade to tyrones 3 and kerry won 5 all ireland to tyrones 3! Granted kerry failed to beat Tyrone, but take the premier league for example, if a team beat Chelsea twice this year should they be champions! I would also argue that kerry were caught on the hop in 03 with tyrones physical style of play, Tyrone were deserved winners on the day I will admit but not massively significant in the bigger picture, as for 05, kerry were coming off the back of winning an all ireland, and 08 kerry were coming off the back of two all ireland! Hard enough to do back to back these days, don't mind 3 in a row! We never got to see Tyrone play kerry after Tyrone won an all ireland because they never made it that far! Tyrone never made two finals in a row, Kerry made 6 finals in a row,! To put things in perspective, mayo are the only team this decade to make two finals in a row! Absolutely fantastic Tyrone team with some great players but not the same level as the kerry team!

To be fair, that is a pretty reasonable assessment. People seem to get caught up in the 'Kerry couldn't beat Tyrone' thing. They forget that on two occasions they were going for back to back all Irelands at least. Tyrone won the battle, but they lost the war.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/06/2015 13:11:28    1732333

Master throwing in his 2 cents worth, master I seem to remember you comparing Tyrone to the Bolton team who had a good record against arsenal all those years ago. Or what was the other comparison you made was it was max schmeling against joe Louis..... Comical even for you.

duke_raul (Tyrone) - Posts: 993 - 04/06/2015 13:19:39    1732340

Tyrone folk really aren't happy unless they are being talked about. Starting threads about themselves, even though they are irrelevant these days. Down have done nothing for over 20 years and we still have 2 more All-Ireland titles than ye. Add to that that we're beaten vs Kerry in the championship. Forever in our shadow lads ;)

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 04/06/2015 13:21:08    1732341

Kerry couldnt even beat Tyrone once in the whole decade
More like flat track bullies, made hay against some useless teams in some of the worst finals in memory. Anyway the team that won the 5th wasnt the samew team as that which won the first

KY4SAM2014

I couldnt care less about this team of the decade, we will still be winning all irelands for years to come where the likes of Tyrone or the unbeatable dubs come along every few years but they always fall to the side to let the real kingpins of the game continue in their rightfull place.

You say kerry beat some useless teams in the finals, but as a Dub you said know to get to an all ireland you actually have to win a few games to get there.
Lets look at some of these useless teams you have labelled that tyrone played during the decade.

2000- Made it to last 8 in ulster
2001- Beaten by Derry
2004- Lost to as you say useless Mayo
2006- Drew with superpowers of louth and beaten by Laois
2007- Beaten by Meath who Cork (another useless team you say) hammered them by 10 points in semi final
2009- Lost to another useless team Cork in the semi final

Somehow it seems these teams are only useless when Kerry beat them. Did you ever think that these teams were actually decent teams who came up against one of the best teams of the last 20 years, who were on form for the big day like all great teams. A team which included the likes of Gooch, Donaghy, Declan, Moynihan, Marc, Darragh, Tomas and Galvin to name a few. Not a bad few players.

We will keep winning titles and the rest of you can keep griping about the useless teams we beat or the lucky all Irelands. Dont worry lads we will keep adding to the list of all ireland we dont deserve..lol

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 04/06/2015 13:44:14    1732363

Redhandefender. Since when was martin O'Connell or graham geraghty a Tyrone man? Or even colm cooper ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/06/2015 14:12:23    1732385

It's 2015,and we're talking about this? Snore. Who cares about the title of "team of the decade" anyways? Do you get a medal for it or something? Personally, I'd prefer to have 5 medals over 3 but hey, that's just me.~PHS

Pope_has_spoken (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 04/06/2015 14:18:20    1732395

MourneArmy
County: Down

1732341 Tyrone folk really aren't happy unless they are being talked about. Starting threads about themselves, even though they are irrelevant these days. Down have done nothing for over 20 years and we still have 2 more All-Ireland titles than ye. Add to that that we're beaten vs Kerry in the championship. Forever in our shadow lads ;)

+1

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/06/2015 14:20:53    1732400

04/06/2015 13:44:14
KY4SAM2015

1732363 Kerry couldnt even beat Tyrone once in the whole decade

KY4SAM2014

I couldnt care less about this team of the decade, we will still be winning all irelands for years to come where the likes of Tyrone or the unbeatable dubs come along every few years but they always fall to the side to let the real kingpins of the game continue in their rightfull place.

You say kerry beat some useless teams in the finals, but as a Dub you said know to get to an all ireland you actually have to win a few games to get there.
Lets look at some of these useless teams you have labelled that tyrone played during the decade.

2000- Made it to last 8 in ulster
2001- Beaten by Derry
2004- Lost to as you say useless Mayo
2006- Drew with superpowers of louth and beaten by Laois
2007- Beaten by Meath who Cork (another useless team you say) hammered them by 10 points in semi final
2009- Lost to another useless team Cork in the semi final

Somehow it seems these teams are only useless when Kerry beat them. Did you ever think that these teams were actually decent teams who came up against one of the best teams of the last 20 years, who were on form for the big day like all great teams. A team which included the likes of Gooch, Donaghy, Declan, Moynihan, Marc, Darragh, Tomas and Galvin to name a few. Not a bad few players.

We will keep winning titles and the rest of you can keep griping about the useless teams we beat or the lucky all Irelands. Dont worry lads we will keep adding to the list of all ireland we dont deserve..lol

The boys are rattled now

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 04/06/2015 14:23:42    1732401