Take Dublin out of Leinster (part 2)

Jack_Goff

1745690 I don't care if the following is posted because it's directed at the mods and nobody else.

Can you stop approving the comments of superbluedub who is using his bully tactics to WUM me. They add nothing and I'm shocked you let them through when they're causing me stress I can do without. Thank you.

Just incase you are wondering he is linking me to a poster on another forum.

Oh stop your whinging,and start posting something sensible for a change,suggest you have a really good read of waynoIs excellent post .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 01/07/2015 12:29:50    1745918

Spot on Wayne,
Well done.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 01/07/2015 12:31:23    1745922

Its just sad.

Imagine winning a Leinster as a Meath player, Without Dublin in it, And actually treating it like a proper success.

Meath are now so desperate to win a leinster that a minority of their fans would actually take it if it meant taking the Dubs out ?

Westmeath showed absolutely everything that Meath dont have the other day, And im certain that in the Leinster final if they are taking a pasting (and i dont think they will being honest, but if they are) they wont fold and collapse like Meath did last sunday. Or in last years Leinster final.

When Biggy Reilly is the player lads are calling the leader, Then you know you are in trouble, No harm to the guy he is a good player but hardly a leader. He doesnt strike fear into defences like the Giles' and Geraghty's of this world did. He mostly runs and hides in big games when Meath dont perform anyway, His countless displays against Dublin prove as much, He got subbed in the first half against us last year.

Fact is, Meath are gutless. I'm sorry if it offends anyone but the truth hurts. And im not having a go at meath for the craic, They are a mirror of the gutless Dublin teams who fell apart against Tyrone and KErry in 08 and 09 respectively (to add a bit of balance to this). They are as gutless as the Dublin team who lacked the balls to see out the game against Mayo in 06.

They have no backbone as i said, They are weak and they dont have the correct mentality. How do fans expect them to compete when the players dont even believe it themselves. They shit themselves as soon as someone gets a run on them. Most of the squad havent played or won a big game. They still havent won promotion to division one because over the course of 7 games in the league they have bottled games they should have won thanks to the lack of composure etc against teams like Roscommon.

But the answer to all this, Is to take a team who have developed a mentality over the last half a decade, And punish them by preventing them winning their province. Why? Why handicap a team doing well for themselves ? Until someone has the balls to stand up to Dublin in leinster, they will continue to absolutely obliterate teams.

Donegal can do it, They can come to Croke Park and make a show of us, And it wasnt long ago they where getting beat by Fermanagh in Ballybofey. Mayo can do it despite their handy run in Connaught now for a few years, Alright they havent won the main one yet, But they still bloody compete. And Kerry and Cork, No competition in Munster for donkeys, yet they will always put it up to tough opposition. You will never see those guys making excuses like you Jack.

Because they wont feel sorry for themselves, they will look at THEMSELVES

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/07/2015 14:06:36    1746007

I dont know who is to blame.

Is it Mick O'Dowd and his management team. Is it the players who just havent got the same attitude as the glory meath teams in the past. Is it the county board or is it all of the above ? I dont know.

But its not Dublin. Its not us you should be having a pop at jack.

If anything, You should be hell bent on copying us. Not even our style or play, But if you even get the mantality aspect right you are more than half way there.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/07/2015 14:19:53    1746021

sceptical

Polulation of dublin is 1270000 approx. There roughly 10 000 for each club. (Crude estimate) the typical hardhead dub will remind us that because there is loads of competition from soccer rugby tiddlywinks etc then this ridiculous advantage doesnt count. In cavan there are 40 clubs each have a rough average population of 2000. Lets keep this simple cause you dubs Dont seem to understand complex facts. Per head of population most other counties have just as much foreign sports as yous. Your massive pick at every underage grade allows you to field a team that is far superior in quality to other counties. Yes sometimes the kildares of this world will beat yous but every year dublin can field a top quality side. Dublin should be split between north south and west.

-----
Well said Fr Dougal, that's an embarrassing post above but I know it does not represent the intelligence level of Cavan people in general.

Sceptical, I'll keep this simple for you as your post and logic is simple. Why restrict your solution to Dublin? Leitrim only has a population of about 20,000. Surely Galway and Mayo should be divided into 10 therefore. I mean you are putting forward this proposal in the interests of total fairness right? Surely this isn't just a pop at the Dubs. Why not combine the population of the entire 32 counties and split into 32 pick groups. I mean that would be really fair because population equals success doesn't it? If I was a Cavan man I would restrict my focus to Ulster just now as you've enough problems trying to get out of your province never mind the worries of playing the Dubs in the AI series.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/07/2015 14:27:57    1746029

Wayno can you not see this ain't about meath. I really should have signed up under another alias because you all let your childish hatred for meath cloud your views.

Why do people keep harping on about the winner wouldn't stand a chance in the all Ireland. Who cares because these teams never will anyway (most of them). leinster would be their all Ireland and they'd celebrate it like one.

Jayp I agree there are other super clubs like crokes and portlaoise that would give some leinster counties a match but the point is dublin have a few of them not just one.

If my idea was in place this year you'd have Kildare v westmeath in 2 weeks in front of over 50k. Atmosphere would be electric and there would be wild scenes of celebrations. You could literally have this every 3 years and then the 4th the dubs walk it but at least they'd celebrate it as it would no longer be a yearly procession for them.

And like donegal about 5 leinster teams would have a province they could win and that would motivate them to put in the commitment to improve even further. Because right now you have so many leinster teams saying what's the point and they're getting worse.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/07/2015 17:38:18    1746140

Jack Goff

Could you name those super clubs?

Na Fianna have a big membership, Brigids, Kilmacud and Ballyboden have huge numbers of members. All are duel clubs.

I don't buy Dublin going around the provinces, mainly because do you think Waterford or Leitrim wanna play Dublin? You are just passing the pain onto someone else. At the moment there are counties who have no hope in their own Province, giving them Dublin because you don't wanna play them is crazy. They'll be thanking you for that. And for 3 years Meath have a chance of winning a devalued Leinster title?

Most find it ridiculous ......

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/07/2015 17:53:06    1746147

And Wayno how do you not think westmeath will be hammered? They've been very poor for 40mins of all their matches. If Meath were 10 points up Dublin will be 20 and the differance is dublin will finish much stronger then westmeath. I'd be surprised if they got within 15 points to be honest.

The Dublin region (not county) don't belong in a province of medium to small counties every single year . You keep harping on about meath teams of old . Well guess what , they were the best meath teams ever against some of the worst Dublin teams ever and we still only narrowly beat you. Same for kildare , laois and westmeath who beat you those years.

Since then Dublin have received funding to maximise their massive advantages and we're left in a situation where it's pros against amateurs.

Either you stop funding Dublin and massively invest in the other leinster counties or you do the easy option and move the Dublin region around the Provinces which will allow leinster to recover.

And would you not enjoy provincial matches in June in places like killarney, Cork, thurles, Galway, castlebar , clones, Omagh , ballybofey etc .

Tough games that would actually be competitive and exciting rather than 3 easy matches in leinster that you win by an average of 25 points. Knowing you, you'll probably say you prefer leinster and the next 10 years of boring drubbings and snorefests.

The last 4 years the leinster semi not involving Dublin has been way more exciting than the one involving Dublin.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/07/2015 17:57:34    1746150

What about an ulster final not involving donegal. A connaught final not involving mayo or a munster final not involving kerry or is just the leinster final you object to?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/07/2015 18:08:42    1746158

Jay read the super club thread. A Dublin poster listed 5 football clubs that would stand a chance of getting promoted if they played in the division 4 league.

So you say it wouldn't be fair on Limerick or Waterford ?

So why then is it fair on 9 leinster counties annually .

They would welcome them once in 5 years because of the big revenue boost and the whole point of my idea is they will only compete in any one province once every 4 years so they won't do any terminal damage.

My idea makes so much sense. In 10 years after Dublin have won 19 in 20 leinster titles hopefully you dinosaurs will have evolved into chimps or maybe even cave men. By then you might start thinking straight although it might take Dublin winning 29/30 leinsters for you to fully evolve into intelligent human beings with common sense and a knowledge of what's best for the province.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/07/2015 18:11:05    1746160

Once you said Dublin region, you lost all Dublin supporters. Utter foolishness.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/07/2015 18:23:14    1746167

Jack_Goff

And Wayno how do you not think westmeath will be hammered? They've been very poor for 40mins of all their matches. If Meath were 10 points up Dublin will be 20 and the differance is dublin will finish much stronger then westmeath. I'd be surprised if they got within 15 points to be honest.

The Dublin region (not county) don't belong in a province of medium to small counties every single year . You keep harping on about meath teams of old . Well guess what , they were the best meath teams ever against some of the worst Dublin teams ever and we still only narrowly beat you. Same for kildare , laois and westmeath who beat you those years.

Since then Dublin have received funding to maximise their massive advantages and we're left in a situation where it's pros against amateurs.

Either you stop funding Dublin and massively invest in the other leinster counties or you do the easy option and move the Dublin region around the Provinces which will allow leinster to recover

------
I'm no expert in this but I was always led to believe that you get better by playing better teams. Do you seriously think that if Westmeath won Leinster that they would actually be competitive against the top 4 or 5 teams? No chance. What do the league tables and the position of the Leinster teams in them tell you Jack? This has nothing to do with Dublin. It's pure negligence on the behalf of the respective county boards. Why are Monaghan, Tipperary, Westmeath, Armagh etc now mightier footballing counties than Meath? What has Dublin to do with this? Why not rotate Kerry and the Cork region around the provinces? They've shared 80 of the last 81 Munster titles. What do you intend doing with the 10 million euro centre of excellence if not close the gap on the Dublin region?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/07/2015 18:31:30    1746173

Jayp the region comment is to prove a point and the Dublin region gets more funding then the rest of leinster combined so it stands .
And I couldn't care less if I've lost all Dublin support . Most dubs on here are like kids and all they do is make fun of meath when my thread is about all of leinster not meath.

Joxer that is exactly the point. These teams don't prioritise an all Ireland . Leinster is all they could ever dream of and with Dublin there annually they can't even dream of that . Unlike Dublin other leinster counties would properly celebrate it and yes it would improve them if they have at least 1 piece of silverware to aim for.

Playing Dublin does damage and not good for leinster teams. Why ? Because they all get hammered , disillusioned and lose motivation to improve because they know that they could give their lives for the cause and still lose by 10.

All evidence suggests that dublin is not benefiting these counties and it's quite the opposite .

Answer this. Why do Galway Hurlers not compete against mayo, sligo, leitrim and roscommon in a connaught hurling championship?

Because it makes no sense just as it makes no sense for leinster football and the dubs.

The only thing that makes you think it does is history . What you fail to realise is that history involved a Dublin that didn't receive massive funds and greatly under achieved vs a select few counties at their greatest ever. And still Dublin if they lost only lost marginally.

It's crazy you people want to continue with this madness.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/07/2015 19:20:01    1746199

on a side note i have 0 sympathy for meath and kildare outside of situations where dubs living in the county may want to play for dublin clubs and dublin...gaa is about the community....both meath and kildare have big populations...they should be doing a lot better...nothing to do with dublin

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 01/07/2015 19:24:00    1746206

It's crazy you people want to continue with this madness.

No whats crazy is you want to continue with this madness

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 01/07/2015 19:47:04    1746217

Ok Jack, lets head up north. Do you know that Cavan 1997, Derry 1998 and Monaghan 2013 have won the Ulster Championship in the last 20 years. Donegal in 2011/12/14 have three. No matter who wins 14 out of 20 titles were shared between Tyrone and Armagh.

In Munster, 1992 was the last success provincially for anybody besides Kerry and Cork. Am I starting to paint a picture.

The reality is, the provincial systems have always been flawed. A strong team always dominates them. In Connaught at present, Mayo havent had serious competition in several years.

Dublin have been dominant in Leinster? Why? The money and population thing are myths actually. Will I inform you why?

Because Donegal has about 160,000 people and Meath has 185,000 people. Meath argubly have better access to sponsors and definately better roads etc to get around the county. If everything you say is true explain to me how Donegal could run Dublin close in 2011 and beat them in 2014?

Like you are saying you are talking about saving Leinster football. Back in 2010 there was a machine up North called Tyrone, and Donegal had taken a few lickings off them. Did they quit, ask for Tyrone to be transfered? Clearly you arent really getting it...Meath winning Leinster without Dublin is like winning a walkover. You get the points, but theres nothing nice about turning up and not getting a challenge.

Meath need to up their game, so do other Leinster teams.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/07/2015 20:36:46    1746237

Jack - if a Leinster is going to be the height of ambition for Meath and Kildare (oh how the mighty have fallen!) even without Dublin and you even concede that these counties would be canon fodder outside of Leinster, then what you really need is a B championship for these counties who have lost so much ground and plummeted down the league tables. Rotating Dublin is not the solution, I think we need a B championship for counties who don't qualify out of what I think should be an open draw group stage. Scrap the provincials in the revamp.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/07/2015 21:32:27    1746260

Because they are the anomaly. They are going through their best period ever like meath and Kildare did in the 90's.

Modern Dublin has gone past the days where they come and go. They will never go again but we could way 20 years for another challenger in leinster . Although their dominance will damage the gaa in these counties so they might stay bad forever . You'll always have at least 1 contender to dublin from the other 3 so that's why you can always use the excuse of "how come X can compete".

You guys say get your house in order but how do you do that when our budgets are so tight and we only afford 3 full time coaches to dublins 100. Do other leinster counties even have any?

And Jay. Think about this . If munster has 2 dominant teams with tipperary potentially making it 3 in a few years surely Dublin entering once in 4 years would really liven it up. Same for connaught and ulster . Donegal wouldn't have a strangle hold on ulster or mayo on connaught.

It's a win win for all .

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/07/2015 21:35:08    1746261

And for the record meath were 3rd in division 2, two years running so we're roughly in the top 12. We're a respectable team and just because we're not kerry, mayo, Dublin or donegal doesn't mean were crap. We're your average team that could do better but could do a lot worse.

And even if all of us in leinster hit our maximum potential we'd still lose it every year .

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/07/2015 21:37:26    1746262

You see joxer nobody wants to scrap the Provinces because they keep the local rivalries alive, which maximises crowds and minimises travel.

I'm all for a 2 tired champions league format but it would have to be separate. Basically keep the Provinces but as separate competitions not connected to the all Ireland.

I'm all for the changes, but this thread is created on the assumption that the gaa won't be removing the Provinces any time soon. And even If they separate them my point still stands, Dublin should be rotated.

And yeah realistically meath and Kildare who traditionally are the next best after Dublin after not really falling from grace if their main ambition is leinster and you know why?

Because apart from a brief 20 years in the 125 years of the gaa neither of these were often contenders anyway. So we're just back to the norm.

Meath and Kildare made incredible breakthroughs in the 90's buy sadly the gaa didn't back them and instead backed Dublin. Results are seen today.

Funny thing is the crowds are much smaller now then they would be if they'd of backed meath and Kildare.

Anyway were back to our rightful place. Whipping boys of the dubs and it's time you guys moved on. You've outgrown this province of division 2,3,4 teams.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/07/2015 21:53:58    1746269