Take Dublin out of Leinster (part 2)

Jack_Goff

1744986 My God you are incapable of comprehending basic English. Should I type in Irish? Maybe that's your first language.

We're talking about leinster. This thread is about leinster. Cork are not in leinster.

Dublin have a much much much bigger pick than all other leinster counties. on top of that their pick gets better couching access to better resources and an all round better system. I don't see other counties in leinster able to afford the likes of Bernard dunne who's just the icing on the cake.

The job prospects are also through. Dublin have the likes of dcu and ucd to funnel their young talent through. You don't hear of dubs emigrating abroad in the middle of a campaign like many other counties.

AIG money and money from the many other sponsors don't kick points but it ensures continued underage and other investment that ultimately helps. Players like Bernard dunne getting big sponsorship deals too. All resources not possible in most other leinster counties.

Look at the professional treatment an injured Dublin player is given the luxury of. You'd swear he was professional.

Again it's not possible for other counties to do this and the nail in the coffin is the gaa piling on even more investment on top of their already huge resources.

The point about your super clubs and you left out ballymun, is they on their own would put it up to many leinster counties. So obviously your unstoppable when it comes to county level.

Anyway answer this. If you could see the future and Dublin win the next 19/20 leinster titles do you think not changing it now is the right thing?

jack_goff/royalcelt
Dublin will never be rotated around the provinces,that is not the solution,the rest of the leinster counties need to get there houses in order.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 29/06/2015 19:39:09    1745017

If you take Dublin out if Leinster then what is the point? It wouldn't be Leinster. The two best days of my life were beating Dublin and winning Leinster.

Dublin's budget and professional setup is a massive advantage. I won't respect any blind Dub that won't accept that. But they shouldn't be that far ahead of the rest of Leinster. It's not raw, God given talent that enables them to play the football they do. If you look at the game they play it's the movement of the players into the wide open spaces of Croke Park and intelligent passing. They are immaculately conditioned and brilliantly coached. Nobody on that team is being asked to perform miracles week in week out. Their system is all about getting into the scoring zone and taking the easy score. When they attack they do so at speed and conviction and is pretty terrifying because there is always a man making space for himself in a central position. All passing is done in a way that the receiver isn't contesting for the ball with opposition. Michael Darragh McCauley is brilliant at finding space for Cluxton to drop the ball into his chest and is the most effective midfielder around because his distribution in turn is deadly accurate, but he can't contest 50-50 balls like other midfielders do.

The other counties are not at the races in terms of coaching and tactics. Kildare started off the league this year playing 15 man defences and that was dropped. There is no shape of tactical plan to us whatsoever. Jason Ryan sits up in the stand and appears to have lost interest. You may have noticed that Hugh Lynch gave the pre game pep talk on Sunday. An substitute who hasn't started any games this year. Why wasn't the captain making that speech? Shows the lack of leadership from management.

It's time to stop looking at Dublin with our mouths open and crumbling every single time we see a sky blue shirt. The other Leinster counties don't have much money but tactics and bravery don't cost anything.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 29/06/2015 20:07:23    1745035

Lots of agro against Dublin. Never understood it to be fair. Dublin are in Lenister, Down are in Ulster, Cork is in Cork ;)

Let is go lads. jealousy doesnt suit you or anyone!

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 30/06/2015 09:01:16    1745147

Dublin are 1/500 to win Lenister. All you Dublin haters should sell everything you have, borrow as much as you can, back dublin to win and use the money to fund a 'Dublin out' campaign or better yet invest the money in your club poor box as you all seem to get none from HQ ;)

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 30/06/2015 11:05:14    1745235

It's time to stop looking at Dublin with our mouths open and crumbling every single time we see a sky blue shirt. The other Leinster counties don't have much money but tactics and bravery don't cost anything.

Nail on the head Daith. The onus has to be on other Counties to raise their game, not on the GAA to find ways to hamper Dublin or any other county that finds themselves in a position of dominance.( Mayo in Connaught, Kilkenny in Leinster hurling for example).
There is no doubt that Dublin enjoy large resourses, but that comes about from the County board aggressively working to generate funding for the games in Dublin. But the biggest factor in Dublins current dominance is the fact that Dublin put plans in place over 15 years ago to build the game from the bottom up through games developement and coaching structures. At the time it gave everyone a great laugh that Dublin, who couldn't get close to a leinster title in football, and couldn't even dream of being competitive on the hurling field, were targeting regular all Ireland appearances for their football team and talking of competing with the big boys in hurling. Now that the work is showing some results its a major problem.
There is no doubt that with the proper structures in place most counties can become competitive. Look at Donegal, a shambles as recently as 2009/10. Monaghan with one of the smallest populations in the country. The likes of Tipp, Westmeath and Longford have all raised the bar at underage level through hard work. It's a bit ironic that its the counties closest to Dublin geographically, that also enjoy large populations and access to potential funding, are they ones complaining the most.The sooner they realise that there is no quick fix available and start the hard work the sooner they will knock Dublin off their perch.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 30/06/2015 11:14:53    1745247

You can talk all you like about the Dubs and that but that was always a motivation for country teams to beat them. Look at how Corofin demolished St. Vincents in the All-Ireland club semi. The populations of Meath, Kildare, Wicklow and Louth should be doing much better. I know people in Meath who are always complaining about their underage and club structures, and these would be lads on underage panels. This should be the focus of this debate.

Just looking at the kildare game the last day, the tackling on Connolly for his first goal was laughable, a team who did not believe they could win. Looking back to the league, Dublin found it tough in croker against Tyrone and Derry, because at least they could tackle properly. They are good but not unbeatable and I don't see them winning the All Ireland this year.

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 30/06/2015 12:14:34    1745316

AHP you got it spot on, remember when Dublin won the AllIreland in the mid 80s it was 1995 before they won it again and nothing again till was it late 00s and everybody was laughing at Dublin in between those years remember when the idea of having 2 Dublin competing and Spillane commented 'my God 2 poor Dublin teams' They pulled their socks up, invested at underage and from 05 onwards they are 1 of the best counties in Ireland and will remain for years to come, you need to concentrate on underage just look at Roscommon, Tipperary, Longford at underage all competing strongly and winning titles, just the final push and they will be strong at adult level

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 30/06/2015 12:47:40    1745349

hill16no1man

My God hill you just ignore everything I say and pretend I'm trying to say something I'm not . even the Irish comment. You obviously are having problems understanding what I write in English so I'm suggesting Irish which as we know now is your first language. So that explains it .

Cork are not in leinster And we're talking about leinster. They also haven't received funding anything like Dublin so they're not miles ahead of everyone . Backs up my point actually. Dublin should receive the same money Cork do. A fraction of what they currently get because you'll still be a top team without it.

Bernard dunne was CLEARLY used to illustrate your resources. He's one part of a massive professional back room team the other counties simply can't afford . If the likes of him weren't an advantage to the players performing better he wouldn't be there.

The comment about injured players too. Obviously other counties can't afford that level of service to their injured players .

Meath have a decent sponsor but your picking one of the best leinster teams outside of Dublin . Many including westmeath struggle to even get one and when they do its pittance compared to dublins multi million deal . Again your big population is an advantage here because these companies will pay more. Not your fault but clearly a reason why an already resource dominate county shouldn't receive the lionshare of gaa money.

Ballymun are a super club because they're one of the best in dunlin. They also supply a good few county players. In my mind a super club is a club that could give counties like offaly , Longford and carlow a match . The kind of teams the Dublin region shouldn't be competing with every single year.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 30/06/2015 15:49:46    1745527

Jack Goff

At least try and be original "Dublin region" I believe this is already been used by another biased poster down in the south west of Ireland.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 30/06/2015 17:06:18    1745592

Jack Goff....

The definition of super club is generally determined by a clubs membership size, health of their finances and geographical spread of their members.

Ballymun on that basis arent a super club. They have a tiny membership, half decent facilities and a core element that run that club efficiently.

To say Ballymun are a super club shows how little you know about Dublin football.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 30/06/2015 17:33:13    1745610

Lads seriously let him at it. He reminds me of loyal....remember him?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/06/2015 18:01:18    1745619

Jackeen

1745619 Lads seriously let him at it. He reminds me of loyal....remember him?

Agreed let jack_goff/royalcelt at it.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 30/06/2015 18:33:44    1745634

Jayp my definition of a super club is one that would give another leinster county a match and ballymun along with a few other Dublin clubs are tight up there. Sure Vincents would give meath a rattle.

It's only when you look at it like this you really see how Dublin have outgrown the province and leinster shouldn't be stuck with them every year.

As I said if they were in leinster only 1 in 4 years the province would really flourish and become as competitive as ulster. It breaks my heart to see it die a death.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 30/06/2015 18:40:14    1745636

Polulation of dublin is 1270000 approx. There roughly 10 000 for each club. (Crude estimate) the typical hardhead dub will remind us that because there is loads of competition from soccer rugby tiddlywinks etc then this ridiculous advantage doesnt count. In cavan there are 40 clubs each have a rough average population of 2000. Lets keep this simple cause you dubs Dont seem to understand complex facts. Per head of population most other counties have just as much foreign sports as yous. Your massive pick at every underage grade allows you to field a team that is far superior in quality to other counties. Yes sometimes the kildares of this world will beat yous but every year dublin can field a top quality side. Dublin should be split between north south and west.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 30/06/2015 18:48:32    1745644

I don't care if the following is posted because it's directed at the mods and nobody else.

Can you stop approving the comments of superbluedub who is using his bully tactics to WUM me. They add nothing and I'm shocked you let them through when they're causing me stress I can do without. Thank you.

Just incase you are wondering he is linking me to a poster on another forum.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 30/06/2015 20:20:54    1745690

Jack Goff....

You just moved the goalposts there. So a superclub are a club who could beat a Leinster team. By that definition, Portlaoise, Coroffin, Crossmaglen, Dr. Crokes etc are all super clubs. They might all beat certain Leinster teams.

Ballymun were knocked out of an intercounty league semi last year against St. Maurs and of the championship by Oliver Plunkets/Eogain Rua (and well beaten).

You know very little about club football in Dublin Jack. I suggest you do some research before posting biased viewpoints. Facts always make spoofers look silly.

Just to repeat, on the facts presented in my last two posts, Ballymun are not a super club. They just happen to have a dedicated bunch of lads (a golden generation one might say) who all burst on the scene at the one time.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/07/2015 09:44:50    1745784

As I said if they were in leinster only 1 in 4 years the province would really flourish and become as competitive as ulster. It breaks my heart to see it die a death.

Okay thats it, im biting

Can you honestly, hand on heart, not see how pathetic you sound. Because Dublin are so good you want to take us out so you have a chance ? Surely you understand somewhere inside that ridiculous mind of yours that shows how far the mighty Meath have fallen that you want to resort to winning a Leinster without the Dubs in it, and you would actually be happy with winning it.

That is sad on so many levels that i actually do feel sorry for you. Louth, Offaly, Wicklow... All these sides haven't a hope either (with the greatest of respect to them) and yet you dont see them whinging about taking Dublin out of the province. You are humiliating yourself with crap like this and infact, i'd go as far as saying people like you are the absolute ethicist of everything thats wrong with Meath football at the minute. Your attitude STINKS. How former greats would cringe reading your rubbish

Meath arent competitive. They wont bother big teams like Dublin, Mayo, Kerry and Donegal. You played Westmeath the other day and you blew a 10 point lead. How did Dublin affect that ? We didn't. That had nothing to do with us, that was all down to yourselves. You are weak. Mentally you are weak. You have no stomach, no bottle, No backbone, No passion, No desire, No heart, No Character. No fight. You lack leaders both on the pitch and in the stand. If anybody is to blame for that then you need to look closer to home and your own CB, management, players and fans to at least get that mentality right

I wouldn't be Royaldunnes biggest fan, But at least he has a bit of confidence even if that confidence doesnt come from what he is seeing on the pitch.

And if you think that taking Dublin out of leinster or moving them around the provinces is the answer and this will make Leinster flourish, Then you are deluded. Taking us out wont make up for your sides lack of bottle and pride in their jersey which once had the fight and bravery of lions.

I dont care what you or anyone say. If Donegal and Mayo can come from nowhere, and find the inner belief to not only compete, but beat the best teams (including Dublin) then Meath can do it too. The problem is you are full of self pity. You sit around whinging feeling sorry for yourselves because the big Dubs are miles better. We do have better players, But you can at least match our pride in the jersey, our work ethos, If you cant even get basics like that right, Then what hope have ye got.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/07/2015 10:25:13    1745815

I can empathize with the Dublin fans frustrations here, in the formula 1 on Sunday because Mercedes are currently dominating I think they should be forced to drive a ford focus rather than their own cars to give the others a chance, its a daft argument and absolves those supposedly competing of any responsibility for their own failings.

Yes Dublin have the numbers but numbers without structure means nothing, as has been mentioned China and India should dominate world sport by that argument but they dont (Yet) because the structures arent there. Dublin got their house in order to avail of the numbers so why should they be punished. Yes its dull watching Dublin walk Leinster for the neutral, but surely the onus is with those competing to up their game not artificially move them somewhere else to give others a chance.

By that logic you could be looking at a Kildare westmeath leinster final this year if the dubs were in another province, realistically those teams have as much chance of bothering the top 4 teams as my own, nil. The top 4 teams have systems in place which others need to emulate and improve upon or even if the dubs were in another province the leinster champions would just be skittled in the quarters/semis by one of the top 4.

The top 4 are of a similar standard with no one team dominating the gap to 5-8 is bigger but teams like tyrone, roscommon and tipp are showing what can be done to narrow the gap, so rather than blame the big bad dubs why dont teams try and beat them at their own game surely that would be more satisfying than moving them around the houses.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 01/07/2015 11:51:30    1745872

Well said waynoI

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 01/07/2015 11:56:29    1745880

sceptical

Sceptical, you are embarrassing us. The fact that the rest of us are so poor has nothing to do with Dublin or any other county. Its down to ourselves.
There were no shouts to split Dublin when they were not winning All Irelands. SHould we split Kerry as they are dominant in Munster and won the AI last year.
Our neighbours Monaghan have one o the smallest populations yet punch above their weight. Its called spirit. You either have it or you don't.
Most teams are beaten before they take to the field because they have no spirit, no self belief, no pride, no desire to win. Its easier to roll over and whinge about the Dubs.
Kerry and Donegal don't whinge. They get on with the job. If they loose they loose and regroup for next year.
The Dubs, Kerry, Donegal and Mayo are setting the standard. It's up to the rest of us to either reach for the top or feel sorry for ourselves and whinge about splitting Dublin.
The Dubs are a joy to watch. They play an attractive, attacking game of football. Its the way it should be played and I would rather they kept winning provincial and AI titles than see the standard lowered by muck defensive football like we see most weeks in Ulster. Sooner or later the rest of us might grow a pair and challenge them.

FrDougalMaguire (Cavan) - Posts: 152 - 01/07/2015 12:24:05    1745909