Take Dublin out of Leinster (part 2)

I cannot believe Dublin are getting blamed for this , yes they have better resources but there comes a time , when the other counties just need to work harder . Mayo or Donegal wouldn't have thrown in the towel like Kildare yesterday . Everyone felt sorry for poor oul Longford in day one , they're manager had zero game plan apart from attack - seriously cop on other Leinster counties , if it means parking the bus - then bloody do . These tankings every week are embarrassing !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 29/06/2015 11:50:55    1744524

Jack_Goff

The louth v meath final was the best leinster final in yonks not including the referee decision in added time.

More rubbish from you. 2009 was way better. And the wrong team got result in 2010. There was no-one whining back then either about unfair advantages/population/sponsorship/playing at home..etc

Dublin went on to get a pasting from Kerry. As happened all through '00's. (Kerry, Tyrone, Armagh) Dublin have now got there house in order. Time for Meath/Kildare to have a long hard look at themselves. You're a fool if you think removing Dublin from Leinster will make any difference to yous. WM gave you one on the snout yesterday. Who did the manage that with their current resources.

A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 29/06/2015 12:16:25    1744549

Jack, I appreciate the fact that Leinster would be . Fantastic province without the Dubs but we cannot even listen to the suggestion of 'removing' them and randomly placing them into Ulster. The Gas need to just restructure the whole thing. A group and knock out comp, top two from each group go into knockout stages, bottom two go into knockout stages of 2nd tier championship. Another worrying suggestion I'm hearing is people day play the 2nd tier championship final before the 1st tier one. Why would you potentially ruin one of the greatest days in the Irish sporting calender by doing that?

PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 29/06/2015 12:22:50    1744556

The Dubs have brilliant facilties to train in. I believe they use DCU's facilities and as a former student of that University, I know just how good those facilities are.

Teams like Westmeath, Offaly, Longford, Laois etc train the same way the Tyrones, Kerrys, Donegals, Mayos and Dublins trained 10 years ago.

The standard and pace of football is higher now, so players need a high standard of training and nutrition.

That brings us to county board budgets. I don't believe Westmeath could afford to build a state of the art centre of excellence like Tyrone have ( with NI government money). Maybe the GAA need to step in here and aid "weaker" counties to set up these acadamys to develop underage , minor and U21 talent as well as giving a base for senior footballers.

It will never happen though. The GAA love days like yesterday. Days where there is a shock (quota for the summer filled) but that defeated team isn't Dublin. They still need the bums on seats and that's what it will always come down to unfortunately.

If the GAA were serious about addressing the imbalance in football they would do something about it and not just talk about it year on year. But they won't because they are not.

iarmhiman (Westmeath) - Posts: 140 - 29/06/2015 13:37:03    1744635

Wayno take your disrespectful wumming some place else.

Hill16no1man meath population has increased big time but the increase has almost completely come from dubs . You all have a chip on your shoulder regarding meath for some reason so the kids born in meath support Dublin instead of their actual county . No benefit to meath.

How about we get the funding Dublin gets instead so we can hire full time couches to coach kids in primary and secondary schools to encourage them to improve and ultimately play with their local clubs .

Meaths budget is very tight and we physically can't afford it . We're barely able to finish the centre of excellence as it is .

Anyway stop turning this into a meath thing . Because it's not. Longford lost by 27 points , Kildare 19, westmeath God knows what. Meath by 16 last year and the tipp future hammerings will only get bigger.

Your new line is sure they will set themselves up for a hammering . well first of all they would play a qualifier winner so a big chance they would be competitive and even have a chance to make the all Ireland semi. Secondly these teams don't have any chance for Sam and don't even think of it. Leinster is there Sam and the celebrations of the likes of laois, westmeath prove it.

You can turn a non event into something meaningful. Dublin might aswell have a bye to the all Ireland the way things are.

And for the record I'm not saying move them to ulster I'm saying rotate the Dublin region around all provinces.

So 2016 Dublin in munster
2017 Dublin in connaught
2018 Dublin in ulster
2019 Dublin in leinster

And so on.

BTW the likes of Wayno who love winning so much. You'd actually win more sams because you'd be battle hardened with real tests most years with this system instead of getting to the knock out stages without a real game in months.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 29/06/2015 14:39:09    1744716

Jack_Goff

oh so it suits you now to acknowledge that population dont matter that much because dubs live in meath
but you try to say dublin have 1 million players to choose from
without acknowledging the fact that half of that is non nationals/country people
and then over half of whats left is women
but yeah dublin still have 1 million gaelic footballers for gavin to select from.
so basically why dont you advocate for all the leinster teams to play the o byrne cup without dublin in it
then you will have a real chance of what your looking for.
rotating dublin is stupid
kerry and cork have won something like 80 munster titles in 81 years
did you ever suggest they should be rotated to make the munster championship a super competitive competition
with its winner basically having no hope of winning the all ireland
meath played great football for 45 minutes yesterday
thats their problem not dublin
play for 70 mins like that and they will be good enough

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/06/2015 14:53:23    1744731

The way football is in Leinster now----- if Kerry were there instead of Dublin who would beat them?? The same about Mayo, cork Donegal and maybe Monaghan
Give it a few years, maybe 3/4 and I'd say another team will have arrived in Leinster, possibly Kildare
When you look at Dublns results against the top teams over the last four years or so if they don't score goals they are very likely to be beat
Last year against Donegal, 2012 against Mayo Also it took goals to win Sam in 2013 against Mayo ( j brolly done an article about it yesterday in the Irish ind) and against Kerry in 2011
So the first thing Meath/ Kildare et all have to do in Leinster is develope a proper defensive system and work from there
It's all right the pundits praising Dublin ( joy to watch and all this) but come August / September I think they will find it harder to find the net or even get points
As for the scores yesterday in the two games the teams probably scored more yesterday than what will be scored in the entire Ulster championship
But all in Leinster will have to live with Dublin so it's best now start preparing for next year or 2017/18
Surely some county will come up with a good team

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 29/06/2015 15:09:01    1744751

we should take Dublin out of Leinster, take Cork and Kerry out of Munster, Donegal, Tyrone, Derry and Monaghan out of Ulster, and Mayo and Galway out of Connaught.
The we can move on to hurling, Kilkenny, Wexford, Dublin, Galway, Tipperary, Clare, Limerick, Cork ... hell, why not take all the top teams out of all the provinces.

Is there anything to be said for saying another mass !!!????

FrDougalMaguire (Cavan) - Posts: 152 - 29/06/2015 15:21:29    1744764

"How about we get the funding Dublin gets instead so we can hire full time couches to coach kids in primary and secondary schools to encourage them to improve and ultimately play with their local clubs .
Meaths budget is very tight and we physically can't afford it . We're barely able to finish the centre of excellence as it is . "

Isnt it like ulster where coaches are hired by the province and rotate around every school in the province?

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 29/06/2015 15:33:47    1744777

Besides the debate of moving Dublin out have people ever thought we dont want them? As much As i like dubs and their football I dont want another team in an already packed Ulster

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 29/06/2015 15:35:21    1744779

hill16no1man

Jack_Goff

oh so it suits you now to acknowledge that population dont matter that much because dubs live in meath
but you try to say dublin have 1 million players to choose from
without acknowledging the fact that half of that is non nationals/country people
and then over half of whats left is women

but yeah dublin still have 1 million gaelic footballers for gavin to select from.
so basically why dont you advocate for all the leinster teams to play the o byrne cup without dublin in it
then you will have a real chance of what your looking for.
rotating dublin is stupid
kerry and cork have won something like 80 munster titles in 81 years
did you ever suggest they should be rotated to make the munster championship a super competitive competition
with its winner basically having no hope of winning the all ireland
meath played great football for 45 minutes yesterday
thats their problem not dublin
play for 70 mins like that and they will be good enough

Hill, personally I don't agree with taking Dublin out of Leinster.

But the bold part I highlighted from what you said above is a bit daft. Contrary to popular belief, outside of Dublin children are actually conceived, which involves women. There's no immaculate conception going on or Delivery by stork.

So I'm sure half of every county is women. I was also passing through as far as Sligo last month and seen plenty of non nationals working on the new road/bridge works there in the town.

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 29/06/2015 15:50:10    1744799

Hill16no1man I never said Dublin had 1 million players to chose from but they still have way more then the rest. You are also home to a number of super clubs. All of which can give the all Ireland club championship a rattle.

This is also not about meath. It's sad that I probably had to sign up under a carlow alias to not get meath dragged into this.

Westmeath are the best of the rest for 2015. Let's focus on them. How many multiples more Do Dublin have when it comes to playing numbers compared to them. Combine that with the job prospects, resources, sponsorship money, sports council and gaa money advantages Dublin enjoy its actually embarrassing you can try justify both being in the same province. The same goes for Longford who you beat by 27 in second gear and all other leinster counties really. westmeath at the start of this season spent months trying to get a sponsor.

It's pathetic a county with all the advantages get all the funding and then have the cheek to suggest the others need to step up. It's not possible or feasible.

And that's a fact. I'm right. How do I know?

Look at last 10 leinsters, look at the gap increasing steadily and finally watch it continue in future.

Change will come slowly. First chance will likely you get a bye to the leinster semi final but that won't work and eventually you'll either get a bye to the all Ireland quarters or you begin in the first round of the qualifiers. My guess is you'll do what Galway used to do in the hurling and begin your championship in the all Ireland knock out stages.

That's not gonna do anyone any good except the leinster championship but at least my idea does. The dubs grace all 4 provinces meaning leinster recovers and the other 3 get a big boost the year they host Dublin. Fans would really enjoy it too, especially the dubs.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 29/06/2015 16:02:34    1744814

uncle fester
i never said anything like that
I made the point that dublin dont have 1million gaelic footballers
as jack goff likes to suggest
but when it comes to meath he is quick to say the population is down to dubs living there
that are not available for selection
hence the reason i point out that any statistic on population can be taken with a pinch of salt
as immediatly over half of it is taken off when you count women in any area that is

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/06/2015 16:15:38    1744829

Jaysus

Any chance of getting this thread locked

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/06/2015 16:21:59    1744833

It's not about Dublin FFS. Mayo may not have won the biggest prize but they would be doing the 4-5 in a row if they took the place of the DUBS in Leinster, same goes for Kerry and Donegal, this thread is laughable.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7900 - 29/06/2015 16:24:48    1744837

TheRightStuff and SamOnErrigal, you are 100 per cent right.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7900 - 29/06/2015 16:27:08    1744841

When Meath lose to the likes of Westmeath, no disrespect intended to WH, I don't think Meath should be pointing at other counties.

Let's face a fact. Meath are a disgrace in the context of their tradition. They are a fine football county that put out some wonderful players. And we are not talking about 50 years ago either.

I wouldn't deny inequalities exist in sport, but there is no correlation between success and population in the GAA. It was never an issue for Meath before and it a lazy cover to hide behind now...

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 29/06/2015 16:28:35    1744843

Jack_Goff

dont agree as cork have the most people playing gaa so therefore they have the largest people to pick from
would you not agree?
and anyway cork can only pick 30 players so what good is having the rest of them available for cork but not
being able to be picked from on the matchday panel?
a number of superclubs whats that got to do with anything here?
and a number is what crokes boden brigids ?
hardly a mass of super clubs
the area that crokes take in kilmacud and stillorgan
on the northside you have the same area size with o tooles, raheny, st monicas, trinity gaels, naomh barrog, na dubh gall and innis fails all clubs to match that one club of crokes, the point being its the same size just crokes have them in one club
the other area has several clubs.
why isnt it about meath last time i looked they were in leinster too?
the job prospects what are you on about
if your unemployed you would have more time to train than somebody working in a high powered job
so I dont know what working prospects has to do with this
and anyway its a team training not individual so they train the same amount.
so aig is the reason dublin players have football ability
they must inject diurmuid connolly with talent once they came on aborad
as he surely couldnt kick a ball over the bar growing up until he got sponsors.
its pathetic to suggest that you pick 30 players and work with them to become better as a team
you obvioulsy have never managed a team then i take it?
and what happens every 4 years when dublin play in leinster under your idea
will you whinge if they win by 20 points
that then they should rotate between the other 3 only
and what if we play waterford in munster and win by 30 points
will that be a fair treatment on them or is it only leinster its unfair to see hammerings?
what about the hurling lat week when kilkenny hdone the exact same to wexford
shold they be taken out of leinster too?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/06/2015 16:30:19    1744847

My God you are incapable of comprehending basic English. Should I type in Irish? Maybe that's your first language.

We're talking about leinster. This thread is about leinster. Cork are not in leinster.

Dublin have a much much much bigger pick than all other leinster counties. on top of that their pick gets better couching access to better resources and an all round better system. I don't see other counties in leinster able to afford the likes of Bernard dunne who's just the icing on the cake.

The job prospects are also through. Dublin have the likes of dcu and ucd to funnel their young talent through. You don't hear of dubs emigrating abroad in the middle of a campaign like many other counties.

AIG money and money from the many other sponsors don't kick points but it ensures continued underage and other investment that ultimately helps. Players like Bernard dunne getting big sponsorship deals too. All resources not possible in most other leinster counties.

Look at the professional treatment an injured Dublin player is given the luxury of. You'd swear he was professional.

Again it's not possible for other counties to do this and the nail in the coffin is the gaa piling on even more investment on top of their already huge resources.

The point about your super clubs and you left out ballymun, is they on their own would put it up to many leinster counties. So obviously your unstoppable when it comes to county level.

Anyway answer this. If you could see the future and Dublin win the next 19/20 leinster titles do you think not changing it now is the right thing?

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 29/06/2015 18:50:17    1744986

Jack_Goff

i would consider irish as my first language, thats hardly an inuslt as I am irish afterall
strange attempt at trying to slag somebody there jack.
oh so we ignore facts unless it suits your arguement is that it
cork dont matter now or any other county i see...............
but dont dublin also have much much much bigger competition from other sports than all the other counties???
oh dear lord so now a man who never kicked a football in his life bernard dunne is the reason we are winning
you couldnt make it up what you will say next man.
and tayto park dont make huge amounts of money that meath get sponsored by?
last time i looked it was one of the top tourist attractions in ireland.
so its wrong to look after an injured player
we should do like one of the games on the sunday game last night and let a seriously injured player be carried off by
a girl who is unable to hold him, man you really take the biscuit.
its not possible to appoint a physio capacle of carrying off an injured footballer because your from
another leinster county ????????
they on their own cannot dominate dublin so how on earth could they do any better at inter county level
and ballymun is nowhere near a super club are you mad???
what in your mind makes them a super club please tell me???
well if dublin win that amount of titles it will be down to dublin being better
and the others not raising their game to compete
it was only 5 years ago meath could score five goals against dublin
and 4 years ago kildare ran dublin to a single point
the differance now is dublin believe in themselves
the others dont believe in themselves.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/06/2015 19:29:51    1745008