Take Dublin out of Leinster (part 2)

Jack, I'm like you on this. I dream of the day when the GAA decide, "wait a minute here, this atmosphere at the first semi final before the Dublin one is awful, tis stadium is a quarter full. Let's play these games in future in smaller provincial grounds, eg Tullamore." We will go to Croker and the empty seats will be awful to look at, there will be little or no atmosphere, there will be an echoey empty feel. Whereas, play it in Tullamore, you have a full house, no gaps of empty seats so it looks better for the sport, and better excitement in general. Please GAA, either build. Modern stadium in Leinster that holds 50,000 max, and play these games here along with AI quarters and maby a semi, or just play it in smaller existing provincial grounds.

PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 14/06/2015 20:07:58    1736891

Nack,
Come on man your raving not one of those teams mentioned would win Connacht cop on to yourself. Meath struggled to beat Wicklow today who had 13 men at the end no direspect to Wicklow but there not on same level as Galway.

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 14/06/2015 20:37:13    1736917

Have to agree with Pingcity, none of those would win Connacht. They would get closer than to Dublin but still wouldn't win. Mayo are well ahead of these counties and probably Roscommon is ahead too. They could get to a Connacht final depending on the draw but that would be their limit.

Dublin would be favourities in the other provinces but not guaranteed. Facing the likes of Kerry, Cork, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone, Monaghan etc is far ahead of anything in Leinster at the moment.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 14/06/2015 20:53:34    1736929

today proves my point yet again. Meath v Westmeath showed us what the championship would be like if dublin rotated around the provinces or just entered the all ireland qualifiers round one or a bye to the all ireland quarters.

and if dublin weren't there teams would improve no end as they know they could win and the crowds from the rural leinster counties going to matches would explode.

we are in a situation where dublin will never stop winning this competition yet some dinosaurs on here think the status quo should remain. Not a single competitive match for dublin between the league final and the all ireland. even most dub fans must be bored.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 28/06/2015 19:19:12    1744028

Jack_Goff

"and the crowds from the rural leinster counties going to matches would explode."

Are you advocating the use of Roadside Bombs now ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 28/06/2015 19:26:13    1744039

jack goff your dilussional if you think
that having westmeath v meath as a standard bearer for leinster football would be brilliant
dont get me wrong i enjoyed the game very much so
but they would be only conning themselves
to have no dublin there and have these teams going at each other
thinking there better than they are and then maybe meeting kerry, donegal or mayo when they come out of leinster
and more than likely getting shown up in the same fashion as dublin have done to them in leinster.
all that would be doing is having an ulster hurling championship style
also crowds going through the roof how?
there was over 50 thousand there today
that was a great attendance but the breakdown would see about 80% of that being dublin supporters
so theres nothing to show what you are trying to suggest

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/06/2015 20:12:22    1744089

Scrap all the provincial championships in their current setup. Have the provincials run off by end of June. Then an open draw knockout All Ireland championship.

This calling for Dubs to be split in two or put in another provincial championship is sour grapes. Where were the calls for it in early noughties when Kildare, Meath, Westmeath, Laois and Dublin were winning Leinster and Offaly soon before that. If you can't beat them try and join them but stop looking for remedies for a non-existent problem. Dublin have won just two of the last 19 All Irelands. It's like the Kilkenny are bad for hurling argument. Extremely flawed.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 28/06/2015 20:18:56    1744092

This is stupid,the likes of Meath have only themselves to blame.Meath teams of the past could beat this Dublin team

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/06/2015 20:19:33    1744096

Our problems are within the county, us: not Dublin or anyone else. At this stage we have run out of excuses. Time to sort out our own mess.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 28/06/2015 20:31:03    1744115

Lads I worry for the future of Leinster football after today but not for the future of the sport. The Meath WestMeath game was a fabulous advertisement for the sport, accurate kick passing, accurate free taking, long range points, pace, power and physicality. But the future of the province has to be worrying, I'm just hoping that this is a super Dublin football team, and they are in their golden age, but then you have to realise that this team has only really won one all ireland. Has Dublin gone so far ahead of the rest? Has the rest fell so far behind? Has the million euros worth of sponsorship finally started showing results for Dublin? Does the GAA need to invest heavily into all other Leinster counties?

PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 28/06/2015 20:52:06    1744134

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. Take Kilkenny out of hurling as well, these threads are headmelting .

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 28/06/2015 20:54:50    1744139

I spent 10mins in Croke Park watching Dublin Longford after the hurling match. I spent 10-15mins again today watching Dubs Kildare. I don't expect the Leinster Final to remain competitive past 15-20 mins either, so there's minimal motivation to watch it imo. Football is in crisis. There just aren't enough contenders, and what's worse, some of the matches between non contenders like Westmeath Meath today are vastly more entertaining than the contender/non contender matchups, which tend to be either turkey shoots (Dublin Kildare), or packed defense borefests like Donegal Derry last evening. Big problem with football for the GAA to solve.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 28/06/2015 21:00:15    1744150

The louth v meath final was the best leinster final in yonks not including the referee decision in added time.

Yes both teams that day would lose by 20 to this Dublin team but that's irrelevant. Dublin will hammer westmeath but there's no doubt if every game was between the likes of meath and westmeath we'd have a wonderful competitive championship with teams that play open football.

Hill16no1man how can you not comprehend that if Dublin were gone obviously the support of the other counties would explode. Not now when they've no hope obviously. westmeath, laois, Kildare, meath, louth, offaly have all proven that they can bring 20k -30k to croker when they're actually competitive. Now they bring like 5k. The net effect of Dublin dominance is very damaging.

Also how the hell do you people come out with things like Dublin had Baron years. I mean jesus Christ, the best ever meath, Kildare, laois and westmeath teams narrowly beat the dubs. it was super competitive. Now Dublin annilate everyone. Why did the gaa heavily invest in Dublin when them at their worst barely lost to teams at their best. Surely they should have heavily backed rural leinster counties instead of Dublin who let's be honest with their resources could realistically fund themselves.

One more thing. The rest of leinster will keep declining as long as the Dublin region remain in our province. Dublin have Sam to keep them motivated and will keep improving. The gap will get wider and wider. Yet hill and the few other stubborn lads want this to remain. Give me a break.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 28/06/2015 21:09:25    1744167

Good points Benedict. Poppin Points, if you think Dublin's success is down to money then maybe you should do something else with the expected 10m that you will/are spending on a centre of excellence. Meath and Westmeath are both poor teams who cannot defend. This has nothing to do with Dublin. Mayo, Kerry, Donegal would rack up heavy scores against either.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 28/06/2015 21:18:07    1744172

Jack_Goff

today proves my point yet again. Meath v Westmeath showed us what the championship would be like if dublin rotated around the provinces or just entered the all ireland qualifiers round one or a bye to the all ireland quarters.

and if dublin weren't there teams would improve no end as they know they could win and the crowds from the rural leinster counties going to matches would explode.

we are in a situation where dublin will never stop winning this competition yet some dinosaurs on here think the status quo should remain. Not a single competitive match for dublin between the league final and the all ireland. even most dub fans must be bored.

Who do you have the problem with.
Are you venting your anger at Diarmuid Connolly, Paul Flynn, Bernard Brogan who no matter how many leinster medals they have are still bursting a gut from the first minute to the last minute to win games guys who train fanactically and eat properly to stay in great shape so they can get a place on their team.
Or are you angry that the same training and nutritional programs are there to all the Meath players and that they too are also allowed put 15 guys on the football pitch yet for some reason dont seem to be putting in the same effort.
Are you hoping Dublin out of Leinster will mask the problems ye have .
Are you saying you need Dublin out of Leinster before the Meath lads will put in more effort ?
Do you want these type of players out of the Leinster championship . So then it can hide the inadequacies of your team players and people can then pretend that there isnt a problem in Meath. That things are going along nicely.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 28/06/2015 21:22:48    1744178

seadog54

1744115 Our problems are within the county, us: not Dublin or anyone else. At this stage we have run out of excuses. Time to sort out our own mess

You see that's the sort of self analysis that breeds success

Dublin GAA had to do the exact same thing

Meath simply don't have the players at the minute - very little underage success

Kildare miles ahead in that respect - Great win for their minors yesterday against the supposed "Dublin juggernaut"

But I will give Meath this...

You were very unlucky once again with injuries this year

In fact MOD has had no luck over the last two seasons with injuries to key players

You simply don't have the panel to be able to adequately replace these players

You've a shallow panel

You will have to start looking at 10-15 years from now Meath lads

That's how long Dublin's initiative has been running and it had a large part in creating the current setup

As I type there is a U-13

Gavin had huge success at U21 level with a most of the current Dubs panel

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/06/2015 09:27:49    1744303

Jack_Goff

Nope.

Not bored at all.

Can't get enough of Meath's fall from grace, While Dublin just smash everything in sight in Leinster.

And threads like this only fuel my delight in Meath being muck.

As if its not enough to see them drop a 10 point lead against a side who have never beaten them in championship football, You get lads from within the county coming out saying they would value a leinster WITHOUT Dublin in it.

Oh how Sean Boylan an the great Meath players of the past would be getting sick right now if they where reading this tripe.

YUP WESTMEATH, LA LA LA..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/06/2015 09:39:27    1744319

I think the problem lies in the counties, let's say Kildare/ Meath want to have a long hard look at themselves Maybe they don't have the players or else they lack commitment but Dublin have pulled a long way in front of the pack in Leinster
Ten years ago Donegal were struggling , won a match against a good team:: next day hammered. I was often at games when we were well beaten my thoughts at the time were ;;; why could Donegal not be like that team , why can't they stay in touch with them ( probably Armagh / Tyrone I'm talking about ) But it all came to a head after Crossmaglen in 2010
J mcG arrived and see where Donegal are now
The point I'm trying to make is ::: can Meath / Kildare / Laois / Westmeath et all , at least some one of them come up with a good team , or at least win Leinster IMO it can be done and that's they way those counties should be thinking not running down Dublin because of their success
That success Dublin have achieved over the last few years is all through hard work even though they have some panel of players which makes things easier
Tyrone are a good example of how to go about things , they had noAll Ireland 12 years ago but now have three Monaghan are another example , small population but have assembled quite a team and will cause lots of teams ( including ourselves ) plenty of problems
My take on it is :: don't worry about what other counties are doing ... Worry about your own and hope they can build a good competitive team

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 29/06/2015 10:16:58    1744386

This thread is an embarrassment to Meath, not to mention everyone else in Leinster. Agree with SamOnErrigal that the problem is within Meath and every other county for that matter. We haven't done anything at underage for quite a while now, Kildare are way ahead of Meath in development of underage and despite yesterday's spanking have more potential. The only solution from a Meath point of view is to suck it up, knuckle down and try a develop teams that are competitive at all grades. We have a decent first 15 at senior level, but nowadays you need to have 20-25 players that can keep up the performance levels. Yesterday, the sense of panic and dis-organisation increased with each substitution in the last 20mins. Throw in a few injuries, MOD has been unlucky in this regard, then you're in trouble.
With regard to the Dubs, at the moment there are few teams in the country that could live with them, can't see any outside of Kerry, Mayo and Donegal.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 29/06/2015 11:31:25    1744500

Jack_Goff

the louth v meath game had drama
but the year before saw a far better football final in dublin v kildare in 2009.
but what good would it do the winners of leinster as they would only be setting themselves up for a hiding
from one of the other three mayo, kerry or donegal wouldnt they?
yeah they brought big crowds when they were stronger teams playing for them
but taking dublin out of leinster wont make there teams stronger
it would only be folling thmselves into thinking there better than they are
oh now your following the kerry man with dublin region talk
give it a rest man
meath population has grown yet they were far better when it was smaller
does that not tell you that its about what you do with the players that matter
and thats what teams like meath have to concentrate on
not whinging about dublin

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/06/2015 11:47:09    1744518