Take Dublin out of Leinster (part 2)

Ridiculous thread...None of this nonsense when Dublin won 1 Leinster title between 1996 and 2004. Didn't even contest an All-Ireland between 1996 and 2010. Dublin actually won 5 Leinsters in a row 05 to 09 with a avg team. Dublin were the butt of every joke because as soon as they got out of leinster they would be bet. It is hardly Dublin's fault that the likes of Kildare and Meath didn't push on and take advantage during the lean years. The current success is down to years of planning and hard work ex player getting involved and managing the development squads.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 02/06/2015 14:27:44    1731421

The current success is down to years of planning and hard work ex player getting involved and managing the development squads. The current success is down to years of planning and hard work ex player getting involved and managing the development squads.

Yes hard work and planning .....and *whispers* ....10 years of Dublin being given development funds that exceeded every Province

An awful lot of Nigel Pearson style "ostriches" on this forum. Obviously the Dubs are going to protect their monopoly but the lads from Meath etc who think they can "bridge the gap" have their head in the sand when it comes to underage results & just how unbelieveably far ahead Dublin are.

Who are these Meath players that can bridge the gap?...serious question. As far as I see your best players are Kevin Reilly, Stephen Bray, Mickey Newman, Graham Reilly and the keeper. Pretty much as it was 5 years ago. I guess the defender who emerged 3 years or so ago is one other. name escapes me...

Kildare have had a bit more success at underage but not anything that'll bridge the gap and the AFL loves taking our young players anyway.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 02/06/2015 14:53:18    1731450

tirawleybaron

No point saying that the other will catch up. The table below shows how the others have been falling behind as the years go on and it will only get worse.

Leinster championship record
1 Dublin 53 wins
2 Meath 21 wins 1 win in 14 years
3 Kildare 13 wins 2 wins in 59 years
4 Offaly 10 wins 1 win in 33 years
4 Wexford 10 wins 1 win in 90 years, 0 for 60 years
6 Louth 8 wins 0 win for 58 years (should have been 1)
7 Laois 6 wins 1 win in 69 years
8 Kilkenny 3 wins
9 Carlow 1 win
9 Longford 1 win
9 Westmeath 1 win
12 Wicklow 0 wins

------
Grand, now can you show us the same stats for Munster and Connaught and give us your prognosis for those provinces?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/06/2015 15:02:25    1731458

Aido69

Donegalman

chriscart580

Greenwood

Three fair posts that cover just about everything.
I live in Kildare and have some very good friends from there. Guys who coach down there and would know what they're talking about. Kildare and Meath both have the population base and should be well able to put it up to Dublin in Leinster. Instead of looking over the neighbours hedge and cribbing about population, finance etc. they should be looking at their own setup. Dublin had all these advantages before 2011 and the weren't a problem then. They were used to rub our noses in it. The IC system has always been unfair. Getting Dublin to play outside Croke Park, no issue with that but where do the players from other counties want to play. Where do they want to beat the Jacks?
What the Meath and Kildare supporters need to ask themselves, what have Donegal, Mayo, Cork, Kerry, Tyrone, Monaghan got that we haven't.

------

Yes all of this plus the fair balanced post from Donegalman.

Jack - I put the same question to you but look at the final line in the post above. What are these counties doing that Meath are not? Monaghan has a population one third that of Meath so why do you keep overstating this 'huge advantage' and where was it in the past? In fact Tyrone and Donegal also have smaller populations than Meath. What are Meath doing so wrong? Is the MCB doing the supporters and clubs a disservice? Yes there has been plenty of rumours of in fighting and unpopular county manager appointments so is blaming Dublin's success a smoke screen to deflect from a much bigger problem in Meath? Incidentally read the many other threads on central funding and see the amounts that Meath have been receiving for a population of 183K.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/06/2015 15:14:17    1731467

Realman the chap you are thinking of is Donal keoghan but i think many would also include Gillespie and harry Rooney along with Adam Flanagan (3 midfielders) now the surprise of this year is that Kevin Reilly is no longer seen as the best fb he has been replaced by a young chap called McGill, also Eamon Wallace (underage sprint champ) micky Newman is also only on panel 3 years , we are missing osullivan perhaps the best player Meath have produced in many many a long time due to a very bad and long injury, but hopefully next year he will return, also Andrew tormey and Bryan menton would be regarded as potential top class players.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/06/2015 15:17:27    1731470

Aido69
Three fair posts that cover just about everything.
I live in Kildare and have some very good friends from there. Guys who coach down there and would know what they're talking about. Kildare and Meath both have the population base and should be well able to put it up to Dublin in Leinster. Instead of looking over the neighbours hedge and cribbing about population, finance etc. they should be looking at their own setup. Dublin had all these advantages before 2011

110% Agree with this. If our own counties put in the same structures or similar to what Dublin done then we wouldn't be having this issue. Meath were never great shakes at under age level and in the County that has been met with a shrug of the shoulders cause the senior team was doing well for the past 20 years.

Its now time to get things right and see where it takes us. Look at Tipperary Footballers & Roscommon as well

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 02/06/2015 15:41:19    1731487

I remember back about 10 years ago when the Celtic Tiger was booming and Europe was flooded with money that UEFA was talking about setting up a super league where a few big clubs in each country played out a league among themselves and left their own domestic league like Man Utd leaving PL.

We should set up a super league where 12 teams are included which would be based on the top 12 teams in the league at the end of 2015.

The rest play a secondary league and 2 go up and 2 go down, the winner is the All Ireland champs.

foxes_denn (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 02/06/2015 16:13:58    1731500

Joxer

Dont worry. I also think the connaught and munster championships are a waste of time also. Only thing that makes Leinster worse is the demise of meath. Before that it was Meath or Dublin and the rest were still no where.
For all the talk, there are only 3 counties in Ulster up to task of winning over the past 25 years.

Reality is you have Dublin, Kerry, Cork, Mayo, Galway, Donegal, Tyrone, Armagh and Meath as the main silverware winners of the past 25 years. None of the rest deliver with any kind of consistency. Leinster is simply the worst because of the demise of Meath.

Seeded provincial championships and the back door system has ensured these teams get more games every summer and it keeps the other 23 counties in their place.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 02/06/2015 16:23:20    1731507

realman

You are thinking of Donal Keoghan,but also Conor Gillespie and Bryan Menton are amongst Meaths best players.Meath have a lot of good young(not very physical) players,but they need Kevin Reilly,Bryan Menton,Conor Gillespie,Mickey Newman all fit.They are the central areas of the team.The first 3 are physical guys and have leadership,at present though all these players are injured...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/06/2015 16:28:50    1731520

Malonemagic
County: Laois

Hill16no1man you really are making things up. 1000 at a kildare game? ? They have unreal support. Kildare would always have a few thousand at every league game even

where did i say 1 thousand at kildares game??????
i said 5 thousand max and yes louth had far more out of that 5 thousand
askany kildare supporter they will tell you there support in the last two years has dropped massively
they used to bring a good few thousand prior to 2013 but since they got hammered by us
and relegated in the league they have dropped off considerably.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/06/2015 17:53:36    1731573

fabio8
County: USA

1,000 between galway and longford is really stretching the truth..id say it was a bit more than that

before sunday I thought they would bring 5 thousand galway
but barnowl will tell you
he said they would be lucky to have 500 in maroon and white
and he wasnt lying there was at most 1 thousand between both of them counties there.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/06/2015 17:55:44    1731575

Chriscart580,Greenwood,Donegalman,Mike03.
All of the above,fair play .
Good to see that there are still fairminded contributors out there that are not so negative towards Dublin. Its often easy to forget when these threads start and the usual perennials get going.
Don't get me wrong, I know we have a few ourselves but its generally directed in this direction I think.
Anyway ,best of luck in the championship and I'm sure you'll see the usual suspects out if we get beaten.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 02/06/2015 18:07:28    1731583

There is no doubt that this problem exists because of the poor standard of the other Leinster teams, you cannot blame Dublin. Another factor is the swashbuckling style Dublin play lends itself to hammering teams of a lower quality. For example I dont think Donegal could hammer Longford by that much. I have to say I am really disheartened by the performances of the Leinster teams and the way they set themselves up. I don't want to have a go at Longford but they hardly made a tackle, they could have put in a better shift than that. Teams like Meath, Kildare and Laois have some excellent players and should be able to give the Dubs a good game. When Justin McNulty was manager of Laois he got within 2 points of Dublin in 2012 by setting his team up defensively, ok it isn't pretty but at least it gives you a chance. Being fromn Donegal I know how soul destroying it is to get hammerings, we had plenty of them before Jim McGuinness came along. In saying all that, I think it is time for a 2 tier championship.

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 02/06/2015 18:29:43    1731606

Leinster council looking to enter the dubs in the semi final now.

Haha hill16no1man obviously they can afford to let Longford to play at home if they can afford to not have any game at all. As i said it's all pr bull and the likes of you lap it up to suit your agenda.

My rotate the dubs idea don't look so bad now.

Here's another idea. How about start the dubs in round 1 and no other teams are seeded for the draw. Dublin have to play the first round and quarter final matched away. Both of them combined would make similar money to what they do now.

If they got a bye in the semi this year, they could for example play the winner of westmeath and wexford and that would still be an almighty hammering considering Longford are of a similar level.

This is actually penalising Dublin fans and the team by keeping them idle. My idea would reward Dublin fans and the team by keeping their pre August championship really fresh and you'd be guaranteed at least 1 proper provincial test per year.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 03/06/2015 16:39:45    1732050

Jack_Goff

Haha hill16no1man obviously they can afford to let Longford to play at home if they can afford to not have any game at all. As i said it's all pr bull and the likes of you lap it up to suit your agenda.
Here's another idea. How about start the dubs in round 1 and no other teams are seeded for the draw. Dublin have to play the first round and quarter final matched away. Both of them combined would make similar money to what they do now.
If they got a bye in the semi this year, they could for example play the winner of westmeath and wexford and that would still be an almighty hammering considering Longford are of a similar level.
This is actually penalising Dublin fans and the team by keeping them idle. My idea would reward Dublin fans and the team by keeping their pre August championship really fresh and you'd be guaranteed at least 1 proper provincial test per year.

the reason I said longford couldnt play at home is down to the season ticket schemes that guarantee the people who buy them
a championship tickets, I said nothing to do with affording anything.
so Dont know where your going with pr bull and lapping up my friend.
also dont think dublin would want to go into the semi final straight away
as it culd leave a very long gap of maybe 3 months without a game if we dont make league semi finals.
on the plus side the county board might get to play a few rounds of club championship.
its not a bad idea but id be more in favour of just having an open draw in leinster altogether and not seeding any team

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/06/2015 17:19:41    1732082

hill16no1man

Jack_Goff

the reason I said longford couldnt play at home is down to the season ticket schemes that guarantee the people who buy them
a championship tickets, I said nothing to do with affording anything.
so Dont know where your going with pr bull and lapping up my friend.
also dont think dublin would want to go into the semi final straight away
as it culd leave a very long gap of maybe 3 months without a game if we dont make league semi finals.
on the plus side the county board might get to play a few rounds of club championship.
its not a bad idea but id be more in favour of just having an open draw in leinster altogether and not seeding any team

+1 Hill

Don't know where Jack is going with his money point, that may be an issue for Meath and other members on the LC who keep voting Dublin into Croke Park to get a slice of the gate receipts, but the real issue is capacity and the season ticket clause that guarantees members a ticket to the championship games.

Jack - your rotation suggestion looks as bad now as ot did when you first pitched it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/06/2015 18:17:14    1732107

some dubs are obsessed with this ticket scheme....in reality the genunine dubs would all be sorted in terms of getting a ticket no bother in most instances as are any gaa member involved in the grassroots of the organisation aka the clubs..you could also introduce temporary seating....the scheme would be changed if matches were moved around more....dublin are probably going to bring 10,000 support to most away matches...maybe more for the novelty factor initially...if the dubs are moved out of croke park then the ticket scheme will be changed..there is no point going on about the system in place when we are talking about a different system....i dont think some people understand just how different it is in terms of going to an away match compared to how easy it is being at home in terms of people deciding to go and everything

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 03/06/2015 19:49:36    1732137

It amazes me that there has never been a proposal to amalgamate smaller counties. In Leinster for example there are six counties that have not enough of a population to return three TDS to the Dail. Why not amalgamate Leix and Offaly, Longford and Westmeath and KK and Carlow for football for a trial period. It would not unduly trouble the major counties chances of winning an All Ireland but it might help one of those combinations to win a Leinster title or just put out a team that would put up a reasonably performance. I believe the county system has outlived its usefulness. BTW I do not believe in splitting successful counties as this would be punishing teams for been winners.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 03/06/2015 21:05:16    1732166

There's a dose of the yellow peril about this thread. Everyone was happy enough to have Dublin as a competitive but non-dominant county in football and a potential real addition to the list of hurling contenders. But there's a secret fear that Dubs have more potential than any other county to really eclipse everyone else, with the right level of resources, commitment and knowhow. As others have pointed out, Meath is the key is Leinster. If they were able to turn the Dubs over one year in three, then all the paranoia would be kept in check. But the fact that this isn't happening is triggering an overreaction, given a return of just 2 Sam's by the Dubs in recent times. Donegal showed themselves far from overawed last year, and there's nothing to suggest to me that the likes of Meath, Kildare or some other Leinster county can't become competitive with Dublin. What would people like to see? Some Breton Law like punishment for beatings by the Dubs, with blood money being paid out for slaughterings? Would 5K per point be enough... maybe 135k to Longford would help close the gap, or is money just a convenient excuse?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 03/06/2015 21:28:26    1732172

Take all them from down the country out of Dublin while you are at it!!
How many players from outside of Dublin take advantage of the big clubs in Dublin when they are "Up in the Big Schmoke" taking all the good jobs and all the best houses and rentals, then taking all that skill and fitness they got playing for Judes or the Vinnys etc. back to the home counties. For God sake we are training your players as well as keeping the whole country going with the money Dublin supporters pump into the GAA.

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 03/06/2015 21:41:57    1732181