Take Dublin out of Leinster (part 2)

guys, Donegal beat Dublin last year, kerry beat them a few years ago. what's the problem. Longford are in the qualifiers. they have every chance of winning their next game. (they have beaten Offaly already.) They beat Derry last year, cavan a few years ago and Mayo a few years before that. They have just got promoted to Div 3. They have had some great underage teams in recent years and some of those players played very well Today. Yes they got hammered but with a cuter management they could have done a lot better. Dublin are a superb team, live with it. who knows what they will be like in 10 years. let them enjoy their successes. Kerry have won by far the most all-irelands (they are also current all-ireland champs, lest we forget.)

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 31/05/2015 21:55:17    1730709

The voice of reason s. Goldrick. The country has gone hysterical.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/06/2015 08:36:47    1730714

Jack_Goff

Also joxer the point you make about munster. Wouldn't it make sense then to have Dublin in munster every 4 years to break the Cork, kerry duopoly?

----
No it doesn't. Why not move Kerry and Cork into Leinster therefore? Moving Dublin into Munster would create 3 superpowers in a province of 6 counties. Clare, Tipp, Waterford and Limerick would not thank you for it and who in the Munster Council wants to see the Jackeens climbing the steps of Pairc Ui Chaoimh and lifting the Munster championship trophy?

If something is to be done make it fundamental. Scrap the provincials, have qualifiers to get to a pool of 16, create 4 leagues of 4 teams playing home and away with 4 winners making the semis.

Campaigning for Dublin to be moved out of Leinster after that game is like campaigning for Chelsea to be moved into Scotland having beaten Accrington Stanley 5 0 in the first round of the FA Cup.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/06/2015 10:03:05    1730737

ok the Leinster c'ship is in big trouble. Split Leinster into an A and B structure with New York and London in the B section along with the 6 lowest counties from the National league. Run the B championship in May with the winner being included in the A knockout competition.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 01/06/2015 10:18:44    1730742

Is this a serious thread.....take Dublin out of Leinster? What in God's name do some people be thinking at all. Yea Dublin are streets ahead of everyone in Leinster right now, so what....they have a good crop of players at the minute which won't be produced every year. Kerry dominated since football since the first ball was every thrown in, should we split them up? We were dominating in the late 80s too the late 90s winning 4 Sams in 12 year's, should Meath have been split? Meath and Dublin have been dishing out hammerings for years and have been the front runners in Leinster for ever, this isn't a new phenomenon so just man up and stop all the whinging bout the dubs and accept there Leinster victories and enjoy there August capitulation like I will be. Such a waste of time talking bout Dublin moving out of Leinster.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 889 - 01/06/2015 10:47:41    1730762

accept there Leinster victories and enjoy there August capitulation like I will be,
hope your not disappointed lol...did you enjoy august 2011/2013?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 01/06/2015 11:03:21    1730772

Silly idea. Where would it end? should cavan have left ulster when they won 17 finals in 19 years?

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 01/06/2015 11:26:26    1730791

Just took a look at something. in the last 15 years dublin have only won 5 finals by more than 3 points. Not exactly as one sided as we are lead to believe

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 01/06/2015 11:30:28    1730796

dont get the arguements because dublin win by a big margin
tipp beat waterford yesterday in munster by 22 points
not many whinging over that and they were a division 3 and division 4 teams
kerry beat kildare by 36 points (the reigning champions) in the chrsity ring hurling semi final
a competition which would be identical to a b championship in football
by a bigger margin than dublin beat longford.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/06/2015 11:41:29    1730806

Seriously explain how yesterdays game improved the sport in Longford or Leitrim or Waterford, London etc. It doesn't and the sooner the GAA accepts that there is a massive gap between the strongest and the weakest counties that never can be closed the better, this argument that Dublin won't be strong forever is nonsense, they have the population, the funding etc, they will be strong for the next 20 years easily, people say that capping funding is not the answer but will Croke Park give weak counties 2 million euros each to match the amount Dublin, Donegal, Mayo, Cork, Kerry spend? Of course they won't so why should some counties have unlimited funding that they end up unbeatable while other counties can barely buy county jerseys and will always be at the wrong end of thrashing, either sort out the funding issue or have 2 or 3 championships such as senior, intermediate and junior grades that are run at the same time during the summer and not in April, May like the hurling

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 01/06/2015 11:48:48    1730811

I think the railway cup idea is a good one. Maybe unfair on connacht?
Poupluations:
longford - 0.04 million
dublin county - 1.27 million
rest of leinster - 1.23 million
munster 1.24 million
connacht 0.52 million
ulster 2.1 million (maybe 1 million )

tyroneexile (Tyrone) - Posts: 5 - 01/06/2015 12:55:33    1730858

No I didnt enjoy 2011 or 2013 but I did enjoy all the other years in the last 20 odd years where Dublin were hyped and hyped and hyped and did nothing at all...there not invincible lads, 15 players, Grant it very good players, is all. Did any of yee look at the Donegal game last year, they were made too look like longford did yesterday so stop over reacting

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 889 - 01/06/2015 13:02:45    1730868

Embarrassing thread again.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 01/06/2015 13:03:26    1730869

southmeathgael

1730868 No I didnt enjoy 2011 or 2013 but I did enjoy all the other years in the last 20 odd years where Dublin were hyped and hyped and hyped and did nothing at all...there not invincible lads, 15 players, Grant it very good players, is all. Did any of yee look at the Donegal game last year, they were made too look like longford did yesterday so stop over reacting

and who done all the hyping?who says they are invincible?(they obviously are not)no team is!dont be silly Donegal beat Dublin by 6pts, to suggest they(Dublin) were made to look like Longford is stupid talk,you sound like a very bitter begrudging meathman.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 01/06/2015 13:24:13    1730880

riverboys

Seriously explain how yesterdays game improved the sport in Longford or Leitrim or Waterford, London etc. It doesn't and the sooner the GAA accepts that there is a massive gap between the strongest and the weakest counties that never can be closed the better, this argument that Dublin won't be strong forever is nonsense, they have the population, the funding etc, they will be strong for the next 20 years easily, people say that capping funding is not the answer but will Croke Park give weak counties 2 million euros each to match the amount Dublin, Donegal, Mayo, Cork, Kerry spend?

Exactly, a very pertinent point. A lot of people are saying Dublin's dominance won't last, that's nonsense, everything is in place for Dublin to win the next 10 Leinster championships. They have massive funding, a massive playing population, and a youth setup the envy of other counties. I see no reason for having a Dublin in the first place, other counties have one county council and therefore one county. Dublin have 3 county councils but they are allowed amalgamate and call themselves "Dublin". If fair was fair, we'd have Fingal GAA, South Dublin GAA and Dun Laoighire/Rathdown GAA competing in Leinster. The team we know as "Dublin" are actually an amalgamation and it's time they were split up.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 01/06/2015 13:24:46    1730881

1/05/2015 19:50:05
legendzxix

The administrative counties of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal and South Dublin along with Dublin City should enter the All-Ireland Championship.

The Dublin Region could enter the Railway Cup run in a round robin format:
Dubin
Leinster
Munster
Connaught
Ulster

As crazy as it might seem, the only fairest competition is the capital taking on the other provinces.

kerry b team would hammer the dublin region

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 01/06/2015 13:25:33    1730883

I don't know why I'm even responding to this embarrasing thread but for gods sake lads.

Why punish a team for being the best. Nothing boils my blood more than people referring to the Dublin region.

Why would anyone want to go and support the Dún Laoghaire/Rathdown area GAA Team.?

Having an extra 3/4 county teams will benefit weaker teams? Even though they're funding will be cut by an extra 3 pieces.

Just stop this embarrasing discussion it was never there when Kilkenny and Kerry were dominating.

Stop blaming the Dubs, they're the best thing about football at the moment

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 01/06/2015 14:27:58    1730929

Joxer you see the point is I'm not saying Dublin should be in munster permanently. They would play in munster 2016, connaught 2017, ulster 2018 and leinster 2019.

If you stay in leinster you will win 10/10 of the next leinsters. People say my thread is embarssing but that will truly be.

There are steps that can be put in that would possibly reduce it to 8/10 like taken Dublin out of croker for the first round every year and giving every county equal funding , unlike the current situation where the county with all the resources get more money for underage structures then all other 31 counties combined .

But even then is it worth wasting my money every year supporting a sham ? I'll be sounding my money on leinster hurling games , ulster football and all Ireland football and hurling.
Only a fool will continue with this. And as we seen from the paltry 33k for the double header many dubs already vote with their feet. More will follow.

And i'm sure other provinces would welcome Dublin every 4 years. They will love the big boost in revenue and razzmatazz!

One last thing. This thread is not a reaction to Longford. I was going on about this last year. It's a reaction to the last 10 leinster championships and the inevitable outcome of the next 10. Apart from meath nobody will beat Dublin more than once. How exciting.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/06/2015 16:03:42    1731001

Paltry 33 thousand attendance now you really sound childish
You probably won't get 33 thousand at most of the provincial finals and hear you are putting down 33 thousand at a first round game where one team is 1/200 to win

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/06/2015 16:47:18    1731033

Jack, it's hard to respond to that post, there is so much wrong with it. So give every county equal funding. Are you for real? Population Dublin 1.4m, population Leitrim 20,000. Think about it! There is a reason why Dublin receive the most money, they have to cater for much larger numbers. The population debate has been done to death. If it's all about population then why does the AI roll of honour not support this. As for take Dublin out of Croker for round 1 of Leinster because they will win less Delaney Cups. That's just grasping at straws now. I have a solution though. How to compete with Dublin? Get YOUR HOUSE IN ORDER. Tipp are doing it. Tyrone are doing it. Monaghan have done it. Mayo have been eating at the top table for a decade. How have they managed this without massive funding and a huge population? Hard work, getting the underage structures right and investing in the local game. The problem with some Leinster counties is that it's easy for them to point to the big bad dubs and blame them for their lack of success. Deflect, deflect, deflect. Never your own county's fault. At least Meath are taking a step in the right direction now with a centre of excellence, something that should have been built about 10 years ago. The solution is not to rotate the Dubs around the provinces like some mock game of Russian roulette, the solution is for once powerful Leinster counties like Kildare, Laois, Meath and Offaly to get their act together. Look at the league tables. What has that showing got to do with the Dubs? None of those Leinster counties deserve to lift a Delaney Cup. They are whipping boys inside and outside of Leinster. Time to take a reality check I think and stop blaming the Dubs.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/06/2015 18:53:51    1731090