Galway v Dublin LSHC QF 2015

Galway disipline was poor? What a joke! I didn't see any Galway play strike a Dublin player for having the temerity to score.Sutcliffe , Nolan and keaney could all have seen red with a different ref in charge.Gavin was throwing out the yellows like snuff at a wake but he must have left his red in the dressing room.
Dublin need to get Kelly back at 3 and Rushe at 6 to compete.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 07/06/2015 11:09:57    1733413

Watch Canning Babenowl.

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 07/06/2015 11:32:09    1733419

Galwaydublin posters, I think the dublin part of you has clouded your analysis. I agree, Dublin were very poor and Galway are unlikely to meet a poorer defence in the rest of the championship (the way they stood off our forwards in the first 20 mins was incredible). And Galway have lots of room for improvement (particularly at fb, which I think is a weak link). But saying Canning deserved a red --- that is ridiculous. If anything it was the Dublin keeper who was lucky to remain on the field.Pfield. Perhaps both sides were lucky that the most sensible ref in hurling, Brian Gavin, was in charge -- he will really only give a red card when he is left with no other choice and I really do like that trait in him.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 07/06/2015 11:36:42    1733423

very poor refereeing.....he let Dublin away with everything hope GAA put him in "sin bin" Not Dublin's fault he was so poor, good luck in qualifiers ye can still have a good Summer

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 07/06/2015 11:38:43    1733424

Galwaydublin posters, I think the dublin part of you has clouded your analysis. I agree, Dublin were very poor and Galway are unlikely to meet a poorer defence in the rest of the championship (the way they stood off our forwards in the first 20 mins was incredible). And Galway have lots of room for improvement (particularly at fb, which I think is a weak link). But saying Canning deserved a red --- that is ridiculous. If anything it was the Dublin keeper who was lucky to remain on the field.Pfield. Perhaps both sides were lucky that the most sensible ref in hurling, Brian Gavin, was in charge -- he will really only give a red card when he is left with no other choice and I really do like that trait in him.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 07/06/2015 11:39:01    1733425

Brian it's easy to blame the management after such a hammering let's face it were not good enough no matter what he tries and fair play to galway outstanding through out , schutte to slip 4 times cause he's wearing the wrong boots is just criminal at this level surely these guys no well before throw in what studs to wear even so mannion is a great bit of stuff and is so fast he's so hard to stop we've too many players that are too slow for this level (keaney half back still scratching my head at what the manager is seeing that I'm not) O Dwyer should have sent off again mind you I thought he was one of our better players in the first half when everyone else went hiding , but galway were unstoppable and it should be a great final with Kilkenny , just One question are you allowed to tackle a player like canning was yesterday consistently hitting a player with his hurl? If it's allowed fair enough just asking.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/06/2015 11:42:12    1733427

Lads I really didn't think Galway's discipline was poor. Second one was never a penalty and not to rub salt in the wounds or anything but I though the ref gave Dublin absolutely everything. Nolan should definitely got the line for his reaction to canning.

From a Dublin perspective this result will only affect them as much as they let it. Wexford have been on the wrong end of many a hammering over the last 15 year but always bounce back. ie hammered by the cats in 01,03,07 and managed to beat a Waterford,limerick,tipp and unlucky not to reach 2 all-ireland finals in those years.
Boland,Dillon and Ryan were all excellent when they came on too.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2677 - 07/06/2015 11:57:07    1733431

dunno what happened to schutte, he seemed to be in a daze, he was wandering around 20 yards off his man, at a time when all the puc outs were certain to drop in on them. Weve too many slow fellas around the middle of the pitch. I liked the look of boland when he came on. Dillon took his scores well but missed a good few balls too. In the fisrt half i thought o dwyer was the best, at least he showed some fire

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 07/06/2015 12:06:34    1733436

No it's not allowed its striking which is why I highlighted it. Regular with him and always gets away with it. Someone will let fly at him some day and he can have no complaints when it does happen. Galway lads saying Nolan should have got red, for what? Running at canning and shouldering him? Canning pulled Nolan to the ground and talking of reds why was the lad who struck Dwyer as he was lying in the ground after the penalty was awarded not given one? Again striking and in the most cowardly fashion striking someone lying on
The ground who can't see the strike coming

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 07/06/2015 12:08:43    1733437

Get over yerself Brianmac78. JC takes more punishment than almost any other player and he's been on the receiving end of it since he first started playing club. Fair dues to the lad for standing up for himself. He's a class act.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 07/06/2015 12:27:07    1733453

7/06/2015 11:09:57
Barnowl94

Galway disipline was poor? What a joke! I didn't see any Galway play strike a Dublin player for having the temerity to score.Sutcliffe , Nolan and keaney could all have seen red with a different ref in charge.Gavin was throwing out the yellows like snuff at a wake but he must have left his red in the dressing room.
Dublin need to get Kelly back at 3 and Rushe at 6 to compete.

He certaintly did. Watched game again last night how Canning stayed on pitch is beyond belief. 2 dirty belts with the hurl as well as Nolan incident. Will the CCC be lokking at this and Keaney incident?

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 07/06/2015 12:31:08    1733454

Galway won well ..... no argument.

Ref gave Galway everything. Look at the yellow card count lads, and the ref was reluctant to give them. Second half Dubs had a few chances with Rushe where he tried take on Galway defence and was dragged out of.....no free

Other end, touch Canning, instant free.

Dubs never even got "pity" frees

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 07/06/2015 12:36:57    1733459

Telling me to get over it when Galway lads are crying that Nolan didn't get a red yet ye tell us fair play to canning throwing dirty slaps, and if ye think its sour grapes ask yourself why a Corkman has just highlighted the same thing.

Canning a a fine hurler but he's no class act that's for sure

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 07/06/2015 12:41:03    1733461

Fair play to Joe his a great hurler on his day. However perhaps he got away wit a bit yesterday I remember him tackling Darragh o Connell and seemed like he hit him a fair few belts in a couple of seconds .Rarely have I seen Joe tracking back to tackle a player but overall he was awesome yesterday. Dat Galway full forward line are nothing to b sniffed at for the rest of championship. You might feel though if they come up against a good full back line Galway will struggle.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 07/06/2015 12:49:42    1733465

@Brianmac - all class hurlers do have a dirty streak - look at henry shefflin, the greatest hurler of our time. Anytime he went in to challenge a defender he always aimed his hurl to the neck/face and always got away with it. but like joe, he too always got far more punishment than he dished out!!

Galway threatened the exact same performance yesterday as they did in croke park last sun. How many goal chances had they in the first half against dub in croker..all it takes is one or two of them to go in and get confidence up and go on to give a hiding!! I was speaking to one of the players friday night and he said no team would stop them sat..and he was right!

jkiamasnake (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 07/06/2015 12:53:07    1733467

@Brianmac78 - the dirtiest belt last night was the one Keaney gave with the hurl to a man on the ground. Very classy. You lost despite the best efforts of Brian Gavin. Given some of the joke yellow cards Gavin handed out to Galway, it was no surprise to see Keaney escape punishment.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 861 - 07/06/2015 12:53:56    1733468

@wildpundit - I agree with what your saying but no team left has a settled full back line. Tipp and Cork have no full back, kk are still trying to find one, clare aswell are shaky enough and so are limerick when forwards run at them

this is the most open championship in years where a number of teams will fancy their chances.

imo unless dublin draw a leinster team on the munster side of the draw, i dont think they are capable of beating any of the munster ones!!hope im wrong, be good to see them get to a quarter final at least and show signs of progress under a new manager!

jkiamasnake (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 07/06/2015 12:57:27    1733470

The only one crying is you Brianmac78. Us Galway lads are rather happy with life at the moment. Take your beating with the same good grace that your more hurling-savvy fellow county-men here have taken it.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 07/06/2015 13:08:28    1733475

Firstly my prediction couldnt have been more wrong , congrats to Galway played us off the park ,
Feel a lot of frustration with the hurlers , I get Jimbodubs comments re moving on , however cant move untill I get a few things off my chest ,
Are there no leaders in the team ? There are older players but no leaders , no one when it was going wrong tried to grab the game by the scruff of the neck , no one tried to lift any one around them , these players have hidden at times behind management team far too often .
I was astonished at the amount of lads obviously in the wrong foot wear or with incorrect studs , absoultely laughable senior players making such fundemental errors in preparation , falling all over the place .
Ive stated before when we were hammered by Cork that wristy hurlers turning on a sixpence kills us , and this is still the case because of the space we give in defence , add to that the ariel power that Galway had exploiting no P Kelly and we were vulnerable and will continue to be going forward , intensity starts in the forwards , the Galway defence had an easy time picking out which type of ball to play in .
,mistakes made by management were unforgivable , full back line roasted and changes too slow .
Practice godamn penalties ,although world class save should be mentioned .
Dreadfull turn out by Dublin support for team ,
Finally back to the players who I believe take ultimate responsibility , shot selection the amount of over use of the hand pass is killing us , get quality ball in early to our forwards preferably low in order to turn defenders , honourable mention to the subs E Dillion and C Boland well done , should both be vying for places next game around .
Shocking is the only word left , just shell shocked myself .
Above post I put earlier on Dubs page .
Re Galway congrats , didnt see that display coming , best of luck for rest of the year .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 07/06/2015 13:08:42    1733476

Well done Galway.

The worst Dublin defeat in a decade imo.

Galway were sensational though in fairness.

Very dissappointed this morn. Can't really bring myself to look back on the game much to be honest.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 07/06/2015 14:05:42    1733490