Galway v Dublin LSHC QF 2015

My apologies ConnollyDub did I hit your sensitive spot mate ???

Sure as hell I'm entitled to my opinion.
Would you prefer I said Dublin would win by 15 points ????

This is the Championship now my friend it differs from year to year if you actually bothered to watch it.

All you have to do is look at 2012 , 2013 & 2014 and see the likes of Galway making an AI Final , Clare winning an AI Championship and Limerick probably having their best years since the mid 90s.In 2015 so far we have seen Waterford re-emege from the doldrums.

I agree Dublin are overwhelming favorites but Galway are in the long grass and will always be a dangerous team IMO.Dublin have put in tremendous underage work but that does not always grantee success at Senior Level my friend.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 27/05/2015 13:00:17    1729040

WildPundit
County: Tipperary

1729040 My apologies ConnollyDub did I hit your sensitive spot mate ???

Sure as hell I'm entitled to my opinion.
Would you prefer I said Dublin would win by 15 points ????

This is the Championship now my friend it differs from year to year if you actually bothered to watch it.

All you have to do is look at 2012 , 2013 & 2014 and see the likes of Galway making an AI Final , Clare winning an AI Championship and Limerick probably having their best years since the mid 90s.In 2015 so far we have seen Waterford re-emege from the doldrums.

I agree Dublin are overwhelming favorites but Galway are in the long grass and will always be a dangerous team IMO.Dublin have put in tremendous underage work but that does not always grantee success at Senior Level my friend

What in gods name are you on about, I was simply making a point that to see someone syaing Galway ''could cause an upset'' against Dublin in hurling shows how far we have come in the hurling world. I have supported the hurlers for 20 years now and we would have NEVER been considered favourites when playing Galway, or most counties for that matter.

So no your post didnt hit my sensitive spot at all, dont know where you got that from.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 27/05/2015 13:25:21    1729058

WildPundit ha you obviously read that wrong, come on now be the bigger man and apologise to Connollydub.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/05/2015 13:36:24    1729062

Haha wildpundit,Stevie Wonder could see what Connollydub meant on that one!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/05/2015 13:37:09    1729063

Haha what a drama queen I am!!!

my sincere apologies Dublin lads & Connolly Dub took fast for my own good.

his not called Stevie Wonder for nothing!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 27/05/2015 14:21:47    1729092

The big question for me is where will Rushe play? A lot of people will ask the same of Canning. Rushe at full forward hasn't worked in my opinion. He was better at centre forward or in the half back line. There's an article on here today about him playing full forward on Sunday but that could well be a ploy!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 27/05/2015 16:59:35    1729193

Hon Galway. Galway by 3 points in a good match.

WoodlawnPat (Galway) - Posts: 288 - 27/05/2015 18:41:10    1729235

If it's Rushe against Canning then Galway should win. But then Rushe is always more likely to show that he believes in himself and his ability than Canning is.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 27/05/2015 20:54:41    1729277

I have never seen as much apathy when it comes to our hurlers, and while Galway hurling supporters are a fickle lot (myself included, I will be surprised if many make the journey on Sunday. We don't have a settled team, our current manager should never have been reappointed, and don't even start me on the hopeless, gutless, vision-less hurling board. Galway hurling is a mess at the moment, and yet they could easily turn up on Sunday, click and beat Dublin out the gate, however they are also as liable to lose by ten or 15 points. I honestly have no clue where Galway hurling is going, they are further than ever away from winning an All Ireland, and unless something drastic is done soon at county board level, Galway could easily end up in the wilderness like Offaly.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 28/05/2015 09:16:44    1729312

Of all the pessimistic Galway posts,Gilly-that was the worst.Could end up like Offaly?Jaysus lads ive heard it all now.Ill take yere word that things dont look too good,but this is Galway were talking about.The strongest club hurling in the country in last 25-30 years.The most successful underage county in the country in last 25-30 years.3 Senior All Irelands in the 80s.Granted,none since,but still got to 4 more finals.Only lost a final replay 3 years ago.Galway are,and will always be,dining at the top table.They will always be there or thereabouts.Ending up like Offaly sounds a little far fetched.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/05/2015 10:34:27    1729357

Some of the posts here are so over the top it's ridiculous.
We are not as bad as some people here seem to think!

I admit Dublin are the form team going into this game and are rightly favourites but if history has taught us anything Galway are dangerous when we're written off.

A few posts here having a go at Galways underage structures is so ridiculous!
Look back at Galways underage success over the past 2 decade's and you will see nothing but success!
The juvenile board resigned and were later reinstated so that's water under the bridge as far as I'm concerned.

Supermacs88 (Galway) - Posts: 248 - 28/05/2015 11:34:13    1729385

I think Galway will win this game by 6 points.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 28/05/2015 11:39:34    1729388

Ive thought about this game long and hard and im still none the wiser as to the possible outcome.Because of this im going for the ling shot of a draw.
Dublin 1-21
Galway 2-18

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/05/2015 12:09:22    1729407

Hi Lads,

I have posted very little here but read it quiet alot. I heard this week that young conor whelan was training with the seniors on tuesday evening. He has been with the u21 for a while. Am just wondering if it was to make up numbers or willhe be part of the panel on sunday?

I personally feel that Galway hurling has gone so far back in a very short space of time. We no longer have pace in the team and now more than ever pace is key. We have a team full of big and slow lads. I just dont think the quality is there. If tannian, smith and G. Mac are all starting then I dont think we have a notion of goin anywhere. It does look like a primetime when Galway could turn up and win by 5 or 6 but even if they cause a shock I dont think they will have the quality to go much further.

Just one thing though, When you look at waterford under a good manager who was able to see what type of players he had to suite a particular system he changed it as they were getting bet well last few yr. Now they are good. They won one minor all ireland.

You look at limerick, under good management, playing in a lower division in the league for a few years and they are a solid team having regular good runs in championship now.

Wexford seem to be on the same path as the other 2. Improving all the time.

My point is, after 25 yrs without an all ireland in galway and numerous different managers no one has relly tried to change any system. We dont seem to have a method in or play at all. We almost play the game like a club team. Just go out and hurl. Kilkenny are probably the only team able to do that because they are so good.

Anyway. You wont hear from me for another 12months. I dont like typing.

Hopefully galway can turn it around

gimp2 (Galway) - Posts: 70 - 28/05/2015 12:18:10    1729413

Absolutely love what Anthony Cunningham had to say about the big game Sunday and posters told me revenge doesn't exist in Gaa , at last someone's says what there really thinking instead of the same cliche interviews we hear or read over and over again..
Galway our my 2nd team now love it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/05/2015 10:08:02    1729813

If he was talking about last year you might understand it because its fresh in the memory,but talking about revenge for 2013 is a bit silly for me.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/05/2015 10:30:00    1729827

Galway are due a big game, Gaillimh Abu

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 29/05/2015 10:32:18    1729831

Clondalkindub Anthony Cunningham is full of c**p, and the absolute rubbish that he comes out with most of the time, borders on the ridiculous. When you beat us in the league this year he stated that our minds were on the quarter final the following week, then when Waterford beat us out the gate in that game, he stated that some players minds were on the game against Dublin, a game which was still three months away at that stage. When we lost to Tipperary in the championship last year, outscored by 15 points to 1 in the last 15 mins, the best he could manage was about how well we had played for most of the game, with no mention of our absolute collapse. So if Anthony Cunningham goes on about revenge for 2013, most Galway supporters will take that with a pinch of salt.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 29/05/2015 10:49:09    1729849

Not silly at all they haven't played them in the championship since '13 so there out for revenge I love to hear that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/05/2015 12:26:02    1729927

This will be the toughest game to call all season for the simple reason ye never know which Dublin or Which Galway your going to get. Both can be brilliant and both can be dire.

From our perspective weve started to score goals, but are shipping an awful lot of scores now to. Galway seem to be short a few lads through injury while we seem to have a clean bill of health which might swing it?

If I was Galway Id play Joe out at 11 possibily even midfield. Wel able to take long range scores and second only to Richie Hogan as a creator for people around him the lad is wasted at 14 in my view

Ive a sneaky feeling Dublin might spring 1 or 2 surprises wouldnt be shocked to see Rushe back at 6 and Keaney up at 11 or 14

Head says cant be called heart says Dublin by 1 :)

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 29/05/2015 12:51:54    1729948