Laois and. Kildare. A real full blooded rivalry

Malonemagic
County: Laois

Was at the game and kildare point in first half was a foot wide. Thinkit was alan Smith, effort for a goal, hit the bar and went wide . Couldn't believe a score was given.

I thought the same at the match but the TV replays are clear cut - definite point. Smith should have been tucking that one away. It was a chance you would expect a player of his experience to be taking.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 07/06/2015 10:32:31    1733403

Apologies so. I stand corrected. Was a hawk eye contender! Have to say game was played in very spirit last night

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 767 - 07/06/2015 10:46:12    1733405

Good game, think laois will win replay and as Martin Mc Hugh said are by far best placed team in leinster to challenge the dubs probably the only team in leinster with the individual players and belief to challenge them.
Two good championship games should have them spot on.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 07/06/2015 12:21:56    1733445

The replay should help in preparation for the winner coming up against the Dubs.

2 tough games are great prep in comparison to Dublin's game v Longford.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 07/06/2015 15:14:12    1733532

You must be joking Rossie the pick of the two teams wouldn't come near testing the Dubs. As for the next day I wouldn't be so sure that Laois will win it. Just look at the stats -
Scoring Chances - Kildare 31 Laois 26
Possession Kildare 57% Laois 43%
Scores from play Kildare 0-9 Laois 0-7
Frees conceeded Kildare 15 Laois 20
Turnovers won Kildare 24 Laois 10
Unforced errors Kildare 8 Laois 10
Kickouts won Kildare 19 Laois 25

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 07/06/2015 16:19:14    1733565

Happy that we showe a bit of spirit last night despite all the rumours of all not being well in the camp beforehand. I expected Laois to win last night but Kildare may shade the replay having got a game under their belts. An extra game will do both teams the world of good before the dubious date of destiny with the Dubs.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 07/06/2015 16:22:32    1733567

Malonemagic
County: Laois

Was at the game and kildare point in first half was a foot wide. Thinkit was alan Smith, effort for a goal, hit the bar and went wide . Couldn't believe a score was given.

well the laws of physics should have told you that the ball would probably not hit off the crossbar and go wide, think about it. How could it possibly happen. It would have had to get round the post first. You were probably screaming at the umpires and ref too. :)

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 07/06/2015 16:33:17    1733570

OhtobeARossie
County: Roscommon

1733445 Good game, think laois will win replay and as Martin Mc Hugh said are by far best placed team in leinster to challenge the dubs probably the only team in leinster with the individual players and belief to challenge them.
Two good championship games should have them spot on.

like Martin McHugh you have nothing to back up this statement. how would Laois be the best placed team in leinster to challenge the dubs? when meath have been in the last three leinster finals and meath have got the closest to Dublin in those last 3 years, only losing by 3 points in 2012, in 2013 they also got the closest to them than any other team in leinster that year losing to them by 7 points.
fair enough last year Laois got within 11 points of Dublin whereas meath lost by 16 points but it can be argued that Dublin were a lot more prepared and fired up for the meath game than they were for the Laois game as they expected meath would be more of a challenge for them.
you also say they have the best individual players of any team in leinster to challenge the dubs, again what are you basing this on? it cant have anything to do with the league seeing as Laois just about survived relegation, where as meath could've been promoted, only because of the head to head with Roscommon which stopped us from being promoted, we actually had a better score difference than Roscommon.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 07/06/2015 17:06:01    1733579

Good enough match, fair result. Very impressed with O Lyons again, he gave away a very scorable free but he held Ross Munnelly scoreless from play. That's C McManus ans Munnelly scoreless from play in two championship matches, he has to be up there with C Walshe and D keoghan as one of the best corner backs at the moment

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 07/06/2015 17:09:42    1733582

Dunno what physics you did s Goldrick, but from an acute angle ball can easily graze crossbar and go wide

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 767 - 07/06/2015 17:59:49    1733637

Naysayer

1728463 Of course at least one of Kildare and Laois could make the last 12 - a bit will depend on qualifier draws of course as neither will get past Dublin but as far as I can see they are on the A side of the draw for the qualifiers which is the one that looks lightest so certainly cause to be optimistic.

Already in the A side are London, Offaly, Limerick, Carlow and Cavan, with the teams to follow before the last 12 stage likely being Antrim, Fermanagh, Clare, Longford and Sligo. A lot of teams in that will probably be liking their chances and makes such a prediction not that much of a reach.

And low and behold the losers of the replay get to play my own county. I am sure while neither side will want to be in the qualifiers just yet both will feel that they have a safe passage to the next round with this plum draw.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 08/06/2015 10:34:07    1733906

Watched the highlights last night and sorry now I missed it on Saturday evening. Looked to be a great game. Laois have some powerhouses!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 08/06/2015 10:46:50    1733914

I remember when the teams were announced I'm sure I wasn't the only one wondering why Tommy Moolick wasn't starting but he surely showed why he should be the next day. He Really did change the game when he came on and it will leave a few question marks over the Laois midfield from a defensive perspective. Going forward Laois Midfield was outstanding I thought.

I reckoned Laois would win before the game started and they really should of, Paul Kingstons attempt at the end should have went over i'm sure he'll be kicking himself.

From a neutral point of few I'm really looking froward to seeing the replay and I'm gonna be stubborn and stick with a Laois win by 2 points. Seeing Donie Kingston in Croker against the Dubs is reason enough to hope for a Laois win.

-------------

Btw Meathalltheway, I wouldn't waste my breath with any rossie posters they all seem to have a developed a dislike to meath since the league and their narrow promotion seems to have given them this aura that they're now the world beaters. Let them have their day in the sun all minorities deserve it every once in a while.

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 08/06/2015 11:03:17    1733935

Meathallteway Laois got within 3 of us in the quarter final in '12 in a much tighter game than our Leinster final against yous when you got a last minute goal to make it look respectable but we were comfortable through out also Laois haven't been in Leinster finals cause they keep getting drawn on our side of the Leinster championship and last year Laois lead by 2 points at ht against us and our 10 point win was much tougher than our hammering of Meath. In saying all that I think Kildare will win the replay, munnelly was being marked by Ollie Lyons probably the best corner back in the game by the way Tomas O Se bad research there saying he does his best stuff out the field he doesn't it's just Lyons is as tight as a they come I'm sure the Laois lads tried to get Munnelly into it but Lyons is like a bad rash that won't go away.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/06/2015 11:20:00    1733952

Meathallteway Laois got within 3 of us in the quarter final in '12 in a much tighter game than our Leinster final against yous when you got a last minute goal to make it look respectable but we were comfortable through out also Laois haven't been in Leinster finals cause they keep getting drawn on our side of the Leinster championship and last year Laois lead by 2 points at ht against us and our 10 point win was much tougher than our hammering of Meath. In saying all that I think Kildare will win the replay, munnelly was being marked by Ollie Lyons probably the best corner back in the game by the way Tomas O Se bad research there saying he does his best stuff out the field he doesn't it's just Lyons is as tight as a they come I'm sure the Laois lads tried to get Munnelly into it but Lyons is like a bad rash that won't go away.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/06/2015 11:20:14    1733953

2014 Quarter Final

Dublin 2-21
Laois 0-16

2013 Preliminary Round

Louth 1-16
Laois 1-06

They done well against yous in '12 nothing since then. This is the problem every one in meath has with McHugh, he's lazy and simply wrong when it comes to meath. He has a chip on his shoulder over meath football.

A year after doing well against yous they got drawn on meath side but couldn't even get past Louth in the prelims, a year after that they get slaughtered by yous. I like Laois and I see them as a good side, my previous posts have indicated this. But I reckon meath are better and for posters to come on big laois up better than they actually are I'm not having that.

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 08/06/2015 11:50:36    1733979

This thread is about Laois and Kildare and not Meaths desire to be no. 2 to Dublin. It was an enjoyable game between 2 evenly matched teams played in a good spirit.
Many people think Laois blew it and maybe they did but Kildare had more possession, more wides and 3 good goal chances so we can be optimistic for the replay. If we could get the injured players back the next day even for some of the game then I would fancy us to win.
Both teams will end up in the qualifiers and a home game to Antrim is not a daunting prospect for the loser next time out.
Plenty to look forward for a few more weeks.

murof (Kildare) - Posts: 480 - 08/06/2015 13:13:23    1734042

I suspect Kildare will win the replay.Laois could not kill them off when they had the chance.More improvement in Kildare the next day imo.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/06/2015 13:17:01    1734046

I still can see Laois seeing this one out. Just a feeling. Despite all the endevour I can still see all the usual flaws in Kildare game and Laois find it easier to score than we do. One or two of our older players are showing the miles even though they show a lot of grit. Laois look like the better outfit overall. Plus our manager tends to learn very little from games. Id give Laois the nod by 4 Pts the next day.

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 08/06/2015 14:29:12    1734114

Great game of football Ollie Lyons Brendan Quigley John O'Loughlin and Donie Kingston would make any all star team 4 superb players...

Laois will be sorry they didn't close out the win but its 50/50 the next day again ...I hope its on TV

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 08/06/2015 15:06:41    1734138