Laois and. Kildare. A real full blooded rivalry

Be nice to get back to the topic in hand.....LAOIS V KILDARE

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 26/05/2015 16:22:06    1728708

Indeed bigjohn.
For what its worth i expect to see Kildare shade it by 1 or 2.
It will be real football, man to man. Which i think is the most exciting thing about it, these games have very much become the minority to the detriment of the game, but hopefully we get a gem.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/05/2015 16:35:13    1728716

There are some great derby matches in Leinster. Louth like Longford is a unique position because they both only one border one county in Leinster. Meath is such a big county that they have a few derby matches. In the 90s there was some great derby matches with the Dubs and Meath, Meath and Kildare. Early 2000s there were some great battles with the Dubs and Kildare and Meath and Westmeath. Dont mind 1690. For me the real Battle of the Boyne is Louth and Meath, a historic one which was at its peak in the 40s and 50s. Looking forward to the Kildare and Laois one. I have a soft spot for the Lillies.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 26/05/2015 16:37:55    1728718

4 pages of posts on a game few neutrals will bother watching! Could be decent but wouldn't be going in expecting a classic- Laois average and Kildare in absolute free fall, neither team will trouble the business end of the championship or get within 12 points of Dublin. This won't be the game to 'save the championship from dire ulster football'!!!

switec (Kildare) - Posts: 525 - 26/05/2015 16:55:43    1728731

Switec. No one i think has said either would trouble dubs . But that's for another day.
My original point was about the rivalry, which is a big deal as a stand alone fixture.
Also hopefully the type of football will be free flowing hard hitting and the team with the best players on the day winning. For me that's the goal. It wont save football from the dire games but hopefully it will make a change. And im going to be honest if either play blanket defenses ill be disgusted.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/05/2015 17:17:44    1728742

Laois v Kildare is a good rivalry, from a national perspective it won't garner much attention at the minute but within Leinster it should turn a few heads, I have a feeling Laois might just win this one, Kidlare just aren't finding their feet under Ryan for whatever reason. Of course the prize is a game against Dublin (unless Longford do the unthinkable) which is never nice these days but to be fair to Laois they made a right game of it last time they played Dublin, last time Meath and Kildare played the Dubs they completely folded, it was embarrassing stuff!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/05/2015 17:51:24    1728760

For 30counties this rivalry will mean noting, for Laois and Kildare its as full blooded as your going to get, for example there is noting like seeing Kildare folk having to put there hands in there pocket and contribute some of the 1 million euro to the upgrading of O'Moore park which o course Laois will get most value out of, and when you see the state of there county ground it brings a smile to my face. Even when Kildare get a home game it is usually moved to Portlaoise and of course we get a nice percentage, as for the match Laois by 4or 5 points

Ger.say (Laois) - Posts: 130 - 26/05/2015 18:24:54    1728785

Ger.say
You might have been smiling about the money the last time we played ye in the championship but the result wiped it off instantly. Anyway may the best team win on Saturday week.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 26/05/2015 19:32:05    1728816

In fairness it must have some people interested, 4 pages, wha!
But who are yiz trying to fool?, leinster is a complete joke right now, loads openly admit they would prefer to lose and go into the knockout rather than play dublin in the next round. Its as bad oir worse than leinster hurling was about 8 years ago.
Might be worth watching anyway, to see what the fuss is all about!

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 26/05/2015 19:54:38    1728827

It should be a tight enough match, neither team are near the top level teams but I don't think either set of supporters think otherwise. Kildare will be a much better outfit for this match than during the league and will be looking forward to this match greatly I'd assume. Laois justifiable underdogs and will need to improve greatly to beat Kildare. O'Connor park a good venue for it and sure it'll a be a bit of banter with it being a local rivalry........

Baxter (Laois) - Posts: 282 - 26/05/2015 20:27:46    1728834

royaldunne, i hope you're right and we don't see any blanket defences but Kildare went a bit defensive against meath in the league this year when traditionally our 2 counties have played open football against each other, kildare got deservedly beaten by meath that night for being a bit negative and I like to think we have dispensed with that little experiment but i am not convinced, Ryan has lost a few players since , Laois have some tricky forwards, i wouldn't be surprised to see a sweeper in place and wouldn't be surprised to see it cost us the game!

switec (Kildare) - Posts: 525 - 27/05/2015 11:20:48    1728952

royaldunne, i hope you're right and we don't see any blanket defences but Kildare went a bit defensive against meath in the league this year when traditionally our 2 counties have played open football against each other, kildare got deservedly beaten by meath that night for being a bit negative and I like to think we have dispensed with that little experiment but i am not convinced, Ryan has lost a few players since , Laois have some tricky forwards, i wouldn't be surprised to see a sweeper in place and wouldn't be surprised to see it cost us the game!

switec (Kildare) - Posts: 525 - 27/05/2015 11:21:02    1728953

This game had better not disappoint, I am getting Sky in especially as soon as I get home from Enniskillen and the other clash of the Titans.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 27/05/2015 11:29:58    1728959

being from Kildare and being involved in GAA here I have nearly really bought into the Kidlare Laois rivalry. It's a south KIldare thing I think. For me it's Meath. Very little between us at the moment and always enjoy having a crack at the them

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 27/05/2015 12:14:14    1728986

royaldunne, has correctly assessed the intensity of the rivalaries in Leinster between the various counties and their attitudes to the success of each other; plain begrudgery sums it up. It's in marked contrast to Ulster and to a certain extent in Connacht where teams would support others especially when they are representing their provinces in the All-Ireland series. What atitude prevails in Munster between the counties? I would imagine that Tipperary, Clare , Limerick and Waterford are sick of Kerry and Cork dominating.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 27/05/2015 12:40:01    1729018

Hopefully football is the winner lads cause I can't take much more of that Ulster rubbish.

I know this might come as a bolt from the blue for you clondalkin but you don't actually have to watch it.

I'm sure there are good club games all round Dublin you could watch instead.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/05/2015 13:30:41    1729059

am i right in saying its 15 years since kildare won a leinster title? thats crazy for all the talk and airtime kildare football gets. laois have a bettrr record in all level of football than kildare in the last 30 years. thats an amazing stat. how many minors aand u21s have laois won in last 30 years?

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 27/05/2015 15:12:38    1729130

Dickie as a lilly I am one of only a few that can see through all of the nonsense. At the moment within the county a lot of people are calling for Jason Ryan's head. These same people seem to think that a new manager will be able to bring in 15 new players also. At the end of the day he will have the same group to work with and they aren't capable of winning a Division 2.Should we have been relegated to 3? No way. But we are mid table div 2 and that's all.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 27/05/2015 15:23:28    1729139

laois have a bettrr record in all level of football than kildare in the last 30 years.

Yes, all levels. Except senior, which I believe is the level this match is being played at. And there's no doubt that Kildare's previous generation of players under McGeeney had the measure of Laois and by some distance beating them in the championship by 15 points twice. The young team Kildare have now are definitely not going to put up that kind of score. But there's no point saying that the decline now shows that any talk of us playing well 4-5 years ago was unjustified.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 28/05/2015 17:22:29    1729635

The dubious prize for the winners here is a game against Dublin. More of an incentive to lose I should think.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 02/06/2015 10:59:46    1731263