Hurling going soft

Pinkie good job these referees weren't round in Liam Dunne or seanie floods time , they and half that 96 team be sent off before the ball was thrown in !!

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 26/05/2015 16:36:26    1728717

Agree completely with hurler 32 response to Pinkie re Liam Dunne, etc. (Let it be said I don't know hurler 32 )
Talk about the kettle calling the pot black..... will ye go '"wey with yeh.

This is one aspect of the Kilkenny style that unfortunately is being emulated and should not be, Tommy Walsh being the granddaddy of the wrap around swing , or backswing of the hurley , be it shins, middle or helmet high. Michael Fennelly second..

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1359 - 26/05/2015 17:13:09    1728740

Good to see the Limerick lads still bitter about 96. Dont forget Mike Houlihan breaking the hurl across Larry O'Gorman, or Dave Clarke trying to injure Tom Dempsey, and of course that you couldnt even beat 14 men.

Sean Flood was not a dirty hurler by any stretch of the imagination so that is unfair.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 26/05/2015 17:35:15    1728749

Still though Walsh got away with a lot but he done that when out of sight of the ref as did many a player. I don't think we should blame Kilkenny for this.
if you get caught doing it you deserve to be sent off. Every player is responsible for their own actions on the field.

just because Johnny did it last week and got away with it doesn't mean Paddy can do it this week and feel any different. yes it's wrong that not all players were treated the same on Sundays game or any games in the last 20 years but if you get caught pulling or swinging at an opponent that's the players fault.

When the GAA introduced Haw Eye it was to assist referee's who couldn't confirm a pointed score so lets introduce the technology to help referees.

Look at the Rughy game Saturday for example Nigel Owns was able to go back to the Video ref at end of the game to confirm a knock on. Why the GAA are still living in the dark ages in beyond belief.

The whole disciplinary process system within the GAA is broken from end to end. By which I mean from the players on the field of play to the referees to the guys siting in the CCCC , DRA etc.

Tis as mad as a box of frogs.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 26/05/2015 17:46:53    1728751

Still though Walsh got away with a lot but he done that when out of sight of the ref as did many a player. I don't think we should blame Kilkenny for this.
if you get caught doing it you deserve to be sent off. Every player is responsible for their own actions on the field.

just because Johnny did it last week and got away with it doesn't mean Paddy can do it this week and feel any different. yes it's wrong that not all players were treated the same on Sundays game or any games in the last 20 years but if you get caught pulling or swinging at an opponent that's the players fault.

When the GAA introduced Haw Eye it was to assist referee's who couldn't confirm a pointed score so lets introduce the technology to help referees.

Look at the Rughy game Saturday for example Nigel Owns was able to go back to the Video ref at end of the game to confirm a knock on. Why the GAA are still living in the dark ages in beyond belief.

The whole disciplinary process system within the GAA is broken from end to end. By which I mean from the players on the field of play to the referees to the guys siting in the CCCC , DRA etc.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 26/05/2015 17:47:59    1728752

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 26/05/2015 17:49:24    1728755

lads,before you go down the road of saying x y or z was a dirty hurler,you should all remember one thing.this is not the 1990s any more and while the dark arts were seen as being an art back then,referees and authorities are now copping on to these black arts.

every county-my own,limerick,kilkenny,cork,tipp,etc had hurlers back then who got away with a lot.hatchet men is the word for them.i could name one from each county but i dont think that would be fair on good hurling men who played the game they were let play at the time.

people often talk about hurling men being "men of honour".there is nothing manly about swinging a hurl into somebody's face twice,there is nothing manly about jabbing a hurl into somebodys ribs (and bugler got a red card for it last year in wexford so we cant say referees are not consistent here).we cant use the "nobody got injured" nonsense any more,because we cant say when a tackle happens that nobody will get injured.

the referee has 1 duty above all and that is to protect the welfare of those playing the game.i dont mind a referee missing a push in the back occasionally but where there is dirty and dangerous play it should be punished.and i have not had a problem with any red card a wexford player received in the past 10 years before people start with "you wouldnt say that if it was wexford"....

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 27/05/2015 09:45:36    1728911

He tapped his chin ffs you've all been brain warped by the premier league any little touch now and yous are crying , never a sending off the Limerick player should be suspended for diving/play acting and then putting a bandage on his head ha wasn't a rugby player banned for life for doing something similar before ?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/05/2015 11:04:54    1728940

It was a sending off Clondalkin, get that much into your head.To say he 'tapped him on the chin' is just stupid.He pushed out forcefully (twice) with his hurley in his right hand and struck O Grady on the jaw.We are talking about a fit powerful young athlete here not a schoolboy and even if we weren't it was still a sending off.
Striking or attempting to strike with the hurley are reds.We want refs to enforce the rules don't we?
Well I certainly do, maybe you would prefer anarchy.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 27/05/2015 11:45:37    1728967

Never a red.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/05/2015 11:53:50    1728973

Clondalkin, you are one of the few who keeps saying that it was not a red card. If either of the TWO jabs or strikes that hit Donal O Gradys helmet had resulted in the hurley going between the bars of the helpmet and damaging O Gradys eye would you still say it was "never a red card". Its people like you supporting this behavior by players that is turning young players and their parents away from hurling.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 27/05/2015 12:11:54    1728985

Clondalkin if you repeat something often enough you start to believe it.Read up on the rules, it was a red.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 27/05/2015 12:33:05    1729004

Clondalkin,not even Johnie Cochran could get an aquittal for Donnelan on this misdemeanor,while our own Joe Brolly would have an easy day absolving young Tobin of his harsh red.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/05/2015 12:33:42    1729006

Clondalkin, you are one of the few who keeps saying that it was not a red card. If either of the TWO jabs or strikes that hit Donal O Gradys helmet had resulted in the hurley going between the bars of the helpmet and damaging O Gradys eye would you still say it was "never a red card". Its people like you supporting this behavior by players that is turning young players and their parents away from hurling.

FFS catch a grip talk about being melodramatic, im with clondalkin on this one, a yellow card would have been sufficient. Your argument is the 'if your granny had balls etc etc etc' one. If someone jabs a stick through the faceguard then of course its a sending off. However, this was nothing more than keeping someone at arms length similar to the way they do it in rugby albeit without a stick in hand.
I have to say Seanie Toibin's is definitely a red card, its a sneaky cowardly act imo. It is far too common in hurling and i hate to see it as it could result in a serious injury for someone. I suppose intent is the issue for me, the rule book may say different but that to me is when referees should apply common sense.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 27/05/2015 12:37:12    1729012

Im sure Joe being the shrewd operator he is would provide upto 20 excerpts of similiar incidents in the game that led to no action being taken against the participants.Any fair minded judge would throw this harsh conviction out of court.Tobin,you are free to go young man!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/05/2015 12:43:34    1729022

I heard on the Limerick radio this morning that they are appealing the red card to Tobin ???

Surely not.....plain for all to see....

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 27/05/2015 12:49:46    1729031

Neither were reds the play acting from the players got both men sent off, as I said if both players stayed on there feet there'd of been no red cards.

Clare no. 8 definitely had to go.. You cant throw punches simple as that.. he hit him and went for seconds .. Thats not acceptable simple as that..
Tobin shouldnt have gone thats horse play and clare player gave as good as he got maybe he was afraid of tobin and went to the ground so as not to hurt his shoulder again.. But your right on one case tobins sending off was a bot of a joke

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 27/05/2015 13:42:41    1729068

Limerick should not appeal the decision, it would be far better for Limerick to take note of what happened and endeavour to ensure that any of its players are not sent off for the remaining of the championship.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 27/05/2015 15:21:24    1729136

Re red card or not..

Donnellan : How can someone from the comfort of his armachair or high stool possibly know how a sudden jolt ot the fcmask will impact or traumatize other part of the head. Doctor has to take all necessary precutions on the spot. Sham on those who "not guilty" because Dodge thankfully seemed coherent in post match interview. The B*ll*x Doody "let every blow be funeral mentality seems to be
alive and well. Red card. no question about it.

Tobin, appeared less grievous and TV views is mostly from the rear, however if Seanie gave a dig with the end of the bas which I think he did then a message needs to be sent re this all to prevalent unmanly behavior and red was justified.
Utill the hurling committes and GAA sit p and take notice , a yellow to each player could have been appropriate, regardless of who started it.
Henry Sheffling and Gavin should have gotten red or black in August last year.
Good point by Dowling re all 4 midfielders at throw in evdry game... which leads back to the paralysis lies with GAA Powers thar be in failing to face the situation...
Recommend a Black card on a go forward basis.. with ref serving that notice as part of pregame coin toss.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1359 - 27/05/2015 15:25:44    1729142

After Tobins red card appeal has been turned down,Seanie has said on the record "I didnt strike,or attempt to strike my opponent".Do all the posters who feel he deserved a red card think he is lying?Why would he come out and say it if he is innocent.After all it must be easy to prove otherwise?He is obviously distraught and angry.If it happened to me id think about jacking it in.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/05/2015 13:02:44    1729954