Question for Tyrone lads here

seanie_boy

1727466 Treaty_Exile
County: Limerick

seanie_boy

1727448 Tyrone's reputation in GAA circles hasn't come from nowhere. I'm not generalising an entire county. But their GAA culture surely, SURELY, has some serious questions to answer. And has had for some time.
------------------------------------
Sure that right there is the crux of it all,and I and most Tyrone people strongly disagree with this premise.
------------------------------------
I know ye disagree. And I think ye need to wake up!
------------------------------------------------------------------------
There are other posters on here acknowledging that Ulster sides,and Tyrone in particular are coming in for unfair criticism.We will take great comfort from those opinions and be glad to know that the hostility is not all in our imaginations.We did wake up,about 25 yrs ago and went on a winning spree of 5 All Ireland U-21 titles,5 All Ireland Minor Titles,3 All Ireland senior Championship titles,2 NFL Titles.Not to mention the Ulster titles in that time also.See we did wake up,its back to sleep yez want us to go and that won't be happening.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Keep winning at football, by all means. Tyrone copped some unfair criticism for their style of play in the 00's. My issue is with off-the-ball matters with Tyrone. Although not alone, they are really bad offenders.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 23/05/2015 18:45:25    1727469

Although not alone, they are really bad offenders.
---------------------------------------------------------
I will acknowledge your coming around to a more balanced opinion on these matters with that line.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/05/2015 19:00:36    1727479

Ulsterman

This is my last post on HS. I have been very uneasy at the nasty tone of some threads towards Ulster and the North in general for quite some time. There is a venomous hatred developing and some in the South should really hang their heads in shame at this.
---
Yes but what about the home truths coming from within the North? Malachy Clerkin, Brolly, the Donegal officials. All of this and the best you can do is blame 'the South'. It's always political and geographical. No self examination at all. It's always somebody elses fault.

Close the door behind when you're leaving.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/05/2015 19:58:16    1727489

Can you imagine the RTE and southern media if they discovered that Mickey Harte met with Sean Cavanagh the day before the game ' Look we can win this game , if we can take Michael Murphy/ Neil Gallagher out of it, try and brake his jaw in the opening seconds........

NOW - this did happen..

Jack O'Connor met with T. Keneally before the All-Ireland ( its in his book) and decided that the most effective game plan would be take Cork's Nicholas Murphy out in the throw -in'
Murphy went off injured.... Kerry won..... media accepted it.....
CONFUSSED!!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 23/05/2015 20:33:27    1727500

i for one hope tyrone go well in the championship after all this..it would really upset a lot of sad sad people

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 23/05/2015 21:25:47    1727516

All a bit ott on Tyrone here. All Ireland semi in 1996- Meath deliberate take out Canaan and dooher in first five minutes. No complaints from Tyrone. From there on they haven't been victims since. Kerry apply the same tactics in every big match. Michael Murphy in last years final, Aiden O Shea in the all ireland semi. Dublin are no saints either, Ciaran Whelan did it to Ronan mc garritty in 2006 semi (before David Brady sorted Whelan out). No saints out there lads, only sinners

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1126 - 23/05/2015 21:28:39    1727518

23/05/2015 20:33:27
cuchulainn35
County: Armagh

Can you imagine the RTE and southern media if they discovered that Mickey Harte met with Sean Cavanagh the day before the game ' Look we can win this game , if we can take Michael Murphy/ Neil Gallagher out of it, try and brake his jaw in the opening seconds........

NOW - this did happen..

Jack O'Connor met with T. Keneally before the All-Ireland ( its in his book) and decided that the most effective game plan would be take Cork's Nicholas Murphy out in the throw -in'
Murphy went off injured.... Kerry won..... media accepted it.....
CONFUSSED!!!

Not confused at all it was a sickening tactic , said it at the time , got even angrier when book came out as if there was any doubt that it was premeditated it was now removed .
Got really pi773d off with kerry followers justifying TK and passing it off as sour grapes etc
Ive said in my most recent post that the treatment of Tyrone / Ulster recently has gotten to ridiculous levels , there is hypocrisy on both HS and media at large , whats equally a problem on HS is the entrenchment that takes place the moment a piece of justifiable criticism comes Tyrone/Ulster teams way , the most used form of defence is attack . Perhaps on here if some were to take a bit of flak when deserved people would be more prepared to cut some slack .
The obvious free state / nordies slagging carries a tone to which runs contary to what we as a following and association should be against , but a lot of under current feelings beliefs coming to the fore which is disappointing to say the least .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 24/05/2015 10:15:42    1727544

Hard to disagree Damo.

The problem with the 6 county Ulster folk is that , in life, we were treated as second class citizen's for years. We now feel the bitterness of some of our neighbours when we get parity. We have grown up continually defending ourselves. This is hard to change for football.

Armaghball (Armagh) - Posts: 96 - 24/05/2015 10:43:54    1727549

The first thing that strikes me about all the anti-Tyrone bile on this site, is that it is not reflective of what you encounter in real life. You get a lot of cowardly hate-mongers on forums. Also there are still more people on here from other counties who are sensible enough to know people are people, and Tyrone people are not some genetically separate race of savages. Its sometimes hard to keep this in mind with the constant attacks and whinging, but I hope we don't lose good posters from Tyrone like Brend, or good posters from other counties who are sick of the bitterness. I enjoy the site and it would suffer.

I would also worry that some of biased, hate-filled views on here are going to cause a serious incident for some young Tyrone lad wearing the county top because of some head-case taking some of the rubbish on here seriously.

Tyrone, players and people in general, are no better or worse than anyone else. We are all Irish and should have a bit of respect for each other. Its getting out of hand now.

tra (Tyrone) - Posts: 43 - 24/05/2015 11:24:51    1727558

Armaghball
County: Armagh

Hard to disagree Damo.

The problem with the 6 county Ulster folk is that , in life, we were treated as second class citizen's for years. We now feel the bitterness of some of our neighbours when we get parity. We have grown up continually defending ourselves. This is hard to change for football.

Good post and sensible post from Damo,
Armaghball i think what you say is at the heart of a lot of things when people are debating issues here and wondering why Ulster posters stick together and get all defensive, its natural.
On here you have posters from Dublin and Kerry talking down to Ulster posters about morals in the game who dont or wont recognise their own counties problems ,so what happens then even if the Ulster county in question has done wrong ,do you really expect them to bow and apologise.
Ulster is a great province with great footballers and people. Recently a few isolated incidents mainly by teenagers who acted very badly on football pitches is tarnishing a province.
Lets just talk about the game and let this Northen bashing stop

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 24/05/2015 12:47:02    1727571

Cant we all just get along? :)

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/05/2015 13:19:06    1727577

Does the bitterness towards Tyrone have anything to do with the fact that they beat Kerry and Dublin on their way to winning 3 All Ireland titles. .Armagh and Donegal have also upset the establishment.
The 6 northern counties had to put with a lot of silly harassment over the years from the security forces , and the establishment. They kept the flag flying,literally, for Gaelic game in difficult times.
Time to lay off this topic.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 24/05/2015 22:01:03    1727913

Some very good posts and balanced views and also some guys who talk about truth when in fact the are looking thru their own tinted eyes. The fact is we have seven officials at each match so if their is any unsavoury stuff going on surely these officials are not blind -maybe the are. Instead of having many coloured cards maybe we should train our officials and check their eyesight before allowing them to officiate!. In football (and indeed hurling) winners will do what they can get away with to win -end off. Nothing has changed in that respect except that pushing, dragging and mouthing has replaced the odd good punch.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 25/05/2015 10:36:41    1727972

Phew !. I'm glad that's all sorted out. :)

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 25/05/2015 13:29:14    1728090

I suppose Tyrone, like others from Ulster realised, when you head to Croker, being nice sure as hell wont get you anywhere if youre serious about winning.
Kerry, Dubs etc.. all very capable of the dark arts. When Down won twice in the 90s we had a few lads that wouldnt think twice of handing out medicine if required and when playing Meath and the Dubs it was required - pity we dont have that now.

I am no fan of Tyrone but they are no worse than others who win all irelands. I also dont buy into the Saint Mickey Harte, strange correlation between a saint and some of his team tactics. Good to see his assistant banned as hes always in the middle of rows along the sideline

Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 26/05/2015 10:24:35    1728449

Tim-Burr
I suppose Tyrone, like others from Ulster realised, when you head to Croker, being nice sure as hell wont get you anywhere if youre serious about winning.

I don't believe that Tim. Galway won All-Irelands in 1998 & 2001, and lost the 2000 final after a replay, and I cant think of a single hardman in any of them teams, they just had class footballers. Then Armagh and Tyrone won the next 2 All-Irelands using a more 'robust' style and the game has been getting more like trench warfare ever since.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 26/05/2015 11:49:28    1728500

See the thing is, no point debating this if you dont give your HONEST opinion, What u would genuinely say to your mates behind closed doors etc etc...
People on here try so hard to be all pally pally and no to offend so real opinions are diluted and negate the validity of the debate.

As I have said, I think the older Tyrone posters here know me by now and know I am not nor was I ever anti Tyrone. I have consistently said I think the Tyrone team in the earls mid 00's was the best team i had seen in my life time (at the time!) and i had HUGE time for the Brian McGuigans, Peter Canavans and Cormacs of this world. I also have often pointed out how I think Sean Cav is the most all rounded and talented player in the country for 10 years now, matched only in my opinion by Tomas O'Se and Stephen Cluxton.

BUT....I have also said, because I believe it that players like Brian Dooher, Conor Gormely and Ricey over stepped the line and turned me off Tyrone at times.
Now for anyone to say that you cant have a go at at Tyrone for "one incident" as in the one last week, or alleged one....surely to God we all know its not beacause of ONE incident. Look, spade a spade...Tyrone have been dogged by controversy for unsporting behaviour for YEARS. Incident after incident, year after year. I am sorry lads, i am not trying to pick on Tyrone, or single them out....its just a simple fact. The whole point of the thread was the fact that its consistent and showing no signs of stopping and now seems to be rearings its head at underage football which is a disaster if true.

So stop with the "picking on tyrone"...."mountain our of a molehill"...."one incident" rubbish.

Its NOT one incident, its NOT picking on Tyrone and its NOT a mountain of a molehill.
Its a real debate, a real topic that people the country wide are debating, and starting a discussion on same on a GAA WEBSITE...should not be seen as off limits for gods sakes!!

Tyrone GAA seems to be the centre of an awful lot of negative images in the last 10 years and its a legitimate question to wonder if something is rotten at its core as its totally out of proportion to everyone else........

Simples.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 26/05/2015 13:43:33    1728585

Also, as the lad from Down said, I think the myth of Saint Mickey Harte is just that....a myth!

Superb manager, one of the all time greats and 100% up there in the Micko, Heffo, Boylan league
But like the boys above....No saint!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 26/05/2015 14:34:35    1728629

But Liam why does the media not pick up on it with other counties? Kerry are one of the most cynical counites in the country. Kenellys tackle in 09 was a disgrace, pre planned and dangerous. I can't think of anything as bad than to physcially try and hurt someone. Last year and this year Kerry have been dragging men to the ground all over the place yet nothing is said. Tyrone are no angels, but nor are the other 31 counties in the country. Where people have issues is that it's only Tyrone and to a lesser extent Ulster sides that this is highlighted against. For those giving out about McMahon i ask how did Kieran Donaghy react after he scored a goal in the QF against Bellew. Was McMahon any worse against Murphy?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 26/05/2015 15:11:30    1728661

To Liam Walkinstown
Yes we know you and your form.... an old bull*******.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 26/05/2015 15:30:51    1728679