Question for Tyrone lads here

FFS, give it a rest lads, i think there is enough Tyrone bashing threads. The Tyrone posters on here dont have to be explaining themselves and apologising constantly here , especialy to lads who wont accept blame when their own county does wrong.
Practice what you preach and maybe Tyrone lads might have a discussion.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 22/05/2015 22:00:34    1727296

seanie_boy

1727289 Treaty_Exile
County: Limerick

Every county in the country gets involved in cynical stuff.

Tyrone are the most cynical. There's no smoke without fire.
------------------
And there's a huge chance of being stabbed if you visit Limerick city.
------------------
Not huge, but you're probably more likely to encounter trouble in Limerick than any other city or town in Ireland, especially if you go to the wrong parts. Hit the nail on the head there buddy.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 23/05/2015 13:41:40    1727363

Every county has it's cynical players, even so e high profile players from Kerry, and Dublin.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 23/05/2015 14:40:22    1727375

Death by a thousand cuts , did we need this thread NO ,is there anything likely to be raised thats not been covered NO , is it likely to alienate a province/ County YES .
Maybe not the original posters intent but its sentaionalist and full of cheap shots .
Tyrone have done all thats listed as has many many other counties .
I have been consistent on what I think of Tyrones style of play recently , but equally consistent in saying they are the second most abused county on this forum . This week as in second captains they get moved up the wall to first , people jumping onto an accusation mock horror and using it as a stick to beat a county is wrong . Id wonder how many on here secretly were delighted it was Tyrone accused of the sledging and saw it as an opportunity .
There should be a ban for a month of all things Tyrone , time to give it a flippin rest .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/05/2015 14:43:42    1727376

Brend / Seanie

Constructive criticism is positive

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/05/2015 16:02:33    1727390

The title is aimed at Tyrone lads , why post it on main page ? by putting it on main page consequences obvious .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/05/2015 16:10:23    1727394

Brend / Seanie

Constructive criticism is positive
----------------------------------------------
Never said it wasn't Jimbo.Thats not whats been goin on here for the past few weeks though,on this forum or in the national media in general.There is at present a concerted effort to go after Tyrone gaa and people have their own reasons for that.When we see the same stuff happening constantly with other counties and clubs and nothing being said then you know when your county and players are being given unfair treatment.You remember your own words though Jimbo the next time the culchies go after the Dubs:)

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/05/2015 16:16:02    1727396

Treaty_Exile

seanie_boy

1727289 Treaty_Exile

------------------
Not huge, but you're probably more likely to encounter trouble in Limerick than any other city or town in Ireland, especially if you go to the wrong parts. Hit the nail on the head there buddy.
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Oh really? Cos I was just making a sweeping and unfair generalization just like you did.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/05/2015 16:18:20    1727399

Ulsterman

This is my last post on HS. I have been very uneasy at the nasty tone of some threads towards Ulster and the North in general for quite some time. There is a venomous hatred developing and some in the South should really hang their heads in shame at this.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't leave the forum cos of this Ulsterman.Stay here with us.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/05/2015 16:21:53    1727401

All I know is, every year the Championship comes around, there is usually 4 or 5 teams that enter my head, teams I'm watching out for, teams I consider a threat, and Tyrone are always in that 5 or 6, and that includes this year. Meath got the same grief and were a hated county, but yet, they prevailed, and I always admired them for that!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 23/05/2015 16:31:25    1727406

Seanie

Don't tarnish me with what's been previously said

I've barely made any sort of comment regarding Tyrone

The last comment I made before the couple on this thread was to warmly congratulate Tyrone on a fantastic AI U21 Win

You've indicated that Im a hypocrite based on a thread I started about adding positive GAA stories

I feel that what I've added to this thread had been positive

Constructive criticism is positive and there's a few Tyrone posters that need to recognise the difference

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/05/2015 16:41:46    1727409

It is time to question how HS forums represent the views of GAA people. I am concerned by the nastiness of this particular forum. I am not a Tyrone person and have no wish to be but they are a proud GAA county like many others. It looks like something possibly occured in the minor match which is heart breaking to have happened. This was an U18 match players are 16, 17 and 18. Maybe older more experienced people members of management and County Boards could have dealt with this amongst themselves. The two media statements from the two counties have not helped but yes it does need addressed. I am sure Tyrone people are very sore at the current friction being geared towards them and no it is all just over this incident. This has been occurring over the past number of years which included unprecedented courage given to a Junior All Ireland Club match 3 years ago. I am not sure why there is such an anti Ulster but in particular Tyrone agenda. I live in Birmingham and every Sunday when an Ulster team is playing there is a huge swell of support against anybody Ulster from Irish ex pats. Now this rivalarly fair enough but it is becoming such an issue. Armagh Cavan last year was wrong but jeez the headlines after it compared to more serious incidents such as biting. Ulster people are proud GAA people and thankfully counties in the privince have amongst it some of the best facilities, supporters, coaching and all that the GAA gives. And whilst it is more difficult the province will continue to compete for All Irelands at all grades. I say to Tyrone people keep plugging away, you have every right to win All Irelands like all counties.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 23/05/2015 17:10:41    1727421

Didn't say anything about ye specifically Jimbo? Least not aware of it.Like most Tyrone posters just feeling our backs to the wall,unjustly,and have to stand up for our people.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/05/2015 17:21:32    1727426

seanie_boy

1727399 Treaty_Exile

seanie_boy

1727289 Treaty_Exile

------------------
Oh really? Cos I was just making a sweeping and unfair generalization just like you did
Neither of us did. Limerick is not the only city or town that has had trouble tackling crime, but it's endured more troubles than any other city or town over the last fifteen years or so. I'll be honest enough to admit it. Thankfully, it's a lot better than it used to be. It was never a case that the entire city was rotten, far from it, but the reputation didn't come from nowhere.

Tyrone's reputation in GAA circles hasn't come from nowhere. I'm not generalising an entire county. But their GAA culture surely, SURELY, has some serious questions to answer. And has had for some time.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 23/05/2015 17:21:37    1727427

sam1884
County: UK

It is time to question how HS forums represent the views of GAA people. I am concerned by the nastiness of this particular forum. I am not a Tyrone person and have no wish to be but they are a proud GAA county like many others. It looks like something possibly occured in the minor match which is heart breaking to have happened. This was an U18 match players are 16, 17 and 18. Maybe older more experienced people members of management and County Boards could have dealt with this amongst themselves. The two media statements from the two counties have not helped but yes it does need addressed. I am sure Tyrone people are very sore at the current friction being geared towards them and no it is all just over this incident. This has been occurring over the past number of years which included unprecedented courage given to a Junior All Ireland Club match 3 years ago. I am not sure why there is such an anti Ulster but in particular Tyrone agenda. I live in Birmingham and every Sunday when an Ulster team is playing there is a huge swell of support against anybody Ulster from Irish ex pats. Now this rivalarly fair enough but it is becoming such an issue. Armagh Cavan last year was wrong but jeez the headlines after it compared to more serious incidents such as biting. Ulster people are proud GAA people and thankfully counties in the privince have amongst it some of the best facilities, supporters, coaching and all that the GAA gives. And whilst it is more difficult the province will continue to compete for All Irelands at all grades. I say to Tyrone people keep plugging away, you have every right to win All Irelands like all counties.
---------------------------------------------------
A most wholehearted thank you for coming on here and telling how you can see it as we see it.A perspective it seems that most others on here are incapable of having,or truth be told,want to have.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/05/2015 17:29:42    1727433

Ulsterman

1727287 This is my last post on HS. I have been very uneasy at the nasty tone of some threads towards Ulster and the North in general for quite some time.
-----
I am genuinely, genuinely delighted to hear this. Nobody on this forum represents the fine people of Ulster as poorly as you do.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 23/05/2015 17:50:46    1727439

Tyrone's reputation in GAA circles hasn't come from nowhere. I'm not generalising an entire county. But their GAA culture surely, SURELY, has some serious questions to answer. And has had for some time.
------------------------------------
Sure that right there is the crux of it all,and I and most Tyrone people strongly disagree with this premise.Our people are a decent people,and our players are no worse than other counties on any given day.Reminds of the David Trimble mentality that had him remarking that republicans were "not house trained yet".

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/05/2015 18:08:25    1727448

seanie_boy

1727448 Tyrone's reputation in GAA circles hasn't come from nowhere. I'm not generalising an entire county. But their GAA culture surely, SURELY, has some serious questions to answer. And has had for some time.
Sure that right there is the crux of it all,and I and most Tyrone people strongly disagree with this premise.
I know ye disagree. And I think ye need to wake up!

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 23/05/2015 18:23:11    1727463

These threads are just getting out of hand and I think everybody needs to take a deep breath. You can't tarnish the whole of Tyrone because of what happened last Sunday. Surely the GAA hierarchy should investigate the incident with the minor player, no point letting the county boards investigate as they are hardly going to be impartial. We can all wait for the outcome of the investigation and comment then. it doesn't help people bringing up past incidents of bad behaviour over the years, this should be dealt with in isolation. Sure every county in Ireland has done things on the pitch they wouldn't have been proud of. At the moment the GAA hierarchy are not grabbing the bull by the horns and taking the heat out of the situation.

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 23/05/2015 18:34:53    1727465

Treaty_Exile

seanie_boy

1727448 Tyrone's reputation in GAA circles hasn't come from nowhere. I'm not generalising an entire county. But their GAA culture surely, SURELY, has some serious questions to answer. And has had for some time.
Sure that right there is the crux of it all,and I and most Tyrone people strongly disagree with this premise.
I know ye disagree. And I think ye need to wake up!
------------------------------------------------------------------------
There are other posters on here acknowledging that Ulster sides,and Tyrone in particular are coming in for unfair criticism.We will take great comfort from those opinions and be glad to know that the hostility is not all in our imaginations.We did wake up,about 25 yrs ago and went on a winning spree of 5 All Ireland U-21 titles,5 All Ireland Minor Titles,3 All Ireland senior Championship titles,2 NFL Titles.Not to mention the Ulster titles in that time also.See we did wake up,its back to sleep yez want us to go and that won't be happening.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/05/2015 18:38:03    1727466