Minor player taunted over dad's death

Says all what? It doesn't matter if it actually happened or not but Tyrone are guilty because Ricey was a bad egg?

Pure lazy backward southern rubbish, thanks god i don't have to read this crap daily.

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 23/05/2015 12:17:26    1727338

Nothing backward about us down here Redhand if you need definition of backward you just need to look a little closer to home! Regards from the sunny south!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 23/05/2015 12:55:40    1727352

When Tyrone were accused of unsavoury behaviour against Tipperary, they claimed it was a case of sour grapes. This seems an extraordinary allegation for any team to make if it isn't true. All the more extraordinary for a team that has won the game and could just as easily have left it go.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 23/05/2015 13:48:38    1727365

I wonder if this is a case of Tyrone acting like a smart lawyer. Maybe something was said alluding to his fathers death but not blatantly obvious. Either way it's still despicable and an apology should be sent. Besides that - let face it lads, this sort of thing has been happening in club and county for years.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 23/05/2015 16:08:44    1727393

hill16no1man

for the record im not saying the minor player did or did not do what has been said here
the point im making is its definatly a team tactic with tyrone through the years to verbaly insult forwards off the other team
--------------------------------------------
And according to many posters on here it was a "team tactic" under Dublins Pillar Caffrey so you have little room to be giving out unless you want to castigate your own people for it too.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/05/2015 16:28:32    1727404

redhanddefender

Says all what? It doesn't matter if it actually happened or not but Tyrone are guilty because Ricey was a bad egg?
Pure lazy backward southern rubbish, thanks god i don't have to read this crap daily.

that mcmenamin was hailed for playing that kind of game
and was never dropped for doing it
therefore it was seen as being a good thing for tyrone
other wise micky harte would have dropped him if he felt it was bad sportsmanship surely?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/05/2015 16:38:58    1727408

Appalling behaviour.Whats happened to a good ould shoulder charge or a good old straightner [paudi o shea and dinny allen come to mind]This sledging starts small gathers and gathers and then we end up with some player taunting the donegal minor about his fathers Death.sack the managment and player to never kick a ball for club or county up to the gaa to set a example now NAME AND SHAME

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 23/05/2015 17:00:52    1727416

seanie boy show me where it was a team tactic under pillar?
the incident i think you are referring to is alan brogan pointing to the scoreboard against laois
how is that verbaly abusing anybody?
he was getting a few digs off guys when the ball was the opposite end of the pitch
and his reaction is what any young kid should be told to do
instead of giving the bullys what they want and striking out and getting sent off
he basically told them take a look at the scoreboard
thats where the game is won

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/05/2015 17:01:27    1727417

okay, it's now getting to the ridiculous stage, some of the threads on here are either written with complete blinkered ignorance and denial that anything like these alleged incidents happen in any other county. Start looking closer to home and scrutinising eevery game or incident and highlight them and then come here and have a sensible level debate. The generic statement fro TYCB does not shed any different light on this incident as a previous poster has said the culprit will hardly admit he said it knowing the fallout and consequences. Then again if it wasn't said what was bonners agenda with making such an accusation or whomever allegedly told him and what sanctions will they face. It's now up to the powers that be charged with upholding the rules and integrity of our games to launch an investigation the whole sorry incident and punish without prejudice those found to be in the wrong. Going on previous form by the honchos in croker 48wks for playing illegally or minimum sanctions or no sanctions for previous high profile incidents of sectarian / racial / religious, biting, spitting and others and make meaningless statements and bury the heads in the sand and hope it will blow over and something else will take away the bad publicity. Not only are these type of incidents despicable and disgusting and hurtful to the recipient and their families but they all bring the association that we all purport to love and support but ultimately perspective sponsors looking at investing in the gaa if researching the teams they are hoping to be associated with keep seeing the negative press would have to think strongly is this what I wish our products to be aligned with. So lets stop all the BS faux disgust/hatred of all things every other county but our own because it will eventually start hurting the hard work done by and played by the 98/99% grassroots gaels. Or re all these threads regardless of which county it is directed at, just a massive wind up session by people who aren't involved in grass roots promotion, coaching, etc who have plenty of time on their hands. The whole thing is now getting very boring, yes the county teams maybe the shop widow for each counties products nut the windows are now getting very dirty and grimey and it is now time the real owners of the products demanded a damn good spring clean.

disilusioned (Tyrone) - Posts: 4 - 23/05/2015 17:04:55    1727419

hill16no1man

seanie boy show me where it was a team tactic under pillar?
the incident i think you are referring to is alan brogan pointing to the scoreboard against laois
how is that verbaly abusing anybody?
he was getting a few digs off guys when the ball was the opposite end of the pitch
and his reaction is what any young kid should be told to do
instead of giving the bullys what they want and striking out and getting sent off
he basically told them take a look at the scoreboard
thats where the game is won
------------------------------------
As I said it was claimed by another poster on this forum.Sure its a joke at this point trying to talk with some of yez on here.And since ye can't even track yer own posts on this archaic forum i'm not going to sift through to find somebody elses!!!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/05/2015 17:16:40    1727425

Disgraceful carry on,reading what Devaney said today,he seems pretty sure too..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/05/2015 17:28:40    1727430

very good post disillusioned, every county partakes in this to one degree or other and a smart answer never hurt anyone but we as an association have to raise our standards on what is gamesmanship and what is down right abuse. Leaving this incident to one side we do need to make the point that similar sledging is as unacceptable as racial abuse. We've all created this atmosphere of anything goes not young 17 and 18 yr old lads. I'd also urge caution about going overboard on the alleged player he's only a chap and we all did things at that age that we wouldn't repeat at a later date.As I said it's adults who have created this situation

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 23/05/2015 17:54:08    1727441

disillusioned - in fairness if this happened elsewhere there'd be the same uproar. It's pointless talking about what has happened elsewhere i suppose.. it does happen everywhere but this one is particularly disgusting. Tyrone in fairness haven't had a good rep over the last few years with this side of the game.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 23/05/2015 18:03:25    1727444

Reading Devenney's statement it seems that after having time to think it over he is still insistent that something major happened.

As I said here last night, there should be an agreed statement from Tyrone and Donegal boards as to what happened and what will be done to address sledging.

There is no point in Tyrone making a statement on their own as the way things are in that case most people in reality are going to believe the Donegal position.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 23/05/2015 18:09:13    1727450

Brolly
County: Monaghan

disillusioned - in fairness if this happened elsewhere there'd be the same uproar. It's pointless talking about what has happened elsewhere i suppose.. it does happen everywhere but this one is particularly disgusting. Tyrone in fairness haven't had a good rep over the last few years with this side of the game.
------------------------
Brolly we accept that our players can be mouthy and be guilty of misbehaviour .Its the witch hunt that follows that we take issue with when Tyrone are seen to have transgressed the codes of conduct as opposed to the non event these things represent for other counties.It becomes an exercise in trying to demonize the whole county and everybody associated with Tyrone gaa.Other countys get abuse for stuff sometimes also but it goes to a completely different level when Tyrone are in the firing line.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/05/2015 18:20:39    1727458

It is a sad state of affairs that the two counties involved cannot sit down together and get to the bottom of this rather than play it out in public.

Regarding the attitudes of a lot of posters on here generally and over and above this topic. If they are reflective of the general attitude of people on this Island then thank goodness there is no death penalty as a lot of people would be hanged without trial.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 23/05/2015 18:21:50    1727462

tyroneed

Reading Devenney's statement it seems that after having time to think it over he is still insistent that something major happened.

As I said here last night, there should be an agreed statement from Tyrone and Donegal boards as to what happened and what will be done to address sledging.

There is no point in Tyrone making a statement on their own as the way things are in that case most people in reality are going to believe the Donegal position.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Its all getting a bit confusing to be honest cos the story on Tyrones "Teamtalk" website has a Donegal official denying that it happened at all and that its all been blown out of proportion.Thats a Donegal official being quoted in that story so if the Donegal men can't agree on what happened then how can the opposing county boards be expected to agree about it?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/05/2015 18:24:59    1727464

My bad apparently counties have been talking. Ultimately one side is very much in the wrong now in the handling of this

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 23/05/2015 18:45:46    1727470

Seanie,

Who is the Donegal official who denies it ever happened?

It's easy to key in the words "Donegal official", much harder to actually name that official as he might deny it.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 23/05/2015 18:47:06    1727472

My bad apparently counties have been talking. Ultimately one side is very much in the wrong now in the handling of this

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 23/05/2015 18:50:58    1727475