Minor player taunted over dad's death

@onlyhurling - well said and right on both counts.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 861 - 21/05/2015 16:51:17    1726689

i am focusing on the guy....im on about those looking to shift it to a county issue..its an individual issue...lets hope this isnt turned into the usual anti ulster **** on these threads

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 21/05/2015 17:02:35    1726699

Good day to all and let me begin by apologising to the young player involved in this despicable, disgusting [ alleged }abuse of a fellow gael/player/ human being, though I cant'/ won't / don't believe there is no truth in it, and should be condemmed totally from all decent, right thinking people regardless of their blinkered view. Having read all the posts previously regarding the negativity, criticism, ridicule of Tyrone football and it's players/management, I think it is now time for Tyrone football and the county board to have a serious audit of itself and examine why it is occurring, surely everybody except Tyorne football supporters can't have an anti Tyrone/Ulster bias. I think and this is only my humble opinion { yes its like a??h?les everybody has one } it is now time for a player to take the bull by the horns and smash the face { maybe they'll think the next time } of his so called abuser and bring it to a head regardless of the consequences and after the game demand to get to air their abuse to all via the media. No disrespect to the young Donegal minor intended with this next statement but is it that players will tolerate abuse of this nature in fear of the consequences of the game on the day, or his own future as an inter-county player. Until some player takes the law into his own hands, the powers that be will keep being the 3 monkeys and bring in more rules and silly cards. Enforce the rules already in place consistently and properly regardless of the uproar of county managers { who seem to think they call the shots } Where is the Tyrone Pr / management committee/ team managers respone, condemnation sundays incidents seen and alleged, or is it if you don't respond it didn't happen. Come on Tyrone gaels, get up of our ***** and demand that this is not the way Tyrone should/will not be tolerated be playing football, lets be the trend setters of something positive and bring an end to this despicable, disgusting element that has encroached into our games all in the name of success. If this is what it takes to be a winner, then I would t rather not play at all than bring my own integrity as a person being called into question. Yes note I keep referring to Tyrone football,as being a tyrone hurling person I know what it's like to be a 2nd class gael in Tyrone and the contempt that a lot of Tyrone supporters have for hurling. Just as a side issue or am I looking too much into things, but is it a coincidence that players from the so-called golden era for Tyrone football are now involved with the management side of the 3 teams that this year especially have come in for so much bad publicity. Yes this may be a rant, but I do not want to be regarded as a supporter who doesn't / can't / won't see any wrong in Tyrone players behaviour. If it's wrong then it's wrong no matter which county it is. Also let croke park now make it that all officials on the field of play refs, linesmen, umpire,4th official are all refs at least and up to inter county standard where possible and give all officials the power to call any infringement { via mike / earpiece }to the refs attention giving 8 pairs of eyes watching the whole field.

disilusioned (Tyrone) - Posts: 4 - 21/05/2015 17:06:24    1726702

Listen lads like this exist in every county, probably every half-decent sized club, You cannot say this is a Tyrone thing and I don't feel comfortable saying much about it if the lad hasn't turned 18 yet, seeing as all I've heard is through word of mouth. I've been spit at, stepped on and hit by lads from a few different counties, you can't point the finger at counties or managemens. It's a horrible story and for the sake of the young Donegal lad's family I hope this isn't lingered on

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 21/05/2015 17:07:10    1726703

After the U21 game I couldn't believe some of the posts stating that this was standard practice, man-up and by U21 everyone has been subjected to this. I played a lot of team sports, soccer, Gaelic football (to minor only) and basketball and never came across this personal mental abuse rubbish, not to this level anyway. This case is horrendous. Huge ban required here and enforce a code of conduct. The more players that come out and name the culprits the less cases of this we will have. No player will want this kind of publicity, no county will want it and no manager will want to be associated with a player who carries on like this. Zidane dealt with this the right way against Italy many years ago, except he should have waited until full-time. Give the guy a couple of slaps and he won't be so quick to do it again. Make the circumstances public then.

Last thing Tyrone needed was this. Feel sorry for the lad from Donegal. What parent would inflict this on their kids?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 21/05/2015 17:10:46    1726707

FFS..............

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/05/2015 17:38:55    1726727

Yeah I would suggest that the person coming off with this stuff actually needs help. Much has been said about sledging and verbals on here lately a while they are not a welcome aspect to the game they can be ignored or used as motivation but this stuff is disgusting and needs to be called out exactly for what it is every time.

You would hope this was an isolated incident but from reading posts here from individuals own experiences it seems common enough.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 21/05/2015 17:57:58    1726734

I did hear one story of something McGeeney brought into Kildare was dossiers on player profiles. What they worked at, their family situation, relationship situation etc. One particular player let it slip that they would use this in matches to throw their opposite number off. Now I know this isn't only one county but I was genuinely surprised to hear such practice existed. I'm sure Kildare were only practising this dark art as it had become quite common place in the game.
I'd love to see something done about sledging but I just don't see it happening for all the outrage about it

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 21/05/2015 18:10:10    1726743

Maybe sport is not for the perpetrator, I am sure if the player becomes known he will have brought immense shame upon himself and his career will come to a miserable end.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 21/05/2015 18:28:54    1726755

DONEGAL minor football manager Declan Bonner has hit out strongly after one of his players was taunted about the death of his father during last Sunday's game against Tyrone.
Bonner, writing in his weekly column in Donegal News, claims that his team's captain, Micheál Carroll, was 'the victim of some of the worst verbal abuse you could imagine'.
It has been alleged that two Tyrone players mocked Carroll about his father's death. Francie Carroll, a former Donegal footballer, passed away in February 2014 after a short battle with cancer. Bonner has blasted the treatment of the 17-year-old from Gaoth Dobhair as 'toxic'. "If this is what is going to happen in games, then I don't want to be a part of it," Bonner said. "I would rather walk away than be involved in something that has become so toxic.

Legend92 (Donegal) - Posts: 752 - 21/05/2015 18:31:24    1726757

this is very depressing to read all these people stating that this goes on and has gone on. but I suppose there are bad people everywhere. maybe some bad people are good footballers. I played club football for a number of years and never encountered anything like this (maybe I wasn't deemed good enough to warrant intimidation :)). I personally think that it is not being coached and that some people take it on themselves to act this way. this is different than hard players or even dare I say dirty players. these hard players could be absolute gentlemen off the field and I know plenty of them. But I think if you are prepared to engage in this disgusting sledging on the pitch , you would probably do it off the pitch aswell. so these are bad apples, bad human beings. It's up to the management and coaches to get rid of them, It's up to their team-mates to ditch them.They shouldn't be involved in team sports. Maybe it's time to mike-up the refs and officials so they pick up stuff.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 21/05/2015 18:36:20    1726759

Declan Bonner (Donegal minor manager) has written about it in his weekly column in the Donegal News. The abuse was directed at Micheál Carroll, the Donegal minor captain, whose father, "Francie Carroll, a former Donegal footballer, passed away in February 2014 after a short battle with cancer."
He doesn't mention the culprit by name, but it just seems to have been two Tyrone players.

Link to the article here:
[url=]http://donegalnews.com/2015/05/donegal-minor-manager-hits-out-after-toxic-taunting-of-player/

I think that sort of thing is disgraceful, more so in underage football. I also don't think it's a Tyrone problem or a Donegal problem or a Kerry problem. It's a GAA problem that referees need to take seriously. It's a black card offense, and referees should have enough common sense to realise when someone is crossing the line.

Texas (Donegal) - Posts: 163 - 21/05/2015 18:42:41    1726763

Got to feel for the other Tyrone lads , my own lad has team mates thats lets just say have an unsavoury nature , but painted with the same brush is whats happened , I refuse to believe if its true that the whole team squad is full of low lifes .
Id say this has back fired , and in background ( I hope ) hes going to get whats coming to him .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 21/05/2015 18:45:57    1726767

Bad craic for any person to have to deal with.

TYRONE_MICK (Tyrone) - Posts: 332 - 21/05/2015 19:14:31    1726774

Have to commend the Tyrone posters for taking the views they have because its generally a case of hear no evil,see no evil.
I'm sure its not the only county it happens with but the first step to eradicating it is for people to say stop this muck.

All it takes for evil to flourish is for good men to do nothing.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/05/2015 19:23:01    1726778

Terrible behaviour and the player or players responsible should be banned. I certainly don't want to see Tyrone represented by this type of behaviour and would prefer to lose than have this kind of stuff used. It probably also is up to Tyrone County Board to investigate and make sure we don't see this kind of thing ever again.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 21/05/2015 19:44:06    1726791

yew_tree -- County: MayoPosts: 6444

MesAmis - Sorry you had to experience that. Nobody should have to experience that sort of mental terrorism.

Yeah MesAmis - im also sorry and disguisted you had to experience that - what kind of nasty malevolent person does that - we have disagreed on rugby related matter in the past but nobody deserves that cowardice - - i have never experienced a situation like yours but i think i would have reacted in the same manner-- out of interest did you tell any of the officials - your own teammates or team managements of what caused you to react

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 21/05/2015 19:45:16    1726793

i wonder is it possible to prove the allegation - probably unlikely - but there were cameras at the game - the offended player could possibly identify the jersey number of the culprits and roughly when it happened during the game - maybe other players heard it too- if the players are identified then maybe do a lie detector test (i know its drastic but its a very nasty thing to do and a very serious accusation) - if the allegation is proved big bans should be given -

Tyrone County board and the minor players and management should if this allegation is true come out and condemn such behaviour to ensure not all Tyrone Gaels and the non offending team mates are not tarred with the one brush - better still the offending players (again if the allegation is true) should consider apoligosing for their actions

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 21/05/2015 19:52:31    1726797

The Tyrone player involved should be getting a serious ban at least a couple of years if not a lifetime ban from ever playing any GAA sports.If it was up to me he's never play football or hurling again.

I don't care if he's only 17,I don't care if it tough on him and there should be no excuses for this type of crap and there should be zero tolerance of it.

The big problem with the GAA is they are nowhere near hard enough on their players and let them away with too much nonsense like this.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 21/05/2015 19:58:51    1726805

Horrible horrible stuff, ourselves and the Meath lads gave it to each other but never in that fashion. Liam Hayes suffered a similar sledging from a player off a team that shall remain unnamed, unless of course any of you are aware of the incident, royaldunne probably knows what I'm talking about!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 21/05/2015 20:16:12    1726812