Minor player taunted over dad's death

The way to deal with a lad like that is to flatten him with a minute to go and make it known why you did it. Let the public decide then

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 21/05/2015 14:23:47    1726565

ben1977

1726551 This is true, it did happen and it's disgusting.......

Their is one common theme this last few weeks, from u-21, senior and now minor....... The common demoniter is Tyrone

In fairness to Tyrone that is BS. The worst Ive ever heard from from a certain high profile ex Donegal player aimed at a Tyrone player.... again about a dead relative.

jamesjoyce (Derry) - Posts: 126 - 21/05/2015 14:23:57    1726566

OhtobeARossie
County: Roscommon

Truly truly disgusting.
My god it seems it's win at all costs up there

First things first, this is an absolute disgrace and while it has not been proven I have no doubt that the Donegal camp are telling the truth. This is not a Tyrone issue or just a Tyrone problem, most if not every club/county team are involved throughout the country and if you say otherwise you are either naive or just telling lies. I for example could point to St Brigids Club in Co Roscommon who uttered some very unsavoury words towards opposing players and their families including references to a fatal car accident so lets get real and instead of whataboutery let us recognise that this is a national problem. As for the Tyrone player, if he is found guilty I hope he is banned from our association for life.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 21/05/2015 14:38:26    1726578

21/05/2015 14:05:21
brendtheredhand

Not to add any more to what Duke has already said but if this is true, and there is no reason not to believe it isn't, then I am saddened beyond compare. To lose a parent at any age is heartbreaking as I know only too well but at such a young and vulnerable age is all the more tragic and I am appalled that anyone wearing the colours of my county and supposedly representing me would have said what has allegedly been said. If I could apologise to the young lad myself on behalf of my county I would do so without reserve. That's all I want to say on the matter, others no doubt will use it as yet another stick to beat Tyrone with but as long as the county footballers are given enough to rope to hang themselves with then others will have no need to do it for them.

Well said Brend you've pretty much covered everything I wanted to say but didn't in my first message. I started a thread in our own forum and it now appears the answer is yes.

duke_raul (Tyrone) - Posts: 993 - 21/05/2015 14:40:39    1726579

Its not today or yesterday this sort of behaviour started but I think going public on it is the only way to put a stop to it.Tipp made their stand after the U21 final but should probably have gone further - there was some serious personal abuse about family members dished out that day too from what I've heard.
No referee can sanction lads for what they say - if county managers need to be shamed into instructing their players not to engage is this sort of stuff then so be it.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 21/05/2015 14:44:40    1726586

Disgusting.

This isn't a Tyrone thing as some are trying to imply on here.

I lost my father and played a senior championship game about week or two later and the lad I was marking knew all about it.

He got what he wanted and I got the line. I'll never forget ever it. I can still feel physically angry and am almost shaking as I type thinking back on it, despite it being almost 10 years ago now.

This is the type of sledging people are on about and it happens at inter county and club level all across the country. Very little can be done about it unfortunately imo. Some people will resort to this type of behaviour because it can give them an edge, they'll be forever remembered for it though. I still your man from time to time, he's actually coaching kids at the moment!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 21/05/2015 14:51:52    1726592

The way to deal with a lad like that is to flatten him with a minute to go and make it known why you did it. Let the public decide then

Or alternatively I'd love to see some forward come out straight away in a live post-match interview and repeat as much as they could remember of what the sledger had said to them.

Expose the scummy-cowards for what they really are.

besidetheditch (Dublin) - Posts: 81 - 21/05/2015 15:00:27    1726600

In my experience the best time to 'do' someone is when someone (obviously not your target) has gone for a long distance score. All eyes from referee, linesmen and umpires will be on the ball as it floats towards goal. Perfect opportunity for an ambush. I've only ever had to do this once, and I got away with it.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 21/05/2015 15:10:31    1726610

MesAmis - Sorry you had to experience that. Nobody should have to experience that sort of mental terrorism. I know in 1996 a Mayo player had similar stuff said and it kicked off the fight everyone remembers. I dunno why this has all come to a head now as it has been going on for years but it should not be tolerated.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 21/05/2015 15:15:13    1726614

If it's true then deal with the individual involved. A good long ban would suffice.

No reason to punish a whole county for what a single player said.
People saying that "it's a Tyrone thing" need to cop on and stop using this incident and old grudges to get even against an entire county.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 21/05/2015 15:19:11    1726615

I know for a fact that a Galway hurler was sledged by an opponent in the late 80's (re the players recently deceased brother). Everyone is fooling themselves if they think this is either new or confined to Tyrone.

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 21/05/2015 15:20:06    1726616

Fair play Bren, well said! Most people are very critical of SOME Ulster teams at the minute but a lot of that anger and criticism is compounded by the fact that the supporters of those teams are in denial about what their players are up to, all counties have players that sometimes cross the line my' own included but we acknowledge their misdemeanours but nine times out of ten ulster supporters refuse to accept that their players are out of line but to be fair to you you've completely made your disgust about this incident clear for all to see! No player especially a young lad should have to put up with abuse of this kind! If the player in question Is guilty I would hope the Tyrone county board make an example of him and try to restore some pride in their county jersey!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 21/05/2015 15:25:27    1726619

Flatten the gurrier and let what comes come

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/05/2015 15:29:26    1726623

He should be banned by both tyrone and the gaa. If he did this in another walk of life he wouldn't be able to blame it on being impressionable, so it shouldn't be the case here. Ban him for a long time. It is the only way to address this.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/05/2015 15:30:58    1726625

MesAmis - Correct on the tyrone thing. It happens everywhere and it has for quite some time.

It has to be in a player to do something like that. Even if i was ever told something of that nature from a coach (never ever was) Its one thing giving him a dig about his footballing or generally annoying him in to slip up but entirely another to throw these comments of such deeply personal nature. Disgraceful and should be punished severely. On OTB this week Peter Canavan spoke about his own experiences of this in a game where the ref (McEnaney) spotted it and took action there and then. Then you have Deegan saying the ref cant do anything about this. Its always obvious enough so why not take the action.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 21/05/2015 15:33:20    1726626

Cutting through all of the hangings to good for the likes of him responses tom this, what I personally would like to see is for the Tyrone minor management ask (they can't force him) the culprit to apologise in person to the Donegal lad and to facilitate such a meeting. Whether he wishes to accept an apology or not is entirely his prerogative given the nature of what's been slung in his face, but it will be a valuable lesson to the other party and send out a powerful message to other under age footballers of zero tolerance and potentially save his county career from ruin at such an early stage.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 21/05/2015 15:44:20    1726633

Fair play to the Tyrone posters condemning this act as some other posters say it is all too common for posters here to stick up for their county men but this is really the lowest and I certainly would be embarrassed if one of my club or county men done something like this.
The problem here is that it is one persons word against another and therefore without a third party hearing it and willing to come forward I'm sure there will be no bans for the individual.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 21/05/2015 15:48:38    1726641

I think it has been going on for a lot longer than people are aware. The only difference is that people can access your info from your facebook page, you dont necessarily have to be sherlock holmes or have a private detective gathering info on your opponents. Couple this with the fact that there are forums just like this one, that have only been around for about a decade that highlight the aforementioned verbals. Imagine if facebook were around in the times of the infamous teams of the past, or forums for that mater, the amount of negative press would sweep the country about the same teams, and not just be restricted to print media. Technology and analysis as become more forensic on tv, with several channels now dedicated to analysis of games rather than broadcasting the game itself. This is all giving a false impression that this is a new phenomenon. I remember a story of a laois footballer sledging a donegal player in a league semi final about a personal bereavement. .It really upset him needless to say, but noone was typing on forums or twittering it across the internet or phones.

You can bet your house that this specific abuse is not new. I think that it is great that it is being highlighted now, but we should be careful of tarring and going on witch hunts after counties. It is more down to individuals than anything else.

Nothing that cant be sorted out by black cards. Sincere best wishes to the donegal lad. I hope that he is in a good place this evening and that the experience has not put him at a loss.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 21/05/2015 16:08:14    1726657

pretty low carry on in fairness and iv heard of these things happening...underage especially seems quite horrible...posters shouldnt be lumping it on 1 county though and judging the same county...no suprise the usual negative people on here are rushing to take a shot at another county instead of looking at how horrible a situation this is...grow up some people

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 21/05/2015 16:14:32    1726665

fabio8
pretty low carry on in fairness and iv heard of these things happening...underage especially seems quite horrible...posters shouldnt be lumping it on 1 county though and judging the same county...no suprise the usual negative people on here are rushing to take a shot at another county instead of looking at how horrible a situation this is...grow up some people

Ah come on. Let's maybe focus on the guy insulting the lad's dead father instead of trying to pass the book.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/05/2015 16:42:44    1726683