Armagh V Donegal

Lockjaw

Mchuge never was the same after that big hit he took from Gollogly in the Ulster Final when Monaghon won..

That was a brutal challenge and in my opinion it was totally intended to do as much damage to McHugh as possible.

He never seemed to recover mentally from that day in my view, mind you I wouldn't blame him after the injuries he sustained.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 27/05/2015 15:21:35    1729137

Aye he took a wild rap that day. Hard to say if that's changed him completely as a footballer though.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 27/05/2015 15:29:14    1729145

Lockjaw

1729145 Aye he took a wild rap that day. Hard to say if that's changed him completely as a footballer though.

I actually seen glimpses of the old Mark McHugh, when he came on against Tyrone. Not the finished article, but he put in his best display since 2012.

I don't think his poor displays were anything to do with Injuries, more his ego and lack of commitment to training. He partied hard after the All Ireland win, and never really seemed with it in 2013 in the run up to the Ulster final.
He is quite possibly the best Sweeper or most natural sweeper I have ever seen in the game, but that was 2011 and 2012 and he had since dropped off the pace.

If he kops himself on, and cuts out the mouthing on the pitch, he might just redeem himself. The talent is definitely there, but It will never be realised if he doesn't give the required commitment and time. I reckon Mark McHugh thought Donegal would go nowhere in 2014 without Rory Gallagher, after they lost to Monaghan in that Division 2 final. And was probably shocked when they ended up winning Ulster and reaching the All Ireland final.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 30/05/2015 21:36:47    1730382

I would prefer to see Donegal to win as I have never liked Armagh

4KHDoneill (Derry) - Posts: 182 - 31/05/2015 12:18:06    1730443

Just like the rest of the country then!!

sumleftboot (Armagh) - Posts: 24 - 31/05/2015 12:39:50    1730446

Is that because they beat Kerry in 2002? Time to get over it kerryman.
Elope

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1749 - 31/05/2015 12:49:26    1730448

31/05/2015 12:39:50
sumleftboot
County: Armagh

Good old Armagh 'siege' mentality ;)

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 31/05/2015 13:23:32    1730456

It is such a long time since Mark McHugh has had a good game in a championship match that it is hard to see him rediscover his form. He was a great player in 2011 and 2012, probably the best sweeper in the country. He seems to have lost his spark but the talent is there. He did ok when he came on against Tyrone but if he was anywhere near his best he would be a certain starter.

No doubt McGeeney will have his homework done on Donegal and this will be a tough assignment. Is last year's match between the two sides a fair reflection of how close the teams are or was it a case of Donegal not playing well. It is a difficult match to call.

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 31/05/2015 14:10:44    1730465

All I know is' That This Game will be NO picnic in the park.

For what its Worth' I like Armagh people' mixed well with them on holidays abroad.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 31/05/2015 16:46:16    1730527

31/05/2015 12:39:50
sumleftboot
County: Armagh

Good old Armagh 'siege' mentality ;)

Haha sure we wouldn't want it any other way. Makes winning that extra bit sweeter :)

sumleftboot (Armagh) - Posts: 24 - 31/05/2015 17:18:21    1730551

Have to say that both camps are being very quiet at present. I'm expecting a fiesty affair on Sunday, can't wait - definitely one for the neutral!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 09/06/2015 17:41:01    1734785

"Clones and Croke Park probably suits our style of football more. The tight pitch might suit Donegal's style more. We played Donegal in the Athletic Grounds in the league last year where you could definitely see it suited them. It's a tight pitch and I do think it plays tighter because the wall is close to it,"

Why do so many people make these comments? I guess a tight pitch probably does suit us better but I often see remarks of McCumhaill Pairc being small which Ive never understood, its bigger than Croke Park

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 218 - 09/06/2015 17:57:02    1734790

Gona b a tight 1 but Mc Geeny will use every trick in the book to unsettle donegal.
look at last year for instance when at 1 stage there was 3 armagh players around Lacey with 1 choking him and the doctor got pushed over.
Donegal are no angels either but we where the whipping boys of ulster and had to step up to that level.

Donegal_Man (Donegal) - Posts: 37 - 10/06/2015 10:38:47    1735022

I'll be hoping for an Armagh win. I don't like seeing one team dominating the thing all the time, an Armagh win will mix things up a bit.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 10/06/2015 10:54:19    1735038

I think Donegal will win and will be fairly comfortable by the end.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/06/2015 10:57:51    1735040

Armagh lads - what's the craic with parking? I hear it is tight enough over there?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 10/06/2015 11:37:06    1735068

Lockjaw, It's a nightmare and with no minor match on the crowd will all be arriving bout the same time. I was up there at the league match last year and even with a fairly small crowd it was hard enough to get a place to park. Probably best to park just as you come into the town on the right in some of the housing estates. Its bout 10 min walk from there but maybe some Armagh fans might tell us somewhere better!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 10/06/2015 11:48:20    1735079

On the game itself, I've changed my views on how I think this game will pan out. With so much talk recently about sledging, physicality etc. I think we could end up with good manners from both camps and hopefully a good game of football as both teams are well able to play good football. The ref will be waiting to stamp his authority on the game so you can expect both sets of players will want to keep their cool early.

If both teams perform to their potential then we will win but last year Armagh got a lucky goal of the post and then Durkans trailing foot and it left it tight. Who's to say the same could happen again!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 10/06/2015 11:55:49    1735084

Donegal wouldn't be involved in sledging or bad manners now!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 10/06/2015 12:23:47    1735096

Tir Conaill Abu, you could well be right about the game being well mannered as the refs in recent weeks have been letting nothing go. To be honest I'd prefer the ref to be strict on all the off-the-ball stuff but hopefully there won't be too much blowing for honest physical challenges. If Donegal can break even around midfield then I expect a victory as we have more top class forwards - Murphy, McFadden and McBrearty. It will be close.

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 10/06/2015 13:21:37    1735137