Cavan vs Monaghan

tirawleybaron

I think Cavan will do well in the qualifiers especially if they get teams from the other provinces

first time for everything i suppose!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 25/05/2015 08:49:22    1727925

Monaghan should improve you feel. Cavan simply not good enough to take the chance when it was all there for them.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11234 - 25/05/2015 09:14:22    1727935

Enjoyed that game... Cavan just sort of dropped off after going up by 4 points

They had the upper hand at that stage but didn't seem to want to extend that lead

Well done to Monaghan great come back and what a score by McManus from a tight angle... unfortunately the quite pathetic coverage of GAA in general fails to capture these magnificent scores which only a handful of people are able to score at this level

So much skill goes without proper coverage in GAA...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/05/2015 10:06:04    1727958

Well done to Monaghan great come back and what a score by McManus from a tight angle... unfortunately the quite pathetic coverage of GAA in general fails to capture these magnificent scores which only a handful of people are able to score at this level

So much skill goes without proper coverage in GAA...

Was some point alright jimbo. With the angle and the wind I thought to myself what are you at when he shaped to shoot. I guess he knew exactly what he was at - but as you say, not one camera angle did it justice.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 25/05/2015 10:47:39    1727978

Watched the first half and got bored as it was really just a game of rugby league with players running into other players hoping to win a free, so turned off the tv and went outside to enjoy the sun before the hurling!
Seems like it was a cracker of a second half from reports. My bad!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 25/05/2015 11:03:24    1727994

Well done Monaghan. Also great credit to Cavan for what was a great game edge of you seat play. Cavan were depleted with the loss of Killian Clarke, Giveney, Keating, players who would have streghtened their squad. Alas only Clarke will available for the future. I know my Monaghan friends were worried when they thought Darren Hughes and the two wylies might be missing. So I think Cavan will find replacements but not over night. So chin up Terry Hyland and Cavan, you have a bright Future!!!!

fifty (Mayo) - Posts: 108 - 25/05/2015 11:16:23    1728006

We were brutal yesterday,we played 15 minutes of football all day and that spell got us through.

Flat,standing off their men,no aggressive tackling thats our trade mark and we only applied that with 15 minutes to go.

I expected a massive performance but didnt get it maybe down the line we will.......

Cavan played very well,surprised at the room and time on the ball they got but that was down to us been poor.

They had the chance to take us 4 points up they should of been able to close it out but couldnt,our class showed at the vital time through,Dessie,Dick,Darren and Colin Walshe.

Good contest,will Cavan be as good in the qualifiers?its hard to know,as for us another Semi Final were our performance will have to be much better if we are to win.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 25/05/2015 13:33:13    1728096

Everyone talking about Conor McManus's points, but I have to say that Dessie Mone's point was unreal, a monster point under pressure. The TV coverage only caught the tail end of it as it was showing a replay of a foul.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 25/05/2015 14:02:33    1728126

Ned_Stormcrow

1727705 brendtheredhand

Ach, to be honest Brend I'm sick of moral victories. Given the underage talent the manager has at his disposal he should be achieving a lot more with that group of players. In terms of ability there is very little between us and Monaghan yet they are among the favourites to make the last 4 of the AI series. We're a middle of the road division 2 team. Yes we have no McManus, but we showed today we're every bit as good as them. Manager is underachieving.

So there is no McManus yet he is underachieving? McManus was the difference yesterday when it counted...& and you were dismissing the U21 grade not so long ago

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 25/05/2015 15:38:00    1728180

I suppose you could say that one manager knew what to do to win a game and the other didn't know what to do to hold onto a 4 point lead with 20 minutes left.
Hope he learns quickly.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/05/2015 16:13:34    1728201

FoolsGold

Ned_Stormcrow

1727705 brendtheredhand
Ach, to be honest Brend I'm sick of moral victories. Given the underage talent the manager has at his disposal he should be achieving a lot more with that group of players. In terms of ability there is very little between us and Monaghan yet they are among the favourites to make the last 4 of the AI series. We're a middle of the road division 2 team. Yes we have no McManus, but we showed today we're every bit as good as them. Manager is underachieving.
So there is no McManus yet he is underachieving? McManus was the difference yesterday when it counted...& and you were dismissing the U21 grade not so long ago

Well….you are every bit as good when it comes to the defence, maybe even better. It's everywhere else you are weaker. Our forward play is better, our bench was stronger and our line was smarter. For the first half we were shut out by a fairly disciplined Cavan rear-guard. We kept carrying the ball into tackles and losing possession. In the second half, a few substitutions and a tactical change took the game for us. Experienced and talented campaigners came in and really should have pushed the scoring a little more. Cavan bench or players couldn't see what the rest of us there could….the long ball is not going to work if you don't have a forward to pick up after the big man wins it. The only time Argue did any damage up front was on two occasions when he had the time to take the score himself. Apart from that, it was a complete waste. Taking Mackey off at that time didn't make much sense either. There is a platform for success and it will happen (unfortunately) but it's not ready yet.

Let's be honest here lads….I would liken the gap between Monaghan and Cavan to the gap between Monaghan and Donegal. I think we are the second strongest side in Ulster but we have yet to prove ourselves against a big side outside the province. Ye have to prove yourselves and at least get to an Ulster final. I don't believe ye have been in one since 2001. For the last ten years we have been in 4 Ulster finals, winning 1 title and there is plenty of experience from that. We have mostly played division 1 and 2 in the league (apart from the Eamon McEnaney blip) This has been building for a long while and really, we need another anglo celt and SF place to show we have progressed and grown as a team.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 25/05/2015 16:16:19    1728206

Monaghan were poor for long periods of the game. It took the old heads to win it, maybe the younger lads haven't the same appreciation of the rivalry between the counties, they would need to learn it soon. It was very frustrating viewing for 50 minutes watching our fiercest rivals out perform us. Mc Manus has been doing that kind of thing for 4 or 5 years now, if he was from Dublin or Kerry... he would get an allstar after 6 months. As for Cavan they froze (in the headlights) and I would not be as enthusiastic about them going forward as others are, they have limitations and if they don't maintain the same level of hunger as yesterday (sometimes they don't) they could be caught. This is the area that will test them and their manager, but hopefully its on wards and upwards for both counties

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 25/05/2015 16:27:26    1728214

It took Dunne an eternity to kick over the last point from the free. If that had have been Conor Laverty it would have been over in a jiffy without any hesitation whatsoever and cavan would then have had a chance to contest the kickout. I was watching on BBC and the commentator (i think it was Martin McHugh) even remarked how long he was taking to kick the ball. Delaying meant that the ref got off the hook with no pressure put on him to allow the play to develop from the kickout. I'd would have been screaming for him to kick the ball if i was a cavan supporter. Clerkin on the other hand was so clever. Taking the ball and taking a short free when Beggan was within 5 metres of the free kick position. Monaghan worked the ball up and Walshe slotted over a point. Experience won the day for Monaghan.

anduna (Down) - Posts: 210 - 25/05/2015 17:08:26    1728235

Kicking the free over was a daft idea anyway. 30 seconds left, Keeper was always going to take 20 or so to kick it out. THey would have had to win the ball straight from the kick out and put it straight over. Should have dropped in on the edge of the square for the big lad to punch. Dunne clearly didn't watch the 2013 all ireland final.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1114 - 25/05/2015 17:20:41    1728246

tirawleybaron

Kicking the free over was a daft idea anyway. 30 seconds left, Keeper was always going to take 20 or so to kick it out. THey would have had to win the ball straight from the kick out and put it straight over. Should have dropped in on the edge of the square for the big lad to punch. Dunne clearly didn't watch the 2013 all ireland final.

Cillian O'Connor sprang to mind when Dunne took an age over the kick with too.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13713 - 25/05/2015 17:46:00    1728261

We would have lost that game 5 or 6 years ago but we're battle hardened now and look in decent shape. Cavan completely lost their composure in the closing stages. They didn't score for 15 plus minutes in second half when it really really mattered. Just a note, I wasn't at all surprised than Dunne kicked the ball over the bar at end as Cavan had left themselves outnumbered in our half by persisting on leaving their two sweepers back even though there was no Monaghan players to mark, utter madness.

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 25/05/2015 17:52:58    1728266

How often will you see a ref "playing for a draw" and giving a dubious free kick to a team to draw a match. Who is not to say that Cavan could have got the ball through McKieran or Argue from the kick out with Monaghan players surrounding the catcher. The ref awards a dubious free and gives Galligan a chance from 50 metres. All ifs and buts now.

anduna (Down) - Posts: 210 - 25/05/2015 18:06:38    1728275

Just heard Graham Geraghty saying we need more scorers that Conor ?? I don't understand this. We play one or two man forward line. That person is Conor Mc. That's his job, he does it better than most, but I just think writing off Monaghan as a one trick pony with Conor is short sighted. Often Conor has quiet days with others stepping up. Like ulster final in 13 k Hughes scored two crucial points in second half. I think it's lazy journalism if you ask me. Most teams would rely on one class inside forward to do the heavy lifting in a game. O' Connor, murphy, o donoghue, brogan. They are supplemented with others chipping in a few. What's so different with Monaghan?

Another thing I don't understand K McStay's attitude towards Dessie and the penalty call yesterday. He seemed to imply that it was fair enough we didn't get it because it was Dessie Mone and he deserved not to get it.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 25/05/2015 19:59:52    1728321

supermon I think that a fair enough observation. You mention o Conner and I would point to that being the main reason they have yet to reach the promiseland.
Donegal has murphy but he isnt our main scorer. In fact he never scores more than one or 2 from play. We have alot of players who will get 1/2 each which does the trick if/when Murphy is marked well.

You mention K Hughes and I think everyone would agree that if he could stay up front all the time then that would be enough scoring power.

right now Monaghan need McManus to score 8+ points to win and at the top level that isn't possible.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 25/05/2015 20:26:57    1728341

Monaghan capable of winning Ulster.
I dont think they can go all the way though.
You need 2 or 3 scoring forwards to do that.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 25/05/2015 20:55:22    1728361