Cavan vs Monaghan

I agree with MesAmis, if Monaghan can't beat that Cavan team, then they are wasting their time going forward! I'd expect them to win handy enough.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 20/05/2015 18:53:49    1726235

As is often the case with local games like this, there won't be much in it but I'd still expect us to win.

Bit surprised at the amount picking Cavan to be honest, given how we've both went since we last met in 2013. As I say I expect it'll be a tight affair given the nature of these games, but it'll be a big blow if we don't win, no point in saying otherwise.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 20/05/2015 19:24:19    1726245

Suprised at the amount people picking cavan to win ? Where do you see this everybody is giving cavan no chance which is no suprise.My opinion i cant call this one i know monaghan are a divison one team and preformed well against the dubs so on so on but its local derby all that goes out the window and it will sunday. If mcmanus is kept a tight eye on iv a feeling cavan will win by skin of there teeth im saying cavan by 2

Cavan_COYBIB (Cavan) - Posts: 62 - 20/05/2015 21:31:20    1726284

I agree with MesAmis, if Monaghan can't beat that Cavan team, then they are wasting their time going forward! I'd expect them to win handy enough.

Seems like you are missing the point of the qualifiers? Everyone can have a result that is not expected per say. Cavan are a decent team, well organised and well capable on their day of beating us if things go right for them. In 2003 a poor enough Monaghan team handily beat reigning champions Armagh. Armagh went on to contest the final. In 2008 tyrone were beat in an ulster QF by a decent down team who had a good day. Would you have said the same thing about those teams? True, they had won sam by that stage before but you don't give up because of one bad result. Not in Ulster you don't anyway.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 21/05/2015 10:11:43    1726341

Cavan_COYBIB

Suprised at the amount people picking cavan to win ? Where do you see this
everybody is giving cavan no chance which is no suprise.My opinion i cant call this one i know monaghan are a divison one team and preformed well against the dubs so on so on but its local derby all that goes out the window and it will sunday. If mcmanus is kept a tight eye on iv a feeling cavan will win by skin of there teeth im saying cavan by 2

Most people on Page 1 are tipping Cavan along with you yourself!
If Hughes and Wylie were available then I'd say Monaghan - without them - Cavan because of home advantage.

bigfrankt (Monaghan) - Posts: 123 - 21/05/2015 10:34:14    1726352

Going in to this one nervously I have to say. Cavan really are an unknown quantity to a certain degree - a patchy league campaign - didnt really give much away!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 21/05/2015 10:58:45    1726370

realdub

1726235 I agree with MesAmis, if Monaghan can't beat that Cavan team, then they are wasting their time going forward! I'd expect them to win handy enough.

You will be in for a shock my friends come Sunday. There is fear on the Monaghan side of Cavan. always has and always will be. With or without the two men missing, Monaghan will hit the blue wall in Breffni and no mercy will be shown.
Sick of posters not speaking there mind. I'm going for a Cavan win by at least 2 points and I am not afraid to say it.

foxes_denn (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 21/05/2015 11:01:42    1726374

True enough seanfinnn McManus didn't look 100% that day. There's no doubt about it - when he's fit and on his game there aren't many better corner forwards in the game.

I just have a feeling that the game could go very much how last Sunday's game went. You'll see Cavan put up a decent show. But Monaghan have been on the road that wee bit longer. They have good experience now playing at a higher standard and they also have that wee bit more quality in their forward ranks. So it's a Monaghan win for me by about 5 points.

Monaghan 1-11 - 0-09 Cavan

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9148 - 21/05/2015 11:07:30    1726378

Foxes denn, I'm not sure where you're getting this thing of Monaghan fearing Cavan, but whatever gets you going for Sunday I suppose.

Cavan are a well drilled outfit and will be defensively stubborn and hard to break down. But I don't think they've enough up front to rack up a decent score if I'm being honest, so I feel their best chance is a low scoring game. If we keep the scoreboard ticking over I'm confident we'll come out on the right side of it. A goal would be crucial in a game like this, so keeping a clean sheet will be a priority.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 21/05/2015 11:59:56    1726423

Hannon nailed it in his Celt article this week- this really does depend on the fitness of Hughes and Wylie. If they are both out then Monaghan have a lot of changing to do and their options start to look limited around the middle. It means pulling out Kieran Hughes plus Finlay and McAdam, none of who are genuine midfielders. This also makes the job of marking McManus a lot easier- R.Dunne will not be as occupied with the likes of Owen Duffy.
Cavan can pack the middle area with quality in Argue, Clarke, McKiernan and with Mackey McEnroe too, winning the majority of ball is likely. The big question is can Cavan make it pay up front? Wylie is not a ball player but his physical presence would be missed- if Corey has to move in there to cover it will open up the centre even more as he can be done for pace. Push 3 up and stop the short kick-out.
I wouldn't mind league form- it now looks like Cavan have a clear advantage in midfield, are facing a one-man Monaghan attack and have weaknesses that they can target if they go for it in up front. Bench is stronger than Monaghan's too. Home advantage thrown in for good measure. It's over to you Terry.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 21/05/2015 12:10:08    1726436

patk
County: Monaghan
Foxes denn, I'm not sure where you're getting this thing of Monaghan fearing Cavan, but whatever gets you going for Sunday I suppose.

What Im saying is youse are going in as hot favourites. Look at the bookies odds lad. Monaghan always falter when they go in as favourites and especially when there playing us at home.

Take monaghan out of clones and the fear starts seeping through the squad I have no doubt that there will be more fear in the Monaghan camp than there is in the Cavan camp and a lot of you boys know that even though ya don't like to admit it.

foxes_denn (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 21/05/2015 12:14:30    1726437

MadgeKing, when you lay it all out like that, isn't it a wonder we even survived in Division 1, or made it back to the Ulster final and then the quarter finals last year. We've had on going injuries all through that period. If the lads are out then Malachy and co. have had plenty of time to come up an alternative plan.

You'll have to elaborate on the stronger bench part, I don't see how that is. We have players like Walshe, Lennon and McGuinness who have been injured coming back to fitness, and while unlikely to start could come off the bench. Decent experience to call on along with the likes of Dick. Cavan are still a young team so I'm not having a go, but I don't see how they've a better bench, especially considering key players are missing from the last couple of years. We'll agree to differ I suppose. The "one man forward line" is also funny, just because McManus is one of the best around at the minute doesn't mean the other 5 can't shoot.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 21/05/2015 12:45:07    1726467

patk, I don't know what madgeking has been smoking but its good for sure.

Simple facts here...... fully fit on both sides, we are considerably better (talent and experience)

Losing a couple of players and being in breffini levels things somewhat but we still have more experience and more talent. Midfield aside perhaps, If we don't have a fit Hughes. That I can see could be troublesome but nothing we can't handle. I think Malachy will have worked extensively on this as its pretty obvious.

madgeking - Donegal spent the 2013 UF marking C.McManus out of it and Kieran Hughes did the scoring damage from play with points chipped in from 5 others.

I dont think we will be emphatic winners but i think we can scrape by a good cavan team.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 21/05/2015 14:13:00    1726557

seanfinn

swap the word talent for something else - physicality, know-how, cuteness, etc.

this is a seriously talented group of Cavan players - but there's an imbalance there that forces us to play a rigid systematic game which culls the expression of this talent.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 21/05/2015 14:36:40    1726574

I actually can't wait for this game, might not be one for the purists but I'm really looking forward to it. There's a bitter, bitter rivalry between Cavan and Monaghan and I expect Sunday's game to be physical, tight, defensive and highly competitive. Monaghan to win by 3

turkeyplucker (UK) - Posts: 137 - 21/05/2015 16:31:40    1726676

cavanman47 I will swap it when I see hard evidence to support your claim. Hopefully that does not happen on Sunday. Of course anything can happen on any given Sunday but Its being realistic. Less than 12 months ago ye were hammered by Roscommon (not Donegal, Kerry or Dublin) at home. Has there been a radical change in the talent available since then? It seems you are at loss about Hyland's tactics judging by your post??

Really if we play to our best then we should win by a few points regardless of what Cavan do. I would say the same about ourselves if faced with a better opposition like Donegal, Kerry or Dublin

Cavan have some very good players but I don't see many positions where they would displace their Monaghan counterparts if that was a possibility. Maybe i am missing something?

Cuteness and Know-how are talents too it is worth remembering.

I am cautiously optimistic.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 21/05/2015 18:39:16    1726760

No lads, I haven't missed the point of the qualifiers, it's just I don't rate Cavan and I think Monaghan should be able to deal with them from what I've seen of them over the last couple of years. It's no skin off my nose who wins but I would be surprised if Cavan won and I think Monaghan would struggle from there on in if that's the case. Monaghan are at the stage where only an Ulster title or maybe an AI semi-final will be acceptable. No disrespect to either county, just a footballing opinion!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 21/05/2015 20:12:55    1726811

Monaghan do not fear Cavan but this is last chance saloon for my beloved county. Theyve never been better set up to go far. A lot of players will be stepping down after this year as there in their mid thirties. I heard a lot of slagging of Tyrone players going on here for a few years like their age and why arent they stepping down, that they were hanging on too long. Well I suppose they had won their All Irelands but sure some of our lads are the same age or older than the raft of Tyrone boys that retired last season. Only difference is that our lads are hanging on to give it one more big shot. They should win easily on Sunday. It will be a good battle I hope. there wont be any sledging or pulling or dragging or cynical play. Sure Tyrone isint involved. Believe that and youll eat your chair.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 21/05/2015 21:41:02    1726851

Jumping on the plane tomorrow for this one.
I predict two solid days of "owl cod chat" followed by a competitive drumlin derby with no respect for the form book.
Monaghan by five at the end.

#farmageddon.

Hon da Farney

Knoxboyo (Monaghan) - Posts: 170 - 21/05/2015 21:48:47    1726856

Hughes and wylie start Monaghan are going to win

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 21/05/2015 21:59:42    1726864