Kerry hurler joining the capital

Also the bitter Antrim supporters should look closer to home as to why we beat them (if they actually bothered to go to that game they would have seen they were very lucky to lose by just a point) The 17 point defeat to Westmeath hopefully sent the message home that ye have no divine right to beat the likes of KY,WH,CW

Now now, lets not confuse bitterness with amusement. After the Kerry match there was a plethora of topics started referring to Kerry hurling and were comments posted on like "take your medicine" with regards to ourselves - these were unprovoked comments as there was no begrudgery from Antrim posters on here that I saw as we are all too aware of where we are at presently. Then I hear that its not actually Kerry but a Munster select squad with players from Tipp, Clare etc in your ranks. Now, that for me put things in to a different context. It didn't take away from the fact that we can't get near our best 15 hurlers on the pitch in the County colours and the problems we have, but it did get me thinking that we are struggling as a County when arguably our best club team (who only have 2 players on the current County squad - the Goalie being the only starter) beat the Derry Senior county team well in a recent challenge game (the team who youse incidentally only drew with in Tralee in the league) and it made me think of the whatifs if we ever do get our house in order or can get our best players playing - would the best 15 Antrim players beat the best 15 Kerry players? Could we turn those narrow league defeats in to victories and push on? So enjoy where youse are at and hopefully our paths will cross again when we do get ourselves sorted within the County. Until that day comes, all the best in Div 1B.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/05/2015 14:54:53    1726108

16 of the 17 Kerry players who saw action aginst ye were Kerry-born with the other having a Kerry parent

Way to avoid and ignore the above reality. We comfortably beat Westmeath the week before we beat Antrim (who had all the advantages in the buildup to that match) and as I said we completely outplayed ye for vast strands of the game.

Keep your hand in the sand if you wish, us Kerry folk are realistic about where we stand in the pecking order

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 20/05/2015 20:57:48    1726278

These developments squads must not be coming up trumps when they have to bring in another player from outside the county to hurl with them.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 21/05/2015 09:02:55    1726319

"I'd love to have him but he's been in Dublin for the last number of years and commuting up and down..."
Doesn't exactly sound like poaching to me, more a young fella deciding it's better off just playing where he's based now. Best of luck to him

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 21/05/2015 09:39:44    1726329

Sorry I should have said the quote was from the Kerry manager.

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 21/05/2015 09:41:29    1726332

16 of the 17 Kerry players who saw action aginst ye were Kerry-born with the other having a Kerry parent

Way to avoid and ignore the above reality. We comfortably beat Westmeath the week before we beat Antrim (who had all the advantages in the buildup to that match) and as I said we completely outplayed ye for vast strands of the game.

Keep your hand in the sand if you wish, us Kerry folk are realistic about where we stand in the pecking order

It is a moot point and getting in to semantics - I am talking about the squad, not the guys who happened to actually touch leather on a given day. But you know that and are being obtuse. As for the advantages you talk about that we had, again thats down to how one views it. I would say that a huge advantage to yourselves and any team which play us in the last while is the fact that it is nowhere near our strongest team or squad. That's no disrespect to those lads who do put the effort in and line out for us but it's just a reality. To me that advantage is a better one that having to play a game 7 days after your last game while the other team hadn't played in 14 days. Some would even argue that playing games on the trot, a week apart, is actually an advantage over a team who has had a 2 week break but as I said above, it's down to how one views it.

With regards to your view that our hands (sic) are in the sand, again I would ask you to go through previous posts on hurling and see where all us Antrim Gaels have been posting above our station - you will find the opposite that for the most part we understand exactly where we are and don't look on any team as inferior nor do we blame other Counties for the situation we find ourselves in. As I said yesterday, the uppity remarks seemed to start a few weeks back and not from me or mine. But as you are a new poster (hmmmm...) you probably are unaware of these posts so I understand why you would maybe think that the posts of mine and the other Antrim posters came out of the blue. You wouldn't go to the movies and in to a film which has been running a few hours and start shouting who the killer was after 5 mins would you?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 21/05/2015 10:09:55    1726340

Dont worry lads he will be back in few years when we win munster -)

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 21/05/2015 11:02:07    1726375

johnwhite12
County: Kilkenny

1726319 These developments squads must not be coming up trumps when they have to bring in another player from outside the county to hurl with them.

Did you bother to read any of the previous posts and educated yourself before posting ?

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 21/05/2015 11:04:33    1726377

Since we have given ye one of our better hurlers, would ye mind sending down one or two full backs for our football team??
We are a bit short..thanks lads

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 21/05/2015 11:29:41    1726403

Damothedub

johnwhite12
County: Kilkenny

1726319 These developments squads must not be coming up trumps when they have to bring in another player from outside the county to hurl with them.

Did you bother to read any of the previous posts and educated yourself before posting ?

That lad probably thinks MENSA is an Italian gents toilet.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/05/2015 11:38:53    1726407

Only people of a low IQ will see Kerry hurling as being the same as Kilkenny football. Kerry's senior club champions compete well at Munster intermediate level. Kerry are consistently winning minor B and U21 B All-Ireland titles. Kerry have been consistently competitive in the Christy Ring Cup and in Division 2A where they have beaten McCarthy Cup counties. Kerry are strong across the various intermediate levels.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7859 - 21/05/2015 11:44:52    1726410

You wouldn't expect any other answer from the Dubs what do I need to educate myself in I seem to have hit a raw nerve .

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 21/05/2015 19:31:24    1726783

DambotheDub What way would I need to educate myself it seems I have touched a raw nerve if you look at things where I come from it does not do other players any good when they see players been landed with a jersey because he couldn't give his all for his own county.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 21/05/2015 19:45:36    1726794

legenddx What has Kilkenny football got to do with Kerry hurling actually in North Kerry there was allways a tradition of hurling there is no tradition of football in Kilkenny or no interest but it is still played clubs. I was involved with the setting up of the development squads when I lived in Dublin it disappoints me to think that they have to still bring in from outside when there is plenty within the capital the short cut seems to be the way.I don't follow hurling in Kilkenny I follow it and have a keen interest in all counties.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 22/05/2015 08:23:39    1726868

johnwhite12

I think your missing the point completely, he is entitled to play end of, he is not breaking any moral/rule. He lives here, works here, plays surely your not saying if you leave your county to work somewhere else you have to give up playing at a certain level?

Dublin has invested heavily in Development squads but it seems only to loose a lot of the talent cream to football, but your county doesn't have that problem.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 22/05/2015 08:50:48    1726879