Has Ulster football had a negative effect ?

Dublin could wind people up when they had to over the years.
Meath certainly could wind people up when required.
If Dublin v Meath today was as close and vicious as the early 90s. there would be more than a few shoving matches and verbals.
Leinster unfortunetly hasnt got the edge like it used to. So some people now sit back and tut tut watching the Ulster Championship. Get a grip.
Connaught had Galway on Sunday systematically fouling everything that moved , that had nothing to with Ulster . They werent even playing an Ulster team. They were getting ready for Mayo.
Wicklow ref gets headbutted in club game. Wicklow arent in Ulster the last time i checked.
Truth is without the Ulster championship at the moment ,there wouldnt be too many games id be tuning into.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 20/05/2015 18:39:39    1726228

I have to say I nearly choked on my ciabata with laughter reading Parkinson's comments on Caffrey's team. I was at the final in 2007 when Mark Vaughan and Alan Brogan received dog's abuse from the Laois backs throughout the game, Darren Rooney being the chief culprit every time Vaughan missed a kick. Unfortunately for Rooney, Vaughan ended up scoring a goal which prompted him to give it back to Rooney in spades....

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/257154/

This was also the game in which Alan Brogan was set upon by Laois defenders at one point, rather than reacting with punches Alan simply pointed to the scoreboard which was exactly the right thing to do. This caused outrage from several culchie quarters, on this MB also, as it was perceived as Jackeen arrogance when in fact it was a passive response to aggression. Dublin were defintely at the sledging under Caffrey, thank God they cut that nonsense out as it was embarrassing, but for Parkinson to almost claim that Laois were squeeky clean is absolute rubbish. If anything they were worse and the final of 07 demonstrated that.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 20/05/2015 18:56:32    1726237

where did he claim laois were clean?..stop being so biased and actually listen to what he said instead of just jumping in because your own team was slated

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 20/05/2015 19:41:47    1726255

fabio8
County: USA

where did he claim laois were clean?..stop being so biased and actually listen to what he said instead of just jumping in because your own team was slated

-----
I thought the point was obvious but how and ever, it's a bit hypocritical of a Laois player to say that the Dubs under Caffrey were sledgers, and making himself out to be some kind of martyr having been on the receiving end of it, when Laois players themselves were exponents of the tactic. People in glass houses and all. As much as I dislike McMenamin at least he came clean and admitted that he used these tactics and didn't start pointing fingers at other teams or players. In any case if you actually read my post you will see that I stated that the Dubs used this tactic and it was embarrassing thus slating my own team. Stop being so biased and actually read the posts.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 20/05/2015 21:32:57    1726286

Well said Joxer

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 20/05/2015 21:41:57    1726292

Great article by Kevin McStay on sledging in the herald.

The GAA need to take action - If the referees dont or are unwilling to hear any evil then maybe the use of cameras and a few professional lip readers will soon put an end to this unsporting and disgusting behaviour. A few suspensions and managers will soon change their tune.

tasman (Roscommon) - Posts: 23 - 20/05/2015 21:59:44    1726303

tasman
County: Roscommon

1726303 Great article by Kevin McStay on sledging in the herald.

The GAA need to take action - If the referees dont or are unwilling to hear any evil then maybe the use of cameras and a few professional lip readers will soon put an end to this unsporting and disgusting behaviour. A few suspensions and managers will soon change their tune.

There is some merit in your madness however, I've said it before and I'll say it again, more responsibility for what happens on the field of play should be assumed by the management teams, it is they who can help to clamp down on the nasty stuff from within the camp rather than relying on an already over pressed referee.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 21/05/2015 08:04:49    1726305

I think everyone in Ulster needs to calm down. The football is more cynical, there is definitely more verbals going on and the less aesthetic tactical approach deserves criticism. On the other hand its by far and away the most competitive, most enthralling and possesses the most amount of good footballing counties. Welcome to Ireland, your at the top of the pile so get used to being taken off your perch. Secretly I think a lot of Ulster people like listening to whinging Southerns and the day it stops is when you should get really worried.

sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 21/05/2015 09:36:26    1726327

BTW - Sledging is not manly or is it playing on the edge. Its disgusting and cowardly. By even suggesting anything else will just engender it into young players and the cycle continues. In the ultra violence of the six nations/Champions Cup etc it just does not exist because it is frowned upon. It shows a lack of respect for your fellow player.

sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 21/05/2015 09:40:01    1726330

Yes Ulster football has had a negative effect. Everyone knows it has!! why even ask??

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 21/05/2015 12:07:28    1726431

everybody was and is at it joxer..some have been more blatant then others...what annoys me on here is some people actually trying to claim they were squeaky clean when thats simply not the case.

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 21/05/2015 16:22:50    1726672

This was posted as a new thread but as the topic is the same it has been incorporated here.

Find_the_space
Tyrone
21/05/2015 16:22

Everything Disgusting about Football

Simple answer: Tyrone Ive seen here over the last week the abuse our county has been getting on this and all over the media. One week into the Football Championship and everyone has jumped on this down-hill, freewheeling bandwagon. Everyone is critising Justy McMahon about his style of football on Sunday. "He didnt watch the play" "He was holding Murphy" Fact is he scored more from play than Murphy, Kept him scoreless from play and with all his footballing sins that he commited on Sunday only got a yellow card where 2 players "not as involved" seen red. This has been going on for a number of years and the fact that people buy into Spillane & Co with Tyrone's style of football, two years ago Sean Cavanagh got us to an All-Ireland semi-final due to committing a foul on Conor McManus and then came the intro of the black card. Even now if someone committed the same offence they would be replaced cause its only a black card. I can't wait to see all the angels come out this year and show us a game with no fouls etc. all the local derbys Cork v Kerry, Mayo Galway, Dublin v Meath etc. the way people are talking all the referee will have to do is count the scores and throw in the ball...We'll See About That!!!

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 21/05/2015 17:35:48    1726724

Find_the_space, you see the problem there is, you equate cynical play to the number of fouls. But the most cynical teams get away with most of it without a foul being called. It is only amateur cynical sides like galway that give away about 30 frees trying to copy them. The most cynical game last weekend was tyrone and donegal, it didn't have anywhere near the highest foul count, therefore offering the foul count as proof is a load of nonsense.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/05/2015 17:44:26    1726729

Jesus Christ look at the negative headlines at the minute...

Truly depressing.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 21/05/2015 17:58:09    1726735

Sorry lads, but I stand by my assertion that when bundled together, all the pros v the cons, I honestly believe Ulster have had a negative over all effect on football in recent years.
Sone of what has come out of Ulster has been fantastic. Some incredible players from Down, Tyrone, Armagh, Donegal etc, and even right now the like of Ciaran McManus who would walk on any team to ever play the game. But for every Ciaran McManus and Karl Lacey, Stephen O'Neill and Jamie Clarke, there have been ten lads who wouldnt have anywhere near enough football to play IC for a top team, but get in as destroyers and blaggards, and sorry lads, but Mickey Harte has to take his share of the blame here, as for me, he is the Godfather of all this malarky and for me, its a constant blight on our game.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/05/2015 18:30:31    1726756

Given that Keith Higgins plays one-on-one and hasn't even got a half back line in front of him (let's be fair 5-7 in the Mayo team is simply the "second half forward line") you'd have to give him the accolade.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 21/05/2015 19:55:37    1726801

Jesas lads, a few men letting themselves down a bagful. liam - the dubs had many a blaggard over the years!!! I do agree that Mickey Harte is the Godfather of the dark arts but come on - manys a filthy Meath, Dublin , Kerry team over the decades!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 21/05/2015 20:33:24    1726817