Has Ulster football had a negative effect ?

yawn more negative threads...does it ever stop on here...some of the people doing it dont even go to their own counties games...id imagine theres more of it in ulster cause the games are normally quite tight and donegal and tyrone have certainly built up a strong rivalry at this stage...a rivalry like this is lacking in other provinces at the minute as its all too easy

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 19/05/2015 17:17:26    1725710

Al_Maguire, if you read the point you would see I was talking about ulster football not being cynical in the early 90s despite it being very competitive. This was in response to the assertion that the reason ulster has gone the way it has is down to it being so competitive.

But sure, why bother with reading the post when you see a chance to attack the county of a poster making a good point, eh?

I will say this of your ill-informed example, mayo and meath were a disgrace to the game that year. See that, a bit of honesty and a bit of class. Maybe it will catch on in here...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/05/2015 17:33:16    1725726

Royaldunne 'nordie' counties learnt a few things of the 'great Meath Teams'. It is funny whenever we stood up to intimidation and your 'great tactics' Ulster counties actually beat the Royals quite comfirtably and often these days. Funny that ☺☺.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 19/05/2015 17:46:40    1725734

Dirty northern ********, no wait,
dirty Meath *******, no wait
dirty Jackeen *******

Look, we were all dirty ******** at one stage or another, let it go!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 19/05/2015 17:49:34    1725737

Sam the only counties to beat Meath when we were on high were, dubs (never whinged if the won or lost) cork again never whinged, same for Galway Kerry and wait for it Down they didn't whinge either and actual fact ill go further neither did Derry now the likes of Tyrone and Donegal are still at it to this day along with a certain element within mayo and Roscommon. The rest never did, even Laois didn't. It seems like one rule for one and another for those that only whinge. Tyrone are on a massive downward curve and having been there with Meath but now on our way back up i can understand there frustration, but sledging is a cowardice activity and one Meath wouldn't be involved in, but we will knock you for six if you try it with us. And that's how it should be.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/05/2015 18:14:05    1725748

I will say this of your ill-informed example, mayo and meath were a disgrace to the game that year. See that, a bit of honesty and a bit of class. Maybe it will catch on in here...

No you mean Connacht and Leinster were disgraceful that year. Honesty and class haha, give yourself another pat on the back there themaster, we're not worthy.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 19/05/2015 18:20:39    1725752

The Master......you are one of the biggest wums to ever grace this forum. You actually remind me on Joe Brolly insofar as you would argue black was white and then tell us all half an hour later that you were actually arguing the opposite. It's clear also that you have a complete anti-Ulster bias,for some county's more than others,and you have been this way since I remember you. You should be on The rte panel with Brolly and the boys! It would be great entertainment watching you and joe try to "out Brolly" one another. Dumb and Dumber would be sitting there talkin crap about "fupp ball" and Shia tribes in the Middle East while you and joe go at it. Would be great fun altogether!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 19/05/2015 20:19:05    1725810

Oh we should be very afraid of meath as they will knock anybody for six that messes with them........

You also talk about being on the way back up, where is the evidence off this, was it because Dublin only beat yous by 6 in last years Leinster final or that yous nearly got promoted out of div 2...,, you have the blinkers on as usual

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 19/05/2015 21:48:41    1725857

Well said realdub. Liamfromwalkinstown, yet another s***e thread . This forum is degenerating into a mind numbingly boring, yawn inducing, hand wringing, moaning mess. Admin it is now time to demand standards of posters . A cursory look at the thread list will reveal a list of posts that taken in their entirety are ridiculously negative . A number of them are quite frankly juvenile. God be with the days when posters of the calibre of the late Patrique graced these pages with their wit, wisdom and eloquence.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 19/05/2015 21:48:42    1725858

realdub

dirty Meath *******,

That's better.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13725 - 20/05/2015 08:44:22    1725877

Genuine Question

Have the people that start these threads ever been to or played (or even watched the full 70 minutes on TV) in a competitive football match ? (regardless of Province)
Have they watched All Ireland Semi finals or finals from the 70's, 80's, 90's, 00's

If so are they of the view that none of the following happen (except where Ulster teams are playing)
Off the ball pushing and dragging, verbals, schmozzles, diving, kicks to the head against a player on the ground, Clotheslining a ball carrier in full flight, A knee to the back/Kidneys against a player recovering from a back injury (in the first 30 seconds)

To be honest I have seen them all - in games involving all provinces (with the exception of the last 3 which I havent seen in Ulster matches)

But interested to get what experience posters are drawing from to start these threads

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 20/05/2015 16:22:05    1726159

From Daragh O'Shea's article in the Times about Ulster championship: "it's the only thing worth watching this side of July". I can't disagree with him.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 20/05/2015 16:46:39    1726167

So basically....everyone is wrong and ye are right is it lads?
Like its not as if we are picking on ye out of fear, with all due respect there is only one team in Ulster an actual relevant threat for Sam in 2015. And they are 3rd favs at best.

Look, I am a passionate football fan. I love the game more than I love my own team even. I remember being so happy when Cork won sam as i knew it would be great for the game in general if Cork were back.
I want the best for football, and i geuinely GENUINELY believe that at this stage, Ulsters influence on the greater game has become a negative.
Sorry boys, I have no wish to fall out with anyone on here over this, but I honestly believe that.

I do think our game as a whole hsa suffered due to the negative influences of Ulster tactics in recent times.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/05/2015 16:59:38    1726175

Ordinary everyday sledging has been part & parcel of many sports not just GAA for many years & there is no way of stopping it.

Two fellas standing side by side taking a rise out of each other, I have no problem with that.

What I really don't like is the roaring & shouting into opponents faces. That is easy to see & under the present rules merits a black card.

All we need is some strong refereeing from someone who is not afraid to flash early cards. Problem sorted.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/05/2015 17:04:27    1726179

with all due respect there is only one team in Ulster an actual relevant threat for Sam in 2015. And they are 3rd favs at best.

Yous really haven't learned anything from last year have you!

supporter (Donegal) - Posts: 205 - 20/05/2015 17:04:52    1726180

Rua 100% that carry on has been in the game for years, 100%
however, it used to be rare and frowned upon, now its the norm in so many games and I am sorry but more often than not one of the teams in these games is one of the 9

I am sorry lads, this annoys ye, I get that, and to be honest I understand why, but for me, that doesnt make it any less a fact.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/05/2015 17:09:22    1726182

with all due respect supporter, its still a fact

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/05/2015 17:10:05    1726183

moylagh

From Daragh O'Shea's article in the Times about Ulster championship: "it's the only thing worth watching this side of July". I can't disagree with him.

And according to Parkinson Dublin started the sledging:
http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/off-the-ball/colm-parkinson-sneaky-sledging-not-an-issue-but-aggressive-version-a-blight-on-gaa-31237397.html

"The second type is the aggressive sledger. This type of sledging has crept into the game in the last ten years. Pillar Caffrey's Dublin pioneered this type of abuse - trust me, I've been on the receiving end of it."

turkeyplucker (UK) - Posts: 137 - 20/05/2015 17:47:11    1726203

turkeyplucker,

I'm already on record here stating that Pillar's Dublin were an embarrassment to both us genuine fans and the sport itself, terrible stuff altogether!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 20/05/2015 18:00:11    1726212

With all due respect this thread is a nonsense.

For all the moral outrage being expressed here The Donegal Tyrone game wasn't that bad.

1 Nobody was decked.
2 Nobody got a straight red.
3 There wasn't one dangerous tackle in the whole game.
4 Nobody had to leave the game through injury let alone be carried off.
5 No pitch invasion, riot in the stands or ref locked in a boot.

I get it that Ulster Championship football is not everyone's cup of tea, that some don't find it easy on the eye but we're fine with it.

As Tomas O Se said "It's the only thing worth watching till July".

If you don't like it, don't watch it.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/05/2015 18:24:14    1726223