Has verbal abuse now become part of the GAA game

Hermit
Looking at this topic, it seems a lot of posters from Ulster are dismissing what's happening, that's no surprise. Its been the general trend on here for the past year: hear no evil, see no evil, close ranks and dismiss it all as 'them versus us stuff'.
Its about time someone stopped beating around the bush, Gaelic football is dying and we all know the counties that bear most responsibility for it!

dismissing what's happening...that reminds me of last September a bit. There was plenty of see no evil, hear no evil after that turkey of a final. Your own a county even made the biggest mouthpiece in the game this years captain. All those unsavoury incidents in last years semi final where all part of the 'best game of the year' any more tripe sir??

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 19/05/2015 14:37:24    1725541

Hugh - so it's that black and white . Kerry are angels and us Ulster folk are all foul . Dont know why I even responded to you with your anti Ulster bigotry . A O' Mahoney was disgraceful in last years final , it goes on on every match . You's probably wouldn't know though considering you's have one decent match until Aug !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 19/05/2015 14:37:34    1725542

The Hermit......so you are letting the fact that Kerry have always done it and that today you have yourself one of the biggest mouth pieces in the country on your county team in Donaghy? Does any of you want to address what is probably being said to Cathal Mc Carron in every game he plays,yez know it's happening??? Ye can blame Donaghys antics on the Tyrone part of him I suppose. Hypocrites. Just to state my position again.....I don't particularly like this type of stuff and it would be better for all if it was not going on. I just can't stand the hypocrites on these forums,media commentators etc. Plus there is too much general whinging about it anyway,either grow a pair and get on with it or play snooker or golf or something!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 19/05/2015 14:37:40    1725543

I think there are situations where it becomes a blight. In general though its fine, Iv no issue with sledging. There are certain players who struggle to take it and give it back. For me personally if I was sledging a guy and he was not engaging then the fun for me disappears.
Of course the Northerners, being Northerners are the loudest. Traditionally you can hear the Ulster man before you see him, which indicates a fear of not being noticed or being left out...ala 1922 and partition. I dont dwell on it but it does exercise my mind when Im on the tube and hear one coming from 100 yards away..whatever the deep rooted reason subtle is a country they never visit. When you get caught on camera shouting into a players face. This is the line crossed in my book. So Ulstermen dont ruin sledging for the rest of us.!

BanTarleton (Clare) - Posts: 181 - 19/05/2015 14:39:16    1725546

19/05/2015 14:37:34
TheRightStuff

1725542 Hugh - so it's that black and white . Kerry are angels and us Ulster folk are all foul . Dont know why I even responded to you with your anti Ulster bigotry . A O' Mahoney was disgraceful in last years final , it goes on on every match . You's probably wouldn't know though considering you's have one decent match until Aug !

Explain how im anti Ulster??What about Eamon McGee treatment of Sean Cavanagh. Donegal players surronding Cavanagh to get him sent off?? Mark McHugh in Tiernan McCann when he slipped at the end. What comes around goes around

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 19/05/2015 14:48:37    1725556

BanTarleton
County: Clare

1725546 I think there are situations where it becomes a blight. In general though its fine, Iv no issue with sledging. There are certain players who struggle to take it and give it back. For me personally if I was sledging a guy and he was not engaging then the fun for me disappears.
Of course the Northerners, being Northerners are the loudest. Traditionally you can hear the Ulster man before you see him, which indicates a fear of not being noticed or being left out...ala 1922 and partition. I dont dwell on it but it does exercise my mind when Im on the tube and hear one coming from 100 yards away..whatever the deep rooted reason subtle is a country they never visit. When you get caught on camera shouting into a players face. This is the line crossed in my book. So Ulstermen dont ruin sledging for the rest of us.!

That would be the Lambeg drummer I presume.

Pathetic post by the way, congrats on alienating an entire province by the way, you must be very proud.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 19/05/2015 14:52:59    1725564

BanTarleton

Traditionally you can hear the Ulster man before you see him, which indicates a fear of not being noticed or being left out...ala 1922 and partition.

Yep you said it - fear of being left out..ala 1922 and partition - does it help you feel better about yourself trivialising what amounted to a sell out by Free Staters?

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 19/05/2015 14:56:50    1725570

19/05/2015 14:39:16
BanTarleton

I think there are situations where it becomes a blight. In general though its fine, Iv no issue with sledging. There are certain players who struggle to take it and give it back. For me personally if I was sledging a guy and he was not engaging then the fun for me disappears.
19/05/2015 14:48:37
-------------------------------/
Tell Davy Fitz to shut mouth then. The rest of your post is laughable. You've obviously watched too many archived clips of Ian Paisley or something in your lifetime.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 19/05/2015 14:57:04    1725571

It was always there, I've said it on other threads, if you don't believe me, just ask Liam Hayes!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 19/05/2015 14:59:19    1725573

seanie_boy

19/05/2015 14:39:16
BanTarleton

19/05/2015 14:48:37
-------------------------------/
Tell Davy Fitz to shut mouth then. The rest of your post is laughable. You've obviously watched too many archived clips of Ian Paisley or something in your lifetime.

+1
Beat me to it on the Davy Fitz point

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 19/05/2015 15:08:09    1725577

Come on now my Northern brethren, I dont want to alienate anyone. Maybe you guys are being a little to sensitive. Even though I did take a second glance at the post that stated Iv alienated the whole province. That would be improbable.
Regarding Partition, well Id never trivialise it. It was necessary and you guys need to move on and get Northern Ireland more inclusive. The amount of Unionists playing Gaa is very small and its an area you need to tackle. Maybe calling clubs after dead terrorists should be avoided.

BanTarleton (Clare) - Posts: 181 - 19/05/2015 15:10:20    1725579

We didnt get partitioned in donegal clareman, you will have to sit down and have a re think about what you are going to say next.

All it would take would be a ref to flash a couple of early cards, and that would end it. If this doesnt happen, then it is going to characterize the game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 19/05/2015 15:17:28    1725590

I think its fair to say that Ulster folk tend to focus on the mental side of the game more than most. I was amazed to see BBC NI discuss at length the significance of Donegal showing up in tracksuits on Sunday while Tyrone showed up in 'crisp white shirts' and 'all wearing the same type of brown shoes' which apparently was confirmation that they meant business. In any other province it is expected that regardless how you are dressed, if you tog out for a championship game you mean business. However apparently in Ulster unless you are dressed like a trainee accountant when you arrive at the ground then you are not properly prepared. Sometimes you have to wonder about the amount of money being spent on sports psychologists, and if it wouldn't be better spent trying to coach a scoring forward!

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 19/05/2015 15:27:41    1725601

bumpernut

Nothing a dig in the gub cant sort.

Exactly the sort of reaction the person doing the sledging wants

Im well aware of that Tipp, as im sure you're aware the sinister arts are perfected in Ulster and it would obviously be a sly dig!

Or alternatively dish out a 'wedgie'!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 19/05/2015 15:28:30    1725602

BanTarleton

Come on now my Northern brethren, I dont want to alienate anyone. Maybe you guys are being a little to sensitive. Even though I did take a second glance at the post that stated Iv alienated the whole province. That would be improbable.
Regarding Partition, well Id never trivialise it. It was necessary and you guys need to move on and get Northern Ireland more inclusive. The amount of Unionists playing Gaa is very small and its an area you need to tackle. Maybe calling clubs after dead terrorists should be avoided.

You are no "brethren" to Ulster Gaels with a statement like that, I'll respond no further to the rest of your post or any other comments you may care to post in future.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 19/05/2015 15:30:03    1725605

BanTarleton

Regarding Partition, well Id never trivialise it
then you say Maybe calling clubs after dead 'terrorists' should be avoided. your all over the place lad!

The amount of Unionists playing Gaa is very small and its an area you need to tackle as some intercounty players from the six counties will tell you, you don't need to be protestant to recieve sectarian abuse when you play some southern teams. Just leave that problem to the six counties as well then? good lad, the more you talk the worse you get Ban.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 19/05/2015 15:31:16    1725608

dismissing what's happening...that reminds me of last September a bit. There was plenty of see no evil, hear no evil after that turkey of a final. Your own a county even made the biggest mouthpiece in the game this years captain. All those unsavoury incidents in last years semi final where all part of the 'best game of the year' any more tripe sir??

The only tripe on here lad is the stuff you're countymen regularly post up. Every second thread you have fella's like Ulsterman insulting the ***** out of everyone else and closing the ranks anytime anything legitimate is said about the carry on of some Ulster sides. it be more in yer line to actually put out a competitive team then rally around the Tyrone's of this world to defelect yer own failing at this level...

I see you've managed to bring up Kerry's All Ireland too, I was wondering how long it would be for that got thrown in, I completely forgot about how we cheated our way to the final...Grow up!

As for Star, ya he's mouthy, mouthy at referees when his being pulled and dragged all around the place and is never given a free and yes he lets out a roar when he gets a goal and sticks it to the fella who spent all game hanging of him. That's oldschool stuff like we talked about and its a world away from the disgusting, personal, sick and cowardly crap that's coming into the game; fella's hurling insults and opponents girlfriend's, sisters, mothers, partners etc. If you can't see a difference between both then for the love of God shut your trap and don't contribute to this discussion again...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/05/2015 15:31:36    1725610

Yeah early yellow card for BanTarleton would maybe stop the verbal diarrhea flowing out today. At least on the pitch stuff gets said and disappears - you have put your name to this nonsense BanTarleton. It is like the rantings of an uneducated teenager.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 19/05/2015 15:35:12    1725617

Lads dont rise to this *****, im sure hes having a right wee giggle to himself now

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 19/05/2015 15:40:56    1725623

Soma , It's fairly safe to say that you have not got a clue about anything ; I've seen abstract posts on here before but that nonsense . There really are not any words !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 19/05/2015 15:41:04    1725624