Sunday Game negativity

Serious 'sledging' going on in the Rte studio from Joe Brolly. He must have had his wrist slapped as he was clearly forced to apologise and wasn't overly happy with having to do so haha! Great television. Liven up people, political correctness done mad.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 24/05/2015 14:47:00    1727620

hill16no1man

1727616 fair play to joe he apologised

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 24/05/2015 14:50:34    1727625

It's a funny comment if made in front of a few mates in the pub or the likes but not appropriate to make when you're sitting in front of a camera being beamed nationwide. Should engage brain before mouth in some instances.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 24/05/2015 15:02:00    1727636

so this week rte believe's the game only got 'interesting' at the end of the half (referring to the half time scuffle between Clare and Limerick), last week it was a 'disgrace' and 'the sort of thing we don't want to see' when Tyrone and Donegal left the field...double standards much? In my own opinion both game's incidents are a reflection of intense rivalry and I have no problem with it sometimes boiling over as it has done. But why is it that one is passion and the other is a disgrace?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 24/05/2015 17:01:34    1727706

yeah agree very similiar melees yet wont be scrutinised by pundits or media in the same light

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/05/2015 17:48:15    1727739

SaffronDon

Fair point

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 24/05/2015 18:07:05    1727752

They are two different games and sets of panels SaffronDon but its an interested observation

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 24/05/2015 18:32:42    1727769

Fair enough SaffronDon, but on the whole the hurling today was played in a far better spirit than least weeks football in Ballybofey.
Monaghan Cavan game was played in a good spirit too.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 24/05/2015 18:42:14    1727778

Clare Limerick games have always been intense and tough but fair. The most memorable match in 96 wasnt a free flowing hurling game but was a fantastic contest. Same today and TBF to the ref it was a difficult game to officiate because it was up close and intense. The incident before half time was unsavoury but both teams got over it and came out and played better hurling in the second half. Why there was only 1 minute extra time is baffling though.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 24/05/2015 18:53:48    1727788

joncarter I would be the first person to condemn any of the sledging etc that took place last week but the simple fact is that at half time walking off there was no more than a few shoves an unpleasantries last week and this week a stick was raised at Donal O'Grady followed by the same pushing and shoving and a completely different attitude emerged from rte on the incident. As I have said I don't think either incident should receive much attention but one of them has had us talking all week long and I doubt the other will make more than a ripple in the waves. I guess I could still be proved wrong but lets just see...

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 24/05/2015 19:06:56    1727794

Call me biased because I'm from Cavan but I thought it was disgrace today . I tuned in like most other people at 1.30 to watch the game. The first 20 minutes was all about the hurling and very little about the Cavan monaghan game . And when it did start they couldn't even be bothered to notice the many changes that both teams made prior to throw in . I know Cavan don't have the following of Dublin or cork or play free flowing football we all want to see but this was one of the few days I could watch my county play on tv I just thought we deserved the same respect as the bigger teams get

safehands101 (Cavan) - Posts: 111 - 24/05/2015 19:10:07    1727797

I thought the Tyrone/Donegal squabble at half time went on much longer, but to be honest I think it was the general attitude of the players over the 70 inutes that angered people the most. The sledging and treatment of Murphy and cavanagh have recieved far more attention than the half time dust up between the teams.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 24/05/2015 19:12:28    1727799

jayz could ye imagine some of them big bad nordies if they had hurls in their hands !

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 24/05/2015 19:12:47    1727800

SaffronDon

so this week rte believe's the game only got 'interesting' at the end of the half (referring to the half time scuffle between Clare and Limerick), last week it was a 'disgrace' and 'the sort of thing we don't want to see' when Tyrone and Donegal left the field...double standards much? In my own opinion both game's incidents are a reflection of intense rivalry and I have no problem with it sometimes boiling over as it has done. But why is it that one is passion and the other is a disgrace?

+1

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 24/05/2015 19:13:54    1727803

a harmless comment but considering he is pontificating weekly in a national paper and on tv about sledging its pretty hypocritical of him

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 24/05/2015 19:18:25    1727808

Safehands101-Agree 100%

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 24/05/2015 19:19:17    1727809

Safehands, I watched the game on BBC2. Much more balanced and genuine attempt to analyse the game from Philip Jordan and Oisin McConville, than the predictable negativity and theatrics on RTE where the game is only a side show to the panelists.

johnboy7 (Tyrone) - Posts: 79 - 24/05/2015 19:27:07    1727810

Joe is no oil painting himself.

If I had to to choose between them it's Marty I would be stepping out with.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/05/2015 19:39:28    1727820

the problem last week was the aforementoned marty morrissey was doing the commentary on the football
marty only has eyes for hurling and constantly puts more effort into it than what he does when doing football games.
molloney and canning are far better commentatrs

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/05/2015 19:42:52    1727821

Joe sure does love the limelight.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 24/05/2015 19:50:25    1727829