Offaly beaten, Longford lose?

I'm amazed and pretty shocked to see the defeatist attitude shown here (although not by Longford fans to be fair).

What have they to lose by playing Dublin? They should be chomping at the bit for a game like this!

Will they win? No.
But it's still 15 v 15 at the end of the day and it's a chance for Longford to make the rest of Leinster sit up and take notice by going out and showing what they're made of.

I'll put it this way - would Kildare, Meath, Laois fear getting Offaly in the qualifiers this season? Not a chance!
But if Longford build on this win and put it up to Dublin, they will demand the respect of one of these teams should they meet.

And remember, it's not too long ago that they knocked Mayo out of the championship!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 17/05/2015 13:29:37    1724438

Hold on a minute, Offaly dominated the game and deserved to win?? Apart from the last 10 mins of the first half and first 15 of the second Longford were the better team! And the remark about the one Offaly player get 'special' attention.....so Offaly didn't give 'special' attention to any of the Longford boys? Come off it. Why did he finish with 12 men in the league game? For blowing kisses? Sour grapes from some on here. We've met in 3 games this year with Longford winning the two that mattered. Longford didn't care about the league final. In previous years we won Div 3 and 4. After beating Wexford in Div 3 final we went out of the championship to the same opposition. So we knew not to show our cards in a final that didn't matter. And yes Dublin will beat us, but we have nothing to lose. We'll be in Croker while Offaly will be sat at home twiddling their thumbs watching on RTE and mulling over yet another fruitless Leinster campaign. For the genuine Ofdaly fans who wished us well fair dues, regardless of the result the main objective, like Longford, was promotion. We both achieved that and will look forward to battling ye next year unless we meet in the qualifiers! To the begrudgers, most likely sunshiners, hard luck!

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 17/05/2015 13:57:58    1724448

iarmhiman
County: Westmeath

Kerry? :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 17/05/2015 14:03:45    1724453

Congrats Longford.Excellent win,especially as in Offalys back yard.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/05/2015 14:21:19    1724461

Great win, not a big surprise to me. Hiding from Dublin or not, they should learn something from it, it's not as if they're expecting to win so Sheedy should use this as a major learning opportunity. At least if they empty the tank against us it should bring them on even a little. You're not suggesting that big Offaly lead disappeared suspiciously are you lads :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 17/05/2015 14:31:23    1724464

Well done to Longford. Had Offaly backed in an accumulator purely becuase they were at home.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 17/05/2015 14:47:37    1724465

I tipped Longford to win so no surprise to me either.Pity Paul Barden wont get to show off his undoubted talent against the Dubs in Croke Park.Loved watching this guy.If he was from Mayo/Dublin/Kerry hed have many All Stars.One of the best forwards of last 20 years.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/05/2015 14:51:49    1724470

Fair play to Jack Sheedy & to our footballers. They were totally exposed in Croke Park in the League Final & named virtually an unchanged team for yesterday. However, they obviously learned the lessons & made 3 changes before the throw-in in Tullamore which caught Offaly on the hop, I'd say.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 17/05/2015 15:36:23    1724487

If Pat Flanagan had spent more time concentrating on Longford as he did commenting on Dublin in Croke park they may have got there chance to give Dublin a rattle in Croke park.

Did he take his eye of the ball?

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 18/05/2015 11:58:29    1724903

I don't think Flanagan took his eye off the ball , Jack Sheedy is on record weeks ago saying the Dubs have an unfair advantage playing in croke park , straight away after the game he said why not have Longford v Dublin in O Connor park . Flanagan was just making an observation, they had no reason to look beyond Longford don't forget Offaly haven't won a game in Leinster for 7 years. I liked the way Offaly were playing , it would have been good to see them play against the Dubs to see what if any progress they are making. Longford were way better than the league final and were set up better , I hope they give the Dubs a good hard game .

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 18/05/2015 13:26:39    1724965

Well done to Longford. Very unlikely they will upset the Dubs but who know's sport throws up ridiculous shocks from time to time and that's why we love it.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 18/05/2015 13:48:39    1724981

Well done to Jack and his Longford boys.

Quite the turnaround both in the game itself and after the League final.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 18/05/2015 13:51:41    1724985

This was a rubber match between 2 well matched teams. Both of them really wanted to win.

From my view Longford win and they win again by ensuring an extra game along with a crack at the Dubs and yet another run out in Croker.

Losing to Longford was disappointing in the manner that it happened (full credit to Longford for making it happen), but is in no way surprising and is by no means the end of the world. Hopefully we make a run in the qualifiers now that our interest in the Leinster Championship is once again at an end.

We are still building and it won't happen overnight.

Good luck to Longford and looking forward to renewing what could be a building rivalry going forward in the upcoming years.

UpOffaly (Offaly) - Posts: 68 - 18/05/2015 16:33:24    1725108

I was really suprised that Longford won yesterday, I watched Offaly twice in the league against Wicklow and Longford in the Final and was impressed, fair play to Longford, they're putting in a lot of work in underage teams recently and I can only see yous getting better.

In terms of the Dublin match I'd say every man on the Longford panel is buzzing and will have a spring in their step after that comeback and getting to go to play the Dubs in Croker, best of luck to them.

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 18/05/2015 17:54:03    1725176

Did anyone else happen to see the kick in the head that Mickey Quinn received whilst on the ground in the build up to one of the last Longford scores. A very cheap and cowardly act by an Offaly half forward.got no coverage on the Sunday Game and I had to rewind to make sure my eyes weren't deceiving me.

Monica (Wexford) - Posts: 31 - 18/05/2015 18:06:29    1725186

Jack Sheedy was hired to win championship matches for Longford.
He has done his part in that and obviously will lose to Dublin.
But this win for Longford is something they can build on in the qualifiers and for next year.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 18/05/2015 18:57:42    1725202