TV Coverage

I'd rarely watch the Sunday game on Sunday night's anymore.

All they do is rehash whatever was already shown live earlier and then barely bother to show the games that were not already live.

The live show is grand during the day but the highlights show is very, very poor in my opinion.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 18/05/2015 10:41:19    1724858

I was surprised that Carlow/Laois got real commentary and analysis compared to the Connacht game. I'm sure Galway/Mayo will get more attention though next month. Benny Coulter was a good guest and Tomas O Se who looked like a diplomatic Thomas Crown was sensible as was the jackeen

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1674 - 18/05/2015 10:49:29    1724862

Sunday Game was decent last night.The 3 panelists were all no nonsense,straight talking men,who didnt beat around the bush.Benny Coulter said the verbal abuse in ulster is awful and has to stop.He experienced it himself and didnt like it.Benny and Tomas O Se said Dublin have to play outside Croke Park as they have an advantage playing all their games their.No big deal there.I think most agree.The panel also said Carlow were not at the races.You could see O Se didnt want to go to town on them live on TV,but to say they were unimpressed by Carlows no show was an understatement.The usual two tier championship structure was brought up with Leitrim thrown into the equation.Personally i have to agree on this.Always have done.What to do is the problem?It does these counties no good to be beaten out the gate,year after year.As long as we,as a sport,have a mentality that looks down on a 2 tier structure,its doomed to failure.Pat Flanagan had to issue a post game warning to his squad that if any of his players dont turn up to training their off the panel.America was mentioned as a possible alternative for some of them on the Sunday Game.Facing the Dubs in Croke Park might not have been his biggest worry after all.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 18/05/2015 12:02:11    1724906

I just can't understand it, the Sunday Game live covered the Donegal-Tyrone game from 3:15 to 6 yesterday and then the highlights show talked about the exact same stuff from 9:30 to 10:05 while they gave plenty of time and discussion to the Offaly-Longford match they only showed 3 or 4 minutes of the Westmeath-Louth and Leitrim-Galway games. Surely there is a way for them to give a fairer reflection of the weekends action? I for one will not be tuning in to Des Cahill too often this summer.

LakemenAbu (Westmeath) - Posts: 134 - 18/05/2015 17:56:09    1725177

So RTE opted to show a fixture that their panel constantly moan (like some posters here) about `having`to watch.
BBC were already showing it live and unlike Sky Sports it is available free on a sat dish etc
I would still watch the Ulster fixture but would not object to others having a choice of viewing by showing a Connacht/Leinster match

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 18/05/2015 19:35:14    1725209

Benny Coulter said the verbal abuse in ulster is awful and has to stop.He experienced it himself and didnt like it.

Benny was a top footballer but he likes a whinge. I don't know how many times he's been in the papers over the years complaining about the way the game has gone. Oh well he's entitled to his opinion. Funnily enough I remember him being asked about Ricey's sledging and he said it was of a humorous non-personal nature.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 18/05/2015 20:02:25    1725217

I found it incredible that our national broadcaster had no mention of GAA matters on Saturday Sport. None whatsoever!!!! No preview of Donegal v Tyrone; Galway v Leitrim; Louth v Westmeath; Or any indication of the games on that day Longford v Offaly; and Laois v Carlow. Instead of a guest like Peter Canavan John Maughan Tomas O Shea etc they had David Speedy promoting his book and, combined his musings with comprehensive coverage of the 4 provincial Pro12 games switching from venue to venue with commentators at each ground. RTE gave priority to a 3rd rate competition of a minority sport over a much more popular Gaelic Football in its premier competition. What planet are they living on?

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 18/05/2015 20:03:57    1725219

Am I alone in thinking that the SG panel have mellowed a little
Not a fan of payTV but have noticed that their coverage is more positive and less personally offensive.
I like a panel to be critical of rough, dangerous and cynical play and highlight poor shooting/passing/tackling etc as well as all the good points.
Was never a fan of paid pundits slagging off, labeling an amateur participant. Hoping we have heard the last of " I will eat my hat if Tyrone win an AI with BD on the team" / "JMcG is a spoofer coaching Taliban to play shiit football" / "Gooch is a chocker and one trick pony etc, etc ..
They are probably worried as well that whispers from the Ulster Council of awarding BBC exclusive coverage of all Ulster Championship matches may become a reality in the near future leaving the SG having to big up a one sided match of Dublin, Mayo or Kerry beating a provincial minnow by over 20 points

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 18/05/2015 20:52:24    1725240

Had to watch the game on BBC NI yesterday as I am in the UK and the presenter, along with Oisin McConville and Martin McHugh, spent most of the time talking about the half-time melee and the sendings off. The game was described as overly defensive as well and with lots of incidents that shouldn't be seen on the field. I was sure from listening to some people here that it was only the southern media who spoke badly about Ulster football. I also notice lads from Fermanagh, Tyrone etc talking about RTE's coverage on here, despite the game also being shown on BBC with Ulster pundits - it makes you wonder!

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 18/05/2015 21:21:02    1725258

Panels are correct to be critical of over defensive play, thuggery etc .. no problem atall with that and your correct in saying that the BBC is even more critical.. Its just that there are numerous examples of the SG panel being personally offensive to an individual .. all their panelists have columns in national newspapers to explain what they meant to say/deny what was said/convince you that you didnt hear what you heard etc
Over 400,000 viewers heard SC being questioned "as a man" .. an apology was referred to later yet none of us ever heard it .. surely a genuine apology ought to be issued on the same medium as the offensive remark was made on! After reaction on social media following Gooch being stupidly described as a "one trick pony" we were treated to a two page tabloid spread by the so call pundit digging up positive comments on Gooch from the past in a pathetic attempt to convince us that he wasnt being disrespectful to the player ... when you are explaining, you are losing !
I want panels to be robust/critical but as for the personal stuff .. leave it out !

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 18/05/2015 21:58:41    1725276

Curlew66
County: Roscommon

1725209 So RTE opted to show a fixture that their panel constantly moan (like some posters here) about `having`to watch.
BBC were already showing it live and unlike Sky Sports it is available free on a sat dish etc
I would still watch the Ulster fixture but would not object to others having a choice of viewing by showing a Connacht/Leinster match

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 19/05/2015 08:06:13    1725277

mod County: Mayo Posts: 763

I found it incredible that our national broadcaster had no mention of GAA matters on Saturday Sport.

THEY HAD LOTS OF IT ON SUNDAY SPORT - COVERAGE OF ALL GAMES - I HAD IT ON ALL DAY WHILE GARDENING

You did have the option of turning off your radio or tuning into another station

RTE gave priority to a 3rd rate competition of a minority sport AH COME ON IT WAS THE FINAL WEEKEND OF THE PRO12 AND THEY ARE NATURALLY GOING TO FAVOUR LIVE SPORT OVER PREVIEWS - THE NAME OF THE PROGRAMME IS SATURDAY/SUNDAY SPORT NOT SATURDAY/SUNDAY GAA - - AND A SPORT THAT CAN GET 8000 FOR WHAT YOU REFER TO AS A 3RD RATE COMPETITION IS HARDLY A MINORITY SPORT -

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 19/05/2015 09:23:23    1725294

LakemenAbu - Surely there is a way for them to give a fairer reflection of the weekends action?
Id agree with you what baffled me was that the Westmeath-Louth and Leitrim-Galway games were only given a report rather than having a commentator - I totally understand them giving Prime position to Donegal v Tyrone but the rest of the games should be given equal treatment -

I for one will not be tuning in to Des Cahill too often this summer.

id say you will my friend if your senior hurling/football team keeps up it current good form!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 19/05/2015 09:27:23    1725296

mod County: Mayo Posts: 763
I found it incredible that our national broadcaster had no mention of GAA matters on Saturday Sport.

THEY HAD LOTS OF IT ON SUNDAY SPORT - COVERAGE OF ALL GAMES - I HAD IT ON ALL DAY WHILE GARDENING

RTE gave priority to a 3rd rate competition of a minority sport AH COME ON IT WAS THE FINAL WEEKEND OF THE PRO12 AND THEY ARE NATURALLY GOING TO FAVOUR LIVE SPORT OVER PREVIEWS - THE NAME OF THE PROGRAMME IS SATURDAY/SUNDAY SPORT NOT SATURDAY/SUNDAY GAA - - AND A SPORT THAT CAN GET 8000 FOR WHAT YOU REFER TO AS A 3RD RATE COMPETITION IS HARDLY A MINORITY SPORT -

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 19/05/2015 10:02:04    1725313

there has been a more balanced view in the media of the GAA recently. Pat Kenny on UTV had an interview with Micky Harte. And the Irish Times had a lot of pages devoted to the championship.
Unfortunately the GAA will have to get use to being a minority sport now. A bit like the Catholic church post SSM referendum. Hopefully this minority sports category will help then get a less hostile media. In other words maybe the media and big business will turn their fire on Cricket and Rugby and the EPL!

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2522 - 19/05/2015 11:08:33    1725356

Janesboro is a Limerick man. Limerick is like South Dublin- a Rugby stronghold. So I would treat what he says with a large pinch of salt.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2522 - 19/05/2015 11:10:55    1725361

Jamesboro no I will not be watching I will be going to support my county because unless we end up playing Dublin or maybe Meath in Leinster we will not be allotted more than five minutes of coverage on the highlights show. If we end up in the qualifiers then we will probably get the usual two minute report that accompanies the 'smaller' county's games.

LakemenAbu (Westmeath) - Posts: 134 - 19/05/2015 11:20:33    1725371

RTE's new news and sport channel RTE GAA+24 has received a mixed reaction. The channel which first aired last Saturday night is based on a very simple idea. Where possible no highlights of football or hurling will be shown until at least 24 hours after the matches concerned. The Offaly/Longford and Carlow/Laois matches received this treatment at the weekend. Despite the fact that RTE had cameras at both matches highlights were not shown on the Saturday evening news. A spokesman stated that 'Other sports need however have no concerns. Their matches will continue to be given up to the minute reports including highlights. Take last Saturday evening for example when highlights of Bray Wanderers vital league match and Ulster Rugby's 'B' team match against Glasgow received excellent coverage.' The spokesman went on to say 'Sure who cares about GAA people in Offaly, Longford, Carlow or Laois as long as our Rugby pals get what they want that's all that matters to us.' Meanwhile Rugby Union supporters are reported to be delighted with the new RTE +24 service and are hoping it might soon become RTE GAA+48 or even RTE +72.

mediaman (Antrim) - Posts: 355 - 19/05/2015 11:45:27    1725388

19/05/2015 11:10:55
galwayford
Limerick is like South Dublin- a Rugby stronghold. - Id say sth dublin is more gaa stronghold - ballyboden ballinteer maomh olaf kilmacud, while limerick is a rugby stronghold (more so in city) its also a hurling stronghold

So I would treat what he says with a large pinch of salt. - Why the insults? is my opinion less relevant coz i like rugby - I love hurling and football as well

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 19/05/2015 12:23:03    1725421

LakemenAbu - Your point is correct - hopefully you guys will go further in provincial championships and get more coverage along the way

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 19/05/2015 12:25:35    1725422