Tyrone V Donegal

Seanieboy well said lad well said and so right , bunch of bleeding awl wanes.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/05/2015 14:03:33    1724997

Not sure if you were at the game or not Seanie Boy but your comments are disappointing! The treatment Michael Murphy hot from Justin McMahon was disgraceful and if you choose to ignore that or pretend it didn't happen then you're living in cloud cuckoo Land! Justin McMahon was mouthing off into Murphys face the whole game with his back to the play! We might not have heard what was being said but it sure as hell was exchanging niceties about what the craic was over the weekend!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 18/05/2015 14:06:26    1725002

While I would agree with you seanie about some of the moral outrage there is a point where this sledging goes too far.
I'm referring to some of the comments made during the minor match in particular.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 18/05/2015 14:15:24    1725010

Lads don't be talking about McMahon when the McGee boys were at it the whole game as well, fair is fair!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 18/05/2015 14:20:36    1725019

lads, can we stop calling this game and the tactics used "disgraceful"?! Two very good teams played a great game yesterday. Clearly there was a bit of handbags at times and people mouthing through the game but disgraceful is way to harsh to describe this game. It's championship football lads always gonna be a bit of niggle to it. People should be talking about this game in a more positive light, if this had of been kerry & cork that played that game in such bad conditions ye would be calling it one of the best games of the summer!

white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 18/05/2015 14:27:23    1725025

Yesterday was a tight match until the very end, and most people on here expected that. Apart from the 2007 hammering that Tyrone dished out to Donegal, can anybody remember a game between the two that hasn't been tight since then? Tyrone were within a kick of winning the game in 2012, and the 2013 game was so tight and really hinged on a rub of the green for Donegal with 2 goals.

Donegal started the game on fire, and had Tyrone not managed that early goal, yesterdays game could have very easily run away from them early on. The goal spurred Tyrone on, and they then eventually managed to tag a few points on and things got very tight and stayed that way for the bulk of the game. In my opinion, I kinda felt Donegal had still another gear in them, more by how they seemed always capable of nudging ahead anytime Tyrone got level or close. Tyrone though were Impressive, and are the strongest I have seen them for a few seasons, more settled and stronger than the 2013 All Ireland Semi finalists.

The question now for Tyrone, Is do they move on and continue from 2013 or remain in football Limbo and keep failing to realise their footballing potential. I believe Tyrone are closer to challenging for an All Ireland than Monaghan or Armagh, they just need to push on from here, and a good run through the Qualifiers might bring them on. Apart from Donegal, genuinely think Tyrone are the only other side in Ulster at present with the firepower to truly have a shot at an All Ireland.

Armagh await Donegal now, and will have paid particular attention to Tyrone's high press and special treatment of Michael Murphy. In some ways Armagh showed their hand in last years All Ireland QF, and we could see a very similar setup again. Armagh will be a little more advanced in their defensive system, and could well be more effective. Rory Gallagher is said to have started Donegal working on methods of beating mirror systems of their own, and we will certainly see how effective this is in the next game.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 18/05/2015 14:33:03    1725029

Donegal fans:
Watching Paul Durcan launch kick outs over the half way line yesterday and seeing McElhinney (1-2), Toye (0-2) and McBrearty (0-2) has left me scratching my head about why you left three players who would feature on most county teams on the bench in last years AI. Very few teams including Dun na nGall could afford the luxury of leaving a raw talent like McBrearty warming the bench for 50 minutes.
The semi final against Dublin was an amazing highlight but you could/should have closed the deal by starting your strongest 15 and cutting out the dangerous messing with short kick outs etc. Wont be easy getting so close again having to negotiate the mine fields of the Ulster championship especially now with a 50:50 arm wrestle away to Ard Mhacha.
Leo McLoone cooly dispatched 3 chances last year similar to those presented yesterday to McFadden, McNeilis and McBrearty and I recall seeing `Brick`Molloy drill home goals from close range as well ..... time perhaps to build bridges with the "tidy town"!

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 18/05/2015 14:39:22    1725035

Agree Curlew, they say hindsight is a wonderful thing but the absence of those players from last years All Ireland Final starting 15 makes less sense with every passing day and in reality more than likely cost us our third All Ireland!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 18/05/2015 14:48:59    1725037

Lifford Gael

Not sure if you were at the game or not Seanie Boy but your comments are disappointing! The treatment Michael Murphy hot from Justin McMahon was disgraceful and if you choose to ignore that or pretend it didn't happen then you're living in cloud cuckoo Land! Justin McMahon was mouthing off into Murphys face the whole game with his back to the play! We might not have heard what was being said but it sure as hell was exchanging niceties about what the craic was over the weekend!
---------------
The Mc Gees and Gallagher were at it too. My point is people should stop cryin like big babies about on pitch verbals. If ye can't criticize yer own players for it then ye shouldn't be critizing others. Gallagher instigated that exchange with Sean Cav that saw him walk and Sean deserved his early shower too. Be objective or be quiet. There was also a lot "hands on "by Donegal yesterday,just enough to stop a flow of play but which would hardly be called a foul. Gallagher was very good at it. New "cute hoors".....donegal 2015. Congrats on the win too by the way lads lol! Wouldn't want to sound like a spoil sport lol.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/05/2015 15:00:39    1725047

Both teams were at it, there is no point in playing favorites with the fouling. Cute hoors? dunno about going that far, but in fairness, when you are up against a team like tyrone, you will have to bring your a game, and a bit on the side just in case you need it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 18/05/2015 15:24:51    1725061

thought it best Ulster match in years. Tyrone were spirited but you always felt Donegal had their measure. Donegal looking very strong all over this year even if their defence doesnt look as secure as previous years. Neil Gallagher is such a crucial player for them in the middle huge physical presence and good link up in general play. Very hard to see anyone stopping them in Ulster. As for Tyrone they were good yesterday but similar to the league scores are hard to come by with them as they dont have any real stand out forward who is their go to man like years gone by with Stevie O'Neill and Mugsy etc.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 18/05/2015 15:27:32    1725062

Curfew 66

Between the 15th minute and about the 30th minute - I think donegal lost 6 from 7 Durcan long Kick outs - All won by Harte or Cavanagh
The ball we won in the second half was because with the wind the kick outs overflew the contest zone and got picked up on the run by the half forward line.

When carrying the ball - McGlynn and Lacey handled very well in horrific conditions - and also the physicality of the game yeseterday didnt suit Ryan McHugh (same as last years AI final) - Also Murphy sometimes serves as an outlet for midfield ball but for reasons well documented couldnt find space to get his hands above his hips let alone field a ball

In Summary - I'd expect and hope that Donegal will increase use of more tactical kick outs as the year progresses

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 18/05/2015 15:28:56    1725063

Two wrongs don't make a right, there was far too much sledging going on that effectively ruined the second half as a spectacle, which was a real shame given that both teams put in a real good shift in atrocious conditions in the first half. I don't like it personally, it does nothing for our game, but it is what it is unfortunately.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/05/2015 15:32:51    1725066

brendtheredhand

Two wrongs don't make a right, there was far too much sledging going on that effectively ruined the second half as a spectacle, which was a real shame given that both teams put in a real good shift in atrocious conditions in the first half. I don't like it personally, it does nothing for our game, but it is what it is unfortunately.
-------------------
Don't like it very much either Brend but if people are going to comment on it and can only see fault where they want to then I'm going to pull them on it.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/05/2015 15:46:58    1725077

I wasn't able to watch the match yesterday, but had it recorded and have just finished watching it there now. The match went exactly as I had anticipated. Tight, tense and full of passion and hard hits. A typical Ulster derby, it's why we up here enjoy and cherish our provincial championship. So much so that we couldn't give two F's what anyone outside of Ulster says about it. Just short of 17,500 at the match yesterday, and they were treated.

Donegal are battle hardened and it stood them in great stead for yesterday's match. Had Tyrone a decent free taker then they might have sneaked a draw or win. However, as already mentioned, Donegal looked to have the edge on Tyrone for most of the game, bar a 5 minute spell around the 30-35 minute mark, they led throughout.

Tyrone no more hold a fear factor, they aren't quite good enough to seriously challenge for Sam again just yet. However with the right mindset they can certainly make the quarter finals, if only to make the numbers up. Their players will be hurting a lot today, most of whom have never experienced a win over Donegal in championship football. A psychological blow which might never leave them.

Donegal march on into another battle with Armagh. I have a feeling it is going to be just as feisty as yesterday's encounter. McGeeney will have his boys rearing to go (they would jump through brick walls for him) and it should be another humdinger. My early prediction would be that the match will travel in a similar pattern as yesterdays, with Donegal edging Armagh by 2-3 points in tense and passionate affair. Time will tell.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 18/05/2015 16:07:29    1725092

As I said in my original post' that Mcbrearty would be our Star man although a few had great games yesterday..Mcelhinney,McGlyn and nice to see Colm McFadden seeming to be enjoying his football again.

I am not one for over analysising' but I think most people who can read the game can see things and read between the lines. I mentioned about our attacking football and great scores from play against Cork in the league. Of Course the league is the league and Somewhat different to championship games. But it was clear to me Donegal where working on tallyimg up scores in that game and let a lot of the defensive qualities Slide that day.How often do Donegal concede 4 goals..? For me that game was a building block towards higher scoring in the Championship and P. McBrearty is the Keyman for tallying up the scoreboard.
the lad is still young and improving all the time..strength,power,pace and a very accurate left Boot make him a handful for any defender. Remember his scores in the semi last year..? As stated it was nice to see mcfadden having a good game yesterday' however when the time comes for him to hang up his boots for good' look no further than P.McBrearty to take over his role.

Back to yesterdays game' I Listened to some nonsense on the radio this morning about Donegals lucky Goal by some Tyrone fan. like What was lucky about it..?
I think the Tryone keepers save from Mcbrearty was topdrawer' however it could be classed as lucky if not freakish at the same time.9 times out of ten that Shot would have rattled the net. We are also listening to how Tyrone were so close to getting the draw. Do we also forget the many Goal chances we had yesterday..Toye and lacey had two great chances and opted to take their points when they could have easily buried them in the back of the net' not to mention other fine saves from O'Neil. Although not totally agreeing with Brolly' i think we controlled the later stages of the game well and the Win was never in Doubt.

As for the handbags at half time' I listened to a lot of cryers on the radio this morming " Mostly Donegal people" I might add 'about the disgraceful scenes.I think alot of these people doing the crying are Middle Class bandwagon supporters who now go to GAA matches with their Kids ever since Donegal started having some success and although no one really wants to see it happening it has always been part and parcel of Gaelic games. Different if there was someone striking with a fist'know thats a different matter altogether.

As for the goings on on the field'then thats a different story all together. Donegal players dont exactly have halos above their heads but for me yesterday Mickey Harte thought he would try the bully boy tactics that nearly got Armagh a result last year. didnt exactly work out that way and he was seething after the game. I would go as far as to say that Tyrone will not beat Donegal under Micky Harte.

Monaghan for me are still the biggest challenge in Ulster and are rightly favourites for this years Anglo Celt.

However I think after yesterday and I would imagine that many around the country would have preferred a Tyrone win and the likes off the Dubs will be Scratching their heads and wondering to themselves if this Donegal Squad is ever going to go away.

I said in my first post we are/will be a handful for any team in the Country and i think we will only improve from here on in. Not saying we will win Sam' too early for that kind of Talk' but this group of lads will be giving it a far go. I think they feel they owe to the fans after last years AL defeat, but they have done us as a County proud this past number of years and owe us nothing.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 18/05/2015 16:14:22    1725097

InishowenMan
Rory Kavanagh was asked for his comments on the half-time scuffle and really need to dig out his response, needless to say it was a classic GAA reply without making a big thing of it or blaming any one side, I'll try and find it.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/05/2015 16:35:38    1725112

Seanieboy well said lad well said and so right , bunch of bleeding awl wanes.
-------------------
Lol good man clondalkin.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/05/2015 16:46:07    1725120

Fair play to Donegal, well deserved win in a tough but at times good game to watch.
First half was a very enjoyable encounter with very bad playing conditions and credit must go to both sets of players
Second half wasnt as good but hard to expect considering the conditions.
Regarding all the pulling and dragging i think both teams were guilty of it at times but McMahons display on Murphy was more blatant then others.

People who are saying its Dublins all ireland to lose should be warned, i dont think Donegal will be far off going all the way this year.
No team will beat them easily and also Tyrone will be feared going through the backdoor.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 18/05/2015 17:38:07    1725165

For what it's worth I thought the game itself was as most expected, tough and tight, and given the weather conditions ther was some excellent football played on both sides. I personally don't care if it's a blanket, a duvet or balls to the wall all out attacking in a game, every team and every management will pick a style of football that gives them the best chance of success, and good luck to them.
For me the only thing that disappointed yesterday was the amount of mouthing/sledging and the amount of afters that the referee allowed. I know its practically impossible to see what is going on all over the pitch, but at the same time when it is happening right in front of the referee some action should be taken. I know there were players on both sides at it throughout the game but just one example of this was when Kavanagh got his red card,(deservedly so), 2 Donegal players took into pushing and shoving him while shouting into his face and Mc Quillan stood by and watched. I know people are saying it's Ulster championship and an intense local rivalry, but it is still something that shouldn't be allowed take hold in our games and that should be cracked down on before it becomes yet another accepted fact of life in the GAA. It has become more prevalent in recent times, and I don't care if its Donegal, Tyrone, Dublin or a Junior Z game in the park, but its a nasty, petty way of behaving and does nothing to help the image of the games.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 18/05/2015 17:51:28    1725175