Tyrone V Donegal

yesterday I think Donegal toyed with Tyrone and wen they needed to score they scored, also I think that the game overall was good and entertaining. I have to say that the pulling and Diving was unreal, the Cavanagh brothers don't no how to stay on there feet, the ref even seen this and give a free against Sean, if he just played hard and fair he would be an unstoppable player, hate the falling over and shouting at the ref!!!!!! Armagh will have problems with Donegal but have a chance if they play to their strengths.

brendtheredhand I would love to know why u don't rate Armagh, they are as good a team in Ulster at the minute, they have push the big team and should have beat Donegal in the Semi final last year.

youngfella27 (Armagh) - Posts: 110 - 18/05/2015 09:57:42    1724828

The Ulster championship is competitive with a lot of local rivalries going on, when our own provincial championship was up for grabs back in the day, there was as much if not more goading/sledging, and that was on a good day. Move on!

A very good point realdub and somthing that I was thinking myself when watching the Sunday Game last night. Think it was Benny Coulter he was asking about this kinda handbags/pushing and shoving/brawling or whatever and saying it was more prevalent in Ulster. It got me thinking and I came to the same conclusion as yourself that while a Province has a real competitive edge to it then you are probably more likely to these sort of incidents - like your own Province back in the day when there were a lot of real contenders.

On the game itself, Donegal probably deserved to come out victors though Tyrone will be disappointed with the number of scoring chances they put wide, including free kicks. On the referee, seemed to let a lot go which probably could have been punished for both sides but I just felt overall that Donegal got some of their frees a bit handier than Tyrone did. A tough next day out for Donegal against Armagh and Tyrone you'd feel shouldn't fear anyone in the initial round of the Qualifiers.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 18/05/2015 10:07:20    1724837

Happy enough with the result yesterday and the first half performance but we were poor for periods in the second half. Our back line looks more porous than any time in the last 5 years and I certainly think Paddy Mc Grath should be dropped. He was very poor yesterday from a defensive perspective. Karl Lacey didn't look great yesterday either but thats his first poor game in a while so hopefully he'll improve. We need to work on a way to get more ball to Paddy Mc Brearty. He looks explosive this year if we can get him on the ball. Michael Murphy might get some protection the next day from the officials and hopefully get some fair play. It'll be one hell of a tussle with Armagh!!

Some of the antics by both sets of players yesterday were a disgrace. The amount of verbals, off the ball stuff and diving by BOTH teams were a disgrace but I thought both Tyrone teams in perticular were a poor advertisement for their county. It's time the GAA made all mentors stay inside a designated area and also that the ref move to one side and let the teams leave the field in the order they enter before leaving himself to avoid problems like we had yesterday. At both the half time and full time whistles of both games yesterday we have officials from Tyrone at the ref roaring in his face.

Eamon Mc Gee and Sean Cavanagh got involved at the half time whistle in stupid antics but they should have been left alone and I can guarantee they both would have eventually carried on into the dressing room but it was the other stuff that caused the rucus at half time. I seen it myself and Joe Mc Mahon followed Rory Gallagher at the half time whistle shouting something or other at him before kicking him on the back of the leg. Rory Gallagher to be fair took a look around at him and then continued on his way to the tunnel. The Maor Foirne from Tyrone then ran around the group to have a go at someone. These two instances led to most of the melee.

One Tyrone supporter beside me thought that Justin Mc Mahon had a great game. I'm sorry but what Justin Mc Mahon did to Michael Murphy yesterday was nothing short of a disgrace. Playing almost the entire game with his back to play and looking straight in Murphys face, touching him in inappropriate areas, tramping his toes, rubbing the back of his neck. Disgrace. Its not new territory for Tyrone though as Martin Penrose spent the entire time hitting Karl Lacey on the hip in 2013 just after Lacey had had an operation on the same area. Glad to see the both Tyrone teams beat and hope the seniors have a short existence in the qualifiers.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/05/2015 10:11:22    1724840

To send out a player to do what Justin McMahon did yesterday was just disgraceful.This is sport we are talking about not war.Fair play to Murphy for not reacting and scoring those frees when it mattered but you would worry about the future of Gaelic Football when you see a team prepared to resort to that amount of cynicism to try to win.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 18/05/2015 10:24:52    1724847

Have to agree with Brend

Can't see Armagh beating Donegal at all. They nearly caught Donegal on the hop in the 1/4s last year but I think Donegal had their eye firmly set on the semi-finals.

McGeeney doesn't have the tactical nous to be beat Donegal imo.

It'll be a tough, intense etc etc but at the end of the day in Donegal perform Armagh aren't in the same class as them.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 18/05/2015 10:25:17    1724848

ndtheredhand

Uncle_Fester

1724789 brendtheredhand

Its funny, there were 2 Leinster championship games played at the weekend, not too many topics created to discuss them and we seem to have the majority of Leinster posters who would rather discuss an USFC preliminary game played in May, good stuff

It's not really that funny at all though.. the two biggest teams in ulster were playing on the same weekend as louth and westmeath, or carlow and laois!

If meath played dublin the same weekend as fermanagh and antrim I think the majority of talk would be about the former.
But this is, we are constantly told, the worst of the 4 provincial championships, full of 'puke', 'muck', pulling. dragging, baby eating, the stuff of nightmares. Surely the free flowing, high scoring fluffiness of Leinster should be the real talking point here.

That's an awful chip you have on your shoulder, it must be a burden having to carry that around with you all the time. Personally I enjoyed the game the first half in particular was fantastic. I thought Tyrone were a little unlucky at the end of the first half to concede the 1-1 they did, Donegal just have that extra little bit of experience that saw them keep the heads cool even when Tyrone were dominating.

In regards to the part of your comment that I've highlighted above it was a poor choice of words on your part there because all of what I've highlighted was clearly in evidence, especially at half time. But don't take my word for it the 3 lads on the Sunday game all condemned that carry on, including your own Ulster man Benny Coulter.

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 18/05/2015 10:26:30    1724849

It was a decent enough match with the result in question right til the end. I wouldn't agree with Brolly saying that it was a "3 point thrashing". Far from it.
Both teams played well in parts and there were some nice scores but the niggly undertone throughout the match spoiled things somewhat in the second half. Justin McMahon survived for an hour without reprimand - unbelievable. But we're no shrinking violets either, and both teams were equally culpable for the antics on show. In tight, intense Championship matches like this though you're going to get a bit of friction - so be it. Let's not forget that back in the day in Leinster when Laois were at themselves I can remember some ridiculous goading between themselves and Dublin. Would football fans in Leinster not prefer to see a return to this edginess than what we've been seeing for the last few years?

Some points from a Donegal perspective:

- we would need to tighten up a fair bit, Tyrone got inside running at the heart of our defence too often yesterday. Even right at the death when we were hanging on a bit, Mattie Donnelly was allowed inside to get a shot away.

- McBrearty has come of age but we need to be giving him ball earlier. He has the power and pace to destroy any corner back in Ireland in my opinion. His point in the opening few minutes illustrated that.

- Colm Anthony was very effective in his roaming role. He tired near the end and gave the ball away a couple of times. But he's a very intelligent player, can pick out the right pass and is always capable of landing a few points. Great to see him getting a standing ovation coming off when a lot of people had maybe written him off.

- Armagh will be another dog-fight. We can expect more of the same but I just think that if we can match Armagh's physicality and intensity (You can be sure Geezer will have them would up to the hilt) we have the better footballers who should see us over the line by a few points. People underestimate the value of experience in tight matches. We were able to see it out yesterday with Murphy landing the big scores near the end whereas McCurry fluffed his. Michael will have better days for sure, and people questioning his ability on here is quite frankly laughable.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 18/05/2015 11:21:34    1724876

youngfella27
County: Armagh

brendtheredhand I would love to know why u don't rate Armagh, they are as good a team in Ulster at the minute, they have push the big team and should have beat Donegal in the Semi final last year.

Would of, could of, should of.... if convincing yourself that keeps you happy at night who am I argue. I guess we'll find out in a couple of weeks but I'll be very surprised. As for Donegal toying with Tyrone? Did you watch the match or just listen to the bullxxxx the Brolly came out with at the end?

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 18/05/2015 11:35:32    1724888

Congratulations to Donegal on the balance of play deserved there win.

The hypocrisy of Rory Gallagher giving out about murphy been targeted. What about Cavanagh been targeted. The carry on of the McGee brothers was a disgrace. Neil Gallagher started the altercation that ended with him been sent off.

Donegal are learning a new trick this one copied from the Kerry playbook. The amount of stoppages in the last 10mins for pushing and shoving just to eat up the clock. Looking forward to the Armagh game.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 18/05/2015 11:53:01    1724900

The difference in what Mc Gee with Cavanagh and what Mc Mahon did to Murphy is day and night. Justin MC Mahon was obviously sent out with clear instruction from the saint to do what he done and anyone denying this is grasping at straws. Mc Gee is no angel either and did give Cavanagh a torrid time but at least he tried to play a bit of football too, unlike Mc Mahon who spent the entire game with his back to the ball!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/05/2015 12:03:00    1724907

Did mcmahon even get touching the ball? It was laughable to watch him. Still, his role worked, I hope it doesnt set a precedent for other counties as a strategy to stop murphy play.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 18/05/2015 12:09:20    1724914

Great summary of the game there Lockjaw. I agree we need to get Paddy McBrearty more ball as he is on fire. Donegal did well to get the win as Tyrone really put it up to them. Peter Harte, Mattie Donnellly and Sean Cavanagh were all excellent. Tyrone can have a good run in the back door but are just short a top class forward or two to trouble the big teams. Unfortunately the game got very niggly in the second half and no doubt both teams were to blame. The sledging is just terrible, I know its difficult for the ref and linesmen but it was obvious to everyone in the ground what was going on.

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 18/05/2015 12:10:14    1724915

Tir Conaill Abu

The difference in what Mc Gee with Cavanagh and what Mc Mahon did to Murphy is day and night. Justin MC Mahon was obviously sent out with clear instruction from the saint to do what he done and anyone denying this is grasping at straws. Mc Gee is no angel either and did give Cavanagh a torrid time but at least he tried to play a bit of football too, unlike Mc Mahon who spent the entire game with his back to the ball!!

The only difference was that you are looking at through your Donegal glasses, don't like to see it myself, but like Sean as had to get used to it over the years (10 years ago he got the exact same treatment from Nicholas Walsh in an Ulster semi-final), Michael Murphy will find this happening more and more - think of last years All-Ireland final. He's a superb player, but is no shrinking violet himself, best of luck to Donegal, maybe we'll meet again.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 18/05/2015 12:16:02    1724921

Donegalman

1724914 Did mcmahon even get touching the ball?

He did in deed touch the ball and scored a point from play in the 1st half when Murphy was playing out the field. Big Justy did a very effective if ugly man-marking job but unfortunately Donegal have more than 1 dangerman and look set for another long summer.

downredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 567 - 18/05/2015 12:29:21    1724927

benched

Would of, could of, should of.... if convincing yourself that keeps you happy at night who am I argue. I guess we'll find out in a couple of weeks but I'll be very surprised. As for Donegal toying with Tyrone? Did you watch the match or just listen to the bullxxxx the Brolly came out with at the end?

I watched it all and its true Donegal scored wen they wanted and tyrone got a good goal but this falling over to get frees is a joke, if tyrone played to their strengths no problem, but if you think tyrone is going a long road continuing to play like that then u dont no football, i could name 5 players that were poor and thats not including the subs.

youngfella27 (Armagh) - Posts: 110 - 18/05/2015 12:50:54    1724943

I thought Michael Murphy spoke very well to RTE after the match, It would have been very easy for him to slate McMahon and Tyrone but was very gracious in victory, for a young fella he is a great speaker.

He is without a doubt Donegals most important player. Without Michael Murphy they wouldn't have won the All-Ireland in 2012 and they wouldn't be the team they are today.

So_it_is (Fermanagh) - Posts: 40 - 18/05/2015 13:19:39    1724960

Tir Conaill Abu

The only difference was that you are looking at through your Donegal glasses, don't like to see it myself, but like Sean as had to get used to it over the years (10 years ago he got the exact same treatment from Nicholas Walsh in an Ulster semi-final), Michael Murphy will find this happening more and more - think of last years All-Ireland final. He's a superb player, but is no shrinking violet himself, best of luck to Donegal, maybe we'll meet again.

If I remember Mickey Harte came out after that game and was very annoyed at the treatment that Sean Kavanagh got, & rightly so. So why does he send one of his players out to do the exact same thing????

92dl (Cavan) - Posts: 52 - 18/05/2015 13:24:40    1724964

Congratulations to Michael Murphy for not reacting to Mickey Hartes negative tactics. It is a shame that the majority of GAA supporters were denied the opportunity to see one of the best players around at the moment playing some football. I was delighted he was still on the pitch to convert the two tremendous frees to close out the game. Perhaps Mickey Harte would explain what this sort of tactic adds to a game he claims to love.

wonit1time (Westmeath) - Posts: 450 - 18/05/2015 13:33:46    1724970

92DL

Mickey Harte probably did give out about it at the time and I can't answer for him or speculate on what exact instructions Justin McMahon had been given, but given all that was going on from both sides yesterday I thought Gallaghers comments were a bit rich. Not sure how he felt he had the moral high ground, key men on both sides were singled out for special treatment and I'm afraid it won't be the last time you will see it this summer either.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 18/05/2015 13:38:18    1724973

wonit1time
County: Westmeath

Congratulations to Michael Murphy for not reacting to Mickey Hartes negative tactics. It is a shame that the majority of GAA supporters were denied the opportunity to see one of the best players around at the moment playing some football. I was delighted he was still on the pitch to convert the two tremendous frees to close out the game. Perhaps Mickey Harte would explain what this sort of tactic adds to a game he claims to love.
-----------------------------
What's wrong with you cry babies! It's perfectly legitimate to mark a player closely in a game of football,even very closely! The verbals that go on is another thing and since nobody is hearing what is being said then there's really no grounds to comment on it. I'm sure Murphy gave as much cheek back to Mc Mahon,probably the reason he was so tight lipped about it all after the game. And fair play to him for that also. Do we want post match interviews now with grown men crying about what was said to them on the pitch? Wise up ffs. Sean Cavanagh had as much right to give out about being man marked,targeted or whatever you want to call it. As did Peter Canavan,Dooher,O'Neill and so on and so forth. Bunch of cry babies and politically correct tools on here and in this country generally. Euro babies the lot of yez.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/05/2015 13:55:09    1724987