Dubs unfair advantage in Croke Park

The only reason we settle in the Canal End is cos it's the quickest route to the Big Tree !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 10/05/2015 19:07:26    1722149

Hill,coming from someone who thinks home advantage is but a mythical thing for any sport,or any team around the globe,im not surprised at your reply.There are none so blind as those who choose not to see.We will have to agree to disagree on this subject.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/05/2015 19:12:10    1722154

legendzxix

The focus really should be on matchday itself. A team should be deemed home team with first call on changing rooms and choice of which side of the field they'll use for the pre-match routine. Full credit to Mayo for going in front of the hill.

your crediting a few mayo lads who made a spur of the moment decision
to try antagonise the opposition players and supporters as being a fair play
their is a protocol already in place and mayo broke it
the team in the dressing room closer to the hill warms up in front of it
the team in the dressing room closer to the canal end warms up that end
whats the big deal with ye country lads anyway
why would you want to warm up in front of an area of the ground that has only the opposition supporters in it?
ye give out constantly that the hill puts free takers off
well then most of these teams would be worse if they warmed up that end
as they would be rattled before the ball is even thrown in

Protocol??? So now we learn that not only do Dublin play all their home matches in Croke Park, not only do they have the majority support at one end, not only do they get to warm up in front of that majority support every time but now they use the same dressing room all the time!!! And you want to know what the big deal is?? If you or any other Dublin supporter think all of that is appropriate and fair then good luck Hill there's really no point debating with you any longer. National Stadium my arse.....

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 10/05/2015 19:14:22    1722157

Condorman

Hill16no1man, will you be honest for Gods sake! Dublin have the same dressing room for every game in Croker, for some reason our team panders to the support on the hill, fair play to Mayo they recognised this and used it to their benefit on the day.I always thought we should have taken stock for a second that day and gone to the canal end, it would have deflated the Mayo lads.

i am being honest
and totaly disagree with you on the mayo thing
the whole warming up in fornt of the hill clearly backfried for them that day
as dublin came out on fire from the throw in
we were 7 points clear in that game so had the opposite effect to what mayo wanted
the fact they won the game had nothing at all to do with the warm up as most people had forgotten all about that
by the time mayo turned the game around in last 15 minutes as it was such a good game of football

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2015 19:15:37    1722161

GreenandRed

The only reason we settle in the Canal End is cos it's the quickest route to the Big Tree !

haha now there you have it haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2015 19:16:36    1722162

Dubs have an unfair advantage over every team because they play 3-4 league matches there every year before the championship ever starts. Croke park wasn't a real advantage when they played league matches in Parnell park (dublin weren't as good then either and hadn't as many followers). Fairness would be home and away draws like every other county in every other province does. If the home team decides to play in Croke Park so be it.

Mayo warmed up in front of the hill in 2006 and the dubs whined about it and tried to start a fight before the match started. In 2013 Mayo supporters decided they would take their hill allocation and the dubs whinged about it. Some posters on here even threatened violence if "their" hill contained Mayo men.

Don't know what the debate is about. Dubs have an unfair home advantage in the Leinster early round but these counties let them for a few pieces of silver. Symptomatic of Leinster football really, afraid to stand up to the dubs on and off the pitch.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1126 - 10/05/2015 19:17:41    1722164

but cuedrocket please explain what physical or how it is humanly possible to have a physical advantage?
its all in the head
you either believe your good enough or you dont
the rest is excuses
and it can clearly be used as motivation by any manager
as pat gilroy targeted winning in killarney and omagh during the league as his main goals
to give them a psychological advantage if they played them sides again in the championship
and thats exactly what happened in 2011 we beat both
dublin this year when needed to pulled out their best performances away from home
as it actually favours them the way teams are setting up this year
when they come to croker to play dublin they try stop us playing
but your great myth of home advantage makes the teams grow a pair and think they can outplay us
hence why we got better performances away to mayo and monaghan
than we did in croker against tyrone and derry

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2015 19:22:26    1722169

richieq
Protocol??? So now we learn that not only do Dublin play all their home matches in Croke Park, not only do they have the majority support at one end, not only do they get to warm up in front of that majority support every time but now they use the same dressing room all the time!!! And you want to know what the big deal is?? If you or any other Dublin supporter think all of that is appropriate and fair then good luck Hill there's really no point debating with you any longer. National Stadium my arse.....

hahaha and now using the same dressing room somehow is an advantage to win the game
what next ????
dublin players have an advantage because they breathe the oxygen in and around croke park more than the country lads
thats why we have fitter players on the day

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2015 19:26:19    1722173

tirawleybaron.
Croke park wasn't a real advantage when they played league matches in Parnell park (dublin weren't as good then either and hadn't as many followers).

we had more supporters in the mid 00tys at leinster championship matches
croker was full for nearly all leinster games between 2002 and 2008

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2015 19:29:02    1722175

Ah the poor royals don't come to the hill because they are intimidated. We are so sorry. But by that logic you would expect to see the hill full when the big bad Dubs are not around to be the bullies. My experience of games in Croke Park doesn't support that point though. Hill16 appears to be the last area to fill when the Dubs are not involved. Reasons for that are reasonable, one, you have to stand, two, if it rains you get wet, three, the view is awful.

It is true the Dubs have made a tradition out of the hill, however it is not a right that we occupy it. The main reason why the Dubs have the Hill is because non Dubs don't want it. They are only too happy to let the Dubs take the worst area when they get the best seats in the hogan and cusack. Coming to Croke Park for any self respecting Meath person is not seen as entering enemy territory, they have had too many good days on Jones' Road for that to take hold.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 10/05/2015 19:44:53    1722189

What is the process for changing rooms being decided and the end of the field used for warm-ups? Counties are more likely to get changes made to processes their than getting games brought out of Croke Park.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 10/05/2015 19:51:33    1722192

legend i take it most managers and players have more things on their mind like actually trying to win the game
by what they do with the ball on the pitch
than to care what dressing room or part of the ground they warm up in
so obviously they dont care for wanting to warm up in front of the opposition supporters as much as some on here
are dying to see their team do
and then will whinge that its unfair that dublin supporters put them off before the game or something along them lines
dublin when played in parnell for league games used to warm up down the far end of the ground where there was nobody
and the opposition warmed up at the church end where all the crowd was
most of them players never went looking for a ball in the crowd haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2015 19:59:28    1722199

I've never had a problem with Dublin playing their games in Croke park. I think its a silly excuse teams use when they cannot beat Dublin. I don't think Donegal had any problem playing in Croke park last year and it would've made it all the sweeter beating Dublin on their home ground. Other teams who say they will have a better chance playing Dublin outside Croke park are fooling themselves. Dublin are a very strong team who will beat most teams no matter where the game is played. Dublin absolutely annihilated meath in the leinster final last year, something I myself didn't see coming however I don't blame the fact the game was in Croke park being the reason why we got beaten by so much, I believe it was a combination of us simply not being prepared enough and Dublin being in top form on the day and being ready for us, of course the amount of players we had out injured didn't help either. I'm not saying if things had been different we would've beaten Dublin, I realise how good this Dublin team is but I think we could've gotten closer to Dublin than we did last year. Even though that happened it doesn't make me want to play Dublin in Navan this time because I don't think it would make any difference to how the game will turn out. I for one love when meath are playing Dublin in Croke park and the fact they have the majority of the supporters makes it all the more sweeter when you beat them. There's no better feeling than seeing hill 16 go completely silent and I'M sure its even better for the opposing players when they can silence all the Dublin supporters.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 10/05/2015 20:08:00    1722206

meathalltheway

I've never had a problem with Dublin playing their games in Croke park. I think its a silly excuse teams use when they cannot beat Dublin. I don't think Donegal had any problem playing in Croke park last year and it would've made it all the sweeter beating Dublin on their home ground. Other teams who say they will have a better chance playing Dublin outside Croke park are fooling themselves. Dublin are a very strong team who will beat most teams no matter where the game is played. Dublin absolutely annihilated meath in the leinster final last year, something I myself didn't see coming however I don't blame the fact the game was in Croke park being the reason why we got beaten by so much, I believe it was a combination of us simply not being prepared enough and Dublin being in top form on the day and being ready for us, of course the amount of players we had out injured didn't help either. I'm not saying if things had been different we would've beaten Dublin, I realise how good this Dublin team is but I think we could've gotten closer to Dublin than we did last year. Even though that happened it doesn't make me want to play Dublin in Navan this time because I don't think it would make any difference to how the game will turn out. I for one love when meath are playing Dublin in Croke park and the fact they have the majority of the supporters makes it all the more sweeter when you beat them. There's no better feeling than seeing hill 16 go completely silent and I'M sure its even better for the opposing players when they can silence all the Dublin supporters.

see thats motivation over intimadation

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2015 20:23:17    1722217

To be honest, we don't have a divine right to the Hill end for warming up, it's up to the opposition whether or not they want to cross that bridge, just about worked out for Mayo in '06, didn't quite work for Tyrone in '84, and when it doesn't work, you have the crowd on your back big time rubbing salt in the wounds, still, it's a free world :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 10/05/2015 20:35:43    1722224

realdub it didnt work for mayo either in 06
as it fired dublin up more and we went 7 points up
it had the opposite effect to what they would have wanted
the fact they won the game was nothing to do with the before throw in stuff
as that was long forgotten after the great football we were treated too after that

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2015 20:54:08    1722241

Not saying it helped Mayo win, was saying it looks ok when you win and not so hot when you don't!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 10/05/2015 21:14:14    1722253

I hate when this point comes up every year. In the grander scheme things in Leinster football it's almost a red herring. Just like a visual representation of everyone's frustration when they see the players running out there in front of the Hill. But assuming you get a decent strong-minded ref that's really not a problem. Unfortunately we can't discuss the actual issues without being called whingers and anti-Dubs and to get our houses in order. So we get left with this half-hearted nonsense argument about playing an annual provincial quarter final down the country to even the scales. Meanwhile Dublin get E1.5million in central funding last year and Longford got E39,000. But apparently if we can just relocate this one match we will even it all out?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 10/05/2015 21:41:46    1722275

What would your suggestion be Doublehop.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 10/05/2015 21:51:25    1722283

Richieq

Then why complain about it in the first place? It's so Irish. So the Dubs should not be allowed congregate here. Ok well look, you can buy tkts too and even outnumber the Dubs on the Hill as Mayo have done. Eh no thanks I don't really want to go there as I'm afraid of the Dubs. I'd rather just sit here and complain about it. Good article by Roy Curtis in today's SW about this nonsense. As Curtis says, on the issue of culchies complaining about Dublin playing in Croker, it's a good excuse for inaction in othe counties. Just point a finger at the unfair advantages of the Dubs and you can blame this for your own counties underachievements.

On the matter of being called names, don't Meath fans sing a song about the Dubs 'I'd rather be a &@@&€ than a Dub'. So it's hardly one way traffic now is it?

Roy Curtis!!!!! Oh please the last time that man was impartial was when he was deciding which bank to lodge his communion money in. In Meath we readily acknowledge that a neglect of underage structures and coaching has caused our decline, our powers that be thought the conveyor would keep coming but it didn't, they became complacent and that leads to failure, that's why we are where we are not because of Dublin playing continuously in Croke Park.

With regards to that song yes I've heard it and I find it abhorrent to be honest but it's not solely chanted by Meath fans, I've heard supporters of plenty of counties at it, normally small groupings of adolescent males who have scant understanding of what they saw on the pitch let alone what they were singing. I wouldn't say Mayo outnumbered the Dubs that day but they deserve credit for their efforts. The answer is simple the Hill is now divided in three, if the Dubs want to maintain tradition they can have one section to themselves, one section for the opposition and leave the third section for general sale, and toss a coin for warm up ends, I would see that as a fair and simple solution

-----
Tell me you're joking. I mean, seriously? Would dividing the section in 3 not be unfair anyway? I mean culchies are so keen to point out our population advantage, when it comes to Dublin putting their county to the sword, so should the Hill reservation areas be split proportionately based on population? Seeing as though you are looking for fairness here right? Dublin's population is probably 8 times that of Meath so how about Meath are allocated a corner of the Hill. That would be very fair I think. Oh and yes don't forget to segregate the fans like you suggest. That will make it just like 'us and them', like English soccer in the 70s on the terraces. That would be a fair and very simple solution I think.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/05/2015 22:04:50    1722288