Dubs unfair advantage in Croke Park

PoppinPoints

Another part to this I think is completely unfair is the advantage the Dubs have by having a full stand to themselves in hill16. It is completely unfair on free takers. The hill is an iconic part of the GAA when it is filled with blue so instead of allocating the tickets 50:50 why not give the opposing county all the tickets for the canal end. Only way to balance it I believe

I can hear the outcry.

Dubs get all the seats ,while the poor culchies have to stand

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 10/05/2015 13:33:12    1721992

Another thing culchies love complaining about! The Dubs getting all the hill tickets is another thing culchies can easily remedy. Hill tickets can be bought by anyone from anywhere in the country for Dublin games.

If yous wanna come to the Hill then come on in lads. You're more than welcome.

It's your choice culchies! I thought the Mayo fans in 2013 exploded that myth. Anyone can come to the hill!

I think some culchies actually just prefer to able to give out about these things.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 10/05/2015 13:53:41    1722007

Lads i know this topic has been done before but Pat Flanagan was the first intercounty manager i heard bemoaning the fact we play all games at home.Some of my fellow Dubs on here seem very defensive about it.Using examples of us never losing outside HQ in Leinster for donkeys years,other counties agreeing to play us in Croke Park,the inability of other towns/stadia to accomodate us hordes of Dubs,etc al.All valid points,but it wasnt what i asked.It was a simple question of whether it is an advantage to play all our games at home.A simple yes or no really.I cannot understand those who dont believe it is.It seems quite clear to me.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/05/2015 14:19:28    1722023

Another thing culchies love complaining about! The Dubs getting all the hill tickets is another thing culchies can easily remedy. Hill tickets can be bought by anyone from anywhere in the country for Dublin games.

It's your choice culchies! I thought the Mayo fans in 2013 exploded that myth. Anyone can come to the hill!

I think some culchies actually just prefer to able to give out about these things.

Well you see unfortunately with the Hill a precedent has been set, Dublin traditionally have been allowed to congregate there in great numbers and dominate that space. Now whilst others may very well be able to access the Hill for Dublin matches many would prefer not to as they fear being excessively taunted or intimidated or consistently referred to as "culchies" "sheep shaggers" or as I was referred to myself one day as a "red headed silage muncher who married his ma". This is all due to the "tradition" that as many of your supporters state "Hill 16 is Dublin only". Facebook pages such as "Hill 16 Army" and "TrueBlue Hill 16 is Dublin only" further helps make supporters of other counties form the opinion that the Hill should be avoided when Dublin are playing. And there is absolutely no reason as to why Dublin should have a right to warm up in front of the Hill, I applauded Mayo in 2006 for their actions and bemoan the fact that more don't do it. But then again this all is not the fault of the Dubs but the administrators and controllers, if you are allowed do a thing then you will do it so having dominant residency on Hill 16 and consistently warming up at that end of the pitch will continue to carry on as no one wants to cry stop, I don't blame the Dubs for maintaining their position as long as they are allowed to do so. Oh and by the way if that quick witted Dub that shouted at me on the Hill in 2009 or anyone else is wondering no I didn't marry my ma I actually married a Dub......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 10/05/2015 14:31:20    1722030

Ah!that explaines it then. If you can't beat them join them.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 10/05/2015 14:36:54    1722032

Richieq

Well you see unfortunately with the Hill a precedent has been set, Dublin traditionally have been allowed to congregate there in great numbers and dominate that space. Now whilst others may very well be able to access the Hill for Dublin matches many would prefer not to as they fear being excessively taunted or intimidated........
-----
Then why complain about it in the first place? It's so Irish. So the Dubs should not be allowed congregate here. Ok well look, you can buy tkts too and even outnumber the Dubs on the Hill as Mayo have done. Eh no thanks I don't really want to go there as I'm afraid of the Dubs. I'd rather just sit here and complain about it. Good article by Roy Curtis in today's SW about this nonsense. As Curtis says, on the issue of culchies complaining about Dublin playing in Croker, it's a good excuse for inaction in othe counties. Just point a finger at the unfair advantages of the Dubs and you can blame this for your own counties underachievements.

On the matter of being called names, don't Meath fans sing a song about the Dubs 'I'd rather be a &@@&€ than a Dub'. So it's hardly one way traffic now is it?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/05/2015 15:00:28    1722044

Well you see unfortunately with the Hill a precedent has been set, Dublin traditionally have been allowed to congregate there in great numbers and dominate that space. Now whilst others may very well be able to access the Hill for Dublin matches many would prefer not to as they fear being excessively taunted or intimidated or consistently referred to as "culchies" "sheep shaggers" or as I was referred to myself one day as a "red headed silage muncher who married his ma". This is all due to the "tradition" that as many of your supporters state "Hill 16 is Dublin only". Facebook pages such as "Hill 16 Army" and "TrueBlue Hill 16 is Dublin only" further helps make supporters of other counties form the opinion that the Hill should be avoided when Dublin are playing. And there is absolutely no reason as to why Dublin should have a right to warm up in front of the Hill, I applauded Mayo in 2006 for their actions and bemoan the fact that more don't do it. But then again this all is not the fault of the Dubs but the administrators and controllers, if you are allowed do a thing then you will do it so having dominant residency on Hill 16 and consistently warming up at that end of the pitch will continue to carry on as no one wants to cry stop, I don't blame the Dubs for maintaining their position as long as they are allowed to do so. Oh and by the way if that quick witted Dub that shouted at me on the Hill in 2009 or anyone else is wondering no I didn't marry my ma I actually married a Dub......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 10/05/2015 15:02:37    1722045

cuederocket

Lads i know this topic has been done before but Pat Flanagan was the first intercounty manager i heard bemoaning the fact we play all games at home.Some of my fellow Dubs on here seem very defensive about it.Using examples of us never losing outside HQ in Leinster for donkeys years,other counties agreeing to play us in Croke Park,the inability of other towns/stadia to accomodate us hordes of Dubs,etc al.All valid points,but it wasnt what i asked.It was a simple question of whether it is an advantage to play all our games at home.A simple yes or no really.I cannot understand those who dont believe it is.It seems quite clear to me.

you must not read the newspapers much
every year a manager comes out with this
i remember westmeath did it two years ago
all it does is signify they havent got belief in their own players
you asked for simple yes or no and then go on to say you cannot understand why people say no
well if you dont want them to clarify it how will you ever solve this problem you have haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2015 15:10:44    1722047

The jackeens take the field at HQ so frequently for financial reasons. What's the big deal? If Leitrim had a following that would see them bring 40k+ to each game then they would play there all the time too. Economics 101. Unfair? I don't think so, any team that is any use will get to play their fair share of games at HQ too. Hopefully our own lads will get more and more game time there! In jest, we can all say its their home turf blah blah blah....but its not. We all have as much right to it. Althought it is always nice to give the Jackeens an oul wind up about this.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 10/05/2015 15:18:30    1722049

Then why complain about it in the first place? It's so Irish. So the Dubs should not be allowed congregate here. Ok well look, you can buy tkts too and even outnumber the Dubs on the Hill as Mayo have done. Eh no thanks I don't really want to go there as I'm afraid of the Dubs. I'd rather just sit here and complain about it. Good article by Roy Curtis in today's SW about this nonsense. As Curtis says, on the issue of culchies complaining about Dublin playing in Croker, it's a good excuse for inaction in othe counties. Just point a finger at the unfair advantages of the Dubs and you can blame this for your own counties underachievements.

On the matter of being called names, don't Meath fans sing a song about the Dubs 'I'd rather be a &@@&€ than a Dub'. So it's hardly one way traffic now is it?

Roy Curtis!!!!! Oh please the last time that man was impartial was when he was deciding which bank to lodge his communion money in. In Meath we readily acknowledge that a neglect of underage structures and coaching has caused our decline, our powers that be thought the conveyor would keep coming but it didn't, they became complacent and that leads to failure, that's why we are where we are not because of Dublin playing continuously in Croke Park.

With regards to that song yes I've heard it and I find it abhorrent to be honest but it's not solely chanted by Meath fans, I've heard supporters of plenty of counties at it, normally small groupings of adolescent males who have scant understanding of what they saw on the pitch let alone what they were singing. I wouldn't say Mayo outnumbered the Dubs that day but they deserve credit for their efforts. The answer is simple the Hill is now divided in three, if the Dubs want to maintain tradition they can have one section to themselves, one section for the opposition and leave the third section for general sale, and toss a coin for warm up ends, I would see that as a fair and simple solution

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 10/05/2015 15:20:34    1722050

Richieq

Well you see unfortunately with the Hill a precedent has been set, Dublin traditionally have been allowed to congregate there in great numbers and dominate that space

Allowed to congregate?

As in bought tickets in the exact same way open to everyone?

It's up to yous man. The ball is entirely in your court.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 10/05/2015 15:22:20    1722051

ritchie I think country people just dont want to stand

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2015 15:36:32    1722056

Hill me aul pedantic flower.I read a lot of papers.This was different.I listened to Pat Flanagan on Newstalk.You could hear the despair in his voice and argument.It struck a chord.It resonated with me and had a more profound effect than words on a paper.Im sure most,if not all managers feel the same.The reason i posted it last Thurs was the previous nights interview was fresh in my mind.1 word answer hill please.Do we have an advantage playing ALL our games at HOME?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/05/2015 15:39:38    1722059

NO
and croke park is no dublins home

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2015 16:24:52    1722070

Aghhh,finally ive got answer(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/05/2015 16:35:06    1722074

cuederocket

Cue ,
In Leinster of course we have an advantage playing a div 3 or div 4 team in CROKE PARK. In the interest of fairness, neutral or home venue for some of these counties would give those counties towns revenue and a bit of interest could be stirred up, we would still probably win because we have better players . But we at least it would give a bit more of a level playing field for weaker counties.

In the AllIreland quarters, Semi of Final is it an advantage.
Well Tyrone relished croker in 2005 and 2008 . They had a team good and playing the Dubs in Crokepark could be used to motivate the team. How do we know that if we played that game in Omagh or a neutral venue big enough in Ulster ,that we might of used the circumtances to motivate our lads and could of won.
Playing Monaghon last year in Croker i think helped us as they only had a short turnaround time and that day overawed them.
Donegal last year would of used playing the Dubs in Croker as a motivation. Would Ballybofey or a neutral venue in Ulster last year have had the same result, we dont know.
Crokepark is a place that big name players rise to the occasion and use to their advantage . They relish it.
Playing in Croker in the big games has hindered us as much as helped us.
Something has to be done in Leinster though because i feel for the smaller counties and we need new life injected into it.
But these counties have to do their part also and stop hiding behind Dubin have all these finances arguement.
Kildare werent stuck for money and look what they spent it on and where they are. Meath should be a hell of a lot stronger than they are.
Dublin v Longford /Carlow /Westmeath/ Laois / Louth /Wexford are games that shouldnt be played in Crokepark if drawn before Leinster final .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 10/05/2015 18:12:15    1722121

The focus really should be on matchday itself. A team should be deemed home team with first call on changing rooms and choice of which side of the field they'll use for the pre-match routine. Full credit to Mayo for going in front of the hill.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 10/05/2015 18:31:45    1722129

legendzxix

The focus really should be on matchday itself. A team should be deemed home team with first call on changing rooms and choice of which side of the field they'll use for the pre-match routine. Full credit to Mayo for going in front of the hill.

your crediting a few mayo lads who made a spur of the moment decision
to try antagonise the opposition players and supporters as being a fair play
their is a protocol already in place and mayo broke it
the team in the dressing room closer to the hill warms up in front of it
the team in the dressing room closer to the canal end warms up that end
whats the big deal with ye country lads anyway
why would you want to warm up in front of an area of the ground that has only the opposition supporters in it?
ye give out constantly that the hill puts free takers off
well then most of these teams would be worse if they warmed up that end
as they would be rattled before the ball is even thrown in

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2015 18:43:10    1722132

cuederocket

you got an answer from the start
your problem being it wasnt the one you wanted to hear
and my reasons for it were based on pure stone cold facts
as oppossed to your myth of the home advantage being somehow worth scores to a team
every pitch has white posts nets and grass
each team lines out with 15 players
you could have the whole of china supporting you but they still cannot do anything to the scoreboard
the clearest example of how smart managers use croke park playing dublin was clear as day in 2009
kerry stumbled through to the quarter final being almost beatne by division 4 teams
then played dublin in croke park in front of about 75 thousand dublin supporters that day
and what happened the game was over after 30 seconds
answer is simple
THEY USED IT AS MOTIVATION PLAYING IN CROKE PARK

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2015 18:47:56    1722133

Hill16no1man, will you be honest for Gods sake! Dublin have the same dressing room for every game in Croker, for some reason our team panders to the support on the hill, fair play to Mayo they recognised this and used it to their benefit on the day.I always thought we should have taken stock for a second that day and gone to the canal end, it would have deflated the Mayo lads.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 10/05/2015 19:01:58    1722144