Dubs unfair advantage in Croke Park

there's no doubt dublin can do it on the road, just ask the likes of mayo, kerry, monaghan, tyrone etc but everyone including the dubs(most of them) would like a few games in provincial grounds. but these threads are pointless and repetitive as only the LC can do anything about it, move on...

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 09/05/2015 20:46:26    1721864

The impression here that the Leinster Council is some undemocratic institution bending to Dublins wishes to play all their C'ship games in Croker, rubbish, Leinster Council is made up of Delegates from all leinster counties acting under direction from their county boards and on at least two occasions in the last few years have voted unanimously to continue to fix all of Dublin's games in C.P. Even if Dublins delegates voted otherwise, the wishes of the other counties would have overruled them, P.Flanagan should criticise his own county board first for voting Dublin, "Croke Park Only"

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 685 - 09/05/2015 21:04:12    1721874

fabio8
County: USA

nobody is saying dublin wouldnt win...has anybody said that?..if so show me where?..just it would be more competitive is all and each team deserves their share of home games just like in any other sport

but wheres the proof it would be more competitive?
if anything its been more competitive in croker as teams have beaten us there
where as nobody has managed it in any other ground in over 40 years
home games I dont really agree with that idea anyway as championship games tend to be played at neutral venues
like jim gavin says we will play wherever we are down to play
remember monaghan hadnt lost a game in clones in years and we hammered them there
we went to mayo and hammered them too
some of our poorer performances this year came in croke park against tyrone,derry and monaghan
just think its all psychological and the likes of flanagan going on about dublin
when he shouldnt even be thinking of dublin
as they have to play longford first

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/05/2015 21:31:07    1721879

cuederocket

The fact is hill,we play every game at home.Its pretty simple.I believe it to be an advantage.Forget all the reasons why.Forget how many times weve lost outside of Croke Park back in the day.I have no problem in saying we have an advantage playing every game at HQ.100%

do we?
we played 7 games this year outside of dublin and 3 league rounds and 2 knockout rounds in croke park.
its kind of hard to forget how many times we have lost outside croke park as that is the very reason
we are having this discussion because people think we have a better chance of been beaten outside of croke park.
well thats your business what you say but the facts dont agree with it
take wexford for example they nearly caught us on the hop in croke park on more than one occasion
had them games been in wexford park you can be sure dublin would have been pumped up to go out and do the buisness

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/05/2015 21:35:37    1721883

hill16no1man

amazing not one person looks at the facts
dublin last time beaten outside croker in leinster championship 1973
dublin beaten 5 times in croker in leinster championship since 2000
by 4 differant counties

Facts!!!!! Some people don't seem to be interested facts or acknowledging the existence of facts, this isn't all about how many games Dublin have won or lost outside Croke Park, the unfairness of always playing there is of course a factor but it's also about fairness and equality for all counties, it's about provincial stadia and towns getting a fair slice of the action, about the businesses around those venues getting a much needed boost with match day revenue, it happens in Leinster hurling why not in Leinster football, as all these Dublin season ticket holders only interested in football??

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 09/05/2015 21:46:40    1721891

An interesting article in today's Times......

Will Dublin dare to relinquish their comfort zone on the Hill?
via The Irish Times

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/will-dublin-dare-to-relinquish-their-comfort-zone-on-the-hill-1.2205860

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 10/05/2015 11:19:40    1721937

Of course its an advantage for the Dubs to play their games in Croke Park, especially the current ,super fit Dublin team.Anyone denying that is just stupid.Duggan makes an excellent point in his article which is that why o the Dubs insist on warming up in front of the hill if its not their 'home' venue? Remember 2006 all the fuss when Mayo went to the hill end?

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 10/05/2015 11:35:11    1721947

Stupid headline on that article. It isn't up to Dublin. We'll play where we're put by the culchies.

I really hope that the culchies manage to stop giving out about this and actually sort it out. It is getting tiresome to hear them complain and complain about an issue that is entirely up to them!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 10/05/2015 12:08:14    1721956

Im sick of reading the same muck on this year in year out from bitter culchies.

Its unfair :(
Why do Dublin play ALL their games in croke park ?
They are super fit, Take them to Navan or Portlaoise

And while it may be unfair, Its not down to us that we play there. It's down to the Leinster officials who, when put to vote, voted for Dublin to stay in Croke Park. The complaining now is pathetic. Its typical of Irish society in many ways actually. County board members or management teams will talk to the media. They will bitch and moan about the disadvantages they have like Dublin playing their games in Croke Park. They will make Dublin out to be the ones at fault...........But then, come the time the fixture planners etc come together in one room and debate whether to keep us in Croke Park or take us on he road, Theyll bleedin vote to keep us in Croker. You couldnt make it up.

Dublin fans for the most part dont want to stay in Croke Park. I'm sure the players despite loving thefact they play there, Would love to go on a championship travel for a bit of a change. I've said it time and again here. I am SICK of Croke Park. I'm disillusioned that my childhood memories of Croke Park being a heavenly place, A wonder of the world-like figure just becomming the norm. I'm devastated that we play so many games then infront of a 30% filled stadium with less atmosphere than a mass murderers execution..

For those waffling on about Dublins superior fitness etc, Look, It wont make a difference whether the game is played in Croke Park or Tullamore, Dublin will ultimately have the better players in terms of skill and fitness and will still win the games.

As for Keith Duggan, Bitter Culchie.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 10/05/2015 12:12:36    1721960

Why is fitness even being mentioned when it has been clearly shown that the idea of "the wide open spaces of Croke Park" is a complete myth!!??

It is far from the biggest pitch in the country, (think ennis is)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 10/05/2015 12:21:47    1721962

Devastated Waynol,awe that must be terrible for you!

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 10/05/2015 12:34:51    1721966

When the Dubs were not winning All Irelands between 1995 and 2011 people were not moaning about the Dubs playing all the matches in Croke Park. The last time they lost a championship match outside of Croke Park was against Louth in Navan in 1973. This was the last time Louth beat the Dubs in the championship. Anyway you can't beat playing the Dubs in Croke Park.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 10/05/2015 12:36:49    1721967

Devastated Waynol,awe that must be terrible for you!

Whats your issue ?

Whats with the constant snide remarks ?

IF you aren't going to add to the debate, why reply ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 10/05/2015 12:42:01    1721970

OLLIE
County: Louth

The last time they lost a championship match outside of Croke Park was against Louth in Navan in 1973

Thurles in 2001
(and I think they've only played 1 championship match outside Croke Park since. . .v Longford)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 10/05/2015 12:44:30    1721974

When the Dubs were not winning All Irelands between 1995 and 2011 people were not moaning about the Dubs playing all the matches in Croke Park. The last time they lost a championship match outside of Croke Park was against Louth in Navan in 1973. This was the last time Louth beat the Dubs in the championship. Anyway you can't beat playing the Dubs in Croke Park.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 10/05/2015 13:03:42    1721980

cavanman47
Thurles in 2001
(and I think they've only played 1 championship match outside Croke Park since. . .v Longford)

he ment leinster championship match as this what is being discussed
and no we have not only played one game since outside croke park
in 2002 we played wexford in dr cullen park
in 2003 we played derry in clones
in 2004 we actually got a home game against london in parnell park
then trvalled to leitrim and portlaoise

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2015 13:10:58    1721982

richie well appraently the towns cannot cope with full houses
I always imagined portlaoise would be well able to
but we played kilkenny there in hurling two weekends running
and only 11 thousand were at them games and the town came to a stand still after them games with massive traffic problems
so while supportersmight get home quicker it seems the town itself and people from there suffer

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2015 13:14:05    1721985

One thing for sure , i love the enthusiasm of posters on here, this thread comes up about 10 times a year on here and certain posters approach the debate like its a new one everytime.
Please ,Please,Please everyone with a grievance get onto the Leinster counties who voted to keep us in Croker. Get banners made up , March on HQ.
We are going to be in Croker until Leinster Counties say No.
The Culchies are keeping us in Croker.
Us Dubs are tired of playing Leinster games in Croker .
Please Lads do something about it, Vote No to the Dubs in Croker and let your voices be heard at your club AGMs, Your County boards meetings.
And most importantly ,
Talk to Joe.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 10/05/2015 13:18:46    1721988

Another part to this I think is completely unfair is the advantage the Dubs have by having a full stand to themselves in hill16. It is completely unfair on free takers. The hill is an iconic part of the GAA when it is filled with blue so instead of allocating the tickets 50:50 why not give the opposing county all the tickets for the canal end. Only way to balance it I believe

PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 10/05/2015 13:22:09    1721989

also that journalist in your article ritchie must be very ignorant
as he says will supporters from other countyies be allowed the same access to hill 16 tickets
hello tickets are on public sale!!!
anybody can buy a ticket for the hill from anywhere in ireland

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2015 13:28:05    1721990