Where are we going in Cork?

Simple enough answer here really. Other counties are making more of an effort. If we look at my own county we finally decided to have a right go at the Harty Cup which means we are more competitive. Same goes for Waterford and Clare. I dont know how much of this is down to Cork not getting their own way anymore (apart from Tipp). I dont think this \cork team is up to much. I thought they would last year becaseu they were getting 3 players back i.e. Walsh Callinan and 2 Cadogans but they were blessed to beat us in a Munster final we kind threw away and then like us the year previously flunked in the semi.

As well as other counties putting in more of an effort Id say the increased success of Cork football has had an adverse effect on the hurlers. Even a county as big as Cork will find it hard to excel in both codes.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 05/05/2015 19:49:19    1720612

Fair play Westisbest, I'm probably oversimplifying. But, so are you, kind of.

There have been efforts at underage level in recent years. And fair play to all who are involved. Credit where it's due. However, those efforts are not resourced at anywhere close to the level they should be. The example of a miserly six (yes 6) coaches in the entire county is often cited. And, it's not entire;y true to say that those efforts are reaping dividends either. The proof of that is yet to come (we hope). Cork teams have always been very successful up to minor level. That's where it all falls apart. Whether or not that falling apart continues - we'll see.

The players that are not involved in the coaching/management side of things stick out like a sore thumb really. Fair enough, you are not familiar with some of the politics down here, but you must have wondered why most of the striking generation aren't involved? The examples you cited (the Rock and Landers) - well Sullivan's father was at the top table for many years, and Landers kept his mouth tightly shut during the last strike. To be fair, I think that was very wise of him. And fair play to the Rock too (though I understand his involvement was with one U14 side) - healing old wounds, shutting the mouth, and getting on with the work in hand is very important. They are both worthy of the highest praise. However, that doesn't negate the fact that many of their team mates are strangely absent from the various set-ups. I don't blame CCB for their absence either. We're all human, and in many of the execs positions, I wouldn't be keen on Donal Og and co either. Nonetheless, their absence, however unavoidable, is a big blow.

Your football point is well made. I can't really answer it, as I know little about football. However, I do know that the football people in Cork often claim that their success is in spite of, rather than because of CCB. I also remember hearing a remarkable story about one club man down west, who ended up going to Kerry CCB for coaching equipment he couldn't get in Cork. And fair play to the Kerry lads, they provided!

Now it's important that this doesn't become a CCB bashing discussion. I say what I say, merely because I belive it to be true. I still support the stadiums's construction, and I do believe that the board want to see Cork GAA succeed. I only wish that they'd listen to some constructive criticism, rather than dismissing everything that smells even vague like opposition, as a DOnal OG GPA plot to take over the world. Some of us genuinely have no agenda beyond the betterment of our preferred sport.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 05/05/2015 19:55:36    1720616

Culchie, very informative post. For Corks sake hopefully the politics begin to disappear sooner rather than later. Interesting point about Donal Og, clearly he can be a divisive individual as JBM saw fit to drop him too. I know your underage are becoming very successful at various competitions after a long time in the wilderness. There ought to be hope there. Also your schools are starting to make an impact after many years in the doldrums. It's going to take years but the work has started at least. It's a crying shame that Cork officials didn't swallow their pride long ago and follow the example of other counties who implemented very successful underage structures years ago.

Regarding past players getting involved - I know Allen and O'Grady managed the senior teams before but if they were wanted again could you really see them giving up the lucrative jobs that they currently have. Ditto with Donal Og! It might just suit them not to be wanted!

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 05/05/2015 20:27:07    1720626

Culchie,The cb are first and foremost in the business of making money and as such see getting to finals,and even semi finals as a success as it brings in revenue.I firmly believe that is where the problem lies,the more they have to do to improve matters the more it is going to cost and the less inclined they are to do so.Also when you have chairman saying we are losing because we have been a bit unlucky or a few decisions went against us then you know you are in trouble.As far as the current set up in the hurlers are concerned well I keep hearing that JBM has got this bunch of players overachieving well I title in his tenure could hardly be called over achieving.Fellas on the other thread are saying Sunday was only the league and we will do better in the championship but why did we not do better against Tipp last year when according to some is when the team is hoping to peak for.JBm may be a great motivator but his decisions around selection of certain players surely lessens the impact he may have,Players like Conor Sul and others walking away from the panel is not good for morale.This team looks like they dont believe in each other when the going gets tough.

over35hurler (Cork) - Posts: 36 - 05/05/2015 20:56:14    1720639

Where are we going in Cork?

Down to Killarney for yer annual hammering in the Munster final ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/05/2015 21:37:14    1720660

Followed by a trip to Thurles for yere annual spanking from Tipperary.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/05/2015 21:50:35    1720665

I think Cork need to develop underage structures. I don't know when Cork won minor football or hurling All Ireland titles. It seems that Limerick and Waterford, along with Clare are dominating Munster underage hurling.
I recall when Cork minor hurlers were regulars in HQ on September Sundays. Interesting comment about Cork developing a stadium, and neglecting teams. Same comments up here, in both cases stadiums needed to be improved.
Hopefully Cork will recover, GAA needs them, and Offaly!

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1745 - 05/05/2015 21:53:15    1720667