Brolly Strikes again

Ah we're not cynical. Just really bad at tackling.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 28/04/2015 13:35:24    1718463

HughHunt24

Kerry foul far out the pitch and block oppostion from taking quick frees very clever. Against Tyrone they contuninuly foul/blocked the runners coming through. This never gets highlighted by Spillnane who just blames Ulster tactics.

HughHunt24

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=236332

I have to diagree.Kerry play football the right way. the old kick and catch. Most natural footballers who engage with the blanket defence

Looks like Joe isn't the only one who changes their mind depending on which way the wind is blowing Hugh!

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 28/04/2015 13:49:18    1718476

DoireCityFC
I would like to know how he doesnt respect the players game and fans

The way he uses different teams/players at different times to promote his own career shows a clear lack of respect. Clearly if he is willing to do that then he doesn't respect them. That is a fact, regardless of how many charity games he plays in.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/04/2015 14:51:27    1718525

Have to say I think Kerry are as cynical as anyone in defending, but the difference between them and all the others is a Kerry man can still put a ball down your throat from 40 yards. Most players who play from Kerry from the half back line up are skilled at finding their players with kicked passes.

They know when to use the kick pass or the hand pass. They added ruthlessness and steel to it all last year.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 28/04/2015 14:54:32    1718528

Slayer i think thats what joe was getting at.. Themaster i dont know how you or anyone can judge a mans level of respect when you dont see his involvement on a daily basis but instead once a week on RTE

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 28/04/2015 14:57:24    1718529

The comment "he shouldnt be there." show lack of respect for our games and yourself. isnt the GAA a pround all inclusive body for the people by the people?

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 28/04/2015 14:59:40    1718534

When they played Tyrone in Omagh, a Tyrone man couldnt go 2 metres before he was tripped or pulled down by the neck.
Theyre either very cynical, or the worst tacklers the game of gealic football has ever seen.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 28/04/2015 16:13:16    1718575

DoireCityFC
Themaster i dont know how you or anyone can judge a mans level of respect when you dont see his involvement on a daily basis but instead once a week on RTE

Surely the level of respect he shows the people he is talking about on said shows would be a good indicator? If you are saying one thing about one group for doing something, then completely changing your tune when another group do it, then obviously there is an ulterior motive there. That motive, for my money, is to push his own career by being controversial. But in doing so he is knowingly taking Kerry to task in an unfair manner - that is disrespectful to the Kerry players, as well as the wider gaa public in general.

DoireCityFC
The comment "he shouldnt be there." show lack of respect for our games and yourself. isnt the GAA a pround all inclusive body for the people by the people?

It absolutely isn't. It is taking him to task over not showing the Kerry players and the fans of the gaa in general any respect. But instead trying to create controversy around himself. Nothing inclusive about that action and any 'gael' as he so often refers to, should hold fellow gaa folk in higher esteem than to do such things. He owes it to his fellow gaels to call it straight.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/04/2015 16:34:46    1718596

I dont ever agree with Brolly but have to on this one. Kerry are the leaders in this field and have every referee in their pocket. wait til the Gooch gets back and theyre into the last 10 minutes of a tight match ??? then you will see whose the real cry baby throwing the toys outa the pram. he will hit the ground so fast and all the refs fall for it.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 28/04/2015 21:37:40    1718757

"Anyone who wins possession in the middle third is going to be held up and stopped. That will happen. They are at the head of the black card leaderboard" Just to underline brolly's bias, donegal were doing the exact same thing throughout 2012, and he was saying they were 'putting on a defensive masterclass'. Why aren't Kerry putting on a similar masterclass? Why isn't it a masterclass any more? If he was truly interested in defensive mastercalsses then he would be lauding Kerry, as they have nailed the balance between defence and attack. It is just another passive aggressive attack on Kerry and an attempt to wind up Spillane. I for one am sick of brolly using gaelic football as his play toy. If he doesn't respect the players, the game and the fans enough to call it straight, he shouldnt be there.

TheMaster (Mayo) - 28/04/2015 11:51:37
-----------------------
He also made the point that "Donegal don't foul".Whereas Kerry are fouling incessantly and giving away frees. They conceded 30+ fouls against Tyrone in Omagh and no talk about it. All done to stop Tyrone countering and done far enough out to make the resulting free difficult to score from and to allow their players to get back into defensive positions.
There is a difference in good defending and cynically playing football. Brolly was pointing out how Kerry play cynical at times. Just like any other team these days.
I don't pay much heed to what he says most of the time and I'm sure the Kerry boys won't now either. That's not to say he can't say something of merit in the midst of all his ramblings.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 29/04/2015 13:46:02    1718911

All teams have done cynical fouling especially if they can get away with it.

Part of Kerry's (and all successful teams) success is they up the physicality if the ref lets them. If he is going to start dishing out cards they pull back a bit. Its called playing the whistle.

Dublin did it against Mayo in the last 20 min of the 2013 final. Mayo did it against Dublin in the last 20 of the 2012 semi. Kerry did it against Mayo in 2nd 2014 semi. Donegal did it v Dublin in the 2014 semi (even the team doctor got involved).

If you don't do it you are lambasted by Brolly (and most others) as being naive. Mayo v Kerry in first 2014 semi. Kerry v Dublin in 2011 final and 2013 semi. Dublin in all semis and quarters in the 2000's.

He had a go at Cork for not bringing "war" to Dublin in the league final. If they did play dirty he would be shouting they were cynical and destroying football.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1140 - 29/04/2015 15:32:18    1718970

Article by Declan Bogue ..the journalist Jimmy McGuinness asked to leave after the AI final win due to the insights Kevin Cassidy gave on the Donegal approach.
This article highlights some of the hypocrisy journalists listen to from their peers..similar reports from the U-21 semi press box too.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/gaa/gaas-muchcriticised-tactic-has-been-getting-results-for-over-two-decades-31180451.html

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 01/05/2015 14:25:20    1719494

seanie_boy, the point was about the 2012 donegal team.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/05/2015 14:52:24    1719505

so was seanie_boy, we very rarely conceded scorable frees in 2012

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 218 - 02/05/2015 14:48:08    1719658

seanie_boy, the point was about the 2012 donegal team.
------------
I know that.I'm pointing out how he changes his mind a lot in a way that almost completely contradicts an earlier opinion he expressed. Donegal were "fantastic" according to him 2 years ago. Now Donegal and any team that plays a similar style are to blame for all footballs perceived ills. Now Kerry too are ruining football in their own unique way. Off course they just played in "the best final ever" in2013!! The mans a dose. Then in his inimitable "barrister" style he tries to twist things so much by constantly denying what he said with his "now hold on a minute,that's not what I said" carry on.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 02/05/2015 16:08:47    1719675

too right seanie boy.
Brolly spent years slagging off kerry for playing open football against Tyrone, then as soon as they do what he said they should, he turns on them again.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 02/05/2015 17:07:23    1719691

Well joe brolly what do you think of that??? The Tyrone U21s did the same systematic fouling that he accused our self as doing and will he come out and speak against them? I doubt it very much. He's got Kerry on his radar for 2015 and he'll do what ever can to turn every ref in the country against us to stop us winning the allireland.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/05/2015 20:30:37    1719771

KingdomBoy1

You had better hope ye don't ship a good beating this year because you won't be able to blame the ref on that :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 02/05/2015 21:22:59    1719803

of course hes going to speak out. An All Ireland title in Tyrone tonight an Brolly stay quiet ??? The last All Ireland U21 title that came to Tyrone brought a new breed of footballer to the county. it sparked a new life into their senior team that saw them win three senior All Irelands in the noughties. Joe being a Derry man is not going to want to see their great rivals from next door get outa hand again. I also reckon this management set up is heading for senior management.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 02/05/2015 21:38:57    1719809