U21 Final

Hey Ritchie the only thing "shocking" about this game is the hysteria created by the likes of you and others surrounding the result, and your vicious character attacks on the young Tyrone players that contested the game.I never heard such complete nonsense in my entire life.Cathal Mc Shane is stamped on in this game and shipped a few heavy challenges but its not mentioned by many of yez on here or in the media.Where was the sanction here? I don't know what game some of yez were watching because your commentary on it is so over the top yez would be wanting to calm down ffs.I saw big Tipperary lads give as good as they got out on that field in a game that was not particularly rough overall..As I said in an earlier post I was frustrated that Tyrone conceded so many frees from scorable positions,which Tipp scored.So If it was an exercise in cynicism then they have much more to learn cos they're definitely doing it wrong!Maybe we could suggest they watch Paul Galvin and Eoin Cadogans finest moments to see how to truly play cynically? Or Kennellys classic opening salvo on your boy Murphy?Sticks and stones boys....wise up ffs....yez look ridiculous at this point.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 05/05/2015 13:14:06    1720360

I thought Armaghs sour grapes/whinging after 2003 and 2005 defeats were bad but this Tipperary crowd of
supporters/team&mentors/county board etc take the biscuit!!!!!Bad Bad losers.Simple.

tyronetaffe (Tyrone) - Posts: 45 - 05/05/2015 13:17:25    1720365

KY4SAM2015
Hard luck to Tipp I thought they deserved to win and played the better football.
I don't know why everyone is complaining about tyrones 'tactics' as everyone knows they have been acting this way for years. However it must be tough when you experience it for the first time. Tyrone management and fans denying their behaviour rubs salt into tipps wounds but its hard to expect them to say otherwise.

Have to agree. This is what tyrone do and have done for years. They then deny it ever happened and say that people are just against them, and the gaa then turns a blind eye. The sooner they stop listening to the rhetoric and just punish it when it is happening, the sooner it will be gone from the game. I don't understand why refs cant see it, they must be the only people in the entire stadium.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/05/2015 13:22:17    1720370

Every time Tyrone cause a controversy they win or is it every time Tyrone win some people look hard to find a controversy.

The complaints started at half time about Tyrone delaying the second half. When that was proven wrong it was time to look for something else to complain about.

A check of the most dangerous tackles in the game showed it was by a Tipp midfielder who tripped and then stood on Tyrone's best player Mc Shane. Not the right sort of controversy that so lets look elsewhere.

What about the rule brought in to stop Nasty Tyrone. Surely that should show 9 Black cards to nil. Nope. No controversy there then.

So lets write an article in the Irish Times about Machiavellian name calling without any details.

At least part of the problem is that some people view the 6 counties as a foreign country and don't want to see them win which is fair enough but don't then pretend to be impartial.

Imagine just for example what would the southern media reaction have been if Tyrone not Dublin had won an All Ireland Final with a player that had been sent off coming back on to the pitch.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 05/05/2015 13:26:37    1720373

Sports Psychology for U16's - come on guys are you seriously telling me that sports psychology is not normal when working with juvenile players? Whether it is in an official capacity or not I would say there is sports psychology involved as young as U10. If you look at professional sports psychology is a massive part of development - even just to ensure a young man is prepared to handle expectation, blocking out the crowd, ensuring maximum focus on performance etc etc etc

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 05/05/2015 13:29:15    1720375

I wont dwell too much on Tyrone here, they are what they are - end of, and thats all ireland 21 football champions 2015. They are not the most popular team with Down people (hurlers are a different crew altogether) but sometimes you have to call it as it is. They are the best 21 football team in 2015 so congrats on that.

But im not sure what planet Tipp are from. Ive seen the match and unless Im blind they are no altar boys either, each team was as bad as each other and IMO the weather didnt help. Ref didnt have a great day at the office but I thought the whole match was a poor enough spectacle - again Tyrone wont worry too much as they fill the cup.

I heard Fergal Logan being interviewed on the radio and he spoke well, not as impressed with the Tipp football chairman and his gurning. That lad needs to seriously dry the eyes.

Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 05/05/2015 13:56:52    1720388

Its really becoming a joke now lol.......we now have people from Kerry and Mayo leveling accusations of cynicism at a Tyrone U-21 side.Both your senior teams have been leading the way in this department for years and that has been said about yez on this forum by people from all over the country so I don't need to elaborate on that.With Kerry leading the black card count this year and having conceded 34 frees to Tyrone in Omagh in the league,its undeniable really that they are the most cynical playing side at the moment cos the stats tell the truth lads, and Mayo are not now and never have been a bunch of choir boys either.Tom Cunniffe got Peter Harte in recent years with one of the most cynical shoulder charges I have ever seen in my life.Talk about hypocrites.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 05/05/2015 14:05:13    1720392

ritchie

...But lets be fair it was shocking and the ref was watching something completely different. He didnt bring a black card with him that is the only explanation as to how no tyrone man saw the line in the last 20 mins.

I think it was you who must have been watching something completely different, as Tyrone's Michael Cassidy was sent off in that period.

...And the extra time allowed was a bit of a joke too. they tyrone number 9 was down for well over a minute just in that one injury after the goal.

The Tyrone No.9 was targeted by Tipp throughout the game, the worst of those incidents being when he was stamped on. He very bravely hobbled around on one leg after the goal, before eventually having to go off injured. Are you implying that he was time-wasting?! Also, there were 90 seconds played in addition to the injury time that was announced, giving Tipp every chance to equalise.

...Is it time to introduce a number of permitted fouls in a game like basketball.

Yes please, as this would greatly benefit Tyrone. For example, in league games this year, we conceded 14 fouls against Kerry's 34, and a mere 6 against Dublin's 25. In the U21 final, despite some very generous referring in Tipp's favour, the free count was 21 apiece, with Tipp being well ahead until the last few minutes.

...It is alleged that tipp wouldnt let the Tyrone management into the dressing room after the game and in some quarters they are being slated for their actions. Why ???? If a team cant be sporting on the field of play and play the match in the spirit it should be then why should they try be sporting after the match

There was only one dirty strike in a tough final, and this was committed by a Tipp player on McShane. The foul count was dead even. The Tipp manager has shown a bad example to his players.

...Do you think its right that you have a man sent off who is celebrating on the pitch 30 seconds later.. Where was the punishment where was the sanction ????

He was sent off with 30 seconds to go, so what would you have done differently? Sent him off earlier, before he had even committed the offence? Or banished him to the dressing rooms like a naughty child, while his teammates collected the cup and his friends and family were on the pitch?

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 05/05/2015 14:12:56    1720397

Naysayer I would be amazed if many intercounty U-16s have regular sessions with sports psychologists, it was pointed out in the documentary that Tyrone were fairly unique in having this at the time in 2004, they were actually doing it with u-15s. The documentary was called "The men behind Maguire" if anyone wants to look it up. Id say most people would rather young lads were learning the skills of the game and enjoying life rather than sitting in a room with a sports psychologists but every county can have their own approach and do whatever they think works best.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 05/05/2015 14:16:20    1720403

Cynicism like fouling or striking is not the issue. As many said both teams at it and up tothe ref to sort it. The issue behind tyrone manager not being let in was the verbal abuse. players family members were mentioned by name in the abuse which indicates an entirely other level of bad form. I presume manager not behind it but I certainly wudnt let a manager in if had to put up with that on a football field. As for targetting of mcshane well ORiordan was fouled for frees on 7 occasions

LondonOranges (Tipperary) - Posts: 45 - 05/05/2015 14:30:29    1720414

Soma did this documentary say that these Sports Psychologists were teaching Tyrone youngsters to be cynical, sledge opponents, win at all costs or were they simply preparing them for the mental side of the game.

Yes teaching skills is very important but you could have the most skilful set of players in Ireland who have no idea how to tune in mentally and you would be as well sending out a crowd of old women.

I am not familiar with the documentary in question but maybe Tyrone were unique in sitting the boys down in a certain type of room with a person recognised as a professional sports psychologists to get the message across but if you think no other coaches are preparing boys psychologically to compete you either have not been around too many dressing rooms or else you were not listening or interpreting what you were hearing.

Or maybe you just want another rod to beat Tyrone with.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 05/05/2015 14:42:42    1720420

so to sum up. Tipperary are not complaining about dirty play,cynical play, time-wasting or even losing the game.
they are complaining about the verbal abuse of a personal nature that the players had to put up with during the game.

Is that correct ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 05/05/2015 14:48:36    1720426

Well said Donegalman.

Jimbodub - Lee Brennan and Mark Bradley will make great additions though Lee is still at St.Michael's. He came in for Mark who got injured in first round against Fermanagh.Mark actually cam on for 20 minutes against the Dubs this year missed one and scored another he was a superb minor and beat Armagh virtually by himself.
Conor Meyler would've been my man of the match. Ruairi Brennan and Cathal McShane ("The no. 9) were involved at senior to be withdrawn for U21s. Conor McKenna was described by Spillane (yip) as the best minor in Ireland from this batch but is in Oz currently, hopefully will return. In defence McGeary, Mullan, Hampsey and Cassidy all look able to step up.

The key to this Tyrone team is it appears to have restored the hard work, hunger and desire necessary from our talented underage lads which has been missing for the last decade at this level.

Am I the only one shocked at this Cork man takin the high moral ground after Jamie O'Sullivan's antics against Dublin's Connolly and McMahon. Was Paul Kerrigan coached in the darker arts when he got off the bench ran 10 yards and kicked the ball away in the corner in the final minutes against Tyrone in Cork to try (in vain) to stop Tyrone equalising.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 05/05/2015 15:00:14    1720440

I think so S Goldrick. I saw a comment from a poster on the FB page earlier stating that some of the players were subject to abuse about their mothers and sisters. Won't someone think of the children? I hope those Tipp boys never went to school. I remember when i was 12 i found out that my mother was so fat her belt was the equator. I also found out that she was so hairy her boobies looked like coconuts.

Seriously lads...if this is what you are whinging about it's time to grow up.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 05/05/2015 15:00:23    1720441

Yes please, as this would greatly benefit Tyrone. For example, in league games this year, we conceded 14 fouls against Kerry's 34, and a mere 6 against Dublin's 25. In the U21 final, despite some very generous referring in Tipp's favour, the free count was 21 apiece, with Tipp being well ahead until the last few minutes.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Do all you people who are accusing Tyrone football of being overly cynical see these stats put up by Thomas Clarke?Do you have any commentary on this or does it not suit your anti-Tyrone agenda?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 05/05/2015 15:00:59    1720442

Great to see Tipp are now equally as strong at being "gracious" in defeat in football as they are in hurling. Dual county is right!!

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 05/05/2015 15:10:56    1720449

How did any Tyrone lad know any specifics about Tipp lads family members..we're not neighbours or have met regularly at school's level. Must have great spy networks with our friends in Kerry, Cork and Limerick sending coded messages on who and what to target.
I've relatives in the 26C's but apart from a trip or 2 to Clonmel to register a greyhound it's not on the tourist trail.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 05/05/2015 15:15:08    1720452

Naysayer the documentary just said that the sports psychologists were important in helping the kids being spoken to gain a psychological edge over their opponents. I would be surprised if they were teaching them to insult opponents family members but I suppose with a win at all costs approach if this works, and it clearly upset Tipperary, then it would be silly for them not to encourage this. I am not really sure why you are so defensive about it, or why another Tyrone poster claims no U-16s met with sports psychologists?

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 05/05/2015 15:16:44    1720453

Great to see Tipp are now equally as strong at being "gracious" in defeat in football as they are in hurling. Dual county is right!!

+ 1

Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 05/05/2015 15:25:29    1720457

Im a bit disappointed in some of the Tipp posters responses.Whinging about being called names.How dare they slag our Declan Browne and our LAR.If i was from Tipp and someone slated LAR id laugh and totally agree!!My God ye must have a thin skin lads.I first experienced sledging and slagging in baby infants id say.Tipp boys when the dust has settled ye may see yeve totally over reacted.I hope so anyway.This carry on does nobody any good.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/05/2015 15:35:24    1720470