U21 Final

Doesn't the perceived lowering of standards in football mirror the lowering of standards and coarsening of the culture in Irish society generally?

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 340 - 04/05/2015 20:41:01    1720221

Royal dunne, I think you're being a bit disingenuous, the 1996 semi-final was particularly dirty. It is what it is, I've never complained about it on here to my recollection.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 04/05/2015 20:43:15    1720222

This whinging and debate about having to listen to Irish on the Oraish language. Station and the tanniy and the fact the Tipp came out first at half time is beyond Wierd cop on Assemble the facts and let's see the evidence Tyrone are not responsible for the refs decisions and perhaps GAA have more work to do to improve that end of the game than anything else The barring of Logan from the Tipp dressing room puts it all into the real perspective! But most of all Sympathy and condolences to the family and friends of the deceased it is great to see his condition as the priority at half time congratulations to those who cared and tried to save him

cjx (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 04/05/2015 20:54:19    1720225

Congrats to tyrone. I saw them in the u21 ulster final, and it was a mighty tight game that they marginally deserved to win. I thought after the match that they were going to take all the beating. Seems that was the case on Sat night. I am confused about all the negative press around this game. There is a lot at stake and when you find yourself an hour away from winning and losing a once in a lifetime game, you are going to compete like you never did before. I think that Tipp will be very strong in munster in a year or 2 which is badly needed for the senior competition. People play favorites with calling foul. yes, I am sure there was a lot of verbals going on on sat night, but it seems that Tipp were blocking runners from the Tyrone fast kick out, which was a lethal tactic and a real joy to watch in the ulster final. So lets all stand back, take a big breath and not get too carried away with ourselves about good or bad sports.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 04/05/2015 21:31:55    1720236

brendtheredhand

"Time to introduce the polka dot card to deal with sledging, surely we must be running out of colours of the visible spectrum at this stage."

Eh there is a card - its Black - specifically for sledging amongst a few other things.

I worry a bit about football I really do.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 05/05/2015 08:19:06    1720242

Exactly Donegalman - I think a lot of what we are hearing is influenced by the hatred of all things Tyrone.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 05/05/2015 09:08:01    1720248

Talk about being bad losers. I couldn't believe all this talk when I got home from Parnell Park. Tipperrary were hauling tyrone players down in their half trying to break up their attacks. As for mouthing on the pitch the Tipp boys would need to grow up and get real pretty quick if they want to make it to the next level.

There was plenty going on on the pitch from both sides. Take your beating and learn from it

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 05/05/2015 09:51:15    1720254

Well done Tyrone

That's a fantastic achievement for Tyrone moving forward

Tyrone are screaming out for forwards at the minute... with their organisation, tactics and commitment seen in the current senior squad

If they had a couple more naturally gifted forwards they'd be very close to winning Sam again with the current team IMO

Any U-21's looking good to make that step up Tyrone lads?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/05/2015 10:17:46    1720266

Bradley, Mc Shane, Fox and Ruari Brennan already in the squad. Bradley looks the part but he is small in stature.

Meyler, Mc Geary should also get the call up now and possibly big dan mc nulty again in the full fwd line

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 05/05/2015 10:49:35    1720284

Royal dunne

I think we had every right to whing after the 1996 hammering we got from yourselves, head bandages aside, Meath completely beat ten bells out of us so we kinda had good reason to complain about it.

However, with hindsight its what a few of our players needed and laid the foundation for our future successes at All Ireland Level. We got the niceness beat out of us that day and done us the world of good.

Sean Boylans men won the All Ireland that year through sheer nastiness, guts and determination. I did and still do admire that group of players.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 05/05/2015 10:52:37    1720285

Tyrone go about their business in their own particular way and best of luck to them - they aint playing games to make friends..no point being nice loosers as we have learned.
Tipp and Roscommon hadn't experienced that level of intensity prior to meeting Tyrone and neither could deal with it. Tipp looked to run the ball constantly with no long ball option and in reality relied on frees and the poor quality of the Tyrone shooting (1st half) to keep them in the game.
Tyrone are a hardworking group with very few stars - when a team holds their defensive shape then their forwards look really average..the only two standouts are McShane and Bradley- will be interesting to see them get game time in Champo.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 05/05/2015 11:17:10    1720289

Before i start im a cork man so completely unbiased in relation to the match the winner doesnt affect me one way or the other.

But lets be fair it was shocking and the ref was watching something completely different. He didnt bring a black card with him that is the only explanation as to how no tyrone man saw the line in the last 20 mins. They go on about tactics but the tactics for tyrone was to foul the man as far from the goal as possible. Tipp were clueless as they didnt respond to the tyrone tactic but on the other hand the ref was supposed to implement the rules properly.

Was the reason he didnt reverse the decision in the end because the weather was shocking.. Rule book states that it should have at least been a hop ball. And the extra time allowed was a bit of a joke too. they tyrone number 9 was down for well over a minute just in that one injury after the goal.

Tyrone people are on here constantly giving out about a conspiracy against them. Well watching saturday nights game it is quiet easy see where it comes from. The team on saturday didnt play the game they played the result. This win at all costs is destroying the game simple as that and congress need to do something to stamp out that negativity. Is it time to introduce a number of permitted fouls in a game like basketball. Its getting to the point where watching football is becoming hard. Its not nice to watch and not nice to play. The gates will tell the story this year and when the numbers are down then you will see the gaa act.

It is alleged that tipp wouldnt let the Tyrone management into the dressing room after the game and in some quarters they are being slated for their actions. Why ???? If a team cant be sporting on the field of play and play the match in the spirit it should be then why should they try be sporting after the match. It smacks of hypocrisy to me. But the spirit of the game is dying a death. Dont get me wrong there have been rough games a plenty in the past .. Cork and meath in late 80's stand out but now its just ugly watching a free every few seconds its not that these players cant tackle they have been playing since they were 7/8/9 its that they are set up to hold field position that sounds more like rugby than football. If i want to watch rubgy ill watch it being played by rugby players.

Out of curiosity are those from tyrone happy with the way their teams play.. Do you think the game was enjoyable and how do you feel about how your team won on saturday.. Do you think its right that you have a man sent off who is celebrating on the pitch 30 seconds later.. Where was the punishment where was the sanction ????

I dont know if tipp were robbed or not and i dont know if they deserved to win or not but looking at the match they played the better football.. Dont know if thats deserving of a win anymore but watching the two teams tipp tried to play the game that they togged out for

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 05/05/2015 11:52:05    1720311

Its interesting reading about the sledging allegations against Tyrone again. I remember a documentary on RTE back around 2004 which looked at why Tyrone were having success and why Ulster teams would dominate Gaelic football for years to come (clearly some people had lost the run of themselves!) The documentary showed the Tyrone U-16s having regular sessions with sports psychologists, which struck me as quite unusual and I cant imagine many county U-16 teams would have such sessions. Do any Tyrone posters know if their underage squads still have regular sessions with sports psychologists and if sledging to get a psychological edge is part of that training?

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 05/05/2015 11:53:44    1720312

Tyrone are a hardworking group with very few stars - when a team holds their defensive shape then their forwards look really average..the only two standouts are McShane and Bradley- will be interesting to see them get game time in Champo.

Tad unfair considering Tyrone's number 11 Mark Kavanagh was probably Tyrone's best player on the day.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 05/05/2015 12:06:22    1720320

Well done Tyrone

That's a fantastic achievement for Tyrone moving forward

Tyrone are screaming out for forwards at the minute... with their organisation, tactics and commitment seen in the current senior squad

If they had a couple more naturally gifted forwards they'd be very close to winning Sam again with the current team IMO

Any U-21's looking good to make that step up Tyrone lads?

At the minute Cathal McShane, Mark Bradley and Rory Breenan are in the panel. I would like to see Cathal McShane starting against Donegal. Others that hopefully can follow through would be Padraig Hampsey, Kieran McGeary, Mark Kavanagh, Lee Breenan and Dan McNulty. I think this u21 panel is what we have been looking out for in recent years. Now is the time to act and help these players progress through before its too late.

tir_eoghain_abu (Tyrone) - Posts: 773 - 05/05/2015 12:15:01    1720326

That Cathal Mcshane is a beast of a man. Def already has the physique to go against senior inter county men.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 05/05/2015 12:27:12    1720330

Hard luck to Tipp I thought they deserved to win and played the better football.
I don't know why everyone is complaining about tyrones 'tactics' as everyone knows they have been acting this way for years. However it must be tough when you experience it for the first time. Tyrone management and fans denying their behaviour rubs salt into tipps wounds but its hard to expect them to say otherwise.
Tipp are building strongly and hopefully they can push on in the years ahead.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 05/05/2015 12:32:07    1720331

lol Some crazy points above. What are you on about a documentary showing us bringing Sport Pychologists to under 16's. That doesn't happen and never has. Even if it was the case what exactly would be the problem with that? Nobody is taught to ledge. Boys given each other a bit of abuse always happens and happended on Saturday night from both sides.

As for the Cork man, I was over the moon with the way our boys played. Granted they are no angels but show me a successful team who are. Tipp gave as good back and fouled to break up tyrones attacks on countless occasions.

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 05/05/2015 12:41:28    1720342

Tyrone played the conditions and the referee better than Tipp and at the end of the day that's all that matters. They were cynical but I think a realisation that they were playing a bigger and more competent group of footballers naturally led them to this. They were smarter and thus deserved their win. Tipp should have opened the dressing room

sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 05/05/2015 12:53:53    1720350

somebody is telling lies on here. either there was a lot of really bad sledging going on by Tyrone or there wasn't. How come the Tipperrary Fans seen/heard it yet the Tyrone fans didn't. Is there no one who can actually be objective about their own county. I mean it's impossible to know what to believe. I couldn't see any difference in the physical approach to the game between the two teams. they were both tough tackling and I really couldn't say that one was worse or better than the other. I couldn't really see on TV what was going on at the end of the game . Is there a neutral or an objective fan from either county who can tell me the facts about what happened in those last couple of minutes in near the Tyrone Goal. As regards the barring of Fergal Logan from the Tipp dressing room. well the Tipp players must have been really angry . these boys are experienced players and have competed at the highest level in grades up to under-21 so it must have been something different that they hadn't come across previously to warrant such a decision. i have been in plenty of winning and losing dressing rooms and always the opposing manager is allowed in and respected regardless of what went on in the field of play.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 05/05/2015 13:01:31    1720355