U21 Final

Sledging is a cowards tool in my opinion. I know of a minor player a few years back that got an awful going over with comments about his family being made. Says alot about the type of person you are if you have to resort to that sort of stuff.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 04/05/2015 13:13:41    1720133

Well said therealtmo, this kind of thing is disgusting to watch and I would agree the Tipperary players should come out publicly and shame the players who where doing it. It is thuggish and there is no other word for it whether the player has an AI medal or not. I also think the Tipperary manager was right not allowing anyone into the their dressing to pretend that there was some respect when Tyrone cared only about winning and were quite happy to cheat to achieve this.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 04/05/2015 13:15:24    1720134

Sam do me a favour try being from Dublin, there was ten anti Dublin threads set up after we won the national league and every time we win a game at any level they want our county split in two so please give over your northern bs no one cares , also Tipp not letting the Tyrone manager into there dressing room is a disgrace/embarrassment/joke shame on them once the game is over shake hands and get over it ffs. Again well done Tyrone great win hard look luck Tipp but honestly everyone needs to chill cause next week everyone will have forgotten all about this game and in the larger scheme of things no one really cares after a few more weeks trust me we've won 3 in the last 5 years and it's nice to win but it's very quickly forgotten.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/05/2015 13:20:11    1720135

Louth Gael
County: Louth

1720134 Well said therealtmo, this kind of thing is disgusting to watch and I would agree the Tipperary players should come out publicly and shame the players who where doing it. It is thuggish and there is no other word for it whether the player has an AI medal or not. I also think the Tipperary manager was right not allowing anyone into the their dressing to pretend that there was some respect when Tyrone cared only about winning and were quite happy to cheat to achieve this.

Now that's mighty big talk there lad, I suggest you back up this accusation of cheating with the facts?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 04/05/2015 13:24:15    1720136

Louth Gael
County: Louth

1720134 Well said therealtmo, this kind of thing is disgusting to watch and I would agree the Tipperary players should come out publicly and shame the players who where doing it. It is thuggish and there is no other word for it whether the player has an AI medal or not. I also think the Tipperary manager was right not allowing anyone into the their dressing to pretend that there was some respect when Tyrone cared only about winning and were quite happy to cheat to achieve this.

First it was cynacism then we were quite happy to cheat.

Maybe we should have just stayed at home on Saturday night and not even bothered contesting the final.

tir_eoghain_abu (Tyrone) - Posts: 773 - 04/05/2015 13:41:38    1720140

First of all id like to say Tipp were wrong to refuse Logans entry to their dressing room as its the done thing.Secondly i think its a silly tradition that should be got rid of.Im surprised this type of incident hasnt happened more often.Personally,the last person id like to see after losing an All Ireland,or any game for that matter,is a member of the opposition,be it player,county board official or manager.I mean,what can he say that would be of any consolation.I know of no other sport where this happens.What exactly is its purpose?We know all teams respect each other.A team should be allowed grieve without having to listen to phoney words of pity or whatever else is said post game.Take Tipp hurlers for instance.Theyve lost 6 finals to Kilkenny over last 6 years.What exactly does Brian Cody say in a devestated Tipp dressing room.Im not even sure he does go in.I presume he does as its the norm.What can he say the 6th time tat he hasnt on the 1st visit?Do the Tipp lads really need to see or hear him when emotions are so raw?There really is no need.Just because its "tradition"doesnt mean its right.Id scrap it for good.A needless exercise.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/05/2015 13:45:24    1720142

tir_eoghain_abu

Don't pay any attention to the haters on here, at the end of the day the majority if posters on here are anti-Tyrone and anti-Ulster.
They do not want any team from the six counties to be winning all Ireland silverware. You can argue with them until your blue in the face but they will always try to diminish any Ulster and specifically any Tyrone achievement. Every man and his dog wanted Tipp to win, so don't worry about it. The best thing we can do is just to keep competing at the highest level, keep being professional and continue to rock the boat.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 04/05/2015 13:58:45    1720143

It is bad form that the Tyrone manager wasn't let into the dressing room and reflects badly on us but it makes the message clear that if you are happy to win like that you are not going to make any friends along the way. The other thing is I'd be worried that someone would have lost the cool and hit him. As bad as not letting him in was it would have been terrible if that had happened. Blood was high so they were better off batting down the hatches. It easy for the neutrals to criticise our manager but if you saw what I saw in Parnell park you might think differently,

I'd like to point out I am not anti the Ulster teams. From what I can make out Tyrone aren't exactly the most popular team in their own province. I never understood why, before Saturday that is.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 04/05/2015 14:25:36    1720150

Killarney.87
County: Tipperary

A wee tip for you, not sure if you heard it before

"NICE BOYS DONT WIN FOOTBALL MATCHES"

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 04/05/2015 15:16:10    1720158

Stupid post that.Tipp were no nicer than Tyrone.Just as tough,strong and skillfull.Tyrones goal came at a great time,and Tipp missed a few handy frees at crucial times in 2nd half.Was very little in it.On another day Tipp would have shaded it.It was that close.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/05/2015 15:48:33    1720164

Clondalkin
We want Dubs split in 4 not 2 ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/05/2015 16:13:14    1720168

cacsmckilly

Killarney.87

A wee tip for you, not sure if you heard it before

"NICE BOYS DONT WIN FOOTBALL MATCHES"

Childish comment. grow up .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/05/2015 16:19:29    1720170

Killarney.87

Laughing at the comments of the Tyrone fans here, absolutely hilarious, not an ounce of shame. If you win at all costs in a disgusting manner and I don't mean defensive style of play, I could live with that. How dare you question Declan Browne or Lar Corbett's integrity.
----------------------------
This is typical of the nonsense that is being written on this thread.Tyrone won unfairly and so and so said it so it must be true.Before this game it was being said that Tipperary lads were bigger and stronger so would be more able to "stamp" their authority on the game.So what happened here lads?Was it only against Cathal Mc Shane that they were able to do this,and on numerous occasions.I saw Tipp give as good as they got out there and they were the physically bigger side so any talk of being bullied or intimidated on the field is really not an excuse here.Didn't think it was a "rough" game in an overall sense,the accusations of cynicism against this Tyrone side are complete nonsense.I was frustrated in the second half that the Tyrone lads conceded frees,that were scored by Tipp,from such scrabble positions.It was a sloppy defending and it kept Tipp in the game.If it was an exercise in cynicism then they have a lot more to learn.Maybe they need to watch the Kerry seniors do it properly lol.I think that this is the first all Ireland final were I have heard that opposition sledging was also a contributing factor in a defeat.If thats the case then stick to the hurling lads cos I guess ye just smash each other with sticks in that game and its ok.
The truth here is that the upstarts from Tyrone,who weren't meant to win Ulster,or the semi,were meant to lose to this Tipp dream team and it didn't pan out that way and we know thats the truth.Tyrone stopped the fairytale from becoming.The whole country were behind Tipp for this game,well definitely the majority,and then they were sore in defeat.Its a disgrace though in fairness the way some have carried on,on this forum too.The siege mentality we're accused of is well and intact and will continue to flourish as dressing room doors get slammed in our faces :)

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 04/05/2015 16:42:11    1720174

Jaysus lads - have some of you only got involved in the GAA recently? 'Sledging' has been part of our games for all my life and no doubt back to day 1 in some shape or form. Individuals and in some cases teams will use psychological tricks to try and get an advantage on the field - it happens in loads of sports. Does it make it right? Who's to say. Plenty of people are hellbent against it and others accept its going to happen and don't get bogged down by it. What was disappointing to hear was how Tipp dealt with it in the changing rooms after. I have had plenty said in my ears during a game or had words exchanged while on the sideline managing but you always shake your opponents hand after or go to the opposition changing rooms after a championship game regardless.

As someone else pointed out, it looks like just another opportunity to put the boot in to particular teams which is a shame.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 04/05/2015 17:27:30    1720181

Read Declan Brownes tweets..I wrote he was revered throughout with his tweets reflecting that. Is that so difficult to comprehend? Lar Corbett's contrast sharply, he would be less revered...certainly in football circles.

Your systematic targeting of Cathal McShane (Uncensured) reflect your own cynicism ...even on scoring the goal he was nailed late having shaken off O'Brien kick and double stamp. In laying off a point to Mark Cavanagh he got done again late and the beautiful catch of O'Riordan's ...O'Brien cleared him out of the way first. A mistimed shoulder on him was unpunished while he was punished for a similar charge.

Feargal Logan was refused entry more than once to the Tipp dressing room...classy...but you'll learn..Tyrone are used to winning and losing...never like Tipp though

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 04/05/2015 18:46:49    1720191

I have to laugh at some of the crying going on about Tyrone's Fantastic U21 All-Ireland win. Seriously have these people ever played or watched Gaelic Football. Did any players from either team get broken jaws, did any players get broken noses, did any players have to be taken off because of blood injury's NO. I thought both teams put on a great game of Football considering the conditions. I see the Term "if they are happy to win like that" come up on this discussion board and others, what does this mean are Tyrone supporters happy that their team outscored the opposition, scoring more from play than their opponents, then the answer is YES. Tir'Eoghain Abu'.

TyroneUltra (Tyrone) - Posts: 307 - 04/05/2015 19:24:34    1720201

O'Brien shouldn't have stamped on your player, it was out of frustration after a cynical foul but he shouldn't have done it and was lucky to avoid a red card. McShane got cleaned out by a genuine tackle trying to stop him scoring the goal. I watched it back two or three times, he got clattered in the follow through of a last gasp effort to stop a goal. There was nothing cynical or dirty about that tackle. O'Riordan was the most fouled player on the field.

Anyway this argument is pointless because we are not going to agree on much here. Logan should have been let into the dressing room, the Tipp manager wasn't in the dressing room at the time but he spoke to him on the pitch after the match and wished him well. It's easy judge but those players were ripping after the match in the dressing room.

You are right it's a great achievement for Tyrone to win because they weren't fancied to win Ulster or beat Roscommon so fair play to them.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 04/05/2015 20:07:34    1720212

Was expecting a cracker of a match the last day.
But the conditions were awful but it ended up being tense and exciting even if the overall standard was poor.

Poor refereeing performance in my opinion. Tyrone and Tipp both got some very handy frees so in my opinion no team was of more benefit from his decisions. His failure to throw up the ball after the Tyrone corner back retaliated was just very bad but..who is top say Tipp would have equalised.

But in fairness I think Tyrone deserved the win. I was hoping Tipp would have won as it would have done wonders for the county with football. But I thought overall Tyrone were more physical and able to handle the conditions better. The Tyrone sub no 15 had a storming last 10 minutes. It was little things like over turning ball, winning frees and his overall play which I thought was the winning of the match.
Also Tipp may complain about the cynicism of Tyrone and yes there was but really the wining and losing of this game came down to their free taking. He looked like he was going to be the hero kicking some monster frees but also missed some very important frees.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 04/05/2015 20:22:52    1720214

My last post was very tongue in cheek , but the irony is that to this day of all the counties that played Meath during 80s 90s 00s only 3 ever whinged about it and one of those was Tyrone along with mayo and to a lesser extent Roscommon, the teams who had really hard games with Meath most notably dubs and cork never ever whinged and what went on against both them counties makes what happened in the other 3 look like wanderly wagon.
Now the other counties like Derry Down Galway Kerry etc just gave as good as they got shook hands at end and moved on, oh but not our friends from Tyrone or mayo, nope they still whinging, i know that plenty of dubs and Meath lads became firm friends even after they took lumps out of each other, i don't think its a siege mentality its more a inferiority complex that exists.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/05/2015 20:29:08    1720217

Grow up an take your beating Tyrone played with skill and determination enough to win and if they had got half the wides as scores in first half Tipp would have been dead and buried. Tyrone won playing badly live with it .

cjx (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 04/05/2015 20:40:43    1720220