U21 Final

Condolences to the family of the poor man that died. Some things are much more important than football.

In general I thought both teams were very evenly matched and a draw may have been the fairest result. The difference was that Tyrone took one of the goal chances they created. Tipp didn't get any goal chances. Were Tyrone cynical at the end? Maybe, maybe not. We were desperately trying to defend a lead and the players were throwing themselves into tackles. Would have expected better from the Tipp manager. If Tipp had won would he have complained about the Tipp players constantly blocking off the runs of Tyrone's players going for kick outs or stopping Tyrones quick free kicks? There is always cynical play in Gaelic football. Take a look at Dublin in the last 10 minutes of the all Ireland in 2013 or Kerry against Mayo last year. To try and make out that Tyrone are any worse than Kerry, Dublin etc is pure rubbish.

Tyrone have done well out of U21 teams in the past that have won all Ireland's. There are maybe 8 or 9 lads with the potential for senior football and if you get 5 out of that then you have done very well. As for Tipp it would be great to see then making the breakthrough and becoming a force in Munster.

Well done lads.

MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 03/05/2015 20:53:52    1720042

Congratulations to Tyrone but the amount of whinging going on here from their supporters is something else. You won lads. You should be happy about being back on top at this level. Winners will always have to take flack when they win by the minimum. We Dubs get it regardless. I only saw the first half myself but thought Tipp were very strong in that first 30 and was surprised later to see that they hadn't kicked on. Hard luck to the Premier lads. They'll be back for sure and hopefully translate their efforts to senior.

On a much more important notes sincerest condolences to the family of the gentleman who passed away. Sport is sport but you health is your wealth.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/05/2015 21:29:48    1720057

All I will say is no player should have to put up with an hour of verbal abuse, yesterday match was sportsmanship at its worst. I just hope that a comment made to a player on the field will get out and show up how sick and twisted that player has to be to make should comment.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 03/05/2015 21:46:26    1720062

As a neutral I enjoyed the game but have to say I'ld be worried about the future of Gaelic Football considering the amount of cynicism that was on display from both sides but mainly Tyrone.The Tipp lad O Riordan was the best player on the pitch.
Finally to the Offaly lad whining About TG4 get a grip lad and learn a little of your native tongue.My Irish isn't great but I can follow the commentary and find my Irish has improved a bit from watching TG4.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 04/05/2015 09:56:15    1720075

Tyrone won. Again, moaning about cynicism is irrelevant. Referees have to be made accountable.

But in Tyrones defence, Tipp were ultra cynical against the Dubs in Tullamore. Ref gave them every decision. Mind you, Dublin were poor, but the ref didnt do us any favours.

Didnt hear the Tipp manager giving out about the ref that day.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 04/05/2015 10:30:37    1720076

What short memories! Just last September we had Tipp supporters applauding the ref for the drawn hurling final off the pitch at the final whistle! Never saw the likes before. mind you they had every right to be pleased as the ref had clearly done their team quite a few favours during the game. In fact if you wanted proof just look at the outcome the following day when Kilkenny were treated fairly and the best team won.

No applauding the ref off in Parnell Park!

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 04/05/2015 10:46:27    1720078

The Tipp manager has let himself down, denying Logan the chance to enter the dressing room, and with his comments after the game. Tipp were far from angels on Saturday night, with their systematic targeting of Cathal McShane. Our star man was pushed in the back on every checkout he contested and, when they were failed to slow him down, he was stamped and dropped on.

It was a very tough, physical game played in difficult conditions. The first half was a bit lukewarm, but the 2nd half was a real war of attrition, tension heightened no doubt by the long delay. There was virtually nothing between the sides, and I'm sure that Tipp seniors will continue to improve in the coming years with many of those lads to the fore.

I'm delighted to the Tyrone lads. We've had much more vaunted U21 sides flop in recent seasons, but these boys were extremely well-prepared, hungry and with plenty of pace and skill going forward. Tyrone are a tough prospect in any AI final - in the last 25 seasons, we've contested 17 AI football finals, winning 13 of them - but this one was great as it really was so unexpected 4-5 weeks ago.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 04/05/2015 10:51:17    1720080

To be fair lads there is only one team in the land that can actually win an All-Ireland football final at the moment and play bloody good football and I hate to say it but it's the 'durty dubs'.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 04/05/2015 11:08:09    1720083

Declan Browne would be revered throughout Ireland. His tweets on the game reflect that and sum up how Tipp or Kerry North should respond to the undoubted disappointment felt.
Lar Corbett's tweets reflect that of Jose Mourinho and his relish at shaking the Queens hand

As for the referee...he did everything he possibly could to 'even up' the game after the Tyrone goal...can't understand why they feel the need to intervene as such.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 04/05/2015 11:14:07    1720086

Sledging is a problem I feel and no county has been accused of it more than Tyrone. On the recent Laochra Gael show it wasnt great to see a manager saying that he never told a player to go out and sledge whilst smirking. If the manager wanted the sledging stopped it would have been stopped. We are all delighted to see new teams win an AI especially Northern teams. Any one who knows the history of this country knows that the boys up north had to work harder than the rest of us to keep the games alive. Time now though to lose this reputation of sledging it has no part n the game and I would urge officials to start issung cards for such abuse as it does bring the game into disrepute

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 04/05/2015 11:15:55    1720090

Try and stick to the facts westisbest.I was at last years hurling final,like i nearly always am.The Tipp fans were applauding their team off the pitch at the final whistle.And why wouldnt they after putting up such a huge score in a game for the ages.Taking Kilkenny for 1-28,with the vast majority from open play.Nothing to do with any ref.Maybe sometime if Galway turn up for a big game youll understand the emotion involved.You seem to have an anti Tipp bias on here.Still sore about Tony Keady are we?Let it slide pal.Times supposed to be a heeler.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/05/2015 11:22:20    1720094

Laughing at the comments of the Tyrone fans here, absolutely hilarious, not an ounce of shame. If you win at all costs in a disgusting manner and I don't mean defensive style of play, I could live with that. How dare you question Declan Browne or Lar Corbett's integrity.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 04/05/2015 11:29:18    1720096

Would unfortunately agree with nick. Unfortunately!!!!

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/05/2015 11:33:32    1720099

Killarney,i wouldnt be too worried over things said during the heat of battle.This has been going on since 1884.No big deal.Tyrone deserved their win.They were that bit cuter and streetwise.M

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/05/2015 11:41:28    1720101

Sledging at this match was disgraceful & is a problem right throughout all levels of GAA. There is now no standards or class left in gaelic football, it is now acceptable to stoop to the lowest level to win at all costs. What is sad to hear is that the Tipp manager feels that they have to now learn this cynicism, this is the acceptable face of gaelic football. I have heard sledging at club level ranging from racism, questioning peoples sexuality, references to what they would do to female relatives, mocking handicapped family members, even sledging over people who took their own lives, its sick. We will have the absolute brain dead fools come on now saying its part & parcel of the game, a mans game etc, your not much of a man if you descend to this level & its only part & parcel of the game if the Association allow it. The GAA know this is a problem but as with all disciplinary matters they haven't the balls to tackle this. Any wonder Gaelic football the game I loved is absolute sh#te to watch & even more so to play or coach now, people leaving in droves from the game.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 04/05/2015 11:55:33    1720109

Cuede you are right and I don't disagree. I'm just not going to bow down and kiss their feet either. It was a frustrating learning experience from a Tipp point of view.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 04/05/2015 12:23:02    1720118

All Ireland finals result in heartbreak and joy. When it is a one point game every detail is discussed in terms of how it could have changed the result. Like it or not EVERY All Ireland winning team have an element of tactics that are not pretty including the great loves Kerry and Dublin. Also things happen in games by jeez the 2009 All Ireland Senior final was decided by Murphy being completly taken out of the game at throw in. I think the GAA would struggle to stamp out sledging although it is a horrible part of the game. Look guys the GAA is a 4 province game and growing world wide. We need to stop the odvious, blatent Anti Ulster agenda, it is becoming scary. Nobody in the media will allow the same negative reporting that influences the GAA top brass when an non ulster team win an All Ireland. You know Ulster have every right to compete and win All Irelands. Time people realised that.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 04/05/2015 12:23:30    1720119

Sticks and stones,every county has lads who wind up players on the opposition. If its a collectivee thing by a county (ive seen nothing to suggest it is) its sad that the trainers feel the need to install this mentality into their players.
Bottom line it might upset an opponent ,but it wont put the ball over the bar.
Ye dont have to copy it, just ignore it and beat them with playing football.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/05/2015 12:29:45    1720120

Time to introduce the polka dot card to deal with sledging, surely we must be running out of colours of the visible spectrum at this stage.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 04/05/2015 12:29:55    1720121

Have to say I'm disappointed to hear that the Tyrone manager wasn't let in to the Tipperary dressing room after the match.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 04/05/2015 12:47:23    1720125