U21 Final

Agree with uibh phalia and the chap from Clare,
Both absolutely correct.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/05/2015 15:09:55    1719916

uibhfhaili1986
County: Offaly

Blaming everyone else for your ineptitude. A lot more people than you think could understand what was going on yesterday.

Also the main issue is that you just jumped to completely the wrong conclusion, after half watching the TV, that Tyrone were somehow "acting the maggot". There was no reason in the world to jump to that conclusion. Perhaps if you had have atually bothered to properly listen to those on the TV you may hae been able to work out what was happening instead of almost instantly having a go at the Tyrone team.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 03/05/2015 15:12:34    1719917

Very sorry to hear about the spectator who passed away last night, condolences to his family.

I actually only tuned in at the start of the 2nd half (didn't realize it was on gaago), so I missed the half time delay. Did the commentators refer to what was going on in the stands at all (as Gaeilge)? If they weren't mentioning what was going on anyway, it wouldn't make a difference what language was being spoken. I'd assume if they did mention what was actually going on, most people who even have a smattering of Irish could cobble together that there might be something more serious going on (change of tone, even the Irish for doctor is dochtúir, hardly a leap)

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 03/05/2015 15:15:15    1719918

Often when a TV channel is having technical difficulties they very quickly put up a message explaining to their viewers what the problem is irrespective of whether its a live broadcast or pre recorded one. I think it would have been very simple for TG4 to have done something similar yesterday.

RIP to the supporter who died yesterday, my thoughts are with his family at least time. also I wish the other supporter a speedy recovery.

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 03/05/2015 15:19:06    1719920

Marlon_JD
County: Tipperary

Very sorry to hear about the spectator who passed away last night, condolences to his family.

I actually only tuned in at the start of the 2nd half (didn't realize it was on gaago), so I missed the half time delay. Did the commentators refer to what was going on in the stands at all (as Gaeilge)? If they weren't mentioning what was going on anyway, it wouldn't make a difference what language was being spoken. I'd assume if they did mention what was actually going on, most people who even have a smattering of Irish could cobble together that there might be something more serious going on (change of tone, even the Irish for doctor is dochtúir, hardly a leap)

That's exactly what happened. My nine year old told me about the delay as I was out in the kitchen. She managed to figure it out faily easily, as did I the numerous times they repeated the reason for the delay, as well that they had it written at the bottom of the screen also.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 03/05/2015 15:47:40    1719925

FFS would ye give a rest about your lack of Irish language skills, nobody cares. Did ye ever hear of the internet? I had an oul fella in his 70s from Tipp beside me watching Toulon vs Clermont on the Sky Go App at half time and everyone around us knew about the reasons for the delay by getting a phone and looking it up on the internet and we were over at the other side of the ground.

Your bruised egos seem more important than the fact a poor man died of a heart attack. Fair play to the Tyrone doctor for saving a second person's life. Hang your heads in shame anyone who is blaming TG4, baffling and ignorant comments.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 03/05/2015 15:56:27    1719929

Incidentally but definitely on thread...Are Tyrone responsible for the fixture movement from Navan and the lamentable floodlight failure?

Parnell Parks facilities were excellent, cover on all sides and the pitch held up incredibly to the atrocious conditions
Only quibble was the PA system which was inaudible ...Collins Avenue is a handling gettin down and out...No Guards expediting traffic flow

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 03/05/2015 16:16:38    1719935

RIP to the spectator who passed away yesterday, really makes the result take a back-seat. Especially sad as the game had been moved from Pairc Tailteann, a ground that is situated next door to a hospital. Ar dheis dé go raibh a h-anam dílis.

5thProvince (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 03/05/2015 17:39:49    1719971

Shocking display of refereeing at the end denying Tipp a chance to pluck the ball out of the sky and tap over a handy point. Some of the Tyrone tackling was quite frankly embarrassing , cynical stuff all over the field. ( and don't get me started on the Red Hands on this thread). Would have loved to see Tipp win as football has really blossomed in the Premier over the last couple of years. RIP to the Tipp supporter in the stand also, a tragic sub-plot to what was a well-contested game.

mclovin96 (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 03/05/2015 17:39:51    1719972

Brend
I'm sorry but I can't celebrate ye'r all Ireland win and it not coz ye are Tyrone and ye beat us 3 times in the naughties but because of the style of football ye'r boys were playing. Now I watched ye play the rossies and I said nothing because I said if give ye the benefit of the doubt but what I saw yesterday against tipp was worse if that is possible , I'm not trying to be insulting but I think we all got a look at the next level of puke football and it's not pretty, only 1 team tried to play football yesterday and unfortunately they lost, and not because Tyrone were better but because tipp tried to play football the right way and unfortunately teams have to try and get down in the gutter and play a blanket to beat the blanket. But it's sad that this style of football looks set to stay unless the GAA can do something about it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/05/2015 18:02:53    1719977

Watching the game live i can pick up on a few Irish words such as - cul,culin,saor puc,foreaoil,lar na pairce,san aor,fear laidre,go tapaigh etc.Obviously the players names are handy.Seo Sport is good with the subtitles.However when the GAA Beo lads do their pre game,halftime and post game analysis i never listen as i really dont get it.Yesterday i turned off at half time as usual,but knew something was up when turned back for the start of second half.I thought it was the weather and flicked over to UTD game.I Kept checking to see was game back on but didnt think too much of the reason.Im out of school now over 20 years so the few words as gaeilge i had are but a fading memory.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 03/05/2015 18:14:29    1719983

Incredible amount of whining on twitter yesterday, jaysus it's a bit over-the-top.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 03/05/2015 18:58:37    1720000

Mes,by the sounds of things,your 9 year old daughter could earn a small fortune,giving Irish grinds to us tone deaf non gaelgoirs(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 03/05/2015 19:10:44    1720008

It was a game where both sides deserved another chance. Tipp missed 2 handy frees that they would have scored 99 times out of 100. I feel desperately sorry for the Tipp lads but that's the nature of Sport. So well done and congratulations to the noble County of Tyrone.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 03/05/2015 19:16:17    1720010

The Tipp manager has had a go at tyrons style of play.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 03/05/2015 19:25:57    1720015

Oh no, those Nordie b******s are coming again. Good to see the usual Free State knives are out for Tyrone again, we must be doing something right!

I'd worry about the future of Tipp football if that's the best the Tipp manager can do by way of objective post-match 'analysis'. He seems a wee bit unhinged. Instead of crying, he should have been apologising to the ref for failing to get a result yesterday, given the amount of work that the ref did to throw the game for Tipp - Tipp soft free followed Tipp soft free, and, no doubt to the whistler's annoyance, Tipp kept missing half of them. Even when the ref tacked on a silly amount of extra time and gave them some more soft frees, they still couldn't take advantage.

In future, how about in future all non-Ulster teams are awarded 5 points on the board before the game starts? That seems to be about how much refs feel they have in their back pocket to award to their pet teams anyway.

I was at the match and several things stood out for me:

- Tyrone's succession of bad misses from play
- Tipp's bad misses from 'frees'
- The incident at the end which could have been a hop ball
- The rubbish tannoy which was unintelligible (in any language)
- the limited and chaotic parking - Navan would have been far better
- the ref's awarding of a succession of pathetic frees to Tipp to keep them in the game.
- the amount of injury time played to facilitate the above
- once, immediately after awarding another dodgy free to Tipp, a Tyrone attack was neutralised by a drag back and a subsequent neck high challenge from two Tipp lads - no free, no advantage …
- Tipp lads' ability to win frees by diving and, on one occasion, dragging the Tyrone marker down on top of them and getting him carded by basically cheating - I was about 20 yards away in line with the play and I have to say it was well done, but a bit rich coming from a team whose steamed-up manager is now riding a moral high horse, albeit one that seems to have been blinded in one, if not both, eyes; judging from the self-pitying, selective claptrap he's coming out with now.

The conditions were dreadful and you could have made a case for the match being called off. That said, what little flowing football that was played in the second half was played by Tyrone and, especially after the goal, other than being handed dodgy frees, a couple of which they converted excellently, Tipp had little enough to offer - like Roscommon, big, brave and strong but a bit lacking in the finishing department.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 03/05/2015 19:36:01    1720020

essmac - If you worry about the future of Tipp football because the manager was crying after the final whistle then I'd be largely worried about future of Tyrone football giving the managers reaction after the semi-final success to Roscommon.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 03/05/2015 19:46:36    1720025

I'm not sure too many actually watched the game...I was there and watched it when I eventually got home. We kept Lee Brennan and Mark Bradley in the full forward line only withdrawing periodically Danny McNulty. The half forward line dropped back depending on the length of the kick outs with Conor Meyler superbly tidying up but ..."Northern style" "Tyrone's style" ...wake up

The foul count in the first half was heavily on Tyrone...we'd 10 wides and dropped numerous short, had the majority of the possession, missed 2 goal chances

Nuts...crazy stuff ...they just don't like to see Tyrone winning ...but we will be back again regardless

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 03/05/2015 20:44:15    1720038

Dont think anyone should be surprised by Tyrones antics on or off the field. It seems to be part of their make up and is applauded by most of their fans. An earlier poster referred to supporters cheering when an eye gouging incident was referred to. Karl Lacey was spat at by a tyrone fan in Omagh and the Co board did not name the individual, was he ever punished?. A lot of tyrone fans would not condemn him. In this years Ulster u21 final former all ire winning captain Brian Dooher ran on the field and elbowed Donegals youngest and smallest player as he was looking in the other direction. I wonder would he have done this if there were tv cameras present or if the Donegal player was Neil McGee. Tyrone class.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 422 - 03/05/2015 20:47:48    1720039

given the amount of work that the ref did to throw the game for Tipp - Tipp soft free followed Tipp soft free, and, no doubt to the whistler's annoyance, Tipp kept missing half of them.

It was a pretty obvious aspect of the second half but has gone unmentioned because it doesn't fit with the 'Tyrone are terrible' narrative.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 03/05/2015 20:51:17    1720040