U21 Final

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

Louth Gael
Louth

03/05/2015
11:48

Tyrone U21s unsporting behaviour.

Went to the match yesterday as a neutral but by the end I was shouting for Tipperary after witnessing the behaviour of some of the Tyrone players. A couple of the Tyrone players spent the match verbally abusing their opponents, while it is not completely uncommon for players to part take in verbals this was different as the Tipperary players had no interest and wanted only to play the game. On a few occasions I saw Tipperary players try to walk away from the abuse only to be pulled back or for the Tyrone player to run in front of them again and continue. This was in your face foreheads touching bully boy stuff. I don't believe players should have to put up with these sort of actions for a whole game while the linesman watches but never alerts the referee. It really was sickening to watch.

One of these players involved then switched his tactics as the game ran into injury time. It was his job to make sure there would be no football played for the 4 minutes of added time and he knew exactly what to do. First he threw away his own keepers tee as he prepared for a kick out, the next time he kicked away the ball on his own keeper and then once again he threw away the tee. All of this did earn him two yellow cards but his work was done at this stage and the final whistle was about to be blown. If the keeper had delayed himself if would have been a hop ball on each occasion but instead the referee gave out the superficial punishment while the clocked ticked down and deprived Tipperary of their chance to level the game.

I know many people will say winning is everything but to be honest I think Tipperary fans have a lot more reason to be proud of their players today than Tyrone fans do.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 03/05/2015 12:02:42    1719868

MesAmis

uibhfhaili1986
County: Offaly

I've hard time understanding how you jumped to the conclusion that Tyrone 'were acting the maggot' to be honest.

You're own ineptitude, despite 13 years of schooling, of understanding cúpla focail (a couple of words) as Gaeilge (in Irish) is neither here no there to be honest.

You're blaming TG4 for your mistake.

You mean the Irish education system's ineptitude.I got a C in honours Irish in the leaving cert which is more than the majority of people in my year and I can barely understand it.If you study a language for 13 years, get C in the leaving cert and still and can't speak it you really should be looking at the education system rather than the students.Its an incredibly badly taught language as they teach it like the English course is done (which is 99% of the populations primary language) if it was taught properly more people would be able to speak and understand the language.

I jumped to my conclusion about Tyrone because Tipp returned to the field and there was no sign of the grounds men trying to fix the field so that ruled out the weather as cause so it was fairly reasonable to assume Tyrone were playing some mind games which many teams have done in the past.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 03/05/2015 12:04:29    1719870

Maroonatic

uibhfhaili1986 get over yerself lad. TG4 is an Irish language station. That's it's remit. Bet you're one of those guys who slows down on the side opposite of a traffic accident just so's you can know what's going on.

They manage to provide English subtitles on a lot of their programmes so they could easily have done something similar last night.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 03/05/2015 12:05:43    1719872

Any views Louth Gael on the targeting of McShane and attempt to take him out of the game with a stamp, or had you this post scripted before the match threw in?

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 03/05/2015 12:09:06    1719873

uibhfhaili1986

Blaming bad teachers, and a bad system is too easy a cop out for our own ineptitude I'm afraid.

If you studied a language for 13 years and still can't speak a word of it, questions should of course be asked of the system but a large portion of the blame lies with yourself. Harsh as that sounds it is true.

People are always looking to blame someone else rather than hold up their hands and take responsibility for their own failings. You're doing it right now in two instances. Blaming TG4 entirely for you jumping to the wrong conclusion and the Irish education system for your ineptitude at a subject you spent 13 years learning.

Trying to taking some responsibility. It isn't always someone else's fault.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 03/05/2015 12:20:07    1719874

watched it on internet, poor conditions, ref had a difficult assignment, unforced errors cost Tipp more. Congrats to the Red Hand. Subtitles are not for live events so time for some of you to learn "cupla focal" I prefer commentary in Irish and there will be very little of it during the championship sadly but at least we have TNG

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1672 - 03/05/2015 12:23:09    1719876

Uibh Fháilí
Of course you can put subtitles on pre recorded programmes. A different story altogether with live broadcasting.
You know what you're getting with GAA Beo - Clg as gaeilge. If you can't understand the irish commentary stick on the radio for English commentary and turn down the tv. Simples really.

Plasticman (Dublin) - Posts: 26 - 03/05/2015 12:24:42    1719877

The Roscommon linesman was very poor and gave decisions to Tyrone that were iffy. Can't blame Tyrone for winning, they did not ref. the match though. Congrats to them

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 03/05/2015 12:28:45    1719878

Benched why would you think I had this post scripted, why would I have a problem with Tyrone? Louth haven't played ye too much but when we did they were usually enjoyable matches except for the second half hammering you gave us in the qualifiers last year and I always enjoyed the craic with Tyrone fans but I think you should expect more from your U21 team, there are some great footballer on the team and they are being let down with this sort of thuggish behaviour of a few. I know it is often hard to see things clearly when your a fan of one side but you would have to be blind not to have noticed what going one yesterday.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 03/05/2015 12:32:40    1719880

I would like to congratulate Tyrone and say hard luck to Tipp.
Condolences to the family of the person who passed away also.

It would be better if you didn't have to post things a couple of times before the admin put them up.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/05/2015 12:34:04    1719881

Benched...the stamping incident you refer too was was of course disgraceful and should have been a red card but the ref turned his back once he blew the whistle for the free and didn't see the incident, this was not the reason for the Tyrone verbals however as they had started long before this incident.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 03/05/2015 12:37:22    1719882

Travelling to Parnell Park in incessant rain for an All Ireland final contrasting sharply with the sun at Markievitz park 2 weeks before there is nowhere I'd rather have been.
At half-time we had made more errors and poor decisions than the whole campaign to this point. I put it down to nerves.

What was really unnerving was watching from the standing stand at 2 medical emergencies and watching CPR being given for 25-30 minutes. It felt that there was no way the game could continue it was that serious. Eventually the ambulances arrived and the stretchers took the individuals away. The officials came out twice and the PA system was inaudible but you could tell it wasn't good. Today we learn a 76 year old man passed away...thoughts with his family. Wondered how the game could be restarted eventually the teams came out to warm up. The second half was seriously tense and made more so than it should've been.

Home late to read the comments posted on this thread blaming Tyrone for orchestrating the delay, refusing to play. Have to say the joy of winning, diminished by the tragedies watched helplessly.
Never been more ashamed to be a member of the GAA and an Irishman. Truly shameful stuff which inexplicably gets posted by the administrators. Bigotry on this forum has reached a new low. I never thought that possible.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 03/05/2015 12:41:50    1719883

There is a lot of things I could say about the match last night. But tragically some poor old man died and that puts it all into perspective. RIP, may he rest in peace.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 03/05/2015 12:53:52    1719886

rcarragh

1719817 frankbhoy77

I know this off-topic but I can't let that rant go unanswered.

That's probably the most pathetic post I've seen on hoganstand. I actually feel sorry for you.

I think you've given away a bit more about yourself than you're obvious dislike of the Irish language and the thing that gives you away is that you are not indifferent to Irish it's that you clearly have a problem with it. First though, do you not know anything about the GAA at all and its promotion of Irish and Gaelic culture in general. It's not just about football and hurling. Here's a link for you to get started:

http://www.gaa.ie/about-the-gaa/cultur-agus-gaeilge/

You probably won't understand it though.

Looks like you're supporting an organisation you have no real understanding of. What does that tell you?

You say:

Why should knowing Irish be part of what we are????

But I never said this at all, I said:

"your national language, should be part of what you are"

It's a reasonable statement for any person who isn't ashamed of themselves and their country.

Maybe you should stick to the soccer as I guess from you name you're a celtic supporter. But then so am I and I'd seriously doubt you really know anything about the club either and its non-soccer related activities (including promotion of Irish culture).

Ginger hair, frcekles (sic), potatoes, irish dancing.

What are you on about?

I've never met an Irish language snob. Don't think they really exist other than in your head. What you are feeling is just embarrassment at not knowing the language. In reality historic forces outside our control FORCED many to lose it and your typical anit-Irish language rant is just your way of dealing with years of defeat and shame at having to lose part of your culture. Instead of making an effort to reclaim it many try to disown the language or in your case blame imaginary language snobs. I understand your bitterness but can't sympathise with how you deal with it. But it's your choice entirely.

My advice, learn a bit of Irish, take back some of what was taken from most of us, you'll feel better for it. There's a whole world of literature and culture there waiting for a small bit of effort.

Jesus man take a chill pill, did an english speaker steal your bird at some point or what? Not sure how my post was anti- Irish as I did pont out that I agree with the point of an irish language station. Also not sure where I blamed 'Irish language Snobs' for my lack of understanding of the language, simply mentioned that they do exist. There are lots of things that I do understand but I don't go on an online rant at people that do not understand those same things, hence the term snobs.
Embarrassed at not knowing Irish?? this is exactly what I am referring to, you seem to think that you are above those who don't know the language and belittle them and accuse them of embarrassment because of it.....catch a grip. I dropped Irish and studied German, and it along with French have been of much more benefit (in my opinion) to me during my life.

Finally, the part of your post in bold just does not make sense, maybe its a typo. And yes I enjoy soccer and support Celtic (4 in a row Champions) but please don't hold that against me or indeed judge me on it as you most certainly do not and will not ever know anything about me. But I suppose if your judging me your leaving someone else alone. :) :)

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 03/05/2015 13:20:28    1719891

MesAmis

uibhfhaili1986

Blaming bad teachers, and a bad system is too easy a cop out for our own ineptitude I'm afraid.

If you studied a language for 13 years and still can't speak a word of it, questions should of course be asked of the system but a large portion of the blame lies with yourself. Harsh as that sounds it is true.

People are always looking to blame someone else rather than hold up their hands and take responsibility for their own failings. You're doing it right now in two instances. Blaming TG4 entirely for you jumping to the wrong conclusion and the Irish education system for your ineptitude at a subject you spent 13 years learning.

Trying to taking some responsibility. It isn't always someone else's fault.

It may be true but the teaching of the language is appalling and the vast majority who come through the irish education system can't speak the language so I have a feeling the system is more to blame than the students.If I can get a C in a honours leaving cert exam and have very little knowledge of the language than it should indicate there is something wrong with the way it is taught.It is taught like Irish is a language spoken on a daily basis which is not true.It should be taught like a a completely foreign language is taught and conccentrate on getting people to be able to speak and write the language with 100% proficiency rather than having students analyse poetry and short stories in a language they can't read.

All I asked was a little common sense.All TG4 had to do was put a small notice on the bottom of the screen in English so the vast majority of the people watching the match could understand what was going on and not spend 30 minutes trying to guess what was happening.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 03/05/2015 13:38:28    1719894

RIP to the supporter who passed away condolences to his family.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 03/05/2015 13:59:10    1719897

Tyronetim

Travelling to Parnell Park in incessant rain for an All Ireland final contrasting sharply with the sun at Markievitz park 2 weeks before there is nowhere I'd rather have been.
At half-time we had made more errors and poor decisions than the whole campaign to this point. I put it down to nerves.

What was really unnerving was watching from the standing stand at 2 medical emergencies and watching CPR being given for 25-30 minutes. It felt that there was no way the game could continue it was that serious. Eventually the ambulances arrived and the stretchers took the individuals away. The officials came out twice and the PA system was inaudible but you could tell it wasn't good. Today we learn a 76 year old man passed away...thoughts with his family. Wondered how the game could be restarted eventually the teams came out to warm up. The second half was seriously tense and made more so than it should've been.

Home late to read the comments posted on this thread blaming Tyrone for orchestrating the delay, refusing to play. Have to say the joy of winning, diminished by the tragedies watched helplessly.
Never been more ashamed to be a member of the GAA and an Irishman. Truly shameful stuff which inexplicably gets posted by the administrators. Bigotry on this forum has reached a new low. I never thought that possible.

Complete nonsense in fairness.

Tipp were out on the field for ten minutes or so and Tyrone were still inside.Seeing as some people didn't actually know the reason for the delay there were only a couple things a lot of people would think to blame.

Weather delay which couldn't be the case as the field wasn't being tended to and Tipp were out on the field or Tyrone were doing what Armagh did to Laois all those years ago.

You really need to lose the chip on their shoulder on stop pathetically thinking that everything negative said about a team from the North is because they are form the north .If it was another county people would have jumped to the same conclusion.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 03/05/2015 14:08:22    1719900

I'm in Australia at the moment, uíbhfháilí1986, keep digging and you'll be coming up through the floor here soon enough...

Condolences to the family of the man who died yesterday, ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 03/05/2015 14:22:31    1719903

it was Armagh who used to come out late. I watched that match and there were somw very hard hits from both teams. the man of the match had several attempts made to take him out of it but to be fair to him he kept going until he could take no more. This frayed tempers throughout the field. Aparently it was the Tyrone medical personal who were involved in assisting the dying man and so the team had to wait till he returned to the dressing room to give treatment to a few injured before they could go back out. It would appear that lack of communication meant that Tipp wre out too early. feel sorry for tipp . Both teams deserved that title and Tipp have a brilliant team that will go far in Senior ranks.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 03/05/2015 14:43:09    1719908

uibh fhaili isnt diggging at all.hes dead right.on both topics.i was also watching it with a group of people and the feeling was it was tyrone who were acting the maggott.specially as the evening was so wet etc...then we thought it was floodlight malfunction or something.there was no indication of the unfolding tragedy in the stands.sympathy to the poor mans family....tyrone people wonder why a lot of gaa people dont like them. a lot of unsavoury stuff has happened over the years with tyrone..im not going to go into them here as they are too numerous to mention..one in particular stands out.one of the years that tyrone beat kerry during the victory dinner a lad was brought up to be interviewed on rte when marty morrissey asked him about an alleged gouging incident the crowd went into raptures of cheering..classy stuff ...it always stayed with me..and hes right over the teaching of irish i am the same as him,as are the vast majority of irsh people. i got my leaving.dont know a word of it except how ask to go to the toilet!! so its a failure of how to teach it not a failure of the pupils..

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 03/05/2015 14:51:30    1719912