U21 Final

How am I anti -Tipp!!!!!!

Read all my posts - in the NFL game this year I noted that the Tipp management were correct to criticse the referee, - he gave a very soft penalty to Armagh...

My point ( although tongue in cheek) is relevant, Parnell Park was not appropriate, Croke Park too big, but we have seen Thurles host many finals in the last few yrs ( especially involving northern teams

so why not a final in Newry or Armagh

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 02/05/2015 21:17:52    1719797

rcarragh

1719783 Congrats to Tyrone.

uibhfhaili1986
County: Offaly

Learn some Irish - it's your national language, should be part of what you are. Your username suggests you should know the basics.
TG4 - it's all about promoting the language. What's the point of using English if you are trying to promote Irish?

Why should knowing Irish be part of what we are???? Should we all have ginger hair, freckles, love potatoes and be able to irish dance also?? Catch a grip, speaking irish makes you no more irish than the next man. If TG4 is all about promoting the language then why is every programme and advert not in Irish?? And before you start I appreciate the need for an irish language station but despise the snobbery that comes with the 'Irish speaking' snobs who feel they have to condone those who don't speak it.

On the match I believe tyrone deserved it as they scored more freely from play whereas Tipp missed several scorable frees, albeit in terrible conditions. Well done tyrone and unlucky Tip.

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 02/05/2015 21:18:44    1719799

...as well as congratulating Tyrone, I forgot to commiserate with Tipp. The game was pretty tight the whole way and on another day it could have been different. But Tyrone are tough to beat and for the last 25 years they've been very successful at both underage and senior, so well done to them again.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 02/05/2015 21:21:02    1719800

MesAmis

1719785 uibhfhaili1986

A lot of people had no clue what was happening because they don't speak Irish.As TG4 refused to make an announcement in English to explain what was happening the only natural thing to assume was Tyrone were acting the maggot and delaying not coming out after half time. Unfortunately on this forum you cannot delete your posts so I wasn't able to remove my post like I did on other forums.

The only natural thing to assume was that Tyrone were acting the maggot?

Incredible man.

It was in know way the natural thing to assume.

My nine year old daughter figured it out from what the lads were saying on TG4. It was fairly obvious in fairness.
Because you see Mes amis, after a decade of misrepresentation in media circles and on forums like this one, the natural thing to do was 'assume that Tyrone were acting the maggot'. Looks like the media has done a grand job in the demonization of Tyrone GAA when a normally lucid poster like that comes out with that statement. I wonder what joys 2015 has to behold for Tyrone?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 02/05/2015 21:21:34    1719801

MesAmis

uibhfhaili1986

A lot of people had no clue what was happening because they don't speak Irish.As TG4 refused to make an announcement in English to explain what was happening the only natural thing to assume was Tyrone were acting the maggot and delaying not coming out after half time. Unfortunately on this forum you cannot delete your posts so I wasn't able to remove my post like I did on other forums.

The only natural thing to assume was that Tyrone were acting the maggot?

Incredible man.

It was in know way the natural thing to assume.

My nine year old daughter figured it out from what the lads were saying on TG4. It was fairly obvious in fairness.

One team is out on the field the other team isn't and leaves Tipp waiting (or so I thought).I would suggest that most people were unaware of what was happening if they were watching on TG4. A lot of others thought Tyrone were making them wait (which many teams have done in the past) as well and it was a perfectly normal thing to assume seeing as there was no explanation from TG4 in English, which is the language most of the viewers of the match understand.

Your 9 year old daughter does Irish every day in school so she should know more than me.I haven't spoke a word of Irish in years since I finished my leaving cert and I can only understand the language a bit if there are pictures to go along with what is being said (like the way I learnt to speak English).I only half watch the analysis on TG4 as I don't understand what is being said.It would have been very easy for them to announce something in English and put a notice in English at the bottom of the screen.

Are you suggesting I re learn Irish in order to be able to understand TG4 in case there is a medical emergency at other games as there is no other real reason to learn it anymore apart from as a hobby.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 02/05/2015 21:26:13    1719805

rcarragh

Congrats to Tyrone.

uibhfhaili1986

Learn some Irish - it's your national language, should be part of what you are. Your username suggests you should know the basics.
TG4 - it's all about promoting the language. What's the point of using English if you are trying to promote Irish?

They regularly have subtitles on their programmes and they interview players and managers before and after matches in English aswell. They should have used their heads and put a small notice on the bottom of the screen in English and has some respect for their viewers.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 02/05/2015 21:29:00    1719807

Hard luck Tipperery, probably deserved a draw.

You have some serious footballers, future looks very bright.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 02/05/2015 21:36:11    1719808

First of all congratulations to Fergal, his backroom team and all the players on becoming 2015 U21 All Ireland Champions. Hard luck to Tipperary. Colin O'Riordans 2 points were brilliant and definitely made it a tense finish. Cathal McShane deserved his man of the match. Having already played senior football this year, he could now have earned his starting place against Donegal in 2 weeks time after that performance.

tir_eoghain_abu (Tyrone) - Posts: 773 - 02/05/2015 21:46:57    1719810

Congrats to Tyrone, hard luck to Tipp , ref wasn't the best to either team in fairness.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/05/2015 22:00:23    1719812

RIP to the poor man who took I'll and subsequently passed away beside us at Parnell Park last night! So sad for his poor family! Puts all this argumentative drivel about football into perspective. Ar dheis De anam.

TYSAM14 (Tyrone) - Posts: 15 - 03/05/2015 08:16:47    1719815

So sorry to hear that person died at Parnell Park yesterday sorry for saying I was "disgusted" for missing the last 20 minutes of the game I don't understand Irish and just presumed it had something to do with the waterlogged pitch, again I'm sorry and RIP to the Gael that lost there life very sad.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/05/2015 08:34:02    1719816

frankbhoy77

I know this off-topic but I can't let that rant go unanswered.

That's probably the most pathetic post I've seen on hoganstand. I actually feel sorry for you.

I think you've given away a bit more about yourself than you're obvious dislike of the Irish language and the thing that gives you away is that you are not indifferent to Irish it's that you clearly have a problem with it. First though, do you not know anything about the GAA at all and its promotion of Irish and Gaelic culture in general. It's not just about football and hurling. Here's a link for you to get started:

http://www.gaa.ie/about-the-gaa/cultur-agus-gaeilge/

You probably won't understand it though.

Looks like you're supporting an organisation you have no real understanding of. What does that tell you?

You say:

Why should knowing Irish be part of what we are????

But I never said this at all, I said:

"your national language, should be part of what you are"

It's a reasonable statement for any person who isn't ashamed of themselves and their country.

Maybe you should stick to the soccer as I guess from you name you're a celtic supporter. But then so am I and I'd seriously doubt you really know anything about the club either and its non-soccer related activities (including promotion of Irish culture).

Ginger hair, frcekles (sic), potatoes, irish dancing.

What are you on about?

I've never met an Irish language snob. Don't think they really exist other than in your head. What you are feeling is just embarrassment at not knowing the language. In reality historic forces outside our control FORCED many to lose it and your typical anit-Irish language rant is just your way of dealing with years of defeat and shame at having to lose part of your culture. Instead of making an effort to reclaim it many try to disown the language or in your case blame imaginary language snobs. I understand your bitterness but can't sympathise with how you deal with it. But it's your choice entirely.

My advice, learn a bit of Irish, take back some of what was taken from most of us, you'll feel better for it. There's a whole world of literature and culture there waiting for a small bit of effort.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 03/05/2015 09:23:53    1719817

What I don't understand is why TG4 couldn't take a leaf out of Welsh TV's book. When showing rugby the default commentary is in Welsh but they allow people who want to hear the commentary in English do so by pressing the red button.

The technology is already there, the only cost would be one extra mic & a commentator.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/05/2015 10:09:35    1719824

uibhfhaili1986

So in your own words you half watched it and then jumped to the wrong conclusion.

But yeah it's TG4's fault for not telling you in English.

Seriously man.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 03/05/2015 10:28:23    1719830

MesAmis

uibhfhaili1986

So in your own words you half watched it and then jumped to the wrong conclusion.

But yeah it's TG4's fault for not telling you in English.

Seriously man.

I tuned in and saw Liam O'Lionan and the presenter talking couldn't make out what they were saying (they seemed to be in the main talking about the match as you'd expect) as I don't speak Irish and no announcement was made in English.My parents watched the whole of the half time and hadn't a clue what was happening as they don't understand Irish either.

You seem to have a hard time understanding that the vast majority of people in this country do not understand Irish and the vast majority of people watching the match yesterday do not understand Irish either.It was disrespectful of TG4 to their viewers as I am sure they are fully aware that the majority of their viewers are not Irish speakers and it would have been very easy to put a little note at the bottom of their screen in English to let the many people who were confused know what was happening.

It was bad form from TG4 to not let people know what was happening and they should have used a bit of common sense for once.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 03/05/2015 10:55:12    1719841

Ive no Irish either and i thought it must have been a weather delay at the time.Someone having a heart attack in the crowd didnt cross my mind.I wasnt glued to the half time comnentary though as there would be no point.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 03/05/2015 11:10:19    1719845

Well done Tyrone, hard luck Tipp - it could have gone either way.... but in reality very sad to hear of any death at a GAA ground....

Does anyone know from which county the individual was from? RIP

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 03/05/2015 11:13:53    1719848

If you don't understand well turn off the volume. R.I.P to that a poor person who died last night. There was also another incident last night but thankfully that person is ok. I was at a Louth and Limerick match down in Newbridge in 2006 for the Division two league semi-final and someone collapsed. An ambulance was called but he later died. Congrats to Tyrone and hard luck to Tipp.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 03/05/2015 11:31:51    1719855

uibhfhaili1986

I've hard time understanding how you jumped to the conclusion that Tyrone 'were acting the maggot' to be honest.

You're own ineptitude, despite 13 years of schooling, of understanding cúpla focail (a couple of words) as Gaeilge (in Irish) is neither here no there to be honest.

You're blaming TG4 for your mistake.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 03/05/2015 11:44:44    1719863

uibhfhaili1986 get over yerself lad. TG4 is an Irish language station. That's it's remit. Bet you're one of those guys who slows down on the side opposite of a traffic accident just so's you can know what's going on.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 03/05/2015 11:45:05    1719864