U21 Final

What was red at end for and how come no free as result?

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 02/05/2015 20:09:06    1719756

TYRONE U21 ALL IRELAND CHAMPIONS 2015

Congrats to the team and management, excellent hard fought win , take home the cup lads Whoo Hooo ......

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 02/05/2015 20:11:25    1719759

Can someone please explain how a ref can give a red card to a Tyrone player and also a free to Tyrone ? Surely the free should of being either over turned out throwing up.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 02/05/2015 20:11:39    1719760

The red baffled me!!!

Well done Tyrone...

Should the final not have been in Newry or Armagh.... as the U-21 H Final is always in Thurles.... it was obvious Parnell Park is not a suitable venue for a match of this impt

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 02/05/2015 20:17:36    1719763

Hurler32 park your bitterness towards Tipp to the side, this is the footballers relax and swallow that small bit of sick in your mouth we were beaten, relax like a good man, not good for ya to carry that bitterness around on a bank holiday weekend.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 02/05/2015 20:19:04    1719764

Hard luck to tipp, I think it's safe to say that the best team lost . It'l be interesting to see if joe brolly mentions the systematic fouling done by Tyrone in that match but I'm sure he won't as it is Kerry he has in his sights this year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/05/2015 20:19:04    1719765

KingdomBoy1

1719765 Hard luck to tipp, I think it's safe to say that the best team lost . It'l be interesting to see if joe brolly mentions the systematic fouling done by Tyrone in that match but I'm sure he won't as it is Kerry he has in his sights this year.
Would it kill you to congratulate the 2015 U21 All Ireland champions without the bitter rant? I, like most of my county men had no problem in congratulating the Kerry seniors last year in spite of their obvious flaws, you should be ashamed of a post like that.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 02/05/2015 20:25:27    1719767

it was an extremely tough match played in terrible conditions. both teams were guilty of fouling, Tyrone were the better at getting scores from play and their Cathal Mc Shane was an immense asset to them. Hes a fearless warrior. both teams had some very talented footballers. This result means Tyrone are back in business. I would expect to see a few of that team back in the colours in Ballybofey in two weeks from now.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 02/05/2015 20:31:31    1719772

Great game.
Well done to Tyrone and hard luck Tipperary.
Was hoping for a draw and a replay on a better day.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 02/05/2015 20:35:15    1719774

cuchulainn35
County: Armagh

The red baffled me!!!

Well done Tyrone...

Should the final not have been in Newry or Armagh.... as the U-21 H Final is always in Thurles.... it was obvious Parnell Park is not a suitable venue for a match of this impt

Newry or Armagh!?

Croke Park should have held it.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 02/05/2015 20:36:55    1719775

I presume the red card was for an off-the-ball incident which wouldn't change the referee's initial decision. Tipperary have only themselves to blame after missing relatively easy frees. Hard to ref that game under the circumstances, he tried to play advantage when possible.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 02/05/2015 20:38:10    1719776

KingdomBoy1

Hard luck to tipp, I think it's safe to say that the best team lost . It'l be interesting to see if joe brolly mentions the systematic fouling done by Tyrone in that match but I'm sure he won't as it is Kerry he has in his sights this year.
--------------------
Obviously the Munster boys are sticking together here,nice turn of events:)
Don't know what game you were watching but in the second half Tyrone missed a very scoreable goal and that ref gave Tipp a few soft frees to keep them in touch. Well done and congrats to all the Tyrone lads and management. Tipp lads put on a good performance too and it was tough enough conditions for both teams to play in.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 02/05/2015 20:42:54    1719777

CuChullain for once could you keep you anti-Tipp feelings to yourself.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 02/05/2015 20:43:29    1719778

Congrats to the new AI U21 champions Tyrone, could light the Red Hands fire again
Hard luck to Tipp. Don't let this fester as it is a stepping stone!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 02/05/2015 20:44:41    1719779

keeper7
County: Longford

I presume the red card was for an off-the-ball incident which wouldn't change the referee's initial decision. Tipperary have only themselves to blame after missing relatively easy frees. Hard to ref that game under the circumstances, he tried to play advantage when possible.

The free still should have been cancelled and a hop ball awarded. Not only that but play was stopped for a minute and 40 in added time and only 40 seconds extra were played

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 02/05/2015 20:45:49    1719780

Congrats to Tyrone.

uibhfhaili1986
County: Offaly

Learn some Irish - it's your national language, should be part of what you are. Your username suggests you should know the basics.
TG4 - it's all about promoting the language. What's the point of using English if you are trying to promote Irish?

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 02/05/2015 20:47:39    1719783

uibhfhaili1986
County: Offaly

A lot of people had no clue what was happening because they don't speak Irish.As TG4 refused to make an announcement in English to explain what was happening the only natural thing to assume was Tyrone were acting the maggot and delaying not coming out after half time. Unfortunately on this forum you cannot delete your posts so I wasn't able to remove my post like I did on other forums.

The only natural thing to assume was that Tyrone were acting the maggot?

Incredible man.

It was in know way the natural thing to assume.

My nine year old daughter figured it out from what the lads were saying on TG4. It was fairly obvious in fairness.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 02/05/2015 20:53:22    1719785

Was out all day had the match recorded what happened at half time my recording missed the last 20 minutes disgusted.... well done Tyrone but I wanted to fined out by watching it not coming on here ahhhhh. The Tyrone beast could be on the way back.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/05/2015 21:02:49    1719790

Hurler 32 dunno why your posting stuff like dat. I thought the ref gave some soft frees to both teams but look the better team probably just about shaded it in the end. You obviously have some gripe with tipp whatever that is keep to yourself no point making excuses to show ur gripe in public. On topic thought our lads showed never die attitude and hopefully in the near future we'll b contesting senior football finals. Well done to Tyrone again and to our boys keep the chin up you have over achieved this year.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 02/05/2015 21:03:19    1719791

WildPundit
County: Tipperary

1719791 Hurler 32 dunno why your posting stuff like dat. I thought the ref gave some soft frees to both teams but look the better team probably just about shaded it in the end. You obviously have some gripe with tipp whatever that is keep to yourself no point making excuses to show ur gripe in public. On topic thought our lads showed never die attitude and hopefully in the near future we'll b contesting senior football finals. Well done to Tyrone again and to our boys keep the chin up you have over achieved this year.

+1

Well done to Tipp footballers, hard to know how much the conditions played in that today, that and the poor referee display but on another day yous could have nicked that one.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 02/05/2015 21:13:40    1719796