U21 Final

congrats to Tyrone on winning the All Ireland U21 title, i guess ourselves and Cavan will feel what happened, but thats the way it goes, fair play to Tyrone, and Ulster. always great when a cup comes north.

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 06/05/2015 21:29:08    1721029

GPlifer
County: USA

what exactly do the relative merits of Dublin and Donegal have to do with the U-21 final? Unless we missed something over here I could have sworn it was between Tyrone and Tipperary.

-----
About as much to do with it as your post here I would say. And yes you did miss something, the comparison between the footballing abilities of the Tipp team v Tyrone and that of the Dublin team v Donegal with Gary arguing that sometimes teams that play a 'system', Tyrone and Donegal for example, don't get the recognition they deserve for their footballing ability. Read a couple of posts up, assuming they have made it over there! Without getting out a flip chart and some crayons, that's the best I can do for you over there.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/05/2015 21:35:39    1721031

Is this thread really about the u21 final ?
It could truthfully have a few different names for this thread and some posters would still be writing the same thing.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/05/2015 21:51:07    1721037

tirawleybaron

1720921 Tipperary lads should really let this go. As a mayo man we could give a long list of being hard done by. You just have to suck it up and carry on. Crying about spilled milk achieves nothing. You cant change the result and moral victories are worthless.

The players have to learn to play the ref. If the opposition ramp up the physicality/sledging/cynicism and the ref lets it go, you have to increase your own physicality/sledging/cynicism and not be bullied. Thats what winners do.

That is a quality post. Moral victories are worthless - that's quality because for the sheer truth behind it. There is no point saying Tyrone played dirty, they called us names, they constantly fouled us off the ball. The fact is a lot of what went on is just part and parcel of championship football. I love to see off the ball wrestling and underhand tactics at times, it means your really are watching a show down between two sets of mean men up for the fight, its thrilling, its what championship football is made off. That's why we all like watching knock out football rather than league football, its got that edge and hardness about it. When you get beat, you move on and next time be just as mean and underhanded as your opponent will likely be. Don't go crying about it cause at the end of the day, its about strength of character. The Tipp Management team have let themselves down by refusing their opponents entry after the match.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 07/05/2015 09:09:28    1721051

Cueder what had the relevance of Brian Cody, Kilkenny got to do with last Saturday nights U 21 game about going into the losers dressing room you be a wise man to keep subject as you tell every body else very patronising as you can be.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 07/05/2015 09:34:20    1721059

2011 all ireland final, last 10 mins, kerry go into lead, watch them try to foul and slow the game down. They are masters at it. Except it went against them this time. Point is, it's okay for them to be cynical
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtnJPTENOKk

TargetExpress (Tyrone) - Posts: 10 - 07/05/2015 09:56:29    1721069

Johnwhite,i thought i made my point perfectly clear.I want the post game dressing room speeches by opposing mananagers scrapped.I used Cody as an example as Kilkenny have beaten Tipp in so many close games over recent years,and i dont see how him going into Tipp dressing room does anyone any favours.Nothing against Cody or Kilkenny.If it was the other way around would Kilkenny be happy to see Liam Sheedy or Eamonn O Shea come into dressing room after each defeat?This applies to all managers,i was just highlighting the KK V Tipp situation as no county has suffered more harrowing close defeats than Tipp to KK in recent years.My point is relevant in relation to Tyrone manager not being allowed into Tipp dressing room.A needless exercise john.I would consign it to Room 101 with immediate effect.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/05/2015 10:20:34    1721077

Can someone take a note to change the title of this thread to 2015 U21 Football Final in January cos at this rate the thread will still be alive and well then. At this stage I think most Tipp fans have restored some sort of calm but I find it very interesting what people from other counties are saying on here with very strong views on both sides of the argument.

There is one thing I would like to address though. A lot of post are saying the Tipp lads should grow up about the sledging. From what I could see at the ground the Tipp players managed the sledging extremely well and maturely. There seems to be a lot of confusion about that. What annoyed me was what was done when the sledging didn't work. I am over it now and think most Tipp fans are too. Congrats to Tyrone on winning the under 21 title.

I think in open play both teams gave as good as they got and put in some seriously big hits. Most of these hits were fair by both sets of players but some tackles will always be late whether by design or clumsiness.

Anyway here's hoping we won't still be discussing this in January 2016.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 07/05/2015 10:21:56    1721079

Bumpernut I am only speaking speaking from experience and the point I am making is that sledging might affect a 12 yr old but even by the time guys are in their late teens they are well used to this and it is not a factor or at least I would be very surprised if it was a factor. Us Culchies probably stored the abuse we got at a young age and used it as motivation against you Frankies :) Look of course city teams still got involved in the physical side of the game but as kids you'se were much better at the verbals and the group I grew up playing with happened to be particularly big in stature and physicality - certianly since those days my own club would not have the same physical edge - hence we particularly enjoyed a bit of pay back against City teams. But main point is for young adults to be crying about sledging is almost incredible in my opinion.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 07/05/2015 10:26:22    1721081

John White i also dont recall telling anybody to stick to a certain subject.If you have an example please reveal.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/05/2015 10:38:44    1721089

cuchulainn35 - have you a copy of the article you could post from yesterdays Irish News?

geoff (Tyrone) - Posts: 377 - 07/05/2015 11:00:18    1721104

https://twitter.com/irishnewssport/status/595905932753707009

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 07/05/2015 12:00:21    1721139

This is getting extremely embarrassing.

I watched the match and said to my brother afterward that it was some game of football. Both sides went hell for leather. There was plenty of scores and some great play.

We cant keep trying to condemn every match that Tyrone are involved in. And it is getting tiresome for teams to use the 'Tyrone cheated' excuse every time they are beat!

lambofgod (Mayo) - Posts: 116 - 07/05/2015 13:22:50    1721200

Well said LambofGod - appreciated. I was at the game and have watched back since in no way do I regard us as the aggressors or initiators.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 07/05/2015 15:23:54    1721274

lamofgod I dont think people are using the excuse that Tyrone cheated are they? What has got me exercised by it is the accusation of sledging that is levelled yet AGAIN at a Tyrone team. The accusation made by Tipp is that Tyrone players had names of girlfriends and sisters and that they used these names to make comments about the girlfirends and sisters of the tipp players. As I understand it that is the accusation. If it is true then as far as I am concerned then Tipp have a point and Logan or no one from Tyrone should be allowed into the tipp dressing room.

If (and I do say if) that is the level to which Tyrone are prepared to stoop then the courtesies of the game should not be extended to them. I watched the Ryan McMeniman Laochra Gael programme and the smirking and snide remarks made about his behaviour on the field from people who were in a position to stop it disgusted me. Even Ricie said that people were surprised that he was a decent bloke off the field. This accusation of sledging is made against Tyrone again and again and half hearted excuses from officials or fans are not acceptable. If someone insulted tipp players sisters and girldfriends off the field where they could be held to account that is bad enough but it is a low act indeed when the women in your life are demeaned by the oppostion as a means of gaining an advantage on the field of play. I would urge the GAAto use the red card to stamp out sledging.

As for the poster who enquired how Tyrone players could get the names of girlfriends and sisters that is obvious even to a techno phobe like me they are all on face book or twittier or other social media outlets.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 07/05/2015 16:25:01    1721306

It was certainly one of the best u 21 games of football I have seen in a very long while and considering the very poor conditions and long stoppage. I actually thought the ref did well to keep the playing flowing in the poor conditions. Well done to both teams and Parnell pitch was in good condition even with all that flood rain. I do not like mouthing but would rather have it any day rather than a good thump, anyway I do not know what when on as I was not on the field of play, but all in all the whole affair was enjoyable to watch. Tipp missed a couple of scoreable frees and in the end paid the price.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 07/05/2015 16:49:47    1721321

Disillusioned - clue is in the name.

You only have the word of the Tipp management/players on this and you appear to readily believe what you hear. A similar hysterical response hung,drawn and quartered a Tyrone woman for hitting Declan O'Sullivan with her handbag...it was days before her club responded to this. Faithfully reproduced below courtesy of joe.ie. The point being why believe wholesale one side who having been defeated have an axe to grind. Btw the supporter was banned Declan...not so much. Trial by media.

http://www.joe.ie/uncategorized/could-this-picture-land-kerry-star-declan-osullivan-in-trouble/32266

I was at the game and in no way shape or form were Tyrone the aggressors, the persitent targeting of Cathal McShane from the throw-in is what most right thinking fans should be disgusted at. What you won't have seen watching on TV is as Tyrone players went to take return passes they were checked and tripped regularly off the ball. Having watched on TG4 since very few of these systemic fouls/assaults get picked up as the camera follows the play but if you know what you are looking for you will see enough (Or not as the case may be).

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 07/05/2015 17:31:38    1721334

Playing gaelic games all my life, cannot for the life of me understand the whinging on here about 'sledging' as youse like to call it. I honestly can't see how anybody saying anything about my family or anybody connected to me would bother me in the slightest. If you are not used to that kind of behaviour from the opposition by u-21 then you must not have been involved in too many games before that level. Every team I have played has had their slabbers, how it could put somebody off shows more of a weakness in the person complaining than anything else. It should be water off a ducks back.

geoff (Tyrone) - Posts: 377 - 08/05/2015 08:54:39    1721441

08/05/2015 08:54:39
geoff
Playing gaelic games all my life, cannot for the life of me understand the whinging on here about 'sledging' as youse like to call it. I honestly can't see how anybody saying anything about my family or anybody connected to me would bother me in the slightest. If you are not used to that kind of behaviour from the opposition by u-21 then you must not have been involved in too many games before that level. Every team I have played has had their slabbers, how it could put somebody off shows more of a weakness in the person complaining than anything else. It should be water off a ducks back.
Just because you think you can take it doesn't mean others want to or can. Very ignorant to say if not used o it then you weren't involved in too many games. Why should somebody have to put up with that kind of unsportsman-like conduct

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 08/05/2015 17:11:00    1721616

geoff

-------
Seriously??? I really do hope that this level of 'sledging' is not normal. I hope it is not acceptable and I hope that any kid playing underage is not subjected to this abuse to the level that they accept it at U21 level. I played to minor level only for my club and then chose to concentrate on soccer at that point as I was playing at a decent enough level and couldn't do both. I also played a lot of basketball but between them all, over 100s of games I never witnessed this carry on and if it did happen it would be sorted out quickly, by the receiver of the abuse. I just can't believe the sport has been infected with this rubbish to the extent that it is now normal and acceptable behaviour. The weakness here is in the team that has to use it. They clearly fear that they don't have the footballing ability to beat the opponent but try to use verbal abuse to psycologically wear them down. I wouldn't let my kids near a sport where this rubbish wasn't being hammered out of the game by officials to be honest.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/05/2015 20:21:59    1721671