U21 Final

gotmilk
County: Fermanagh

I think so S Goldrick. I saw a comment from a poster on the FB page earlier stating that some of the players were subject to abuse about their mothers and sisters. Won't someone think of the children? I hope those Tipp boys never went to school. I remember when i was 12 i found out that my mother was so fat her belt was the equator. I also found out that she was so hairy her boobies looked like coconuts.

Wouldnt like to met your Ma on a dark night ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/05/2015 22:00:21    1720673

And they ask how/why we create a siege mentality! This will get things fired up for the 17th May! I have a lot more hope with a few things coming together over the last week or 2!

Great to see the main Northern GAA paper come out in full support of Tyrone this morning or at least putting across a sensible slant on things!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 06/05/2015 09:00:54    1720690

tiobraid, Tyrone were missing their best forward of the past 2 minor campaigns as well as arguably their best forward of the 2012 minor team.

geoff (Tyrone) - Posts: 377 - 06/05/2015 09:17:31    1720697

Being from a country club in Co. Antrim we never played Belfast teams a great deal in our younger years but when we did they had a psychological edge over us as they were more street wise as 11/12 yr olds than we were and generally sharper with the verbal's.

However by the time we were hitting these teams at minor level and beyond we were well ready for them and if anything looked forward to playing them as we knew we had a physical edge that they did not enjoy so much while we had grown beyond getting bothered by verbal's.

Essentially we enjoyed putting them on their ass at especially as we had not forgotten their verbal's when we were younger. As such I genuinely cannot understand how guys at U21 level have been moved by this.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 06/05/2015 09:17:37    1720698

tiobraid
County: Tipperary

1720576 For me the main disappoint was the non availability of our 3-4 best forwards. It's just unfortunate we hadn't these available.
You couldn't but be proud to see how far they've come. Tipp for me were the better footballers and in O'riordan and Acheson on seniors we've two of the best players in the country

It's about winning in the now, with what you got right now. It is about fielding your strongest available 15, and getting on with it.
Trash talking is something I really don't agree with, a dishonourable trait used to get a psychological edge over your opponent.

However apart from the post match negativity, I did watch the game on TG4 and thought there was very little between the sides. However I didn't come away from it thinking Tipperary had been robbed.

The last 8-10 minutes of any Gaelic football match now is always close the game out and keep possession.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 06/05/2015 09:38:33    1720705

JayP

They are cynical, like Tipp. Tipp were blocking runs all day in the semi against the Dubs. Teams are cynical, especially when seeing out a game. It happens. Get over it, but get used to it. Because its not gonna change anytime soon.

Please read my posts in future because I said the above in my post.
I was only asking a genuine question as to if the Tyrone posters knew anything of how they got the information or condoned it.
The players I spoke to didnt seem sour over it, they were kinda laughing at the lengths they went to to find out information, they joked that they should put their facebook pages on private.

And I'm not anti Tyrone / northern football or anything like that.
I actually went to see Tyrone play in two of their All Ireland victories hoping they'd win.
On the cynical thing, I thought Joe Brolly was well out of order they way he went after Sean Cavanagh. I'd have been fairly p!ssed off with him if he didnt pull down McManus.

I just have an issue with saying things about players family members is all.
Maybe I'm old school that way. I apologise if it looks like I'm coming across as I'm sour, I'm not. I'm really disappointed as another All Ireland football appearance seems so far away for us.

And apologies for not saying it already, congrats to Tyrone.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 06/05/2015 09:40:09    1720706

GaryMc82
County: Derry

tiobraid

1720576 For me the main disappoint was the non availability of our 3-4 best forwards. It's just unfortunate we hadn't these available.
You couldn't but be proud to see how far they've come. Tipp for me were the better footballers and in O'riordan and Acheson on seniors we've two of the best players in the country

It's about winning in the now, with what you got right now. It is about fielding your strongest available 15, and getting on with it.
Trash talking is something I really don't agree with, a dishonourable trait used to get a psychological edge over your opponent.

However apart from the post match negativity, I did watch the game on TG4 and thought there was very little between the sides. However I didn't come away from it thinking Tipperary had been robbed.

The last 8-10 minutes of any Gaelic football match now is always close the game out and keep possession.

What's your point?? What in anything I said was trash talk?!

I never mentioned being robbed or used any excuses so surely what you have said is trash talk not me!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/05/2015 10:06:56    1720715

How boring is this post getting Tyrone are the AI under 21 champions end off it is not by accident that the lads won, every game we played this year they where head and shoulders above the rest and how funny that out of 5 matches this year Tipp are the only team crying foul play having been at the match I thought Tipp had a game play in the first have of stopping Tyrone's runs from deep by any means possible and in the second half they push up on the short kick outs and forced Fox to kick long and when this happened McShane normally the target man in midfield was hauled and pulled down to the point that he had to come off this is how Tipp got so much momentum in the last few mins as when they push up on the kick outs there was no opinion to go long, not saying Tyrone were total innocent they did what they had to do to get over the line.
As for now the history will say Tyrone won Tipp lost dry up and move on

redbomb (Tyrone) - Posts: 167 - 06/05/2015 10:08:40    1720717

Joe....I've no idea how Tyrone lads would get any information like that on Tipp lads...it appears far fetched. If they did it will have been very few and I won't condone it. I was at the game and in truth I'm flabbergasted that Tipp consider themselves victims, in no way shape or form were they that.

I watched the highlights again last night and noticed in the 10 minute Stephen O'Brien using his legs to take out Cathal McShane again...in addition to the other times cited previously. Ruairi McGlone missed early in 2nd half what looked a certain goal chance but only on repeat you realise he was pushed at execution. My feeling particularly in the first half was Tipp should've been named Tripp so many times they used the boot to fell Tyrone runners.

Anyway, the talent is there in Tipp but coping with adversity and defeat will be the true test of these players. At this point they would appear to be too indulged and sensitive.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 06/05/2015 10:18:09    1720725

GaryMc82
County: Derry

1720705 tiobraid

What's your point?? What in anything I said was trash talk?!

I never mentioned being robbed or used any excuses so surely what you have said is trash talk not me!

My point originated from your comment "Tipp for me were the better footballers", which I explained that after watching the game, I seen very little between the two teams.

I elaborated on the negativity post match publicity, which has focused on the Tyrone Trash talking and other cynical elements. But from looking at the match itself, I didn't see much between the sides and certainly don't think Tipp were the better side.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 06/05/2015 10:28:06    1720733

right ill let this thread go as i think the point i made earlier is being lost. I am extremely disappointed as a gaa fan that people think im attacking Tyrone.. Im Not in the slightest .. If cork had played in the style of tyrone last saturday you better believe i would slate them too. I have three small boys and would hope that one day they will line out for club and please god for their county. But my point is this .. be it tyrone or donegal or dublin or kerry or my own cork.. The way the game is being played now is ugly... there is no spirit of the game any more.. Lets face the facts tipperary played the better football saturday.. and because of the system they didnt win.. I dont begrudge tyrone the win and in 10 years time no one will remember the game and their name will still be on the cup..

I have been playing and supporting you since i was nine.. in a country that is hurling mad i always loved football.. its hard physical and you could always get stuck in.. but there was always a spirit in the game.. there was always sneaky fouls .. hard tackles but my point is this.. back then there was 15/15 and there was the pull of the jersey and there was the niggles and its a mans game so iv no real problem with that.. but there was also an element of fairness a man marked a man and the best man won there was never 15 in their own half and there was never the amount of hand passes that there is today (and yes cork are right up there with the hand pass count)

i just think the spirit of the game is gone and while it was pointed out that the foul count was the same saturday lets be fair one the ref had a bad one and two it was the type of tactical fouls that tyrone implemented.. foul the man far from the goals and get time to set up the defense..
Every man will protect their own county and tyrone are right to stand up for the young stars..

But what when that protection is to the complete detriment of the game.. By saying that tyrone did nothing wrong on saturday night or that it was with in the rules are you really saying that its ok for football to be played the way its being played now.. Dublin hammered cork in the league final but by god did they look good doing it.. great football.. great fielding great speed great kick passing and great defense ... Is that not the type of football we should be promoting to our children.. I mean who will want to go support an u-12 game with 15 young fellas inside their own 45..

Condone this type of game and one day it will get so ugly that you wont want to go see it.. And the proof will be at the gates.. they support for football is in decline and simply because it is ugly .. So im curious is there any tyrone man that will stand up and actually call it as he sees it..

im 30 years watching gaelic football and its as clear as the nose on your face that the game i love is dying ...

Im going to use an example and i appoligise that it is a tyrone example but its the quickest one that comes to mind but im sure there are countless others

Some years ago a monaghan attacker was through on goal and Sean Cavanagh rugby tackled him... This is what i mean about the spirit im talking about..
And due to dublin power pace and attacking numbers are we going to see packed defenses every time they line out ???

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 06/05/2015 10:50:44    1720745

Tyrone were cute but the ref should have done more to stamp it out I can see where Tipperary's anger came from!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 06/05/2015 11:03:34    1720750

It is not just one team at this so called sledging but a few teams well known for it. I don't like it and maybe some are afraid of being called a sore loser if highlighting this issue. A member of our winning minor team in 2013 was abused on the field in one of the games about a deceased family member....you can't get much lower than that in my opinion.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 06/05/2015 11:25:11    1720759

BigJohn.6_8

1720750 Tyrone were cute but the ref should have done more to stamp it out I can see where Tipperary's anger came from!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 06/05/2015 11:33:32    1720769

Oh my God this Cork guy is ridiculous! You are living in the dark ages my friend! So many things wrong with your comment I don't know where to start!

I apologise we didn't lay down and get rolled over like Cork did in the National League final.

No one said Tyrone didn't step over the line but both teams were at it in equal measure. So sick of this rubbish thread now it should be closed down!

Start an old mans whinging thread somewhere else would you and you can add the rants about the modern game to the crys from the Tipperary boys about the big bad name callers! Turns out Kerry, Tipperary and Cork folk are a lot more alike than they would like to think

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 06/05/2015 11:35:25    1720770

redhanddefender

Oh my God this Cork guy is ridiculous! You are living in the dark ages my friend! So many things wrong with your comment I don't know where to start!

I apologise we didn't lay down and get rolled over like Cork did in the National League final.

No one said Tyrone didn't step over the line but both teams were at it in equal measure. So sick of this rubbish thread now it should be closed down!

Start an old mans whinging thread somewhere else would you and you can add the rants about the modern game to the crys from the Tipperary boys about the big bad name callers! Turns out Kerry, Tipperary and Cork folk are a lot more alike than they would like to think

Im 39 so hardly qualify as old..

But answer me an honest question and try to be impartial.. Did you enjoy watching that game saturday ???
Did you enjoy the tactics ??
forget the result just look at it as a spectacle and as a game you would want your children to play !
yeah cork got rolled over and will happen again but at least they tried to play the game..
id prefer that than them to go out specifically to stop a better team playing .. Dublin were a better team and when they were allowed play they showed just how much better they were.. Cork didnt decided to adopt a cynical ultra defensive game and we took our beating like men ..
simple as this tipperary were the better team.. Me wanting to see a better game may be ridiculous to you but i pay alot of money every year following the cork teams and if i go to a match i want to see a match not the offerings that were provided on saturday night..

And id like to point out one thing ..
WE CANT ALL BE WRONG !!
Only people defending tyrones actions on saturday are tyrone and most football people on here agree with the fact that tipperary were the better team and with a stronger ref would have won ..(still cant figure out the free out after the red card)

Keep playing the game the way ye are now and in years to come even tyrone people wont go to the match..

Competition from other sports is hugh.. Rugby has become huge in ireland in the last ten years .. People dont have a bottom less pit of money and when they spend it they want to be entertained and lets face it football at the moment isnt entertaining ..

Tyrone wont win an all ireland this year but whats worse is the games they do play will be awful spectacles

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 06/05/2015 11:53:46    1720781

Richie, despite your so very long posts, with so very many words, I genuinely can't figure out what point it is that you are trying to make.

Is it the sledging? The fouling? The 15 men behind the ball? The referee? The better side losing? Sean Cavanagh (how'd he come into it?!)? The purity of Cork? The death of football? I'm lost, really. Sometimes (much) less is more.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 06/05/2015 12:11:05    1720795

How can I step out and be impartial. I'm a Tyrone man so of course I enjoyed it. I have watched them all year and I think its a joy to see the big hits, the furious tackling and breaking at fantastic speed to get scores and plenty of goals.

You tell me this, and be impartial di you enjoy watching Dublin give cork a thumping in croke park?? Because you can be sure no one else did apart from the Dubs. I was an awful spectacle.

39 going on 60 and from the sounds of it you stopped playing a long time ago. I'm 29 and still playing. Who are you to say how gaelic should be played? You have no God given right. Tyrone go out to play football within the rules and some times they play close to the line oir over it, i'm not denying that. Every team who are competing at a high level do (and reality check, always have done in any sport).

And once again you must not have watched the first half if you think Tipperary weren't cynical. Just as Cork were cynical in omagh this year in the league but I doubt you were even there.

I couldn't care less if you or your children will be still playing or going to games in 10 years. What I can assure you is we are resiliant and we will still be competing and sure if no on else is playing we might pick up a few all Irelands then. As for games this year don't watch Tyrone, have fun watching Kerry, Cork and the Dubs who are never involved in cynical games!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 06/05/2015 12:18:20    1720800

Richie I can honestly I enjoyed the match on Saturday both team need to be respected for getting to the final and playing in such conditions
also I can say I would rather see Tyrone trying to all they can to win the match rather than the head dropping that Cork have become knowing for ie Dublin in the league final and last years Muster final
So as for your remark about Tyrone getting support at matches I think you should look closer to home as most people will not pay to see a team getting beat out the gate every time they come up against a half decent team

redbomb (Tyrone) - Posts: 167 - 06/05/2015 12:23:21    1720805

Where to start with this Cork guy. It's not just Tyrone people defending Tyrone on here and there is no such consensus on the better team.
Michael Cassidy is the name you're after..and it was a second yellow then red. The second yellow was for an "off the ball" incident and is punishable by a yellow and not a free (Them's the rules).

I thought it was an excellent game played in horrendous conditions. Even the first half was very good though nerves affected a normally economical Tyrone team.

2 years ago Cork came to Omagh built a lead and defended wholly in their half. They did silimarly in Croke park in 2009 after Goulding's fortuitous goal. Miskella punched Brian McGuigan and got a yellow, Shields pulled the jersey off Setvie O'Neill and Canty smashed at will.
Fast forward to Jamie O'Sullivan's cowardly deed on Connolly and Philly McMahon later both unpunished. In the spirit of condemnation last year in Pairc Ui Rinn as Tyrone pressed for the win/draw Paul Kerrigan got off the bench to lash the ball into the corner...did that please you?

This playing the 'right way' was answered perfectly by the great Colm O'Neill prior to the Dublin game...read what he says about defensiveness.
"Donegal probably get hammered more than anyone for their style. They still get the brunt of it for some reason as the team that's the most defensive, but our semi-final against them was quite open.

"We'd be very disappointed as a team with the amount of scores we conceded. And Donegal might easily have got another 2-3. Look, I think every team is probably a bit more defensive this year.

"I mean there was a lot of attention on the Dublin-Derry game in this League, with the reaction to it afterwards on Twitter. I suspect that both teams just set up defensively. And who is to say Dublin aren't going to set up defensively against us now?

"After what happened them against Donegal last year, I think they realised they probably had to change. So that's something we're going to have to be prepared for.

"A lot of people seem to think it's going to be a very open, free-flowing game. But they might be surprised!"

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 06/05/2015 12:34:52    1720812