U21 Final

Jes! I'm gonna have to watch that game again, for what I saw and what people are talking about are two completely different things for the most part. However, I will say, that Tipp team is a good one, some great footballers and it would be great to see some of them at senior level.

Talking points from the game are simple: stampgate and the ref not throwing the ball up for the foul after he awarded the free to Tyrone. Other than that, I saw a hard hitting game from both sides.

If there is anything the Tipp manager and supporters should be crying about, it should be the numerous easy chances they missed - that was the real difference on the day. Both teams gave as good as they got from what I saw.

Checkers (UK) - Posts: 24 - 05/05/2015 15:35:36    1720472

We all know Tyrone can dabble in the dark arts to win.. Tipp should be a little embarrassed on how they fell for it hook, line and sinker. They should learn from it and move on instead of further embarrassing themselves with all this whinging!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 05/05/2015 15:40:01    1720479

As I said earlier in the conversation, Dublin were poor against Tipp in Tullamore. But the ref gave Dublin nothing all game. Tipp were fouling constantly.

The Tipp manager had nothing to say about the ref that day, they won!

They lose and there's accusation of cheating.

Tyrone play an ugly system, but you have to beat it. Tipp didn't.

Try supporting the Dubs, if you think your county has it bad....refereeing is BIZARRE against us.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/05/2015 17:05:46    1720542

Steven O'Briens stamp wasn't nice to see and should have resulted in him getting a red card. The other incident which should have resulted in a red card was the no.15's knee to the side of the Tipp wing forwards head.
All the talk about the cynical fouling, blocking runs etc, unfortunately its now part of the game and all teams do it.
But the thing that really annoyed me about Tyrone was the mouthing, I no it happens in games but they must have gone to unreal effort to find out names of the Tipp players girlfriends, sisters etc. and tell them what they'd love to do to them...
Would any of the Tyrone posters like to comment on this as I'm genuinely interested in what way they went about finding out this information? And it did happen, Iv spoke to a few of the Tipp players who told me about it.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 05/05/2015 17:18:51    1720548

oe_Bloggs
County: Tipperary

Steven O'Briens stamp wasn't nice to see and should have resulted in him getting a red card. The other incident which should have resulted in a red card was the no.15's knee to the side of the Tipp wing forwards head.
All the talk about the cynical fouling, blocking runs etc, unfortunately its now part of the game and all teams do it.
But the thing that really annoyed me about Tyrone was the mouthing, I no it happens in games but they must have gone to unreal effort to find out names of the Tipp players girlfriends, sisters etc. and tell them what they'd love to do to them...
Would any of the Tyrone posters like to comment on this as I'm genuinely interested in what way they went about finding out this information? And it did happen, Iv spoke to a few of the Tipp players who told me about it.
---------------------------------------------------------
First of all....are you serious?
Unless some of these lads knew each other on a personal level through university and its football competitions then you'd need to kop on asking questions like this as if it were plausible and a legitimate line of questioning.And are we all to be believe that if any sledging did occur that it was all one way and hurled at a bunch of impressionable Tipperary altar boys by northern savages!!!! Yez are really scraping the barrel at this point......keep er lit.....yez can't look much more pathetic at this point..

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 05/05/2015 17:36:08    1720556

For me the main disappoint was the non availability of our 3-4 best forwards. It's just unfortunate we hadn't these available.
You couldn't but be proud to see how far they've come. Tipp for me were the better footballers and in O'riordan and Acheson on seniors we've two of the best players in the country

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/05/2015 18:14:03    1720576

Joe Bloggs give it a rest.Cringe worthy stuff.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/05/2015 18:17:39    1720579

"He said my bum looked big in these shorts"

Joe_Bloggs......I'd give in now. Its sounding whingey now. Tipp fouled Dublin constantly in the semi final. Ref gave Dublin nothing. Most Dubs just acknowledged Tipp and said fair play. We are used to dodgy refs.

But to say Dublin lost to Tipp purely on a dodgy ref is far from the truth. They were outworked, and their performance was well below par. So they got what they deserved.

Saying Tyrone were sledging etc. just sounds like sour grapes. Tyrone won. They are cynical, like Tipp. Tipp were blocking runs all day in the semi against the Dubs. Teams are cynical, especially when seeing out a game. It happens. Get over it, but get used to it. Because its not gonna change anytime soon.

As I have said in two previous posts, the Tipp manager wasn't giving out about the favourable reffing performance in the semi as it suited Tipp. He lost the final and moaned about the ref.

Fair play to Tyrone, weren't expected to win it, but came up with a system, were dogged and got over the line. They didn't ref the game, they don't care!

Reffing standards are poor. You don't know how refs are gonna ref a game.

But we have all encountered dodgy refs and favourable refs.

As I said about the Dublin 21's against Tipp in the semi, the ref was a significant factor in them losing, but they are at fault for a performance that let the ref be a factor. If they had of played to their highest the ref wouldn't be an issue.

I'd say the same of Tipp. Tyrone got over the line. Fair play.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/05/2015 18:48:20    1720589

John Fogarty provides some balance to this and highlights as I have done on this thread and been misunderstood suggested Declan Browne's tweets to be the way ahead for Tipp.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/john-fogarty/two-guilty-parties-as-u-21-final-row-rages-328728.html

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 05/05/2015 18:56:54    1720594

Genuine Q ? Do Tyrone fans like to see players like Ricey in the past and others do this verbal stuff - I know others do it too but the levels Tyrone utilise seem to be based on the tespinse of
cpunties like Tipp and local club battles against Tyrone seem to border on more nasty and lowbrow ?

I'd love to know what was said because it must have been pretty nasty fir Tipp to react like that

Or is it just an Anti Tyrone conspiracy ?

Elvis1935 (Mayo) - Posts: 46 - 05/05/2015 19:09:29    1720597

Oh stop Tiobraid we can only speculate about how much a fit John McGrath, Henry, Quirke and Kennedy would have added to the Tipp forwards. Its unbelievable that they beat Cork and Dublin without the four of them.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 05/05/2015 19:17:54    1720602

Typo above - based on the experience of counties like Tipp etc

Elvis1935 (Mayo) - Posts: 46 - 05/05/2015 19:20:11    1720605

Speaking of refs, where is Paddy Russell from again?

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 05/05/2015 19:28:32    1720608

Ah, sledging - those poor Tipp men (all adults, remember, not children). Seriously, if that is what they are complaining about, then perhaps they need to find a sport more palatable to their gentle dispositions.

They'll struggle to find one, though, as it happens in all sports. And I certainly wouldn't suggest cricket, as it's the worst. I recall one famous incident when the Australian Rodney Marsh shouted to Ian Botham during a match, 'Hey Botham, how's your wife and my kids?'. Botham fired back, 'The wife's fine, but the kids are retarded!'

Time to grow up, Tipp - you have some fine footballers and there was nothing between the sides in a tough hard game, but crying that the big bad northern boys said something nasty to you is a tad embarrassing for grown men.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 05/05/2015 19:49:58    1720614

Good man Tim only took you three days. Where's Martin Sludden from speaking of referees?

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 05/05/2015 20:20:18    1720621

I doff my cap collectively to the Dubs lads on here. Whilst they are obviously not condoning any of the antics from either team they have employed the one thing that appears to be missing from the debate.............perspective!

To the Tipp supporters I say build a bridge and get over it. I can assure you that if that talented group of young footballers have taken on board the lessons of Saturday evening then in good time they will be in a position to break the Cork/Kerry duopoly in Munster once and for all.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 05/05/2015 20:35:51    1720630

I watched this match and I saw a lot of dirty fouling being done by Tipp on Tyrone players particularly Mc Shane. It seemed to be in their game plan to get rid of him early. The first and the final tackle on him both deserved black cards. Tipp got 2 soft frees in the first quarter and that got Tyrones backs up. They got it into their heads that there was a lot more than the 15 on the field to beat and they played as if their life depended on it. I am sure a lot of the Tipp lads will be highly embarrased by whats being said here and Joe Brolly hasent even got into gear yet.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 05/05/2015 20:39:02    1720631

...and this is the future of gaelic football. Last one out switch off the lights..

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 05/05/2015 21:10:52    1720649

Not sure Sludden was involved in any controversy with Tipp but it might explain the irrationality of it...he was involved infamously in a Louth Meath game with the Louth fans having grounds for grievance though not attacking him. Paddy on the other hand made the biggest mess I've ever witnessed in '95 final and again in Omagh in 2006.
Have you managed to work out yet that I was praising Declan Browne yet...he is right on message...read his tweets

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 05/05/2015 21:16:03    1720652

I laugh at Tipp lads here giving out about Tyrone's conduct on the pitch.

I've been at many a Tipp hurling match over the years and some of the stuff I've seen is mild in comparison to what went on last Saturday evening!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 05/05/2015 21:56:34    1720669