Christy Ring Cup 2015

Will there be much Kerry support there on Saturday?

christy sting (Derry) - Posts: 262 - 02/06/2015 09:03:07    1731195

I dont see a big crowd sadly. i wont be going as im going to the derry down game on sunday. Can see people not going due to the weather and sadly by the fact the champs league is on and they can just watch both games on tv. Im guessing 5000 max from all 6 counties involved.

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 02/06/2015 09:51:08    1731215

People have said these teams should be hurling during the summer but it's not as simple as that. A lot of these hurlers also play club football & as long as the county hurling team is still going the hurling clubs in these counties can do very little.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 02/06/2015 13:25:13    1731367

About 100 odd going from Na Magha at the minute. Cant see any of our club members caring about champions league or weather when we have our own lads in Croke Park. The Derry Down match is next day so it wont affect many.

christy sting (Derry) - Posts: 262 - 02/06/2015 13:30:34    1731369

i shall happily stand corrected if the figures prove me wrong

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 02/06/2015 14:04:06    1731391

Id say you arent far off with the 5K. id be happy with that

christy sting (Derry) - Posts: 262 - 02/06/2015 14:18:33    1731409

There will be a good 200 people heading up from the kingdom for this game I'd say , I'd go my self but I'd hate to be accused as being a bandwagon supporter which I would be as iv only ever been to about 10 Kerry hurling games in my life, but I'd like to wish our hurlers all the best on Saturday and il be shouting my head off at the telly for ye ;-) .
An Rìocht Abu .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/06/2015 14:19:31    1731411

Good to see this game on TG4 Saturday, best of luck to both teams.

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 02/06/2015 14:39:56    1731439

Derry had a huge crowd at Croke for their All Ireland Quarter Final against Offaly back in 2000. They didn't loose by much either. Ollie Collins, Biggs and McGonigle were immense that day.

portavogielad (Down) - Posts: 446 - 02/06/2015 14:41:50    1731441

I think the reason for the crowd that year was that it followed our first Ulster Senior Hurling Championship in 92 years and was the QF proper. But yeah we ran them close

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 02/06/2015 15:44:45    1731489

Hoping a big Kerry crowd will be up. Whatever the result will be its great to see a county like Derry making the progress they are. A final appearance in no more than they deserve they proved themselves to be one of the top two teams in the competition this year. Given its population and the fact the footballers havn't been setting the world alight in recent years, it could be a great opportunity for hurling to grow in the Oak leaf county.

We all have some notion of the struggle the GAA had within the six counties to keep going and stay relevant during the dark days on the Troubles. Since the early 1990s Gaelic football in Derry, Down, Tyrone, Armagh etc has had the opportunity to show the island what they can achieve if the GAA as an organisation in those counties can get back to concentrating solely on administrating and promoting the sport.

Now that we pass through the second decade of the 21st century, the time is surely upon the GAA in the six counties to show what they an achieve in hurling if a similar effort is put in. In fairness over the past few years Derry, Down Armagh and Tyrone have all made big strides with the small ball. They certainly show up the disdain the County Boards of Cavan and Monaghan have shown for promoting the game.

It would be great if sometime in the next 20 years we see a couple of counties emerge from Ulster that can be competitive on a sustained basis at the highest inter-county level. Its what I'm hoping Kerry can achieve too.

Best of luck to the Derry men but obviously, An Riocht Abu come Saturday!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/06/2015 18:47:51    1731617

02/06/2015 13:25:13
keeper7
County: Longford
People have said these teams should be hurling during the summer but it's not as simple as that. A lot of these hurlers also play club football & as long as the county hurling team is still going the hurling clubs in these counties can do very little.

It's most frustrating for inter-county managers. I would say though these counties should use it to their advantage. They have the fine summer months to run on their respective county championships. If counties truly want to progress, if they run their hurling championship off over the summer months, they could work with a number of development squads within their county. They could for example try and establish an end of season competition competed by 2 or 4 regional areas depending on the number of clubs they've got to work with.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 02/06/2015 20:37:02    1731674

gaago have just added the 3 finals on Saturday to their lineup, as well as the Dublin v Galway replay, pretty cool, I'm glad I'm going to be able to watch them. Pity the playback performance isn't so hot this year (so far), but its better than nothing.

This weekend is going to be one of the best hurling weekends of the summer.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 03/06/2015 18:51:04    1732118

My fear is Kerry's unfortunate habit of losing these games. Derry have all the qualities to win the Ring Championship. Since the Qualifier Group came in, the focus in Kerry hurling has been getting to that level. It's a huge prize. A win on Saturday means entering a group of Laois/Offaly, Westmeath/Wexford and Carlow. Kerry deserve to be there but the championship is about more than that. Derry have had a fine championship and based on this championship and decent league campaign, fully deserve to get to that level as well.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 04/06/2015 20:46:00    1732583

No one deserves anything. They have to win it. Beauty of sport

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 05/06/2015 10:08:43    1732650

Great to see the GAA put the Dublin Galway game at a similar time as the final......another great example of promoting smaller counties

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 05/06/2015 11:48:29    1732706

Lads, do any of you know if TG4 are showing the Rackard/Meagher Cups live as well?

mayo_hurler (Mayo) - Posts: 113 - 05/06/2015 19:48:06    1733001

Tg4 showing n rack at 1.30 and c ring at 5.30 and deferred coverage of lory meagher. Pity rte showing Dublin Galway now and will clash with christy ring. Feel the second tier and lower deserved their day. Didn't want to show the games live and when they are now eventually given rightful place on TV rte show a bigger game clashing. Gaa fixture get and allowing this game a TV billing is bad form. Last number of years all these finals have brought us some cracking games hopefully this year be the same

urhavinalaugh (Carlow) - Posts: 73 - 05/06/2015 21:37:55    1733039

urhavinalaugh Cheers! Fair play to TG4 for showing it... shame it isn't on RTE, I'd love to hear Henry/Ger/Tomas' analysis on the Roscommon game ;)

mayo_hurler (Mayo) - Posts: 113 - 06/06/2015 09:52:28    1733063

C'mon the Kingdom!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 06/06/2015 11:59:56    1733100