Christy Ring Cup 2015

Cheers Legendixx for engaging - does this have much of an effect on your squad do you know? I am guessing that you don't just have 17 players in the squad and your fellow County man is just skirting around the question. But its a genuine question as youse have made great strides in the past couple of years and I wondered would this in any way affect youse next year or would you be happy enough with the set-up that if you did lose the availability of any players that you would be able to replace and kick on?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 26/05/2015 10:52:16    1728469

Nothing in a Down and Derry match - hard to call and the ref maybe the deciding factor with this. Dont rule out a draw

Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 26/05/2015 10:56:42    1728472

Very disappointed with the result against Wicklow, I doubt we'll be in the Christy Ring next year... This is the worst Mayo hurling has been in a long time.

mayo_hurler (Mayo) - Posts: 113 - 26/05/2015 13:46:27    1728589

The contribution of non-Kerry players to the Kerry squad is being way overblown. As far as I know, there are only 3 non-Kerry players in the squad (of over 25 players), Logue, Patrick Kelly and Butler. And of those 3, only Kelly has been making the starting 15 since the league final. So Kerry are far from a Munster select as was suggested previously on the thread, Kerry's success is being driven by Kerry hurlers.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 26/05/2015 17:27:41    1728746

So if Kerry , Kildare , Down or Derry win the CRC will they play in Leinster RR in 2016 with Antrim now gone ?

or have they a decision that they can still stay in the CRC for 2016 ?

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 26/05/2015 17:58:19    1728769

WildPundit
County: Tipperary

No, its automatic promotion/relegation now, Antrim are relegated, and the CRC winner will be in the provincial round robin group next year. Its no longer discretionary.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 26/05/2015 18:07:08    1728773

Thanks a million MarlonJD, for pointing out what I have been at pains to do so (must be a pro-Munster conspiracy at hand somehow)

Re: The CRC semis I would expect Derry to have too much for Down (I didnt see our game with Derry, and I wasn't particularly impressed with Down apart from their no 11 who was excellent on the day)

While we should have too much for the Lilywhites, there will surely be no room for complacency like last yr although there will need to be a significant improvement to win on the road from the Down and Meath performances, However if we get near the Westmeath & Antrim displays though I dont see Kildare being able to stay the pace for 70 mins

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 26/05/2015 18:32:36    1728788

Offside_Rule

Case and point :-)

Just I know in Antrim we have a squad of around 25 to 30 for the County team and I had presumed that all Counties operated on a similar squad number. I just didn't realise that Kerry operated with a squad of 17. Some achievement in those circumstances.

Ah, ok. Someone says Kerry used 16 or 17 players in the relegation/promotion play-off who are not part of the designated county ruling and you choose to point out Antrim have a squad of 25 to 30.

I don't agree with the designated ruling anyways. There are far more beneficial things that could be done for hurling e.g. allowing Ring finalists into the McCarthy qualifiers or else giving Ring counties more game time by allowing them enter the Intermediate All-Ireland championship.

It's wrong that Kerry should have to travel to Kildare for a semi-final. It should be either home advantage for the two unbeaten semi-finalists or else a neutral venue.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 26/05/2015 18:51:16    1728793

Ha - oh you Kerry guys, stop with it.

A straight question was asked and it took a Tipp man to answer it. At least now I know who to address any future queries to.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 26/05/2015 19:02:33    1728802

Jeez you are taking that Kerry defeat badly, it was well over a month ago and ye have duly been comprehensively beaten by 2A sides Westmeath & Carlow since. Maybe just maybe Antrim are currently a 2A level team...

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 26/05/2015 19:20:18    1728810

I have to disagree legendzxix with your opinion on home field advantage for the semi finals for the two unbeaten teams. Remember this is an All Ireland semi final, no team should be entitled to home field advantage regardless of their undefeated status. Donegal and Kerry footballers don't play their All Ireland semi finals in Killarney and Ballybofey when they are undefeated.

They could have put the two games as part of a doubleheader in Tullamore for example or played Kerry vs. Kildare in Thurles and Derry vs. Down in Armagh, but Newbridge and Ownbeg will attract bigger crowds and create a neat feel to them with a smaller environment bigger atmosphere. So I'm in favor of the coin toss.

bredagh_hurlen (Down) - Posts: 6 - 26/05/2015 19:33:43    1728817

I beg to differ downman. Kerry and Derry should get just reward for going undefeated thus far in the competition. It unfair on Kerry having to travel to Kildare. Where's Kerry reward for staying undefeated? It a kick in the teeth!

doubletree (Dublin) - Posts: 164 - 26/05/2015 20:48:55    1728843

A few posts and I already gather you aren't a good interpreter of what people are posting and I am not hear to teach. Don't get me wrong, I have no issue with care in the community and such initiatives but I applaud them from afar. But you are right, we currently are a 2A side (no probablys about it) and, contrary to what you believe, I don't hold any animosity or bitter feelings towards you, Westmeath, Carlow, Laois or whoever. We know our problems are our doing and ours to try and sort.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 26/05/2015 20:55:06    1728849

This will be Derry's 3rd game in the home comforts of Owenbeg this champagne! Very happy we got to play London in Ballycran as Ruslip would have been a different animal. Feel bad for London though three weeks in a row they crossed the Irish Sea.

saulgael (Down) - Posts: 553 - 26/05/2015 21:55:49    1728884

I can see Derry getting past Down but maybe not past kerry in the final. As someone said great to see hurling becoming bigger in the city. We have the population for it. Need to revamp ulster now so Antrim dont get a bye. Also a pity they dont have the derryv down game on before the derry/down football quarter final in celtic park to promote the hurling more in the city and give the lads a chance to play in front of 20k +

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 27/05/2015 08:50:28    1728897

What's the standard like in this competition, can't be great?

GreyHair (Galway) - Posts: 37 - 27/05/2015 09:36:34    1728908

Standard is okay. Some great players in most teams who could have moved and played for bigger counties but stayed loyal. Not top of the pile like the cats or tipp but its baby steps at this stage

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 27/05/2015 09:53:11    1728914

The Kildare men will beat Kerry. Its great its in Newbridge. With reference to the Semis being neutral it s a joke. They should definitely be neutral venues. The gaa are to lazy to organise a field. There is neutral venues for u13 semis ffs. Also the reward for winning your 2 games is a wk break form playing which is enough. Quit moaning...

Rambo (None) - Posts: 109 - 27/05/2015 12:10:09    1728981

"What's the standard like in this competition, can't be great?"

It's like watching a decent quality senior club match or good intermediate county hurling. Don't be afraid of it!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 27/05/2015 12:17:43    1728989

GreyHair

What's the standard like in this competition, can't be great?

See for yourself, the final is coming up soon now (semis on Saturday). It will be on TG4 as far as I know so have a look out for it, some of the most exciting games of hurling are CR finals...

mayo_hurler (Mayo) - Posts: 113 - 27/05/2015 12:25:21    1728996