Dublin dominance ruining the GAA?

I think you'll find Kerry won last years All-Ireland and Donegal beat Dublin in the Semi.

So not sure what you are on about ulsterman.

anyway Kerry have been the dominant force for about 100 years and their total of wins far succeed Dublin's so this thread is a nonsence.

every now and then there is a dominant team (and it's usually down to either a great bunch of lads all appearing at the same time or a great manager getting the right blend and spirit. Wexford and kerry both won 4 or 5 in-a-row didn't they. there was a time when meath were dominant in Leinster , cavan in Ulster and Galway in Connacht. what's the problem.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 27/04/2015 21:48:46    1718248

Don't worry, when the current crop runs dry, and we have a mediocre team, the likes of Ulsterman can go back to slagging us off because we're crap. Then when we start winning again he can go back to blaming it on the GAA and the southern media.

One things for sure, we'll have to win twice as much as Kerry before we get any credit!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 27/04/2015 21:56:43    1718257

Dominance me hole.

We've a decent side at the moment. Deal with it culchies!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 28/04/2015 08:11:26    1718266

Realdub
We in Kerry are in the same boat, according to many on here any allireland we've won has been handy and because we have a handy run or the other team didn't turn up or coz we got a freak goal, and that was just last year :-D let the haters at it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/04/2015 09:01:49    1718280

realdub
One things for sure, we'll have to win twice as much as Kerry before we get any credit!

But surely that is only logical. You have 10 times their population, facilities and finances...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/04/2015 09:32:59    1718287

1718287 realdub

But surely that is only logical. You have 10 times their population, facilities and finances...

Heard all this rubbish from you over and over again ,your like a dog with a bone,your anti Dublin,dry your eyes like a good little child.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 28/04/2015 09:56:46    1718292

MesAmis

Dominance me hole.

We've a decent side at the moment. Deal with it culchies!

The vast majority of us culchies have no problem with Dublin, Kerry Kilkenny or any other team. There are a few bigoted narrow minded blinkered people out there who would begrudge anyone any success.

You have a brilliant bunch of talented athletes which are a joy to watch.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 28/04/2015 10:13:23    1718304

Go back to Vulcan The Master :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 28/04/2015 13:31:54    1718461

StirringIt, I think the word "bigoted" is a bit strong.
My definition of a bigot is someone who hates those who disagree with his/her world view.
Were talking about sport on Hoganstand.
I think a bit of begrudgery/banter is good as long as it doesnt get out of hand.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 28/04/2015 16:23:58    1718587

realdub

---
I'm surprised by your simplistic logic Master. I mean if you applied that reasoning to the Connaught championship then surely Galway, with a population twice that of Mayo, should have more provincial titles?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 28/04/2015 18:07:29    1718651

It is obvious that Dublin are in no way dominant in football. The Dublin team are a great advertisement for the game. Too often we hear commentators like Joe Brolly criticising the game. Last Sunday Dublin showed the way it should be played (as they have done in many previous occasions) with brilliant scoring,excellent skills and long distance foot passing as displayed by natural footballers such as Diarmuid Connolly and Cian O'Sullivan.
The Dublin team have won 2 All-Irelands and now three National League titles in a row. If the team should win one more All-Ireland, I think they will be recognised as a great team.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 28/04/2015 20:25:09    1718701

What's happening now with Dublin is different and taking on a life of it's own to the massive detriment of Leinster football and the wider GAA. I picked up a few Southern newspapers on Monday after Dublin's win and they were like fawning fanzines written solely for the Dublin GAA. They were God like worshipping in their praise and coverage and this is now the normal. The media, like Croke Park, have identified their economic market and are unashamed in that. Meanwhile other counties struggle badly but hey........kerching....the tills are ringing while the Dubs are winning and that's all that seems to matter.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 28/04/2015 20:47:46    1718707

Jaysus Ulsterman, what is it with you and a handful of culchie journalists? Why do you buy a southern paper then, do you bathe in nettles also? Even I don't bother with them!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 28/04/2015 20:57:44    1718715

Ulsterman

What's happening now with Dublin is different and taking on a life of it's own to the massive detriment of Leinster football and the wider GAA. I picked up a few Southern newspapers on Monday after Dublin's win and they were like fawning fanzines written solely for the Dublin GAA. They were God like worshipping in their praise and coverage and this is now the normal. The media, like Croke Park, have identified their economic market and are unashamed in that. Meanwhile other counties struggle badly but hey........kerching....the tills are ringing while the Dubs are winning and that's all that seems to matter.

------
Yes the old, "picked up a few southern newspapers" line. Any comments from any Dublin born journalists by any chance or was this the annual culchie hype machine kicking into overdrive? Anyway, the Dubs are box office, very entertaining football, large crowds, large population, capital readership figures etc. It's not surprising to see the sports hacks letting loose on the ink.

As if the prove your point of, everyone is talking about the Dubs, a quick scan of the last two pages of this forum and there are 5 threads with Dublin in the title. Four of them were started by non-Dubs, one by yourself. I'm not sure what other counties are struggling badly. There are one or two top teams in each province, the rest are well off the pace. Is Donegal's dominance in Ulster destroying Ulster football. Is Mayo's destroying Connaught and is Kerry and Cork's destroying Munster. You see, you can apply that logic to any province. Leinster is no different and never has been.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 29/04/2015 12:56:19    1718882

cuederocket - You are bang on about the hurling. As you said I was only having a laugh about it. Personally I have never been a massive hurling supporter. Probably because my club, when I was growing up (recent times), was predominantly football. They are putting a big drive on the hurling now again following the success of the football. It's good to see and hopefully a few more inter county players come from it.

This really is just a wind up thread tho and so many are biting, it's quite amusing. So Master and Ulsterman keep throwing out the population and money argument and I am sure you will keep getting responses. Keep me entertained right up until lunchtime tomorrow.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 29/04/2015 13:16:56    1718896

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/04/2015 16:32:32    1719009

Hattrick,id say ull get tomorrows dinner out of it too.Maybe Fridays brekkie as a bonus(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/04/2015 16:48:47    1719016

Ulsterman and The Master plucking stats figures out of their behinds and blaming Dublin on the ill's of the world.

Wheres Bill Murray???

Groundhog Day!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 29/04/2015 18:40:39    1719053

Look at their two respective GAA counties

Mayo / Antrim

Sure it's their utter uselessness that has allowed Dublin to win a few things of late

If you're looking to blame a county for being successful you have to question the counties that cant deliver the good in equal measure

It's up to you to stop the likes of Kerry, Kilkenny, Cork and to a far lesser extent Dublin

Except well... you're a bit rubbish and look to blame everything else on somebody else

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/05/2015 14:21:41    1719488

I have one post on this thread, stating a reasonable and accurate statistic in response to a question, and the responses directed at me take over the thread.

Does it not annoy ye the power I can wield over ye with one sentence?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/05/2015 14:50:03    1719503